DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2–6, 8–12, and 14–18 are objected to because of the following informalities. Each recites "The device of claim…," which is inconsistent with "An apparatus" recited in claims 1, 7, and 13; it is suggested that these claims recite "The apparatus of claim…." In claims 4, 10, and 16, "circuit bord" should read "circuit board." Claim 18 does not end with a period (see MPEP 608.01(m)). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites "the perimeter of the intersection region between the barrier bag, upper casing, and lower casing." There is insufficient antecedent basis for "the perimeter" and "the intersection region" in the claim. Claims 7 and 13 recite the same language and are rejected for the same reason. Claims 2–6, 8–12, and 14–18 are rejected because they depend from claim 1, 7, or 13 and do not cure the deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 8, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cargonja et al. (US 2007/0096920 A1) in view of Surattee et al. (US 2005/0023178 A1) and Sabounjian (US 2009/0232423 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cargonja discloses an apparatus for facilitating transmission (Cargonja discloses an apparatus for facilitating transmission through the wall of an enclosure (apparatus 10 including RFID tag 110; [0016]; Figs. 1–3). For a metallic container, the tag is disposed outside the container so that it can reliably transmit wireless signals while monitoring conditions within the container ([0037]). The tag transmits wireless signals containing the temperature and humidity measured within the container ([0041]). Cargonja's enclosure is a metal container rather than a barrier bag ([0017]); this aspect is addressed below.), the apparatus comprising:
an upper casing (Cargonja discloses upper housing part 131, made of a sturdy plastic material ([0026]; Figs. 4–5).);
a lower casing (Cargonja discloses lower housing part 132, also referred to as bottom housing part 132, made of a sturdy plastic material ([0026], [0029]; Figs. 4, 7).);
a circuit board (Cargonja discloses sensor circuit board 183 ([0031]; Fig. 4).);
one or more sensors (Cargonja discloses temperature sensor 197 and humidity sensor 198 ([0033]; Fig. 8).); and
one or more transmitters (Cargonja discloses transmitter circuit that uses loop antenna 146 to send wireless signals ([0028]; Fig. 6).);
wherein
the lower casing is a structure comprising an upper surface, a lower surface, an exposure opening, and two or more legs (Cargonja discloses an upper surface (the inner side of bottom housing part 132; [0029]), a lower surface (the outer side of bottom housing part 132; [0034]), and an exposure opening (opening 166; [0029]; Fig. 7). Cargonja's directional terms are used for convenience and are not limiting ([0043]). Cargonja does not disclose the two or more legs.);
the exposure opening is an extrusion between the lower surface and upper surface, allowing access above the lower casing from below the lower casing (Cargonja discloses opening 166, which extends through bottom housing part 132 between its inner and outer sides and communicates at one end with sensing recess 203 on the outer side ([0029], [0034]). Opening 166 is thus an extrusion between the lower and upper surfaces, i.e., a passage extending through the lower casing between those surfaces, consistent with Applicant's description of the exposure opening as "an opening 3" (see corresponding PGPUB, US 2026/0077927 A1, [0017]). Opening 166 provides fluid communication to the sensors located above the bottom housing part ([0041]).);
the two or more legs extend downward from the lower surface of the lower casing, elevating the lower surface to a position above any surface or platform below the lower casing on which the legs may rest (Not disclosed by Cargonja.);
the circuit board is attached to the upper surface of the lower casing, positioned over the exposure opening such that the underside of the circuit board is environmentally accessible from below the lower casing through the exposure opening (Cargonja discloses sensor circuit board 183 is removably held on the inner side of bottom housing part 132 by four screws. The screws engage threaded bosses spaced around recess 171, which is concentric with opening 166 ([0029], [0031]). An annular gasket is adhesively secured to an annular surface on the underside of board 183 surrounding the opening ([0031]). The underside of the board over opening 166 is therefore accessible from below through the opening ([0033], [0041]; Fig. 8).);
one or more sensors are attached to the bottom of the circuit board, positioned such that the environment below the lower casing is environmentally accessible to the sensors through the exposure opening (Cargonja discloses sensors 197 and 198 are mounted on the bottom side of sensor circuit board 183 and are visible through opening 166 ([0033]; Fig. 8). Opening 166 provides fluid communication from the container interior to the sensors ([0041]).);
