DETAILED ACTION
This is a Non-final Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-10 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim of priority for foreign application FR2409848, filed 09/17/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 09/17/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6-8, and 10 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites introduces the term “a motor vehicle”, then later recites “…the vehicle…”. Examiner respectfully recommends maintaining consistency between naming conventions to ensure clarity.
Claim 6 recites “the relevant social networks”. Examiner respectfully recommends modifying the limitation to omit the term “the” since this is the first instance of “relevant social networks”.
Claim 7 recites “…a personalization method according to claim 1”. Since the personalization method was already introduced in claim 1, Examiner respectfully recommends modifying the limitation to “…the personalization method according to claim 1”.
Claim 8 introduces the term “electronic personalization device” then later recites “…the electronic device…”. Examiner respectfully recommends maintaining consistency between naming conventions to ensure clarity.
Claim 8 introduces the term “at least one item of on-board electronic equipment”, then later recites “…the on-board electronic equipment…”. Examiner respectfully recommends maintaining consistency between naming conventions to ensure clarity.
Claim 10 recites “…an on-board equipment item…”, “…items of equipment…”, and “…another equipment item…”. It is unclear if these three terms are referring to additional instances of the “item of on-board electronic equipment” recited in parent claims 8-9 or a different category of items due to having different naming conventions.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
the module for the cockpit domain controller to acquire social network data associated with a respective user in claims 8-10 (See at least [0028] for corresponding structure):
“…for the cockpit domain controller to acquire social network data associated with a respective user…”
the module for building a model of a user profile in claims 8-10 (See at least [0028] for corresponding structure):
“…for building a model of a user profile, known as a user model, from the social network data associated with said user…”
the module for transmitting the user model to at least one item of on-board equipment in the vehicle in claims 8-10 (See at least [0028] for corresponding structure):
“…for transmitting the user model to at least one item of on-board equipment in the vehicle, so that the on-board electronic equipment can perform an action dependent on the user model”
the emotion(s) detector in claims 9 (See at least [0016], [0033], [0036] & [0041] for corresponding structure):
“…configured to detect at least one user emotion using a context provided by the user model and to generate a control signal for another equipment item based on the detected emotion”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “relevant” in claim 6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “relevant” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitation “…determining a social group of the user based on social network data and data fusion recommendations from the relevant social networks” has been rendered indefinite by the use of the term “relevant”.
Regarding claim 10, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding Independent Claim 1:
Step 1: Claim 1 is directed to a personalization method (i.e., a process). Therefore, claim 1 is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong 1: Regarding Prong 1 of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection. Claim 1 recites:
A personalization method for a motor vehicle, implemented by an electronic personalization device for the motor vehicle intended to be carried on board the motor vehicle, the vehicle comprising a cockpit domain controller configured to identify a user of the vehicle, connect to an item of user equipment, and collect social network data from the user, the method comprising:
acquiring, via the cockpit domain controller, social network data associated with a user;
building a model of a user profile, known as a user model, from the social network data associated with said user; and
transmitting the user model to at least one item of on-board electronic equipment in the vehicle, so that the on-board electronic equipment can perform an action dependent on the user model.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitations constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitations in the human mind. For example, the limitation “identify a user of the vehicle” in the context of this claim encompasses mentally identifying or recognizing a user of the vehicle. The limitation “building a model of a user profile, known as a user model, from the social network data associated with said user” in the context of this claim encompasses mentally building a model of a user profile from social network data.
Step 2A Prong 2: Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
A personalization method for a motor vehicle, implemented by an electronic personalization device for the motor vehicle intended to be carried on board the motor vehicle, the vehicle comprising a cockpit domain controller configured to identify a user of the vehicle, connect to an item of user equipment, and collect social network data from the user, the method comprising:
acquiring, via the cockpit domain controller, social network data associated with a user;
building a model of a user profile, known as a user model, from the social network data associated with said user; and
transmitting the user model to at least one item of on-board electronic equipment in the vehicle, so that the on-board electronic equipment can perform an action dependent on the user model.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
The additional limitations “a motor vehicle”, “implemented by an electronic personalization device for the motor vehicle intended to be carried on board the motor vehicle”, and “the vehicle comprising a cockpit domain controller configured to…” merely describe how to generally “apply” the otherwise mental judgements in a generic or general purpose vehicle control environment using generic computer components. The limitations “connect to an item of user equipment, and collect social network data from the user”, “acquiring, via the cockpit domain controller, social network data associated with a user”, and “transmitting the user model to at least one item of on-board electronic equipment in the vehicle, so that the on-board electronic equipment can perform an action dependent on the user model” are recited at a high level of generality such that they amount to nothing more than insignificant extra-solution activity (i.e., data gathering, data transmission, and data output).
