DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 remain pending and are ready for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/18/2025, was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
The nonstatutory double patenting rejections are based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the "right to exclude" granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejections are appropriate where the claims at issue are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/fil e/efs/g uid ance/e TD-info-1.jsp.
In addition, Claims 1-20 non-provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of US. Patent No. 12443576. This is a non-provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claimed limitations recited in the instant application are found in the US. Patent No. 12443576.
In addition, Claims 1-20 non-provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US. Patent No. 12242445. This is a non-provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claimed limitations recited in the instant application are found in the US. Patent No. 12242445.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1:
Independent claim 1 recites a method, independent claim 8 recites a method and independent claim 17 recites a method. Therefore, step 1 is satisfied for claims 1-20.
Step 2A Prong One:
The claim(s) recite(s) mental process steps of:
In claim 1 and 8:
computing, via a record correlator machine learning model, a plurality of record correlation inferences between the data record and a plurality of validated data records; (this step recite abstract mental processes that can be performed by the human mind or practicably with pen and paper. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II). The concept of computing a plurality of record correlation inferences is a mental process (e.g., observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions) that is applied and performed in a computing environment—i.e., an abstract idea. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(I]); see also Elec. Power Grp., 830 F.3d at 1354 (“[A]nalyzing information by steps people go through in their minds, or by mathematical algorithms, without more, [are] essentially mental processes within the abstract-idea category.”’). ).
identifying a record correlation inference of the plurality of record correlation inferences by: identifying a first respective record correlation inference of the plurality of record correlation inferences, and using the first respective record correlation inference as the record correlation inference if a confidence score of the first respective record correlation inference is greater than one or more confidence scores associated with a remainder of the plurality of record correlation inferences; (this step recite abstract mental processes that can be performed by the human mind or practicably with pen and paper. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II). The concept of identifying a record correlation inference is a mental process (e.g., observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions) that is applied and performed in a computing environment—i.e., an abstract idea. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(I]); see also Elec. Power Grp., 830 F.3d at 1354 (“[A]nalyzing information by steps people go through in their minds, or by mathematical algorithms, without more, [are] essentially mental processes within the abstract-idea category.”’). ).
and automatically resolving the data record based on a validated data record of the plurality of validated data records associated with the record correlation inference. (this step recite abstract mental processes that can be performed by the human mind or practicably with pen and paper. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II). The concept of resolving the data record is a mental process (e.g., observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions) that is applied and performed in a computing environment—i.e., an abstract idea. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(I]); see also Elec. Power Grp., 830 F.3d at 1354 (“[A]nalyzing information by steps people go through in their minds, or by mathematical algorithms, without more, [are] essentially mental processes within the abstract-idea category.”’). ).
In claim 8:
querying a computer data structure for a validated data record of the plurality of validated data records associated with the record correlation inference; (this step recite abstract mental processes that can be performed by the human mind or practicably with pen and paper. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II). The concept of querying is a mental process (e.g., observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions) that is applied and performed in a computing environment—i.e., an abstract idea. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(I]); see also Elec. Power Grp., 830 F.3d at 1354 (“[A]nalyzing information by steps people go through in their minds, or by mathematical algorithms, without more, [are] essentially mental processes within the abstract-idea category.”’). )
In claim 17:
generating a resolution candidate for the unmapped record, wherein generating the resolution candidate includes: (this step recite abstract mental processes that can be performed by the human mind or practicably with pen and paper. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II). The concept of generating a resolution candidate is a mental process (e.g., observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions) that is applied and performed in a computing environment—i.e., an abstract idea. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(I]); see also Elec. Power Grp., 830 F.3d at 1354 (“[A]nalyzing information by steps people go through in their minds, or by mathematical algorithms, without more, [are] essentially mental processes within the abstract-idea category.”’). )