one or more transmitters are attached to the top of the circuit board and attached in electronic communication with the one or more sensors attached to the circuit board (Cargonja discloses the transmitter in electronic communication with the sensors. The transmitter circuit on main circuit board 137 is connected to sensor circuit board 183 by connector 193 and ribbon cable 194 ([0028], [0032]), and the tag transmits the measured temperature and humidity ([0041]). Main circuit board 137 is mounted in upper housing part 131, above sensor circuit board 183 ([0027], [0031]). Cargonja does not disclose the transmitter attached to the top of the same circuit board on which the sensors are mounted; this is addressed in the next paragraph.);
the lower casing is positioned to protrude upward through the wall of a barrier bag from within the barrier bag (Not disclosed by Cargonja. Cargonja's tag is disposed outside the container, and a separate fitting 46 extends through the container wall ([0021], [0037]).); and
the upper casing is attached to the lower casing and outer surface of the barrier bag along all points where the lower casing protrudes through the barrier bag, covering the circuit board and any components attached to the circuit board, and forming an environmental seal at the wall of the barrier bag along the perimeter of the intersection region between the barrier bag, upper casing, and lower casing (Cargonja discloses the upper casing attached to the lower casing: lower housing part 132 is ultrasonically bonded along the entire length of its peripheral edge to upper housing part 131 ([0026]). The upper casing covers the circuit board and the components attached to it, since boards 137 and 183 are enclosed within housing 116 ([0027], [0031]). Cargonja also teaches forming a fluid seal at the enclosure wall, so that the sensing passage is the only path of fluid communication through the wall opening (gaskets 62, 63, [0023]; gasket 206, [0035]). Cargonja does not disclose the upper casing attached to the outer surface of a barrier bag along all points where the lower casing protrudes through the bag. Nor does it disclose the casings forming an environmental seal at the wall of a barrier bag along the perimeter of the intersection region.).
With respect to the transmitter limitation, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA), before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to consolidate Cargonja's sensor circuit board 183 and main circuit board 137 into a single circuit board. Sensors 197 and 198 would remain on the bottom side of that board over opening 166 ([0033]), and the transmitter would be on its top side. The use of a one-piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in the prior art is generally a matter of obvious engineering choice. See MPEP 2144.04(V)(B). The consolidation would reduce part count, eliminate connector 193 and ribbon cable 194 ([0032]), and reduce the overall height of the tag housing. Placing the transmitter on the top side preserves Cargonja's own arrangement, in which the transmitter sits above the sensor board and faces away from the sensed interior ([0027], [0031], [0037]).
Cargonja, as modified, does not disclose the following limitations: (a) a barrier bag, as recited in the preamble and in the final two limitations of claim 1; (b) two or more legs extending downward from the lower surface of the lower casing, elevating the lower surface to a position above any surface or platform below the lower casing on which the legs may rest; (c) the lower casing positioned to protrude upward through the wall of the barrier bag from within the barrier bag; and (d) the upper casing attached to the outer surface of the barrier bag along all points where the lower casing protrudes through the barrier bag, forming an environmental seal at the wall of the barrier bag along the perimeter of the intersection region between the barrier bag, upper casing, and lower casing.
Surattee teaches limitation (a). Surattee's bag 1 is described as a "barrier bag" ([0011]; Figs. 1–2) and has side walls formed by sheets 3, 4 of flexible material ([0012]) that include a laminated aluminum foil material ([0014]). Surattee further teaches that such bags are conventionally used to store and transport semiconductor devices together with a desiccant and a moisture indicator ([0003]). A recognized problem is that the moisture indicator cannot be viewed without first opening the bag ([0004]). Surattee teaches that it is desirable for the user to confirm, after the bag has been sealed, that the moisture within the bag is below a predetermined level ([0016]).