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B: Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements “a motor vehicle”, “implemented by an electronic personalization device for the motor vehicle intended to be carried on board the motor vehicle”, and “the vehicle comprising a cockpit domain controller configured to…” are recited at a high-level of generality and amount to nothing more than applying the exception to a technological environment using generic computer components. The Examiner also submits that the additional limitations “connect to an item of user equipment, and collect social network data from the user”, “acquiring, via the cockpit domain controller, social network data associated with a user”, and “transmitting the user model to at least one item of on-board electronic equipment in the vehicle, so that the on-board electronic equipment can perform an action dependent on the user model” are insignificant extra-solution activity.
Further, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitations “connect to an item of user equipment, and collect social network data from the user”, “acquiring, via the cockpit domain controller, social network data associated with a user”, and “transmitting the user model to at least one item of on-board electronic equipment in the vehicle, so that the on-board electronic equipment can perform an action dependent on the user model” are well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in light of MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i) and the cases cited therein, including Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information) and buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network), which indicate that receiving or transmitting data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner.
Therefore, claim 1 is ineligible under 35 U.S.C §101.
Regarding Independent Claim 8:
Step 1: Claim 8 is directed to an electronic personalization device (i.e., a machine). Therefore, claim 8 is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong 1: Regarding Prong 1 of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 8 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection. Claim 8 recites:
An electronic personalization device for a motor vehicle, intended to be carried on board the motor vehicle, the vehicle comprising a cockpit domain controller configured to identify a user of the vehicle, connect to an item of user equipment and collect social network data from the user, the electronic device comprising:
a module for the cockpit domain controller to acquire social network data associated with a respective user;
a module for building a model of a user profile, known as a user model, from the social network data associated with said user; and
a module for transmitting the user model to at least one item of on-board electronic equipment in the vehicle, so that the on-board electronic equipment can perform an action dependent on the user model.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitations constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitations in the human mind. For example, the limitation “identify a user of the vehicle” in the context of this claim encompasses mentally identifying or recognizing a user of the vehicle. The limitation “building a model of a user profile, known as a user model, from the social network data associated with said user” in the context of this claim encompasses mentally building a model of a user profile from social network data.
Step 2A Prong 2: Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
An electronic personalization device for a motor vehicle, intended to be carried on board the motor vehicle, the vehicle comprising a cockpit domain controller configured to identify a user of the vehicle, connect to an item of user equipment and collect social network data from the user, the electronic device comprising:
a module for the cockpit domain controller to acquire social network data associated with a respective user;
a module for building a model of a user profile, known as a user model, from the social network data associated with said user; and
a module for transmitting the user model to at least one item of on-board electronic equipment in the vehicle, so that the on-board electronic equipment can perform an action dependent on the user model.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
The additional limitations “a motor vehicle”, “intended to be carried on board the motor vehicle”, “the vehicle comprising a cockpit domain controller configured to…”, and “a module for…” merely describe how to generally “apply” the otherwise mental judgements in a generic or general purpose vehicle control environment using generic computer components. The limitations “connect to an item of user equipment and collect social network data from the user”, “a module for the cockpit domain controller to acquire social network data associated with a respective user”, and “a module for transmitting the user model to at least one item of on-board electronic equipment in the vehicle, so that the on-board electronic equipment can perform an action dependent on the user model” are recited at a high level of generality such that they amount to nothing more than insignificant extra-solution activity (i.e., data gathering, data transmission, and data output).
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B: Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, representative independent claim 8 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements “a motor vehicle”, “intended to be carried on board the motor vehicle”, “the vehicle comprising a cockpit domain controller configured to…”, and “a module for…” are recited at a high-level of generality and amount to nothing more than applying the exception to a vehicle control environment using generic computer components. The Examiner also submits that the limitations “connect to an item of user equipment and collect social network data from the user”, “a module for the cockpit domain controller to acquire social network data associated with a respective user”, and “a module for transmitting the user model to at least one item of on-board electronic equipment in the vehicle, so that the on-board electronic equipment can perform an action dependent on the user model” are insignificant extra-solution activity.
