DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on September 19, 2022. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on September 19, 2022. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Request for priority to Provisional App. No. 63/280,852 is acknowledged. Examiner notes that the current claims do not appear to be fully supported by the provisional application and further notes that the Applicant may be requested to perfect one or more of the claims in the situation where applied prior art has priority falling between the filing date of the non-provisional application dated September 19, 2022 and the provisional application dated November 18, 2021. No action on the part of the Applicant is requested at this time.
Additionally, Applicant’s request for priority to U.S. App. No. 17/947,549 filed September 19, 2022 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-16, and 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-16, and 19-20, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,448,126. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-16, and 19-20 of the instant application is completely encompassed by claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-16, and 19-20, respectively, of U.S. Pat. No. 12,448,126.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
a. Claim 11 should have a comma after claim 7.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101, because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Independent claim 1 is directed toward a method, and claim 20 is directed toward a non-transitory computer readable medium. Therefore, each of the independent claims 1 and 20 along with the corresponding dependent claims 2-19 are directed to a statutory category of invention under Step 1.
Under Step 2A, Prong 1, the claims are analyzed to determine whether one or more of the claims recites subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of abstract ideas: (1) mental processes, (2) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or (3) mathematical concepts. In this case, the independent claims 1 and 20 are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Specifically, the claims, under their broadest reasonable interpretation cover certain mental processes and/or mathematical concepts. The language of independent claim 1 is used for illustration:
A method, comprising:
receiving, by a computer system, a first navigation path risk request that includes first navigation path information associated with a first navigation path for a first unmanned vehicle through a first environment (receiving information by a computer system is considered insignificant extra-solution activity, as explained further below);
selecting, by the computer system, a first risk model from a plurality of risk models based on the first navigation path information (a person may mentally select the risk model from a plurality of risk models based on received navigation path information);
obtaining, by the computer system, first data used as one or more inputs to run the first risk model from one or more data sources (a person may mentally obtain from memory (i.e., a data source) first data as input to a risk model);
operating, by the computer system, the first risk model with the first data to output a first risk metric (a person may mentally proceed through a risk model, using data stored in his or her memory, to determine a first risk metric. An example of this would be a person looking around to observe a driving environment, taking mental note of the observed information, and then going through an assessment process of determining, for example, a likelihood of colliding with a static object in the environment); and
providing, by the computer system, a first navigation path risk response in response to the first navigation path risk request that includes the first risk metric that is associated with at least a portion of the first navigation path (a person may mentally note that the navigation path should be updated in order to, for example, avoid a static object).
As explained above, independent claim 1 recites at least one abstract idea. The other independent claim 20, which is of similar scope to claim 1, likewise recite at least one abstract idea under Step 2A, Prong 1.
Under Step 2A, Prong 2, the claims are analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements such as merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application”; see at least MPEP 2106.04(d).
In this case, the mental processes and/or mathematical concepts judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. For example, independent claims 1 and 20 recite the additional elements of receiving…a first navigation path risk request…, and use of a computer system. These limitations amount to implementing the abstract idea on a computer, add insignificant extra solution activity, and/or generally link use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use; see at least MPEP 2106.04(d). More specifically,
a. receiving…a first navigation path risk request… found in independent claim(s) 1 and 20. This limitation amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity; and
b. a computer system which performs the method stems found in independent claims 1 and 20. Examiner notes that the claimed computer components of claim 20 are treated the same way as the computer system of claim 1. This limitation amounts to merely implementing the abstract idea on a computer.
Therefore, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Furthermore, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitations add nothing significant that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. Because the additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application by imposing meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, independent claims 1 and 20 are directed to an abstract idea.
Under Step 2B, the claims do not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application in Step 2A, Prong Two, the additional element of limiting the use of the idea to one particular environment employs generic computer functions to execute an abstract idea and, therefore, does not add significantly more. Limiting the use of the abstract idea to a particular environment or field of use cannot provide an inventive concept. Additionally, as discussed above, the limitation of receiving…a first navigation path risk request…, as recited above, is considered insignificant extra solution activities.
A conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra solution activity in Step 2A must be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if the element is more than what is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field. In this case, the additional limitations of a computer system is well-understood, routine, and conventional activities, because the specification does not provide any indication that the computer system is anything other than a conventional computer within the vehicle. Additionally, the remaining element, receiving…a first navigation path risk request…, has all been deemed insignificant extra solution activity by one or more Courts; see at least MPEP 2106.05(d) and MPEP 2106.05(g):
a. receiving…a first navigation path risk request… is considered well-understood, routine, and conventional activity under buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network).
Because the claims fail to recite anything sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, independent claims 1 and 20 are patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Dependent claims 2-19 have been given the full two-part analysis, including analyzing the additional limitations, both individually and in combination. Dependent claims 2-19, when analyzed both individually and in combination, are also patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. § 101 based on same analysis as above. The additional limitations recited in the dependent claims fail to establish that the dependent claims are not directed to an abstract idea. The additional limitations of the dependent claims, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, claims 2-19 are patent ineligible. Therefore, claims 1-20 are patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
If the independent claims were amended to require an update to the vehicle navigational control, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 would be withdrawn. Examiner recommends that Applicant set an interview to discuss potential amendments to overcome the current rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0292835 (hereinafter, “Matus”).
Regarding claim 1, Matus discloses a method (see at least [0009]), comprising:
receiving, by a computer system, a first navigation path risk request that includes first navigation path information associated with a first navigation path for a first unmanned vehicle through a first environment (see at least [0009], and [0074]; the risk request may be based at least in part on the driving mission (i.e., navigational path) information associated with the driving mission of the autonomous vehicle);
selecting, by the computer system, a first risk model from a plurality of risk models based on the first navigation path information (see at least [0020], [0074], and the publication generally; a risk analysis model is selected and retrieved which may comprise any combination of the disclosed risk analysis components discussed throughout the publication);
obtaining, by the computer system, first data used as one or more inputs to run the first risk model from one or more data sources (see at least [0020] and [0025]-[0026]; first data may be collected and processed for input into the risk model, and the data may be sourced from one or more data sources);
operating, by the computer system, the first risk model with the first data to output a first risk metric (see at least [0014], [0020], [0025]-[0026], and [0074]; first data may be collected and processed for input into the risk model, and the data may be sourced from one or more data sources. The risk-based analysis output metric may then be utilized to implement a response action mode to control the vehicle based on the risk analysis); and
providing, by the computer system, a first navigation path risk response in response to the first navigation path risk request that includes the first risk metric that is associated with at least a portion of the first navigation path (see at least [0014], [0020], [0025]-[0026], and [0074]; the risk-based analysis output metric may then be utilized to implement a response action mode (i.e., a change to the navigation path) to control the vehicle based on the risk analysis).
Regarding claim 2, Matus discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Matus discloses wherein the providing the first navigation path risk response causes the first unmanned vehicle to perform a navigation instruction change in relation to navigation instructions associated with the first navigation path if the first risk metric satisfies a first risk metric condition (see at least [0014]; the risk-based analysis output metric may then be utilized to implement a response action mode (i.e., a change to the navigation path) to control the vehicle based on the risk analysis).
Regarding claim 5, Matus discloses all of the limitations of claim 4. Additionally, Matus discloses wherein the obtaining the first data from the one or more data sources includes obtaining at least a second portion of the first data over a network from one or more external databases (see at least [0020]; the first data may include non-generic data from an external database. Examiner notes that either of the first and second portions may be the non-generic data and either of the first or second portions may be, for example, the sensor data).
Regarding claim 6, Matus discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Matus discloses wherein the obtaining the first data from the one or more data sources includes obtaining at least a portion of the first data over a network from one or more external databases (see at least [0020]; the first data may include non-generic data from an external database. Examiner notes that either of the first and second portions may be the non-generic data and either of the first or second portions may be, for example, the sensor data).