computing, via a machine learning model, a plurality of correlation inferences between the unmapped record and a plurality of validated records, (this step recite abstract mental processes that can be performed by the human mind or practicably with pen and paper. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II). The concept of computing data is a mental process (e.g., observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions) that is applied and performed in a computing environment—i.e., an abstract idea. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(I]); see also Elec. Power Grp., 830 F.3d at 1354 (“[A]nalyzing information by steps people go through in their minds, or by mathematical algorithms, without more, [are] essentially mental processes within the abstract-idea category.”’). )
identifying a correlation inference of the plurality of correlation inferences that has a confidence score greater than a pre-defined maximum confidence threshold, wherein identifying the correlation inference includes: (this step recite abstract mental processes that can be performed by the human mind or practicably with pen and paper. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II). The concept of identifying a correlation inference is a mental process (e.g., observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions) that is applied and performed in a computing environment—i.e., an abstract idea. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(I]); see also Elec. Power Grp., 830 F.3d at 1354 (“[A]nalyzing information by steps people go through in their minds, or by mathematical algorithms, without more, [are] essentially mental processes within the abstract-idea category.”’). )
identifying a first respective correlation inference of the plurality of correlation inferences, and using the first respective correlation inference as the correlation inference if a confidence score of the first respective correlation inference is greater than a confidence score associated with a remainder of the plurality of correlation inferences, querying a computer data structure for a validated record of the plurality of validated records associated with the correlation inference, (this step recite abstract mental processes that can be performed by the human mind or practicably with pen and paper. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II). The concept of identifying correlation inference is a mental process (e.g., observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions) that is applied and performed in a computing environment—i.e., an abstract idea. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(I]); see also Elec. Power Grp., 830 F.3d at 1354 (“[A]nalyzing information by steps people go through in their minds, or by mathematical algorithms, without more, [are] essentially mental processes within the abstract-idea category.”’). )
setting the validated record associated with the correlation inference as the resolution candidate for the unmapped record. (this step recite abstract mental processes that can be performed by the human mind or practicably with pen and paper. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II). The concept of setting the validated data is a mental process (e.g., observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions) that is applied and performed in a computing environment—i.e., an abstract idea. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(I]); see also Elec. Power Grp., 830 F.3d at 1354 (“[A]nalyzing information by steps people go through in their minds, or by mathematical algorithms, without more, [are] essentially mental processes within the abstract-idea category.”’). )
Step 2A Prong Two:
The claim/s recites the combination of the additional elements, the additional elements in the claim are:
receiving a data record comprising a plurality of data fields; (in claim 1)
receiving an unmapped data record comprising a plurality of data fields; (in claim 8)
receiving an unmapped record comprising a plurality of data fields; (in claim 17)
The above elements are directed to mere insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) and 2106.05(g). The act of transmitting/receiving data based on the abstract idea fails to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application as it does not differ from those actions that have previously been held to be extra-solution activity, such as “presenting offers to potential customers and gathering statistics generated based on the testing about how potential customers responded to the offers; the statistics are then used to calculate an optimized price”, “selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display”, and “requiring a request from a user to view an advertisement and restricting public access.” The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements amount to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception using insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) and 2106.05(f).
Step 2B:
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements amount to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception using insignificant extra-solution activity. These cannot provide an inventive concept, and thus the claims are patent-ineligible.
Claims 2-7, 9-16 and 18-20 directed to the same abstract idea without significantly more. The claims either recite an additional insignificant extra-solution activity OR recite an additional mental process to evaluate and judge using pen and paper. There are no additional elements recited in these claims that integrates the abstract idea into a practical application or amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are rejected under the same abstract idea as claim 1, 8 or 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schleith et al., U.S. Pub No: US 20230195715 A1 (Hereinafter “Schleith”) in view of Guo et al., U.S. Patent No: US 10776583 B2 (Hereinafter “Guo”).