Further, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitations “connect to an item of user equipment, and collect social network data from the user”, “acquiring, via the cockpit domain controller, social network data associated with a user”, and “transmitting the user model to at least one item of on-board electronic equipment in the vehicle, so that the on-board electronic equipment can perform an action dependent on the user model” are well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in light of MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i) and the cases cited therein, including Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information) and buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network), which indicate that receiving or transmitting data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner.
Therefore, claim 8 is ineligible under 35 U.S.C §101.
Dependent Claims
Dependent claims 2-7 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claims to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception. Dependent claim 2 further describes the social network data, dependent claim 3 further describes the user model, dependent claims 4-5 further describes the building step, dependent claim 6 is further directed to the abstract idea of determining a social group based on social network data and data fusion recommendations from relevant social networks, and dependent claim 7 recites additional elements that apply the abstract ideas to a technological environment using generic computer components.
Therefore, claim(s) 1-8 is/are ineligible under 35 U.S.C. §101.
Eligible Claims
Claims 9-10 are found to have a practical application via implementing an action dependent on said user model, controlling activation of one or more other items of equipment, and generating a control signal for another equipment item based on the detected emotion and are thus considered eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sobhany of US 20200242421 A1, published 07/30/2020, hereinafter “Sobhany”, in view of Harber of US 20150289120 A1, published 10/08/2015, hereinafter “Harber”.
Regarding claim 1, Sobhany teaches:
A personalization method for a motor vehicle, implemented by an electronic personalization device for the motor vehicle intended to be carried on board the motor vehicle, (See at least Fig. 5 & [0048]: “As shown in FIG. 3, the vehicle 110 can include a vehicle experience system 310. The vehicle experience system 310 controls an experience for passengers in the vehicle 110…In some embodiments, the vehicle experience system is implemented using hardware in the vehicle 110 that also performs other functions of the vehicle. For example, the vehicle experience system can be implemented within an infotainment system in the vehicle 110. In other embodiments, components such as one or more processors or storage devices can be added to the vehicle 110, where some or all functionality of the vehicle experience system is implemented on the added hardware.”)
(See at least Fig. 5, [0045]: “In still other cases, the input devices 220 include one or more interfaces that receive a signal from a device that is not integrated into the vehicle 110. For example, the input devices 220 can include an interface configured to receive a signal from a mobile device or wearable device (such as a smart phone, smart watch, smart glasses, or tablet), such that the driver can provide inputs to the vehicle 110 via the mobile or wearable device” & [0100]: “The process can include identifying user(s) in the vehicle (block 806). For instance, facial recognition can be used to identify a driver in a driver region of the vehicle. As another example, other biometric information (e.g., height/weight of the user) can be acquired to identify a passenger in a passenger region of the vehicle. Upon identifying the user in a region of the vehicle (e.g., driver seat, passenger seat), user characteristic information and/or a user-specific model associated with the identified user can be retrieved and/or derived.” See also [0098] & [0124] regarding collecting social media data.)
acquiring(See at least [0098]: “FIG. 8 is an example flow diagram 800 of a process for generating user-specific output actions in a vehicle. As shown in FIG. 8, a process may include acquiring various user characteristic information that relates to a particular user (block 802). Examples of user characteristic information can include biometric information of a user, previous feedback information provided by the user, driving patterns and tendencies by the user, preferred vehicle settings for the user, etc.” & [0124]: “The user characteristic information can be retrieved from third-party sources. For instance, information gathered from social media applications, a smart home environment, sensor data from a previously-occupied vehicle by the user, etc.”)
building a model of a user profile, known as a user model, from the social network data associated with said user; and (See at least [0098-0099]: “The user characteristic information can be acquired and processed to develop a profile of the user that can be utilized as a model in generating user-specific output actions. The process can include processing user characteristic information to generate a user profile (block 804). For example, driving tendencies and patterns of the user can be processed to determine a driving profile type that corresponds to one of a series of predetermined driving profiles. As another example, the profile can include vehicle settings that are specific to the user. The profile of the user can be used to develop a model that correlates various vehicle inputs and corresponding vehicle output actions.”)
transmitting the user model to at least one item of on-board electronic equipment in the vehicle, so that the on-board electronic equipment can perform an action dependent on the user model. (See at least Fig. 3, [0100]: “Upon identifying the user in a region of the vehicle (e.g., driver seat, passenger seat), user characteristic information and/or a user-specific model associated with the identified user can be retrieved and/or derived” & [0102]: “The process may include generating user-specific output actions in the vehicle (block 810). The output actions can include actions performed by components of the vehicle either interior of the vehicle or exterior of the vehicle. For instance, an output action can include playing a specific form of media (e.g., audio/video) in the vehicle, adjusting the temperature in the vehicle, modifying light settings in the vehicle, changing computer-generated directions to a destination, etc. The user-specific output actions can be based on any of the user profile for the user and the detected emotional state of the user.”)