Regarding claim 19, Matus discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Matus discloses wherein the operations further comprise steps for obtaining the first data used as the one or more inputs to run the first risk model from the one or more data sources (see at least [0020] and [0026]).
Regarding claim 20, Matus discloses a non-transitory, machine-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (see at least [0009] and [0074]), effectuate operations comprising:
receiving, by a computer system, a first navigation path risk request that includes first navigation path information associated with a first navigation path for a first unmanned vehicle through a first environment (see at least [0009], and [0074]; the risk request may be based at least in part on the driving mission (i.e., navigational path) information associated with the driving mission of the autonomous vehicle);
selecting, by the computer system, a first risk model from a plurality of risk models based on the first navigation path information (see at least [0020], [0074], and the publication generally; a risk analysis model is selected and retrieved which may comprise any combination of the disclosed risk analysis components discussed throughout the publication);
obtaining, by the computer system, first data used as one or more inputs to run the first risk model from one or more data sources (see at least [0020] and [0025]-[0026]; first data may be collected and processed for input into the risk model, and the data may be sourced from one or more data sources);
operating, by the computer system, the first risk model with the first data to output a first risk metric (see at least [0014], [0020], [0025]-[0026], and [0074]; first data may be collected and processed for input into the risk model, and the data may be sourced from one or more data sources. The risk-based analysis output metric may then be utilized to implement a response action mode to control the vehicle based on the risk analysis); and
providing, by the computer system, a first navigation path risk response in response to the first navigation path risk request that includes the first risk metric that is associated with at least a portion of the first navigation path (see at least [0014], [0020], [0025]-[0026], and [0074]; the risk-based analysis output metric may then be utilized to implement a response action mode (i.e., a change to the navigation path) to control the vehicle based on the risk analysis).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Matus.
Regarding claim 3, Matus discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Matus discloses further comprising:
receiving the first risk model from a first risk authority (see at least [0020], [0074], and the publication generally; a risk analysis model is selected and retrieved which may comprise any combination of the disclosed risk analysis components discussed throughout the publication); and
receiving a second risk model of the plurality of risk models from a second risk authority (see at least [0020], [0074], and the publication generally; a risk analysis model is selected and retrieved which may comprise any combination of the disclosed risk analysis components discussed throughout the publication).
Matus does not explicitly teach that the models may be received from a first and second risk authority. However, Examiner asserts that the ability of the system to receive a risk model from another source is at least an obvious variant to receiving a risk model from a risk authority, because one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would have recognized that the process is the same and comprises merely downloading a model directly or indirectly from a different entity.
Regarding claim 4, Matus discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Matus discloses further comprising:
caching, by the computer system, the first data on a local memory system (see at least [0025]-[0026] and [0074]; the data may be stored via the computer system); and …
wherein the obtaining the first data from the one or more data sources includes obtaining at least a first portion of the first data from the local memory system (see at least [0014], [0025], and [0074]; first data may be collected and processed for input into the risk model, and the data may be sourced from one or more data sources. The risk-based analysis output metric may then be utilized to implement a response action mode to control the vehicle based on the risk analysis. The use of the data for further processing necessarily requires local storage of the data and retrieval of the processed data from the storage).
Matus does not explicitly teach discarding, by the computer system, the first data from the local memory system in response to a discard condition begin satisfied. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application to try discarding old data in order to provide room for new data as is customary in the field.
Claim 7-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matus, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of U.S. Pub. No. 11,852,495 (hereinafter, “Sanchez”).
Regarding claim 7, Matus discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Matus discloses wherein the first risk metric is associated with a first segment of a plurality of segments of the first navigation path (see at least Col. 4, Ln. 38-46 and Col. 4, Ln. 64-Col. 5, Ln. 9; the first risk metric may be associated with a first segment of a plurality of segments of the first navigational path).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application and with a reasonable likelihood of success, would have been motivated to modify Matus with the teachings of Sanchez in order to provide a more accurate depiction of the risk factors along a route by segmenting the route and separately analyzing the segments and to improve the navigational safety; see at least Sanchez at Col. 1, Ln. 15-23.
