DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-18 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 & 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamakawa (US 2017/0229711 A1) in view of Kawasaki (US 2018/0351175 A1) and Nagai (US 2021/0119206 A1).
Regarding claims 1-13 & 16, Yamakawa teaches an electric vehicle comprising a lithium secondary battery, as a power source, and comprising a positive electrode with a porosity of 12% to 22% and having a positive electrode mixture layer comprising: 93 wt% to 99 wt% of a positive electrode active material comprising at least one of lithium nickel-based oxide represented by the claimed formula 1 or a lithium metal phosphate-based compound represented by the claimed formula 2; a binder; and a point-type conductive material disposed on a current collector; wherein the point-type conductive material including a carbon black such as Ketjen black (KB) having a bulk density preferably ranging from 0.05 g/cc to 0.14 g/cc; and a BET specific surface area of 290 m2/g to 1300 m2/g ([0031]-[0041], [0057]-[0060] & [0075]). Nagai teaches a positive electrode comprising a positive electrode active material and a point-type conductive material such as carbon black having an oil adsorption number ranging from 210 ml/100g to 400 ml/100 g ([0021] & [0024]-[0026]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to use a carbon black having an oil adsorption number ranging from 210 ml/100g to 400 ml/100 g because such a carbon black has a structure having sufficient length and spread, and good conductive paths and liquid retention property of a non-aqueous electrolytic solutions can be obtained. Further, by setting the amount to 400 ml/100 g or less, aggregation due to entanglement between structures is suppressed, so that the structures are uniformly dispersed in the positive electrode active materials, so that it is possible to achieve both the formation of good conductive paths and sufficient liquid retention for non-aqueous electrolyte solutions as taught by Nagai ([0026]). Yamakawa is silent as to the positive electrode active material being a single particle-type and a rolling index ranging from 0.01 to 1.00. Kawasaki teaches a positive electrode comprising a single particle-type positive electrode active material including a lithium nickel-based oxide having a Dmean ranging from 0.5 micron to 3 microns and a ratio D50/Dmean ranging from 1 to 2.5 ([0021] & [0047]) such that D50 ranges from 0.5 microns to 7.5 microns. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to use a single particle-type positive electrode active material as described in Kawasaki above, in view of achieving high durability and output characteristics as taught by Kawasaki ([0018]).
Regarding claim 15, Yamakawa as modified by Kawasaki and Nagai teaches the positive electrode of claim 1 but is silent as to the claimed capacity retention rate ranging from 91.8% to 95.7%. However, modified by Yamakawa teaches a lithium secondary battery having substantially the same positive electrode composition and structure as well as a negative electrode, separator and electrolyte having substantially the same structure and/or composition as that of the present invention ([0061]-[0068] of Yamakawa and [0101]-[0112] of the present invention). As such, the claimed capacity retention rate would be expected to be obtained from the teachings of modified Yamakawa.
Regarding claim 17, Yamakawa as modified by Kawasaki and Nagai teaches the positive electrode of claim 1 but is silent as to the point-type conductive material being configured to reduce particle breakage and cracking by dispersing external forces applied to the single particle-type positive electrode active material during rolling. However, the instant specification notes that a positive electrode comprising a single particle-type active material and a point-type conductive material having a large specific surface area and an excellent secondary structure can disperse external force applied to the active material particles even during high pressure rolling, resulting in reduced particle breakage, crack formation, fine particles, and porosity ([0027]). Thus, since modified Yamakawa teaches a positive electrode having the claimed single particles along with point-type conductive materials possessing the claimed BET surface area and oil adsorption number, the point-type conductive material is expected to be in a state configured to reduce particle breakage and cracking by dispersing external forces applied to the single particle-type positive electrode active material during rolling.
Regarding claim 18, Yamakawa as modified by Kawasaki and Nagai teaches the positive electrode of claim 1 but is silent as to the point-type conductive material including a secondary structure positioned between single particle-type positive electrode active material particles. However, Yamakawa teaches the same type of point-type conductive material and further having significantly similar structure/properties (i.e oil adsorption number; BET surface area; bulk density) as that of the present invention. Moreover, the instant specification notes that a larger secondary structure is related to a high oil adsorption number ([0050]). Since modified Yamakawa teaches a carbon black having an oil adsorption number which encompasses the claimed range of 250 ml/100g to 500 ml/100 g, a secondary structure would be expected to be present between the single particle-type positive electrode active material.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamakawa (US 2017/0229711 A1), Kawasaki (US 2018/0351175 A1) and Nagai (US 2021/0119206 A1), as applied to claims 1-13 & 15-18 above, and further in view of Oljaca (US 2014/0377659 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Yamakawa as modified by Kawasaki and Nagai teaches the positive electrode of claim 1 but is silent as to a rolling density ranging from 2.51 g/cc to 3.70 g/cc. Oljaca teaches a positive electrode comprising a lithium nickel-based oxide as an active material and a point-type conductive material such as carbon black, wherein the positive electrode has a rolling density ranging from 3 g/c to 3.7 g/cc (Fig. 19; [0067]-[0074]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to produce a positive electrode with a rolling density of ranging from 3 g/cc to 3.7 g/cc as a suitable rolling density for a positive electrode of a lithium secondary battery as taught by Oljaca.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-3 of Remarks, filed 02/17/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of the newly cited Kawasaki. The subject matter of claims 1-13 & 15-18 is found to be obvious over the combined teachings of Yamakawa, Kawasaki and Nagai with claim 14 being found obvious further in view of Oljaca. Thus, in view of the foregoing, claims 1-18 stand rejected.
Contact Information
/NATHANAEL T ZEMUI/Examiner, Art Unit 1727