Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, claims 12-14 in the reply filed on 01/06/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the method claims of Group I include all the limitations of the independent product claims of Group II. This is not found persuasive because as the examiner outlines the groups have unique CPC classification which would require different searching along with a unique text search. Applicant has failed to outline how the examiner’s reasoning is invalid or how the groups would instead have the same classification. Further, as the examiner outlined group I, the composition, may be used in a different method of weed-control thus further outlining the search burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong et al. (CN110024796A, published 07/19/2019, Google English translation, hereafter Kong) in view of Witschel et al. (EP2868196A1, published 05/06/2015, hereafter Witschel).
Kong claims an herbicide composition comprising flumioxazin and diclosulam at a mass ratio of 1.5-5:1 (claim 1 and abstract; according to the claim limitations of the instant claims 12-13). Kong claims a wettable powder, a water dispersible granule, and a composition with a floating agent composition comprising 0.2-90 parts of flumioxazin and 0.2-90 parts of diclosulam (claims 3, 5, and 7; according to the claim limitations of the instant claims 12-13). Further, Kong claims an additional wettable powder composition, an additional water dispersible granule composition, and an additional composition with a floating agent comprising 0.5-60 parts flumioxazin and 0.5-60 parts of diclosulam (claims 4, 6, and 8; according to the claim limitations of the instant claims 12-13).
Although Kong claims the addition of flumioxazin, but fails to claim ethyl 2-[2-[[3-chloro-5-fluoro-6-[3-methyl-2,6-dioxo-4- (trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-1 -yl]- 2-pyridyl]oxy]phenoxy]acetate as in instant claim 12. Further, Kong fails to teach the addition of a third herbicide as in instant claim 14.
Witschel claims a herbicidal composition comprising herbicides of b1) to b15) to include: b1) lipid biosynthesis inhibitor, b2) acetolactate synthase inhibitors, b4) protoporphyrinogen-IX oxidase inhibitors, b5) bleacher herbicides, b6) enolpyruvyl shikimate 3-phosphate synthase inhibitors (EPSP inhibitors), b7) glutamine synthetase, b10) inhibitors of the synthesis of very long chain fatty acids (VLCFA inhibitors), and b13) auxin herbicides (claim 1; according to the claim limitations of the instant claims 12-14). Witschel claims the b1) lipid biosynthesis inhibitor to be clethodim (claim 3; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 14). Witschel claims the b2) ALS inhibitor to be selected from the group to include diclosulam and imazethapyr (claim 3; according to the claim limitations of the instant claims 12 and 14). Witschel claims the b4) protoporphyrinogen-IX oxidase inhibitor to be selected from the group to include flumioxazin and ethyl [3-[2-chloro-4-fluoro-5-(1-methyl-6-trifluoromethyl-2,4-dioxo-1,2,3,4-tetrahydropyrimidin-3-yl)phenoxy]-2-pyridyloxy]acetate (CAS 353292-31-6; S-3100) (claim 3; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 12). Witschel claims the b5) bleacher herbicides are selected from a group to include mesotrione, and isoxaflutole (claim 3; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 14). Witschel claims the b6) EPSP inhibitors to be selected from the group: glyphosate, glyphosate-isopropylammonium and glyphosate-trimesium (sulfosate) (claim 3; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 14). Witschel claims the b7) glutamine synthase inhibitors to be selected from the group: glufosinate, glufosinate-P, and glufosinate-ammonium (claim 3; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 14). Witschel claims the b10) VLCFA inhibitor is selected from a group including acetochlor, dimethenamid, and dimethenamid-P (claim 3; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 14). Lastly, Witschel claims the b13) auxin herbicides is selected from a group to include 2,4-D (claim 3; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 14).