Regarding claim 8, Matus discloses all of the limitations of claim 7. Additionally, Matus discloses wherein first segment information associated with the first segment is included in at least one of the first navigation path information for selecting the first risk model or the first data for operating the first risk model (see at least Col. 4, Ln. 38-46 and Col. 4, Ln. 64-Col. 5, Ln. 9; the first risk metric may be associated with a first segment of a plurality of segments of the first navigational path. The segments are associated with the first navigation path information).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application and with a reasonable likelihood of success, would have been motivated to modify Matus with the teachings of Sanchez in order to provide a more accurate depiction of the risk factors along a route by segmenting the route and separately analyzing the segments and to improve the navigational safety; see at least Sanchez at Col. 1, Ln. 15-23.
Regarding claim 9, Matus discloses all of the limitations of claim 7. Additionally, Matus discloses further comprising:
operating, by the computer system, the first risk model with the first data to output a second risk metric (see at least Col. 4, Ln. 38-46 and Col. 4, Ln. 64-Col. 5, Ln. 9; the first risk metric may be associated with a first segment of a plurality of segments of the first navigational path. The risk assessment output of any one of the other segments may be considered the second risk metric),
wherein the second risk metric is associated with a second segment of the first navigation path(see at least Col. 4, Ln. 38-46 and Col. 4, Ln. 64-Col. 5, Ln. 9; the first risk metric may be associated with a first segment of a plurality of segments of the first navigational path. The risk assessment output of any one of the other segments may be considered the second risk metric).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application and with a reasonable likelihood of success, would have been motivated to modify Matus with the teachings of Sanchez in order to provide a more accurate depiction of the risk factors along a route by segmenting the route and separately analyzing the segments and to improve the navigational safety; see at least Sanchez at Col. 1, Ln. 15-23.
Regarding claim 10, Matus discloses all of the limitations of claim 9. Additionally, Matus discloses further comprising:
aggregating, by the computer system, the first risk metric, the second risk metric, and risk metrics for others of the plurality of segments into a navigation path risk metric for the first navigation path (see at least Col. 17, Ln. 11-20; the risk values (i.e., metrics) may be summed (i.e., aggregated)).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application and with a reasonable likelihood of success, would have been motivated to modify Matus with the teachings of Sanchez in order to provide a more accurate depiction of the risk factors along a route by segmenting the route and separately analyzing the segments and to improve the navigational safety; see at least Sanchez at Col. 1, Ln. 15-23.
Regarding claim 11, Matus discloses all of the limitations of claim 7. Additionally, Matus discloses wherein the first segment is defined by at least two vectors (see at least Col. 6, Ln. 3-20; the segments may be defined by time and driven road length (i.e., 3D distance). The 3D distance includes three directions which would correspond to the altitude, longitude, and latitude).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application and with a reasonable likelihood of success, would have been motivated to modify Matus with the teachings of Sanchez in order to provide a more accurate depiction of the risk factors along a route by segmenting the route and separately analyzing the segments and to improve the navigational safety; see at least Sanchez at Col. 1, Ln. 15-23.
Regarding claim 12, Matus discloses all of the limitations of claim 7. Additionally, Matus discloses wherein the first segment is defined by at least three vectors (see at least Col. 6, Ln. 3-20; the segments may be defined by time and driven road length (i.e., 3D distance). The 3D distance includes three directions which would correspond to the altitude, longitude, and latitude).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application and with a reasonable likelihood of success, would have been motivated to modify Matus with the teachings of Sanchez in order to provide a more accurate depiction of the risk factors along a route by segmenting the route and separately analyzing the segments and to improve the navigational safety; see at least Sanchez at Col. 1, Ln. 15-23.
