DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of amendments/arguments filed on 05/112026.
Claims 1-17 are presented for examination.
This application is a CIP of 19057950 filed on 02/19/2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada et al. (WO 2005114045 A) in view of Pijlman (CN 102576117 A).
Re Claim 1: Hamada teaches backlight unit and liquid crystal display device provided with the same, which includes a frame body, having an opening (see ¶ 103+); a back plate 108 disposed within the frame body via the opening (see ¶ 85-94+, 100-102+), wherein the back plate has a light exit {herein light exit surface 106c} (see fig.# 43; ¶ 103+); a plurality of light sources {herein light source 51 is composed of a plurality of LEDs} disposed within the back plate via the light exit 21 (see page 5, 1st paragraph+); and a light cover {herein a cover 82 that covers a frame area} disposed on the frame body and covering the light sources, wherein the light cover has a light entrance connected to the light exit (see fig.# 19; page 9; ¶ 81-85+, 176+); wherein an area of the light entrance is greater {herein The area of the light exit surface 106c of the light plate 106 can be made smaller than the area of the display area} than an area of the light exit (¶ 103-104+).
Hamada fails to specifically teach an optical extension space between a periphery of the light cover and a bottom of the frame body.
Pijlman teaches light guide, illumination system, backlighting system and display device, which includes an optical extension space 70A/B between a periphery of the light cover and a bottom of the frame body (see paragraph 12-22+; 45+ of translated document).
In view of Pijlman’s teachings, it would been obvious to one skill in the in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ into the teachings of Hamada an optical extension space between a periphery of the light cover and a bottom of the frame body so as to guide the travel of light and ensure a high reflectance of the reflecting surface as well as a high transmissivity of the transmitting member.
Re Claim 2: Hamada as modified by Pijlman teaches a device, wherein an outer edge of the frame body has a fixing channel and a fixing post disposed within the fixing channel, whereby a cross-section of the fixing channel is U-shaped (see ¶ 164-168+, 176+).
Re Claim 3: Hamada as modified by Pijlman teaches a device, wherein an inner wall of the light cover has a plurality of protruding portions inserted into the fixing channel and engaged with the fixing post (¶ 92-95+).
Re Claim 4: Hamada as modified by Pijlman teaches a device, wherein the fixing channel has an adhesive, an outer edge of the light cover is inserted into the fixing channel and fixed in the fixing channel by the adhesive (¶ 151+, 177+).
Re Claim 6: Hamada as modified by Pijlman teaches a device, wherein the back plate is fixed in the frame body by a plurality of fixation elements (¶ 86+).
Re Claim 7: Hamada as modified by Pijlman teaches a device, wherein a bottom surface of the light cover forms a first light-emitting surface, while a side wall of the light cover forms a second light-emitting surface {herein the LED modules 201a and 201b are arranged near the longitudinal side wall of the front cover 101} (see fig.# 60; page 27 last paragraph).
Re Claim 8: Hamada as modified by Pijlman teaches a device, further comprising a power supply module {herein the monitor liquid crystal display device has a power input unit (not shown)} disposed within the frame body (¶ 100+).
Re Claim 17: Hamada as modified by Pijlman teaches a device, further comprising a lamp body disposed within the frame body (see ¶ 4+).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada et al. (WO 2005114045 A) as modified by Pijlman (CN 102576117 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kawato et al. (US 2009/0303411).
The teachings of Hamada have been discussed above. Hamada also teaches method of fusing with an adhesive or silver paste material may be used (see ¶ 151), the protective cover 216 and each of the fixing portions 222 and 225 may be bonded with an adhesive, adhered with an adhesive, or fused with a silver paste material (¶ 177+).
Hamada fails to specifically teach an outer edge of the light cover is fixed in the fixing channel by ultrasonic welding.
Kawato et al. teaches multi-layered sheet for light reflection, which includes an outer edge of the light cover is fixed in the fixing channel by ultrasonic welding (¶ 126).
In view of Kawato et al.’s teachings, it would been obvious to one skill in the in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ into the teachings of Hamada an outer edge of the light cover is fixed in the fixing channel by ultrasonic welding so as to provide a much faster than conventional adhesive and additional waterproof seals.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to specifically teach a carrier plate and two safety ropes, wherein the carrier plate has two fixing portions disposed at two ends thereof, wherein the frame body has two first frame strips and two second frame strips spliced with each other, and the first frame strips are arranged opposite to each other and corresponding to the fixing portions respectively, and the second frame strips are arranged opposite to each other, wherein the safety ropes are corresponding to the first frame strips respectively and corresponding to the fixing portions respectively, and two ends of each of the safety ropes are fixed to the first frame strip and the fixing portion corresponding thereto. These limitations in conjunction with other limitations in the claimed invention were not shown by the prior art of record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWYN LABAZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876