However, Sobhany does not explicitly teach that the vehicle includes a cockpit domain controller that identifies a user of the vehicle, connects to an item of user equipment, and collects social network data from a user.
Harber teaches a mobile computing device on a vehicle that runs a content application including a retrieval module that receives a user’s login credential to retrieve social network data associated with the user and a communication unit that sends and receives data to and from a user device (See at least [0024], [0031] & [0039]).
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to combine Sobhany’s method with Harber’s mobile computing device that identifies a user of the vehicle, connects to an item of user equipment, and collects social network data from a user. Doing so would be obvious for “automatically learning a user's preference model” and so “the system provides a better user experience by automatically providing content items to a user in a timely manner, which saves the user's time on the content selection” (See [0007] of Harber).
NOTE: Claim 1 recites the following intended use limitation: “…so that the on-board electronic equipment can perform an action dependent on the user model”. This limitation is not positively recited, and is instead recited as intended use since it recites an intended result for “transmitting the user model to at least one item of on-board electronic equipment in the vehicle”. Therefore, the BRI of claim 1 does not require the aforementioned intended use limitation.
Regarding claim 2, Sobhany and Harber in combination teach all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Harber additionally teaches:
wherein the social network data comprise one or more data from the group consisting of: a list of social networks frequently used by the user; a history of actions carried out by the user on each social network; keywords associated with content consulted by the user on each social network; a history of the user's usage time ranges of each social network; a language for using at least one social network; and user location when using at least one social network. (See at least [0026]: “The social network data 147 is any data related to a social network. For example, the social network data 147 includes one or more of posts, comments, endorsements, shares, etc., published by a user in a social network. In another example, the social network data 147 includes data describing a user profile associated with a user (e.g., a user name, a gender, education background, working experience, interests, hobbies, demographic information, etc.), one or more news feeds subscribed by a user, a social feed associated with a user, one or more topics subscribed by a user, one or more communities participated by a user and one or more calendar events associated with a user, etc.”)
Regarding claim 3, Sobhany and Harber in combination teach all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Sobhany additionally teaches:
wherein the user model does not contain social network data and is stored in a memory intended for use in the vehicle only. (See at least [0057]: “The user profile module 318 manages profile data of a user of the vehicle (such as a driver). Because the automotive experience generated by the vehicle experience system 310 can be highly personalized for each individual user in some implementations, the user profile module generates and maintains a unique profile for the user. The user profile module can encrypt the profile data for storage. The data stored by the user profile module may not be accessible over the air” & [0098-0099]: “Examples of user characteristic information can include biometric information of a user, previous feedback information provided by the user, driving patterns and tendencies by the user, preferred vehicle settings for the user, etc. The user characteristic information can be acquired and processed to develop a profile of the user that can be utilized as a model in generating user-specific output actions. The process can include processing user characteristic information to generate a user profile (block 804). For example, driving tendencies and patterns of the user can be processed to determine a driving profile type that corresponds to one of a series of predetermined driving profiles. As another example, the profile can include vehicle settings that are specific to the user. The profile of the user can be used to develop a model that correlates various vehicle inputs and corresponding vehicle output actions.”)
Regarding claim 7, Sobhany and Harber in combination teach all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Sobhany additionally teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform a personalization method according to claim 1. (See at least [0053]: “In some cases, the vehicle experience system 310 includes one or more processors, such as a central processing unit (CPU), graphical processing unit (GPU), or neural processing unit (NPU), that executes instructions stored in a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, such as a memory.”)
Regarding claim 8, Sobhany teaches:
An electronic personalization device for a motor vehicle, intended to be carried on board the motor vehicle, (See at least Fig. 5 & [0048]: “As shown in FIG. 3, the vehicle 110 can include a vehicle experience system 310. The vehicle experience system 310 controls an experience for passengers in the vehicle 110…In some embodiments, the vehicle experience system is implemented using hardware in the vehicle 110 that also performs other functions of the vehicle. For example, the vehicle experience system can be implemented within an infotainment system in the vehicle 110. In other embodiments, components such as one or more processors or storage devices can be added to the vehicle 110, where some or all functionality of the vehicle experience system is implemented on the added hardware,” wherein the electronic personalization device is the vehicle experience system.)