Regarding claim 13, Matus discloses all of the limitations of claim 7. Additionally, Matus discloses wherein the first segment is defined by at least four vectors (see at least Col. 6, Ln. 3-20; the segments may be defined by time and driven road length (i.e., 3D distance). The 3D distance includes three directions which would correspond to the altitude, longitude, and latitude).
Regarding claim 14, Matus discloses all of the limitations of claim 13. Additionally, Matus discloses wherein the at least four vectors include a time vector, an altitude vector, a longitude vector, and a latitude vector (see at least Col. 6, Ln. 3-20; the segments may be defined by time and driven road length (i.e., 3D distance). The 3D distance includes three directions which would correspond to the altitude, longitude, and latitude).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application and with a reasonable likelihood of success, would have been motivated to modify Matus with the teachings of Sanchez in order to provide a more accurate depiction of the risk factors along a route by segmenting the route and separately analyzing the segments and to improve the navigational safety; see at least Sanchez at Col. 1, Ln. 15-23.
Regarding claim 15, Matus discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Matus discloses further comprising:
receiving, by the computer system, a second navigation path risk request that includes second navigation path information associated with a second navigation path for a second unmanned vehicle through the first environment;
selecting, by the computer system, a second risk model from the plurality of risk models based on the second navigation path information;
obtaining, by the computer system, second data used as one or more inputs to run the second risk model from the one or more data sources;
operating, by the computer system, the second risk model with the second data to output a second risk metric; and
providing, by the computer system, a second navigation path risk response in response to the second navigation path risk request that includes the second risk metric that is associated with at least a portion of the second navigation path.
Claim 15, as a whole, claims essentially the same thing as claim 1 except that it goes through the process for a second vehicle. Matus teaches that the machine learning model may take into account different vehicle types in addition to the other input information and may run the risk analysis based on the inputted information, and it is old and well-known that machine learning models may be used more than once; see at least Sanchez at Col. 13, Ln. 12-25 and Col. 14, Ln. 18-25. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would have recognized that the disclosed machine learning model of Sanchez would be capable of performing the claimed limitations of claim 15 since the machine learning model is trained to be used for different vehicles and may be used more than once. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application and with a reasonable likelihood of success, would have been motivated to modify Matus with the teachings of Sanchez in order to provide a more accurate depiction of the risk factors along a route by segmenting the route and separately analyzing the segments and to improve the navigational safety; see at least Sanchez at Col. 1, Ln. 15-23.
Additionally, Examiner notes that any risk model comprising different inputs is considered a different risk model.
Regarding claim 16, Matus discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Matus discloses further comprising:
receiving, by the computer system, a second navigation path risk request that includes second navigation path information associated with the first navigation path for the first unmanned vehicle through the first environment;
selecting, by the computer system, a second risk model from the plurality of risk models based on the second navigation path information;
obtaining, by the computer system, second data used as one or more inputs to run the second risk model from the one or more data sources;
operating, by the computer system, the second risk model with the second data to output a second risk metric; and
providing, by the computer system, a second navigation path risk response in response to the second navigation path risk request that includes the second risk metric that is associated with at least a portion of the first navigation path.
Claim 16, as a whole, claims essentially the same thing as claim 1 except that it goes through the process for a second navigational path. Matus teaches that the machine learning model may take into account different vehicle types and different routes in addition to the other input information and may run the risk analysis based on the inputted information, and it is old and well-known that machine learning models may be used more than once; see at least Sanchez at Col. 13, Ln. 12-25 and Col. 14, Ln. 18-25. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would have recognized that the disclosed machine learning model of Sanchez would be capable of performing the claimed limitations of claim 16 since the machine learning model is trained to be used for different vehicles and different routes and may be used more than once. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application and with a reasonable likelihood of success, would have been motivated to modify Matus with the teachings of Sanchez in order to provide a more accurate depiction of the risk factors along a route by segmenting the route and separately analyzing the segments and to improve the navigational safety; see at least Sanchez at Col. 1, Ln. 15-23.