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim the herbicidal composition of Kong with the simple substitution of ethyl [3-[2-chloro-4-fluoro-5-(1-methyl-6-trifluoromethyl-2,4-dioxo-1,2,3,4-tetrahydropyrimidin-3-yl)phenoxy]-2-pyridyloxy]acetate (CAS 353292-31-6; S-3100) for flumioxazin as outlined by Witschel. Simple substitution of one protoporphyrinogen-IX oxidase inhibitor for another is within the purview of the skilled artisan and would yield predictable results. Further, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would claim a herbicidal composition comprising diclosulam and a protoporphyrinogen-IX oxidase inhibitor as outlined by Kong with the ready for improvement with the known technique of adding additional herbicides such as clethodim, imazethapyr, mesotrione, isoxaflutole, glyphosate, glufosinate, acetochlor, dimethenamid, dimethenamid-P, and 2,4-D as outlined by Witschel. Adding the forementioned components to an herbicidal composition as claimed by instant claim 14 would yield predictable results thus making them of obviousness as modification of a known product with a known technique is within the purview of the skilled artisan.
Double Patenting
Claims 12-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4, 7-8, and 14 of U.S. Patent No. US10375959B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
US10375959B2 claims an herbicidal composition comprising b) a single herbicide B selected from a group to include flumioxazin and c) herbicide C, at least one selected from a group consisting of fomesafen, dimethenamid, acetochlor, pendimethalin, dicamba, imazamox, imazethapyr, atrazine, diclosulam, mesotrione, isoxaflutole, topramezone, clethodim, 2,4-D, and their agriculturally acceptable enantiomers, salts and esters, (claims 1 and 14; according to the claim limitations of the instant claims 12 and 14). Further, claim 1 of US10375959B2 claims the weight ratio of B to A is 35:1 to 1:5; the weight ratio of A to C is 1:75 to 10:1 and the weight ratio of B to the sum of A and C is 30:1 to 1:60 (according to the claim limitations of the instant claims 12-13). Claim 2 of US10375959B2 claims the at least one herbicide C is diclosulam, imazamox or imazethapyr, or their agriculturally acceptable salts or esters (according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 12). Claim 4 of US10375959B2 claims the at least one herbicide C is dicamba or 2,4-D, or their agriculturally acceptable salts or esters (according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 14). Claim 7 of US10375959B2 claims the at least one herbicide C is mesotrione or topramezone or their agriculturally acceptable salts (according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 14).Claim 8 of US10375959B2 claims the at least one herbicide C is dimethenamid or acetochlor or their agriculturally acceptable enantiomers (according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 14).
US10375959B2 claims the addition of flumioxazin, but fails to claim ethyl 2-[2-[[3-chloro-5-fluoro-6-[3-methyl-2,6-dioxo-4- (trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-1 -yl]- 2-pyridyl]oxy]phenoxy]acetate as in instant claim 12.
As outlined above, Witschel teaches an herbicidal composition and outlines that both flumioxazin and ethyl 2-[2-[[3-chloro-5-fluoro-6-[3-methyl-2,6-dioxo-4- (trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-1 -yl]- 2-pyridyl]oxy]phenoxy]acetate are both protoporphyrinogen-IX oxidase inhibitors used as herbicides.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim the herbicidal composition of US10375959B2 with the simple substitution of ethyl [3-[2-chloro-4-fluoro-5-(1-methyl-6-trifluoromethyl-2,4-dioxo-1,2,3,4-tetrahydropyrimidin-3-yl)phenoxy]-2-pyridyloxy]acetate (CAS 353292-31-6; S-3100) for flumioxazin as outlined by Witschel. Simple substitution of one protoporphyrinogen-IX oxidase inhibitor for another is within the purview of the skilled artisan and would yield predictable results.