(See at least Fig. 5, [0045]: “In still other cases, the input devices 220 include one or more interfaces that receive a signal from a device that is not integrated into the vehicle 110. For example, the input devices 220 can include an interface configured to receive a signal from a mobile device or wearable device (such as a smart phone, smart watch, smart glasses, or tablet), such that the driver can provide inputs to the vehicle 110 via the mobile or wearable device” & [0100]: “The process can include identifying user(s) in the vehicle (block 806). For instance, facial recognition can be used to identify a driver in a driver region of the vehicle. As another example, other biometric information (e.g., height/weight of the user) can be acquired to identify a passenger in a passenger region of the vehicle. Upon identifying the user in a region of the vehicle (e.g., driver seat, passenger seat), user characteristic information and/or a user-specific model associated with the identified user can be retrieved and/or derived.” See also [0098] & [0124] regarding collecting social media data.)
a module(See at least [0098]: “FIG. 8 is an example flow diagram 800 of a process for generating user-specific output actions in a vehicle. As shown in FIG. 8, a process may include acquiring various user characteristic information that relates to a particular user (block 802). Examples of user characteristic information can include biometric information of a user, previous feedback information provided by the user, driving patterns and tendencies by the user, preferred vehicle settings for the user, etc.” & [0124]: “The user characteristic information can be retrieved from third-party sources. For instance, information gathered from social media applications, a smart home environment, sensor data from a previously-occupied vehicle by the user, etc.”)
a module for building a model of a user profile, known as a user model, from the social network data associated with said user; and (See at least [0057]: “The user profile module 318 manages profile data of a user of the vehicle (such as a driver). Because the automotive experience generated by the vehicle experience system 310 can be highly personalized for each individual user in some implementations, the user profile module generates and maintains a unique profile for the user” & [0098-0099]: “The user characteristic information can be acquired and processed to develop a profile of the user that can be utilized as a model in generating user-specific output actions. The process can include processing user characteristic information to generate a user profile (block 804). For example, driving tendencies and patterns of the user can be processed to determine a driving profile type that corresponds to one of a series of predetermined driving profiles. As another example, the profile can include vehicle settings that are specific to the user. The profile of the user can be used to develop a model that correlates various vehicle inputs and corresponding vehicle output actions.”)
a module for transmitting the user model to at least one item of on-board electronic equipment in the vehicle, so that the on-board electronic equipment can perform an action dependent on the user model. (See at least Fig. 3, [0100]: “Upon identifying the user in a region of the vehicle (e.g., driver seat, passenger seat), user characteristic information and/or a user-specific model associated with the identified user can be retrieved and/or derived” & [0102]: “The process may include generating user-specific output actions in the vehicle (block 810). The output actions can include actions performed by components of the vehicle either interior of the vehicle or exterior of the vehicle. For instance, an output action can include playing a specific form of media (e.g., audio/video) in the vehicle, adjusting the temperature in the vehicle, modifying light settings in the vehicle, changing computer-generated directions to a destination, etc. The user-specific output actions can be based on any of the user profile for the user and the detected emotional state of the user.” See also [0057] regarding the user profile module.)
However, Sobhany does not explicitly teach that the vehicle includes a cockpit domain controller that identifies a user of the vehicle, connects to an item of user equipment, and collects social network data from a user.
Harber teaches a mobile computing device on a vehicle that runs a content application including a retrieval module that receives a user’s login credential to retrieve social network data associated with the user and a communication unit that sends and receives data to and from a user device (See at least [0024], [0031] & [0039]).
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to combine Sobhany’s method with Harber’s mobile computing device that identifies a user of the vehicle, connects to an item of user equipment, and collects social network data from a user. Doing so would be obvious for “automatically learning a user's preference model” and so “the system provides a better user experience by automatically providing content items to a user in a timely manner, which saves the user's time on the content selection” (See [0007] of Harber).
NOTE: Claim 8 recites the following intended use limitation: “…so that the on-board electronic equipment can perform an action dependent on the user model”. This limitation is not positively recited, and is instead recited as intended use since it recites an intended result for “transmitting the user model to at least one item of on-board electronic equipment in the vehicle”. Therefore, the BRI of claim 8 does not require the aforementioned intended use limitation.