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the monitoring apparatus of Cargonja, as modified, at the wall of a barrier bag such as that of Surattee, so as to monitor the internal environment of the bag with the sensors given sealed access to the bag interior and the transmitter located outside the bag's metal foil layer. Surattee identifies the need to verify the moisture level within a sealed barrier bag without opening the bag ([0004], [0016]). Cargonja teaches that monitoring environmental conditions within containers during shipment is desirable ([0002]), and that where the enclosure is metallic, the tag must be located outside the enclosure in order to transmit reliably while being given sealed access to the interior ([0037]). Because the wall of Surattee's barrier bag includes an aluminum foil layer ([0014]), a PHOSITA would have recognized that Cargonja's metallic-enclosure arrangement applies to the barrier bag. A PHOSITA would have had a reasonable expectation of success, because both references address monitoring the internal environment of a sealed enclosure used for storage and transport. This is the use of a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way, yielding predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(C).
The combination of Cargonja and Surattee does not teach limitations (b), (c), and (d). Cargonja's structure for mounting the tag at an enclosure wall is designed for a rigid metal wall ([0037]): a stainless steel base plate adhered with VHB tape, a threaded tubular fitting and nut, and compression gaskets ([0018]–[0023]). Neither reference teaches legs on the lower casing. Neither teaches the lower casing protruding upward through the bag wall from within the bag. Neither teaches the upper casing attached to the outer surface of the bag around the protrusion so as to form the claimed seal.
Sabounjian teaches the missing limitations. Sabounjian discloses a two-part body installed in the wall of a flexible, air-tight bag ([0033]; Figs. 1–2c). The body has an interior portion and an exterior portion, with the wall of the bag clamped therebetween ([0004], [0013]). Regarding limitation (c), inner portion 28 is located on the side toward the inside of the bag ([0034]). It has holes 50 extending through it and an outer-facing threaded annular flange 52 ([0037]). A circular hole 66 is formed in the bag sidewall, and flange 52 extends outwardly through hole 66 to threadingly engage flange 42 of outer portion 30 ([0036]–[0037], [0046]; Figs. 2a–2c). The inner portion is thus positioned to protrude through the wall of the bag from within the bag, outward from the bag interior, which is upward when the bag interior lies below the wall. Regarding limitation (d), outer portion 30 is attached to inner portion 28 by threads 44, 54. As the threads are tightened, annular ridges 56 around the periphery of the inner portion force the bag wall against annular edge 46 at the outer periphery of the outer portion, sealingly gripping the wall between those parts ([0036], [0038], [0046]). The outer portion is thus attached to the inner portion and to the outer surface of the bag along all points around hole 66 where the inner portion protrudes. It thereby forms a seal at the bag wall along the perimeter of the region where the bag, the outer portion, and the inner portion intersect. Regarding limitation (b), the inner-facing surface 48b of inner portion 28 carries a plurality of fins 60 of generally uniform height ( [0040]; Figs. 7–8). The fins extend from that surface toward the inside of the bag and abut articles in the bag, preventing the articles from blocking holes 50 ([0004], [0049]). The fins thereby elevate surface 48b above any surface on which they rest, and so constitute two or more legs extending downward from the lower surface, as claimed.