Additionally, Examiner notes that any risk model comprising different inputs is considered a different risk model.
Regarding claim 17, Matus discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Matus discloses further comprising:
segmenting, by the computer system, the first navigation path into a first segment and a second segment;
selecting, by the computer system, a second risk model from the plurality of risk models based on second segment information for the second segment included in the first navigation path information, wherein the selecting the first risk model from the plurality of risk models is based on first segment information for the first segment included in the first navigation path information;
obtaining, by the computer system, second data used as one or more inputs to run the second risk model from the one or more data sources;
operating, by the computer system, the second risk model with the second data to output a second risk metric; and
providing, by the computer system, in the first navigation path risk response that includes the second risk metric that is associated with the second segment, wherein the first risk metric is associated with the first segment.
Claim 17, as a whole, claims essentially the same thing as claim 1 except that it goes through the process for a second navigational path. Matus teaches that the machine learning model may take into account different vehicle types and different routes in addition to the other input information and may run the risk analysis based on the inputted information, and it is old and well-known that machine learning models may be used more than once; see at least Sanchez at Col. 13, Ln. 12-25 and Col. 14, Ln. 18-25. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would have recognized that the disclosed machine learning model of Sanchez would be capable of performing the claimed limitations of claim 17 since the machine learning model is trained to be used for different vehicles and different routes and may be used more than once. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application and with a reasonable likelihood of success, would have been motivated to modify Matus with the teachings of Sanchez in order to provide a more accurate depiction of the risk factors along a route by segmenting the route and separately analyzing the segments and to improve the navigational safety; see at least Sanchez at Col. 1, Ln. 15-23.
Additionally, Examiner notes that any risk model comprising different inputs is considered a different risk model.
Regarding claim 18, Matus discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Additionally, Matus discloses further comprising:
segmenting, by the computer system, the first navigation path into a first segment and a second segment;
determining, by the computer system, second data associated with the second segment used as one or more inputs to run a second risk model of the plurality of risk models, wherein the first data is associated with the first segment;
obtaining, by the computer system, obtaining, by the computer system, second data used as one or more inputs to run the second risk model from the one or more data sources, wherein the first data is associated with the first segment;
operating, by the computer system, the second risk model with the second data to output a second risk metric; and
providing, by the computer system, in the first navigation path risk response that includes the second risk metric that is associated with the second segment, wherein the first risk metric is associated with the first segment.
Claim 18, as a whole, claims essentially the same thing as claim 1 except that it goes through the process for a second navigational path. Matus teaches that the machine learning model may take into account different vehicle types and different routes in addition to the other input information and may run the risk analysis based on the inputted information, and it is old and well-known that machine learning models may be used more than once; see at least Sanchez at Col. 13, Ln. 12-25 and Col. 14, Ln. 18-25. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, would have recognized that the disclosed machine learning model of Sanchez would be capable of performing the claimed limitations of claim 18 since the machine learning model is trained to be used for different vehicles and different routes and may be used more than once. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application and with a reasonable likelihood of success, would have been motivated to modify Matus with the teachings of Sanchez in order to provide a more accurate depiction of the risk factors along a route by segmenting the route and separately analyzing the segments and to improve the navigational safety; see at least Sanchez at Col. 1, Ln. 15-23.
Additionally, Examiner notes that any risk model comprising different inputs is considered a different risk model.
As an alternative rejections, claim 15-18 are considered obvious variants of one another as they all essentially perform the same processes. If applicant chooses to claim that claims 15-18 are not obvious variants of one another and Examiner is persuaded by Applicant’s arguments, Examiner maintains the right to restrict out one of more of claims 15-18 at that time.
Additional Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and may be found on the accompanying PTO-892 Notice of References Cited:
U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0155796 which relates to risk assessment collaboration for a vehicle; and
U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0325906 which relates to determining navigational risk based at least on environmental quality data.
Conclusion
TIFFANY YOUNG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3665
/TIFFANY P YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665