Regarding claim 9, Sobhany and Harber in combination teach all the limitations of claim 8 as discussed above.
Sobhany additionally teaches:
An assembly comprising(See at least Fig. 5, [0033]: “In some embodiments, a vehicle 110 can retrieve a user profile that is associated with a user that primarily operates the vehicle. In other embodiments, upon detecting a user in the vehicle (e.g., by an indication from a mobile device, facial recognition), a unique user profile associated with the user can be retrieved. Based on the user profile, user-specific output actions can be performed that modify various settings in the vehicle” & [0070]: “The infotainment system 502, along with vehicle sensors 504 and vehicle controls 506, can communicate with other electrical components of the vehicle over the car network 350. The vehicle sensors 504 can include some or all of the sensors 215 described with respect to FIG. 2, or can include different sensors. The vehicle controls 506 can control various components of the vehicle. For example, the vehicle controls 506 can include the entertainment system 210, the comfort system 225, and/or safety controls or systems in the vehicle. A vehicle data logger 508 may store data read from the car network bus 350, for example for operation of the vehicle. In some embodiments, the infotainment system 502 can also include a storage device 510, such as an SD card, to store data related to the infotainment system, such as audio logs, phone contacts, or favorite addresses for a navigation system. The infotainment system 502 can include an automotive system 310 that can be utilized to increase user experience in the vehicle.” See also [0171] regarding retrieving and using a user profile to modify the internal temperature of the vehicle.)
Harber additionally teaches:
…a cockpit domain controller configured to identify a user, connect to an item of user equipment and collect the social network data of the user… (See at least [0031]: “The communication unit 241 transmits and receives data to and from at least one of the user device 115…” & [0039]: “In one embodiment, the retrieval module 204 receives a user's login credential (e.g., a user name, a password) associated with a social network account from the user. The retrieval module 204 uses the user's login credential to retrieve social network data associated with the user from the social network server 101.”)
Regarding claim 10, Sobhany and Harber in combination teach all the limitations of claim 9 as discussed above.
Sobhany additionally teaches:
wherein the at least one item of on-board equipment is selected from the group including: the cockpit domain controller, configured to deliver information or a recommendation to the user relating to driving the vehicle or using an on-board equipment item, depending on the user model; an equipment controller configured to control the activation of one or more other items of equipment, such as headlights or windshield wipers; and an emotion(s) detector, configured to detect at least one user emotion using a context provided by the user model and to generate a control signal for another equipment item based on the detected emotion. (See at least [0049]: “The vehicle experience system 310 can read and write to a car network 350. The car network 350, implemented for example as a controller area network (CAN) bus inside the vehicle 110, enables communication between components of the vehicle, including electrical systems associated with driving the vehicle (such as engine control, anti-lock brake systems, parking assist systems, and cruise control) as well as electrical system associated with comfort or experience in the interior of the vehicle (such as temperature regulation, audio systems, chair position control, or window control)” & [0070]: “The infotainment system 502, along with vehicle sensors 504 and vehicle controls 506, can communicate with other electrical components of the vehicle over the car network 350. The vehicle sensors 504 can include some or all of the sensors 215 described with respect to FIG. 2, or can include different sensors. The vehicle controls 506 can control various components of the vehicle. For example, the vehicle controls 506 can include the entertainment system 210, the comfort system 225, and/or safety controls or systems in the vehicle.”)
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sobhany in view of Harber and further in view of Monroe of US 20150185030 A1, published 07/02/2015, hereinafter “Monroe”.
Regarding claim 4, Sobhany and Harber in combination teach all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Sobhany and Harber in combination do not explicitly teach:
wherein the building step is carried out using an artificial intelligence algorithm.
Monroe teaches:
wherein the building step is carried out using an artificial intelligence algorithm. (See at least [0093]: “An important feature of the profile feature of the system 10 is the ability to "grow" with the user over time. As such, the system 10 incorporates a machine learning capability to learn important preferences and habits of the user. More specifically, the system 10 is able to acquire historical data concerning the user's preferences such as, but not limited to, restaurant selections, tagged points of interest concerning retail or entertainment establishments, radio stations listened to at certain times of the day, heating, cooling or HVAC settings most typically used by the user, items of interest from social media websites that the user has responded to, specific songs that the user has "liked" or "disliked", specific genres of music that the user frequently listens to, etc. The system 10 uses this information to enhance and enrich the user's profile over time.”)