Regarding claim 1, Schleith discloses 1. A computer-implemented method comprising:
at a record resolution service (see paragraph [0045]) being executed by one or more computer devices:
receiving a data record comprising a plurality of data fields (see paragraph [0003], wherein "Detection of anomalies in datasets is a challenging technical problem. For example, datasets can include data in different formats, data can be missing or input incorrectly, errors can occur during import and/or export of data between different formats, systems, and/or applications..." Schleith discusses receiving and processing datasets that might have inconsistencies and errors, which corresponds to receiving "unmapped data records" with "mapping errors." Schleith mentions data coming from "a plurality of data sources" and being in a "non-standardized format," implying that records might need mapping or standardization. Issues like "incorrect tax code and tax rate mappings" or "datatypes being configured as strings instead of numerical or number values" are specific instances of "mapping errors." );
computing, via a record correlator machine learning model, a plurality of record correlation inferences between the data record and a plurality of validated data records (see paragraph [0021], wherein “The anomaly detection engine 120 may be configured to utilize clustering techniques to detect anomalous transactions in the above-described dataset of transactions. For example, the anomaly detection engine 120 may be configured to apply one or more clustering algorithms to the dataset to identify anomalous transactions within the dataset." The document employs clustering algorithms to find similarities and differences among data records, which constitutes a method for "computing record correlation inferences." Clustering involves comparing records based on their characteristics to group similar records and identify outliers. This comparison process infers relationships or correlations between records.),
identifying a record correlation inference of the plurality of record correlation inferences (see paragraph [0024], wherein In such an implementation, the clustering algorithm may be configured to form clusters by associating transactions from the active dataset with transactions of the historic dataset having similar features, and the anomalous transactions may be identified based on the cluster(s) that only include transactions from the active dataset (i.e.. transactions of the active dataset that are not similar to transactions of the historic dataset) and/or the cluster(s) having a threshold percentage of transactions from the active dataset (e.g., anomalies may be detected where a cluster includes more than X percent (e.g., 25%, 40%, 50%, 60%, 75%, etc.) transactions from the active dataset)." The clustering process involves measuring similarity or dissimilarity. The threshold percentage serves as a cutoff to determine if a record is anomalous enough to need resolution.) by:
identifying a first respective record correlation inference of the plurality of record correlation inferences, and (see paragraph [0024, 0045], wherein In such an implementation, the clustering algorithm may be configured to form clusters by associating transactions from the active dataset with transactions of the historic dataset having similar features, and the anomalous transactions may be identified based on the cluster(s) that only include transactions from the active dataset (i.e.. transactions of the active dataset that are not similar to transactions of the historic dataset) and/or the cluster(s) having a threshold percentage of transactions from the active dataset (e.g., anomalies may be detected where a cluster includes more than X percent (e.g., 25%, 40%, 50%, 60%, 75%, etc.) transactions from the active dataset)." The clustering process involves measuring similarity or dissimilarity. The threshold percentage serves as a cutoff to determine if a record is anomalous enough to need resolution.);
automatically resolving the data record based on a validated data record of the plurality of validated data records associated with the record correlation inference (see paragraph [0007, 0022, 0035], wherein the correction or mitigation of anomalies may be performed automatically).
Schleith discloses threshold, but Schleith fails to explicitly discloses the limitation below.
Guo discloses using the first respective record correlation inference as the record correlation inference (see col.9 line [48-55]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Schleith to include pre-defined threshold, as taught by Guo, because the system would efficiently flagging error (Guo; see col.9 line [48-55]).
Regarding claim 2, Schleith in view of Guo further disclose querying a computer data structure for the validated data record associated with the record correlation inference (Schleith, see paragraph [0022, 0024]).
Regarding claim 3, Schleith in view of Guo further disclose setting the validated data record as a resolution candidate record for the data record (Schleith, see paragraph [0024], Schleith describes using information from other records or datasets to correct anomalies. This implies "obtaining a validated data record" (or information derived from it) to correct the "unmapped data record.").
Regarding claim 4, Schleith in view of Guo further disclose wherein automatically resolving the data record based on the validated data record includes automatically re-assigning one or more data records of a computer database to the validated data record (Schleith, see paragraph [0007, 0039]).
Regarding claim 5, Schleith in view of Guo further disclose wherein automatically resolving the data record based on the validated data record includes automatically resolving a data field of the data record according to a value of the data field in the validated data record (Schleith, see paragraph [0007, 0039]).
Regarding claim 6, Schleith in view of Guo further disclose wherein the record correlator machine learning model corresponds to:
a first machine learning model when the data record is associated with a first mapping error (Schleith, see paragraph [0043-0044]),, and
a second machine learning model when the data record is associated with a second mapping error, different from the first mapping error (Schleith, see paragraph [0043-0044]),.
Regarding claim 7, Schleith in view of Guo further disclose wherein the mapping error is detected when the at least one data field is not equivalent to a respective data field of the plurality of validated data records (Schleith, see paragraph [0022], wherein Schleith discusses identifying anomalies such as "unusual values and/or sudden changes in values". This implies a comparison with expected or valid values, and a determination of "not equivalent" leads to the detection of an anomaly (and thus a mapping error). Clustering techniques also inherently involve comparing data points to identify those that don't fit the pattern).
Claim 8 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1. Schleith further discloses querying a computer data structure for a validated data record of the plurality of validated data records associated with the record correlation inference (see paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 9, Schleith in view of Guo further disclose wherein the record correlator machine learning model corresponds to:
a first record correlator machine learning model when the unmapped data record is of a first type (Schleith, see paragraph [0043-0044]),, and
a second record correlator machine learning model when the unmapped data record is of a second type. (Schleith, see paragraph [0043-0044]).