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Cargonja and Surattee in view of Sabounjian in two ways. First, Cargonja's two-part tag housing would be configured as Sabounjian's interior and exterior portions: lower housing part 132, which carries opening 166 and the circuit board, would be positioned within the barrier bag so that it protrudes upward through a hole in the bag wall, and upper housing part 131 would be threadingly attached to the lower housing part from outside the bag, so that the bag wall is clamped and sealingly gripped between the two housing parts around the entire periphery of the hole. Second, the lower surface of lower housing part 132 would be provided with a plurality of fins as taught by Sabounjian. Cargonja's base plate, fitting, and nut are designed for a rigid metal container wall ([0018]–[0023], [0037]), and Cargonja contemplates supporting the device on the wall "in any other suitable manner" ([0020]). Surattee's barrier bag wall, by contrast, is flexible sheet material ([0012]), and Sabounjian teaches a known technique for securely mounting and sealing a two-part body in exactly such a flexible bag wall ([0004], [0013], [0046]). A PHOSITA would have been motivated to use that technique to mount and seal the monitoring apparatus in the flexible barrier bag wall, to expose the sensors directly to the bag atmosphere through opening 166, and to keep the transmitter outside the foil layer as Cargonja requires ([0037]). The threaded connection also preserves Cargonja's objective of a removable tag ([0024]), since Sabounjian makes adhesive optional ([0046]). A PHOSITA would further have been motivated to add Sabounjian's fins to keep the bag contents from covering opening 166 and filter 173 (Cargonja [0030]) and thereby isolating the sensors from the bag atmosphere; those contents include the packaged device, the desiccant (Surattee [0003], [0015]), and slack bag film. That is the very purpose for which Sabounjian provides its fins ([0049]), and Sabounjian expressly teaches that its features may be used alone or in varying combinations ([0057]). The modification applies a known technique to a known device ready for improvement, yielding the predictable result of a sealed, through-wall mount whose sensors face the bag interior. See MPEP 2143(I)(C), (D).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Cargonja, Surattee, and Sabounjian teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the upper casing is attached to the lower casing through a torsion screw mechanism (Cargonja joins upper housing part 131 to lower housing part 132 by ultrasonic bonding ([0026]) rather than by a torsion screw mechanism. Sabounjian, however, teaches outer portion 30 attached to inner portion 28 by mating threads 44, 54 on flanges 42, 52. The outer portion is screwed onto the inner portion, and the two parts are clamped together as the threads are tightened ([0036]–[0037], [0046]). This is a torsion screw mechanism as claimed (see the corresponding PGPUB, US 2026/0077927 A1, [0019], which describes screwing the upper casing onto the lower casing using torsion). As set forth for claim 1, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to attach Cargonja's upper housing part 131 to lower housing part 132 with Sabounjian's mating threads, in place of Cargonja's ultrasonic bond. Tightening the threads is how Sabounjian clamps and sealingly grips the flexible bag wall between the two parts ([0046]). A threaded connection also keeps the housing parts separable, preserving Cargonja's removable, serviceable tag ([0024]–[0025]). Cargonja itself already uses a screw-threaded cap on the same housing ([0025]). Substituting one known means of joining two housing parts for another yields predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).).
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites limitations substantially identical to those of claim 1, with one exception: the circuit board is attached to the lower surface of the upper casing, rather than to the upper surface of the lower casing, and the board so attached is positioned over the exposure opening of the lower casing. Except for that limitation, claim 7 is rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding the circuit board limitation, Cargonja discloses a circuit board attached to the lower surface of the upper casing. Main circuit board 137 is mounted within upper housing part 131 ([0027]; Fig. 5, a bottom view of upper housing part 131). As set forth in the rejection of claim 1, it would have been obvious to consolidate Cargonja's sensor circuit board 183 and main circuit board 137 into a single circuit board, with sensors 197 and 198 on its bottom side over opening 166 and the transmitter on its top side.
It would further have been obvious to a PHOSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to attach the consolidated board to the lower surface of the upper casing, positioned over opening 166 of the lower casing. Cargonja discloses two locations for the tag's circuit boards. Sensor circuit board 183 is attached to the inner side of lower housing part 132 ([0031]), and main circuit board 137 is mounted within upper housing part 131 ( [0027]; Fig. 5). Mounting the consolidated board in the upper housing part therefore selects one of only two mounting locations that Cargonja itself discloses. It also keeps the board where Cargonja already places the transmitter ([0027]–[0028]). The result is predictable: a board whose bottom-side sensors face the bag atmosphere through opening 166 and whose top-side transmitter faces away from the bag interior. Choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success would have been obvious. See MPEP 2143(I)(E).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Cargonja, Surattee, and Sabounjian teaches the apparatus of claim 7. Claim 8 recites the same limitation as claim 2, namely that the upper casing is attached to the lower casing through a torsion screw mechanism. Claim 8 is therefore rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites limitations substantially identical to those of claim 1. The exceptions are that claim 13 positively recites a barrier bag as an element of the apparatus and refers to "the wall of the barrier bag." Claim 13 is therefore rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 1. As to the positively recited barrier bag, Surattee teaches a barrier bag: bag 1, which Surattee itself calls a "barrier bag" ([0011]), has side walls formed of flexible sheets that include a laminated aluminum foil material ([0012], [0014]). As set forth in the rejection of claim 1, it would have been obvious to mount the monitoring apparatus of Cargonja in the wall of such a barrier bag. The resulting apparatus comprises the barrier bag, with the lower casing protruding upward through the wall of the barrier bag from within the bag, and with the upper casing attached to the lower casing and the outer surface of the bag around the protrusion.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Cargonja, Surattee, and Sabounjian teaches the apparatus of claim 13. Claim 14 recites the same limitation as claim 2, namely that the upper casing is attached to the lower casing through a torsion screw mechanism. Claim 14 is therefore rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 2.