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to combine Sobhany and Harber’s method with Monroe’s building step being carried out using an artificial intelligence algorithm. Doing so would be obvious since “This significantly enhances the ability of the system 10, and particularly the inference engine 42, to more accurately predict and suggest information, as well as the initial configuration of radio or other vehicle controls, that will enhance the user's experience in using the vehicle” (See [0093] of Monroe).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sobhany in view of Harber and Monroe and further in view of Benqassmi of US 11794676 B1, published 10/24/2023, hereinafter “Benqassmi”.
Regarding claim 5, Sobhany, Harber, and Monroe in combination teach all the limitations of claim 4 as discussed above.
Sobhany, Harber, and Monroe in combination do not explicitly teach:
wherein the artificial intelligence algorithm has a transformer-type architecture.
Benqassmi teaches:
wherein the artificial intelligence algorithm has a transformer-type architecture. (See at least col. 41, lines 15-19: “Some example machine-learned models may leverage an attention mechanism such as self-attention. For example, some example machine-learned models may include multi-headed self-attention models (e.g., transformer models).”)
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to combine Sobhany, Harber, and Monroe’s method with Benqassmi’s artificial intelligence algorithm having a transformer-type architecture. Doing so would be obvious to “leverage an attention mechanism such as self-attention” (See col. 41, lines 15-19 of Benqassmi).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sobhany in view of Harber and further in view of Parundekar of US 20150142789 A1, published 05/21/2015, hereinafter “Parundekar”.
Regarding claim 6, Sobhany and Harber in combination teach all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Sobhany and Harber in combination do not explicitly teach:
wherein the building step includes determining a social group of the user based on social network data and data fusion recommendations from the relevant social networks.
Parundekar teaches:
wherein the building step includes determining a social group of the user based on social network data and data fusion recommendations from the relevant social networks. (See at least [0035]: “The social network server 130 includes a social network application 132. A social network can be a type of social structure where the users may be connected by a common feature. The common feature includes relationships/connections, e.g., friendship, family, work, an interest, etc. The common features may be provided by one or more social networking systems including explicitly defined relationships and relationships implied by social connections with other online users, where the relationships form a social graph. In some examples, the social graph can reflect a mapping of these users and how they may be related. Furthermore, the social network server 130 and the social network application 132 may be representative of one social network and that there may be multiple social networks coupled to the network 105, each having its own server, application and social graph. For example, a first social network may be more directed to business networking, a second may be more directed to or centered on academics, a third may be more directed to local business, a fourth may be directed to dating and others may be of general interest or a specific focus” & [0081-0084]: “The user attribute module 302 can be code and routines for aggregating data associated with a user to generate user attribute data…In some embodiments, the user attribute module 302 generates user attribute data for the user based on one or more of the user profile and the user social data. User attribute data associated with a user can be data representing one or more attributes that describe the user. For example, the user attribute data includes one or more attributes describing the user and corresponding values for the one or more attributes. Example attributes that describe a user include, but are not limited to, a city where the user lives, a job title, a college where the user attends or graduated from, interests, gender, age, hobbies, topic and/or community subscriptions, etc.…For example, the user attribute data includes a first attribute "interest: technology" with a value of "1" and a second attribute "interest: poem" with a value of "0," indicating the user likes technology and does not like poems.”)
One having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to combine Sobhany and Harber’s method with Parundekar’s technique of determining a social group of the user based on social network data and data fusion recommendations from the relevant social networks. Doing so would be obvious so “the system is not only capable of recommending items to a user based on what the user wants, but also capable of recommending items to the user based on what the user needs. For example, the system creates a user efficacy model associated with the user and applies the user efficacy model to generate recommendation items for the user in a way that the content recommendation for the user achieves a desired effect” and so that “effective, desirable, and relevant content recommendations can be provided to the user based on the user efficacy model” (See [0007] of Parundekar).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20130030645 A1 is directed to an infotainment system that delivers content to occupants of a vehicle by analyzing profiles of the vehicle occupants and delivering content based on the analysis of the profiles.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Nikki Molina whose telephone number is (571) 272-5180. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday and alternate Fridays, 7:30-4:30 PT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Aniss Chad, can be reached on (571) 270-3832. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NIKKI MARIE M MOLINA/Examiner, Art Unit 3662