DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-6 remain pending and are ready for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/18/2025, was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are in claim 1:
an information collection unit configured to receive and collect a source information provided by a content creation requester;
a content generation unit configured to receive the source information; and
a query generation unit configured to generate query information..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-7 and 22-28 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims limitations, in claim 1, “i. an information collection unit configured to receive and collect a source information provided by a content creation requester;
ii. a content generation unit configured to receive the source information; and
iii. a query generation unit configured to generate query information..” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 2-3 are rejected based on dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1:
Independent claim 1 recites a system, independent claim 4 recites a ,method. Therefore, step 1 is satisfied for claims 1-6.
Step 2A Prong One:
The claim(s) recite(s) mental process steps of:
generate query information related to the content information being played and provide the generated query information to a target content user…; (this step recite abstract mental processes that can be performed by the human mind or practicably with pen and paper. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II). The concept of generate query information is a mental process (e.g., observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions) that is applied and performed in a computing environment—i.e., an abstract idea. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(I]); see also Elec. Power Grp., 830 F.3d at 1354 (“[A]nalyzing information by steps people go through in their minds, or by mathematical algorithms, without more, [are] essentially mental processes within the abstract-idea category.”’). ).
Step 2A Prong Two:
The claim/s recites the combination of the additional elements, the additional elements in the claim are:
an information collection unit configured to receive and collect a source information provided by a content creation requester;
a content generation unit configured to receive the source information from the information collection unit and generate a content information using the received source information;
These elements are directed to mere insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) and 2106.05(g). The act of transmitting data based on the abstract idea fails to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application as it does not differ from those actions that have previously been held to be extra-solution activity, such as “presenting offers to potential customers and gathering statistics generated based on the testing about how potential customers responded to the offers; the statistics are then used to calculate an optimized price”, “selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display”, and “requiring a request from a user to view an advertisement and restricting public access.” The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the remaining additional elements amount to nothing more than generic components recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) and 2106.05(f).
Step 2B:
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements amount to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer component(s) and insignificant extra-solution activity. These cannot provide an inventive concept, and thus the claims are patent-ineligible.
Claims 2-3 and 5-6 directed to the same abstract idea without significantly more. The claims either recite an additional insignificant extra-solution activity OR recite an additional mental process to evaluate and judge using pen and paper. There are no additional elements recited in these claims that integrates the abstract idea into a practical application or amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are rejected under the same abstract idea as claim 1, or 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KEENE et al WO 2019246576 A1 (Hereinafter “KEENE ”).
KEENE teaches:
1. An artificial intelligence (AI)-based memory recall content creation system (see paragraph [0049]) comprising:
an information collection unit configured to receive and collect a source information provided by a content creation requester (see paragraph [0014-0015, 0050-0051], wherein the contributing user comprises a family member, caregiver, or a friend which corresponds to the content creation requester. The first media module receives first media (a source information) from the contributing user);
a content generation unit configured to receive the source information from the information collection unit and generate a content information using the received source information (see paragraph [0052], wherein the server includes a chronicle module that receives the first media and generates a story (content information) based on that media); and
a query generation unit configured to generate query information related to the content information being played (see paragraph [0055-0056], wherein while the story is being presented/playing, reaction module can perform and auditory/visual conformation (query information)) and provide the generated query information to a target content user when the content information is reproduced through a terminal device (see paragraph [0056]).
2. The AI-based memory recall content creation system according to claim 1, wherein the information collection unit is configured to receive and collect response information of the target content user to the query information provided to the target content user (see paragraph [0055-0056], wherein while the story is being presented/playing, reaction module can perform and auditory/visual conformation (query information)), and the content generation unit is configured to update the content information using updated source information in which the response information is added to the source information (see paragraph [0055-0056, 0075-0076], wherein provide updates to the contributing user device 310 based on the feedback).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 1-2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KEENE et al WO 2019246576 A1 (Hereinafter “KEENE ”) in view of ZHANG et al., CN. Application No: US 118246428 A1 (Hereinafter “ZHANG”).
Regarding claim 3, Although KEENE teaches while the story is being presented/playing, reaction module can perform and auditory/visual conformation, KEENE fails to explicitly disclose the limitation below.
ZHANG discloses a generative AI module unit configured to receive the query information from the query generation unit and generate query supplemental information based on an auto-generated prompt (see paragraph [0008-0011], wherein the system generates a second prompt for the LLM that requests one or more follow-up questions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of KEENE to include the missing limitation, as taught by ZHANG, since doing so would allow the system to better tailor and improve the relevancy of the follow-up questions generated by the LLM (see ZHANG para. [000072]).
Claim 6 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
Conclusion
/MAHER N ALGIBHAH/Primary Examiner , Art Unit 2165