Claim(s) 3, 9, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cargonja in view of Surattee and Sabounjian, as applied to claims 1, 7 and 13 above, and further in view of Batko et al. (US 5,772,326 A).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Cargonja, Surattee, and Sabounjian teaches the device of claim 1, but does not teach wherein one or more sensors are additionally attached to the top of the circuit board. As modified in the rejection of claim 1, the circuit board of the combination carries temperature sensor 197 and humidity sensor 198 on its bottom side over opening 166 and carries the transmitter on its top side (Cargonja [0033]). Cargonja further contemplates that its sensors may measure other conditions ([0033]).
Batko teaches a sensor module in which a temperature sensor 18 and a passive infrared sensor 20 are mounted on opposite sides of the same printed circuit board 22 (Fig. 3; col. 4, ll. 49–61). The temperature sensor 18 is mounted on the back of the board, where it is open to air circulating through the module housing. The passive infrared sensor 20 is mounted so that it is not exposed to that air (col. 4, ll. 49–61). The air therefore circulates around the sensor on one side of the board but not around the sensor on the opposite side (Abstract; col. 2, ll. 27–38; claims 10, 12). Batko further teaches that it is desirable to provide a plurality of parameter sensors in one sensor module (col. 1, ll. 17–25). It also teaches that the mounting and exposure requirements of such diverse sensors are often quite different, making it difficult to mount them in a common module (col. 1, ll. 26–36). Batko thus teaches one or more sensors attached to the side of a circuit board opposite a sensor that is exposed to the monitored environment.
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to attach one or more additional sensors to the top of the circuit board of the combination, as taught by Batko, so as to monitor additional parameters with the same device. Batko teaches that it is desirable to provide a plurality of parameter sensors in a single module (col. 1, ll. 17–25), and that sensors with differing exposure requirements can be accommodated by mounting them on opposite sides of a common circuit board (Abstract; col. 2, ll. 27–38). In the combination, the bottom side of the board faces opening 166 and is sealed to the lower housing part by a gasket surrounding the opening, so that the sensors there are exposed to the bag atmosphere (Cargonja [0029], [0031], [0033]). The top side, by contrast, faces the interior of the upper casing. A PHOSITA would therefore have placed any additional sensor that does not require exposure to the bag atmosphere on the top side, as Batko teaches, leaving the sealed region over opening 166 for the sensors that do. This is the application of a known technique (mounting sensors with differing exposure requirements on opposite sides of a common board) to a known device ready for improvement, yielding predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(D).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Cargonja, Surattee, and Sabounjian teaches the apparatus of claim 7. Claim 9 recites the same limitation as claim 3, namely one or more sensors additionally attached to the top of the circuit board. Claim 9 is therefore rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 3, subject to the following clarification. In the combination as applied to claim 7, the circuit board is attached to the upper casing rather than to the lower casing. The bottom side of the board is nonetheless positioned over opening 166 and faces the bag atmosphere through that opening (Cargonja [0033], [0041]), while the top side faces away from the opening, toward the upper casing. Batko's teaching of mounting sensors with differing exposure requirements on opposite sides of a common circuit board (Abstract; col. 2, ll. 27–38) therefore applies in the same way. A PHOSITA would have placed any additional sensor that does not require exposure to the bag atmosphere on the top side of the board.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Cargonja, Surattee, and Sabounjian teaches the apparatus of claim 13. Claim 15 recites the same limitation as claim 3, namely one or more sensors additionally attached to the top of the circuit board. Claim 15 is therefore rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 3.