Claims 12-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4, 6-8, 10 of copending Application No. 18/992,056 (reference application) in view of Kong et al. (CN110024796A, published 07/19/2019, Google English translation, hereafter Kong), and in view of Witschel et al. (EP2868196A1, published 05/06/2015, hereafter Witschel).. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
18/992,056 claims an herbicidal combination comprising b4) protoporphyrinogen-IX oxidase inhibitor and b2) acetolactate synthase inhibitor (claim 1; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 12). 18/992,056 claims b2) the ALS inhibitor is a sulfonanilide such as diclosulam (claim 2; according to the claim limitation of the instant claim 12). 18/992,056 claims the active compound b) comprises at least one compound (II) selected from a group b2) to include diclosulam (claim 4; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 4). 18/992,056 claims the active compound b) comprises at least one compound (II) selected from the compounds of group b4): saflufenacil, trifludimoxazin, epyrifenacil (also known as ethyl 2-[2-[[3-chloro-5-fluoro-6-[3-methyl-2,6-dioxo-4- (trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-1 -yl]- 2-pyridyl]oxy]phenoxy]acetate) (claim 6; according to the claim limitations of the instant claims 12 and 14). Claim 1 of 18/992,056 further claims the composition comprising b6) from the group of [[the]] EPSP synthase inhibitors:glyphosate, glyphosate-isopropylammonium, glyposate-potassiuml and glyphosate-trimesium (sulfosate);b7) from the group of [[the]] glutamine synthase inhibitors:bilanaphos (bialaphos), bilanaphos-sodium, glufosinate, glufosinate-P, glufosinate-ammonium, and glufosinate-P-ammonium (according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 14). Claim 8 of 18/992,056 claims the active compound b) comprises at least one compound (II) selected from the compounds of group b6) and b7): glyphosate, glyphosate-isopropylammonium, glyposate-potassium and glyphosate-trimesium (sulfosate)glufosinate, glufosinate-P, glufosinate-ammoniuml and glufosinate-P-ammonium (according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 14). Further claim 1 of 18/992,056 claims the compisiton comprises b13) which is selected from the group of auxinic herbicides: 2,4-D and its salts and esters (according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 14). Claim 10 of 18/992,056 claims active compound b) comprises at least one compound (II) selected from the compounds of group b10):acetochlor, butachlor, dimethenamid-P, metazachlor, metolachlor, metolachlor-S, pretilachlor, and flufenacet pyroxasulfone (according to the claim limitations of instant claim 14). Claim 2 of 18/992,056 further claims the b2) ALS inhibitor is a imidazolinone, specifically imazethapyr (according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 14). Claim 1 of 18/992,056 further claims the composition comprises b5) bleacher herbicides and claim 7 of 18/992,056 claims the active compound b) comprises at least one compound (II) selected from the compounds of group b5): diflufenican, picolinafen, clomazone, isoxaflutole, mesotrione, topramezone, aclonifen, andbixlozone (according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 14). Lastly, claim 1 of 18/992,056 further claims the composition comprises the active ingredient b1) lipid biosynthesis inhibitor and claim 2 of 18/992,056 further claims the b1) lipid biosynthesis inhibitor is clethodim (according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 14).
18/992,056 claims an herbicide composition comprising diclosulam and epyrifenacil, but fails to teach the concentration ratios of the instant claims 12-13.
As outlined above, Witschel teaches an herbicidal composition and outlines that both flumioxazin and ethyl 2-[2-[[3-chloro-5-fluoro-6-[3-methyl-2,6-dioxo-4- (trifluoromethyl)pyrimidin-1 -yl]- 2-pyridyl]oxy]phenoxy]acetate (epyrifenacil) are both protoporphyrinogen-IX oxidase inhibitors used as herbicides.
Further, as outlined above, Kong teaches an herbicidal composition comprising diclosulam and flumioxazin, a protoporphyrinogen-IX oxidase inhibitor (as outlined by Witchel) at a mass ratio of 1.5-5:1.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim an herbicidal composition comprising diclosulam and epyrifenacil as outlined by 18/992,056 with the ready for improvement with the known technique of adjusting the concentrations of the diclosulam and the protoporphyrinogen (epyrifenacil) to a ratio of 1.5-5:1 to each other as outlined by Kong and Witschel. Adjusting the forementioned components of a herbicidal composition as claimed by instant claims 12-13 would yield predictable results thus making them of obviousness as modification of a known product with a known technique is within the purview of the skilled artisan. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/BETHANY P BARHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1611
/A.N.I./Examiner, Art Unit 1611