Regarding claim 10, Schleith in view of Guo further disclose displaying, via a graphical user interface, a respective row for configuring the record correlator machine learning model, wherein the respective row includes an enable toggle button for activating or deactivating the record correlator machine learning model in the record resolution service (Schleith, see paragraph [0056-0058]).
Regarding claim 15, Schleith in view of Guo further disclose computing a plurality of second record correlation inferences between a second unmapped data record and the plurality of validated data records (Schleith, see paragraph [0021], wherein “The anomaly detection engine 120 may be configured to utilize clustering techniques to detect anomalous transactions in the above-described dataset of transactions. For example, the anomaly detection engine 120 may be configured to apply one or more clustering algorithms to the dataset to identify anomalous transactions within the dataset." The document employs clustering algorithms to find similarities and differences among data records, which constitutes a method for "computing record correlation inferences." Clustering involves comparing records based on their characteristics to group similar records and identify outliers. This comparison process infers relationships or correlations between records),
determining that confidence scores associated with the plurality of second record correlation inferences are between the pre-defined confidence threshold and a second pre-defined confidence threshold (see paragraph [0024], wherein In such an implementation, the clustering algorithm may be configured to form clusters by associating transactions from the active dataset with transactions of the historic dataset having similar features, and the anomalous transactions may be identified based on the cluster(s) that only include transactions from the active dataset (i.e.. transactions of the active dataset that are not similar to transactions of the historic dataset) and/or the cluster(s) having a threshold percentage of transactions from the active dataset (e.g., anomalies may be detected where a cluster includes more than X percent (e.g., 25%, 40%, 50%, 60%, 75%, etc.) transactions from the active dataset)." The clustering process involves measuring similarity or dissimilarity. The threshold percentage serves as a cutoff to determine if a record is anomalous enough to need resolution.), and
adding the second unmapped data record to a record mapping error queue based on the determining (Schleith, see paragraph [0035-0036]).
Regarding claim 16, Schleith in view of Guo further disclose the plurality of second record correlation inferences are associated with one or more second validated data records of the plurality of validated data records (Schleith, see paragraph [0021], wherein “The anomaly detection engine 120 may be configured to utilize clustering techniques to detect anomalous transactions in the above-described dataset of transactions. For example, the anomaly detection engine 120 may be configured to apply one or more clustering algorithms to the dataset to identify anomalous transactions within the dataset." The document employs clustering algorithms to find similarities and differences among data records, which constitutes a method for "computing record correlation inferences." Clustering involves comparing records based on their characteristics to group similar records and identify outliers. This comparison process infers relationships or correlations between records), and
the record mapping error queue displays the second unmapped data record in association with the one or more second validated data records (Schleith, see paragraph [0021], wherein “The anomaly detection engine 120 may be configured to utilize clustering techniques to detect anomalous transactions in the above-described dataset of transactions. For example, the anomaly detection engine 120 may be configured to apply one or more clustering algorithms to the dataset to identify anomalous transactions within the dataset." The document employs clustering algorithms to find similarities and differences among data records, which constitutes a method for "computing record correlation inferences." Clustering involves comparing records based on their characteristics to group similar records and identify outliers. This comparison process infers relationships or correlations between records. See also paragraph [0056-0058]).
Claim 17 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 or 8. Schleith further discloses setting the validated record associated with the correlation inference as the resolution candidate for the unmapped record (Schleith, see paragraph [0024], Schleith describes using information from other records or datasets to correct anomalies. This implies "obtaining a validated data record" (or information derived from it) to correct the "unmapped data record.").
Regarding claim 18, Schleith in view of Guo further disclose automatically re-assigning one or more records of a computer database based on the resolution candidate (Schleith, see paragraph [0007, 0039]).
Regarding claim 19, Schleith in view of Guo further disclose automatically resolving the unmapped record based on the resolution candidate (Schleith, see paragraph [0007, 0022, 0035], wherein the correction or mitigation of anomalies may be performed automatically).
Regarding claim 7, Schleith in view of Guo further disclose wherein the unmapped record corresponds to an unmapped health level seven (HL7) data record (Schleith, see paragraph [0003], wherein Schleith emphasizes the system's ability to deal with data from various sources and in non-standardized formats. HL7 is a specific data format used in healthcare. The general principles of anomaly detection and correction described in the document would apply to HL7 records as well. “For example, datasets can include data in different formats, data can be missing or input incorrectly, errors can occur during import and/or export of data between different formats, systems, and/or applications...").
Conclusion
/MAHER N ALGIBHAH/Primary Examiner , Art Unit 2165