Claim(s) 4, 10, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cargonja in view of Surattee, Sabounjian, and Batko, as applied to claims 3, 9 and 15 above, and further in view of Ganz et al. (US 2005/0179562 A1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Cargonja, Surattee, Sabounjian, and Batko teaches the device of claim 3, but does not teach wherein at least one of the sensors attached to the top of the circuit bord is an accelerometer. Cargonja's sensors measure temperature and humidity, and Cargonja contemplates that its sensors may measure other conditions ([0033]).
Ganz teaches a portable environmental data recorder that records the vibration, temperature, and humidity experienced by the items it accompanies, including while those items are transported between locations ([0021], [0035]; Fig. 10). Ganz's humidity/temperature sensor 809 and accelerometers 810, 811 are mounted on the same electronics circuit board 503 ([0023]; Fig. 5). Grill 203 allows air to flow to humidity/temperature sensor 809 ([0022], [0024]). Accelerometers 810, 811 transmit acceleration values from which the vibration to which the recorder itself has been subjected is calculated ([0028]). Ganz explains that vibration or shock, like changes in temperature and humidity, can affect the monitored items ([0004], [0006], [0041]).
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to make at least one of the additional sensors attached to the top of the circuit board of the combination an accelerometer, as taught by Ganz. The apparatus would then record the vibration and shock experienced by the bag contents in addition to the temperature and humidity within the bag. Cargonja is directed to monitoring containers during shipment ([0002]). Ganz teaches that vibration or shock encountered during handling and transport, like temperature and humidity, can affect the monitored items ([0004], [0006]). Ganz further teaches that an accelerometer mounted on the same circuit board as a humidity/temperature sensor records that vibration ([0023], [0035]). Ganz provides airflow only to its humidity/temperature sensor ([0022], [0024]), while its accelerometers measure the motion of the recorder itself ([0028]); an accelerometer therefore does not require exposure to the surrounding air. For the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 3, a PHOSITA would accordingly have located the accelerometer on the top side of the board, as Batko teaches for sensors that do not require exposure to the monitored environment (Batko, Abstract; col. 1, ll. 26–36; col. 2, ll. 27–38). The sealed region over opening 166 would remain available for the sensors that do require that exposure. This is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Cargonja, Surattee, Sabounjian, and Batko teaches the apparatus of claim 9. Claim 10 recites the same limitation as claim 4, namely that at least one of the sensors attached to the top of the circuit board is an accelerometer. Claim 10 is therefore rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 4, subject to the following clarification. In the combination as applied to claim 9, the circuit board is attached to the upper casing rather than to the lower casing. As explained in the rejection of claim 9, the bottom side of the board is nonetheless positioned over opening 166 and faces the bag atmosphere through that opening, while the top side faces away from the opening. An accelerometer measures the motion of the device itself and does not require exposure to the surrounding air (Ganz [0022], [0024], [0028]). A PHOSITA would therefore have located the accelerometer on the top side of the board, as Batko teaches for sensors that do not require exposure to the monitored environment (Batko, Abstract; col. 1, ll. 26–36; col. 2, ll. 27–38). The bottom side over opening 166 would remain available for the sensors that do require that exposure.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Cargonja, Surattee, Sabounjian, and Batko teaches the apparatus of claim 15. Claim 16 recites the same limitation as claim 4, namely that at least one of the sensors attached to the top of the circuit board is an accelerometer. Claim 16 is therefore rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 4.
Claim(s) 5, 11, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cargonja in view of Surattee and Sabounjian, as applied to claims 1, 7 and 13 above, and further in view of Ganz.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Cargonja, Surattee, and Sabounjian teaches the device of claim 1, but does not teach further comprising a microprocessor and a non-transitory storage device, wherein the microprocessor is attached to the circuit board, is in electronic communication with the one or more sensors, and records sensor data onto the storage device.
