DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on August 31, 2026, have been entered.
The previously raised drawing objections have been withdrawn considering the amendment submitted by the Applicant on August 31, 2026.
The previously raised specification objection has been withdrawn considering the amendment submitted by the Applicant on August 31, 2026.
The previously raised claim objections have been withdrawn considering the amendment submitted by the Applicant on August 31, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20160324241 A2, hereinafter “Lee”) in view of Story (US 20200172323 A1, hereinafter “Story”).
Claim 1. Lee discloses an artificial eyelash system (abstract and Fig 1-13), comprising: a malleable, double-sided adhesive strip (¶0083, double sided adhesive strip 20); and a sleeve (Fig 6, kit 80) being configured to carry the adhesive strip (Fig 6. Kit 80 is capable of carrying the adhesive strip 20), the adhesive strip (20) being configured for attachment to a false eyelash (70) (¶0083. The adhesive strip 20 is capable for attachment to a false eyelash), a combination of the adhesive strip and false eyelash being further configured for attachment proximate an eyelid (¶0083. A combination of the adhesive strip 20 and false eyelash 70 are capable of attachment proximate an eyelid).
Lee is silent to the sleeve having a transparent window configured to show the adhesive strip.
Story teaches similar artificial eyelash kit (abstract and FIG 2) including sleeve (Fig 2, cover 74) having a transparent window (¶0019) configured to show the adhesive strip (the transparent window region of 74 is capable of showing adhesive strip) to allow the user to see the exact style of the false eyelash, curls, length and fullness through the transparent window without the need to open the kit.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the artificial eyelash system of Lee device and incorporate a transparent window, as taught by Story, to allow the user to see the exact style of the false eyelash, curls, length and fullness through the transparent window without the need to open the kit.
Claim 2. Lee and Story teach the invention of claim 1. Lee further teaches a plurality of malleable, double-sided adhesive strips (20) arranged in rows and columns in the sleeve (Fig 4b).
Claim 3. Lee and Story teach the invention of claim 1. Lee further teaches the adhesive strip is formed from petroleum resins, styrene-isoprene copolymer (¶0079).
Claim 4. Lee and Story teach the invention of claim 1, but silent to wherein the adhesive strip includes carbon black.
However, Lee further teaches the adhesive strip may have black color or various other colors (¶0101) so that the adhesive device for false eyelashes of this invention could be transparent or translucent with various colors including yellow, pink, black, purple and white, etc. This can be achieved by adding prescribed colors to the liquid adhesive prior to the manufacturing of the adhesive device (¶0101). It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the adhesive strip of the combination of Lee and Story includes carbon black, since applicant has not disclosed that the carbon black solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the black adhesive strip of the combination of Lee and Story artificial eyelash system. In this instance, including carbon black to the adhesive strip would provide a seamless blend with the user’s natural eyelash and hide gaps or residues between the user’s natural eyelashes and the false eyelashes.
Claim 5. Lee and Story teach the invention of claim 1. Lee further teaches the adhesive strip (20) is substantially flat in appearance (Fig 1, (f)).
Claim 6. Lee and Story teach the invention of claim 1. Lee further teaches wherein the adhesive strip (20) defines a substantially rectangular shape in cross-section (Fig 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP§ 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARIM ASQIRIBA/Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/RACHEL R STEITZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772