Ganz teaches a micro-controller 801 that receives inputs from its sensors and writes the measured temperature, humidity, and vibration values, with the date and time, to an EEPROM 816 ([0026], [0030]–[0031]; Fig. 8). The EEPROM retains its data even after battery failure ([0033], Table 1). Ganz's sensors are mounted to an electronics circuit board 503 ([0023]; Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add Ganz's micro-controller and EEPROM to the circuit board of the combination, in electronic communication with sensors 197 and 198, so as to record their readings. Cargonja's tag already maintains time and date information and checks measured humidity against a specified range ([0032], [0041]). Ganz teaches that recording time-stamped sensor readings preserves a history of the conditions the monitored items experienced for later analysis ([0035]). That history is what Surattee seeks in order to determine whether moisture within a barrier bag has exceeded acceptable levels ([0016]). Mounting the micro-controller on the circuit board follows from the single-board consolidation set forth for claim 1. Adding a known microcontroller-and-memory arrangement to a known monitoring device yields predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Cargonja, Surattee, and Sabounjian teaches the apparatus of claim 7. Claim 11 recites the same limitation as claim 5: a microprocessor and a non-transitory storage device, wherein the microprocessor is attached to the circuit board, is in electronic communication with the one or more sensors, and records sensor data onto the storage device. Claim 11 is therefore rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 5. In the combination as applied to claim 7, the consolidated circuit board is attached to the upper casing (see the rejection of claim 7). Mounting Ganz's micro-controller and EEPROM on that board follows from the same single-board consolidation.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Cargonja, Surattee, and Sabounjian teaches the apparatus of claim 13. Claim 17 recites the same limitation as claim 5, namely a microprocessor and a non-transitory storage device, wherein the microprocessor is attached to the circuit board, is in electronic communication with the one or more sensors, and records sensor data onto the storage device. Claim 17 is therefore rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 5.
Claim(s) 6, 12, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cargonja in view of Surattee, Sabounjian, and Ganz, as applied to claims 5, 11 and 17 above, and further in view of MokhtarzadehBahadorani (US 2020/0180845 A1).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Cargonja, Surattee, Sabounjian, and Ganz teaches the device of claim 5, but does not teach further comprising an electronic display wherein the electronic display is in electronic communication with the microprocessor, the display is visible through the upper casing, and the microprocessor is configured to present information from the one or more sensors on the display.
MokhtarzadehBahadorani teaches a monitoring system for a sealed shipping container. Its processor board 128 includes a microprocessor, a memory, and circuitry that measure the outputs of temperature, humidity, and vibration sensors and display the measured values on an LCD or LED display screen 134. The operation of the display screen is connected to the processor board ([0025]–[0026], [0030]; Fig. 3). A transparent cover 136 of clear plastic is provided over display screen 134, and a see-through window 138 overlays the display, so that the sensed values are viewable from outside the closed container ([0029], [0033]; Figs. 3, 4D).
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the combination with an electronic display in electronic communication with the microprocessor, to configure the microprocessor to present the sensor readings on the display, and to make the display visible through a transparent portion of the upper casing, all as taught by MokhtarzadehBahadorani. Surattee identifies the need for a user to verify the moisture condition inside a sealed barrier bag without opening the bag, and addresses that need by making the indication visible from outside the bag ([0004], [0016]). MokhtarzadehBahadorani teaches that an electronic display driven by the monitoring microprocessor and viewed through a transparent cover makes the sensed values externally viewable on a sealed shipping container ([0005], [0029]). A PHOSITA would have been motivated to add such a display so that a handler can read the conditions inside the sealed barrier bag directly, without opening the bag and without a separate wireless reader. Cargonja's upper housing part is plastic ([0026]). Providing it with a transparent region over the display, as MokhtarzadehBahadorani does with cover 136, is therefore a routine implementation. The combination of these known elements according to known methods yields predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Cargonja, Surattee, Sabounjian, and Ganz teaches the apparatus of claim 11. Claim 12 recites the same limitation as claim 6, namely an electronic display in electronic communication with the microprocessor and visible through the upper casing, with the microprocessor configured to present information from the one or more sensors on the display. Claim 12 is therefore rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Cargonja, Surattee, Sabounjian, and Ganz teaches the apparatus of claim 17. Claim 18 recites the same limitation as claim 6, namely an electronic display in electronic communication with the microprocessor and visible through the upper casing, with the microprocessor configured to present information from the one or more sensors on the display. Claim 18 is therefore rejected for the reasons set forth above in the rejection of claim 6.
Conclusion
/RAJSHEED O BLACK-CHILDRESS/Examiner, Art Unit 2685