DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 10/25/25; 5/13/26 and 8/6/26 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schuttenberg et al. (US 9,141,543).
As per claims 1, 13 and 16, Schuttenberg teaches a control method for a cache (Schuttenberg: claim 1), wherein the cache is connected to a memory controller (Schuttenberg: fig. 1, items 104, 110, the cache comprises a plurality of cache lines (Schuttenberg: fig. 2, item 210)/A computer system, wherein the computer system comprises a processor, a memory, and a cache, and the processor, the memory, and the cache are connected through a bus (Schuttenberg: fig. 1, col. 1, lines 45 – 51) and the method comprises:
storing write data of a received write command into the cache lines (col. 4, lines 3-6: “the n processing cores 102 instead write the data to the storage array 106 of the cache 104”); and
before the cache lines are allocated to new memory addresses, sending dirty data stored in the cache lines to the memory controller, wherein the dirty data are the write data to be written into a memory (col. 4, lines 25-44: “The writing of the data to the main memory 116 that occurs in the flowchart 150 is in response to a triggering event 152. The triggering event 152 is not an explicit command to write the data from the cache 104 to the main memory 116, and thus, the writing of the data performed in the flowchart 150 is a preemptive writing of data”; col. 5, lines 17-34: “The pre-clean criteria is identified as such because it is intended to enable a cleaning of one or more cache lines prior to receiving an explicit command directed to the one or more cache lines”; col. 6, lines 5-10: pre-cleaning dirty cache lines or cache lines written in the cache to store new data, means cache lines are written back to the memory before cache line is allocated to new memory addresses to store new data).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuttenberg et al. (US 9,141,543) as applied to claims 1, 13 and 16 above, and further in view of Bijapur et al. (US 2021/0398242).
As per claims 2, 14 and 17, Schuttenberg fails to teach wherein before the cache lines are allocated to the new memory addresses, sending the dirty data stored in the cache lines to the memory controller comprises: before the cache lines are allocated to the new memory addresses, when a quantity of read commands in a read queue of the memory controller is less than a first specified value, sending the dirty data stored in the cache lines to the memory controller.
Bijapur teaches wherein before the cache lines are allocated to the new memory addresses, sending the dirty data stored in the cache lines to the memory controller comprises: before the cache lines are allocated to the new memory addresses, when a quantity of read commands in a read queue of the memory controller is less than a first specified value, sending the dirty data stored in the cache lines to the memory controller (Bijapur: par. [0026]: “the read/write circuitry 320 includes a hint with the request 325 to indicate a priority associated with the request to write back data from a dirty cache line. The hint is determined based on a read command occupancy, i.e., an occupancy of a queue or buffer in the SMC 330 that includes pending read commands that have not yet been serviced by the SMC 330. If the read command occupancy is relatively low, the hint indicates that the request 325 to write data from the dirty cache line back to the memory should be served as soon as possible”; par. [0029]: “the read/write circuitry determines whether the read command occupancy is less than a first threshold”; par. [0007]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine quantity of read command in a read queue and write dirty data from the cache to memory if the quantity of read commands in read queue is less than a first threshold as taught by Bijapur to reduce the bandwidth and bottlenecks between cache and the memory (Bijapur: par. [0001]).
Claims 3, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuttenberg et al. (US 9,141,543) as applied to claims 1, 13 and 16 above, and further in view of Artieri et al. (US 2022/0350749).
As per claim 3, 15 and 18. Schuttenberg fails to teach wherein before the cache lines are allocated to the new memory addresses, sending the dirty data stored in the cache lines to the memory controller comprises: before the cache lines are allocated to the new memory addresses, when a quantity of dirty cache lines reaches a second specified value, sending the dirty data stored in the cache lines to the memory controller, wherein dirty cache lines are the cache lines storing the dirty data.
Artieri teaches before the cache lines are allocated to the new memory addresses, when a quantity of dirty cache lines reaches a second specified value, sending the dirty data stored in the cache lines to the memory controller, wherein dirty cache lines are the cache lines storing the dirty data (Artieri: claims 20 and 30). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to send the dirty data stored in the cache lines when quantity of dirty cache lines reaches a second specified value (e.g., threshold level of dirtiness) as taught by Artieri to maintain read and write traffic competing with each other for memory bandwidth (Artieri: par. [0105]).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuttenberg et al. (US 9,141,543) and Bijapur et al. (US 2021/0398242) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Jeon et al. (Reducing DRAM Row Activations with Eager Read/Write Clustering) (submitted as an IDS).
As per claims 4 and 5, Schuttenberg and Bijapur fail to teach but Jeon teaches wherein sending the dirty data stored in the cache lines to the memory controller comprises: selecting, based on a memory address currently accessed by the memory controller, dirty data whose target address and the currently accessed memory address are located in a same memory rank/bank, and sending the dirty data to the memory controller (Jeon: abstract: “In particular, dirty cache lines that have not been recently accessed are eagerly written to DRAM when the corresponding row has been activated by an ordinary, noneager access, such as a read”; page 43:2: DRAM BASICS: “A rank ties together multiple DRAM devices/banks to create a wider data interface. Specifically, the address lines are tied together to create the illusion of a single, wider DRAM. This leads to rows of 4 to 16 KB across the rank”. Taught as the dirty cache line and noneager read access same row, which means the address of the dirty cache line and read address of the data belongs to same row and row is formed across the rank of the DRAM devices/DRAM banks, so the address of the dirty cache line and address of the read request are directed to the same rank/banks). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select dirty cache line based on the addresses of the dirty cache line and read request to same rank/bank to increase performance of the system and reduce energy consumption (Jeon: abstract).
As per claim 6, Schuttenberg and Bijapur fail to teach but Jeon teaches wherein sending the dirty data stored in the cache lines to the memory controller comprises: selecting, based on a memory address currently accessed by the memory controller, dirty data whose target address and the currently accessed memory address are located in a same row, and sending the dirty data to the memory controller.
(Jeon: abstract: “In particular, dirty cache lines that have not been recently accessed are eagerly written to DRAM when the corresponding row has been activated by an ordinary, noneager access, such as a read”; page 43:2: DRAM BASICS: “A rank ties together multiple DRAM devices to create a wider data interface. Specifically, the address lines are tied together to create the illusion of a single, wider DRAM. This leads to rows of 4 to 16 KB across the rank”. Taught as the dirty cache line and noneager read access same row, which means the address of the dirty cache line and read address of the data belongs to same row and row is formed across the rank of the DRAM device, so the address of the dirty cache line and address of the read request are directed to the same rank). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select dirty cache line based on the addresses of the dirty cache line and read request to the same row to increase performance of the system and reduce energy consumption (Jeon: abstract).
As per claim 7, Schuttenberg fails to teach wherein before sending the dirty data stored in the cache lines to the memory controller, the method further comprises: obtaining running status information of the memory controller, wherein the running status information comprises a quantity of read commands in a read queue of the memory controller and the memory address currently being accessed by the memory controller. However, as explained with respect to claim 2 above, Bijapur teaches obtaining a quantity of read commands in a read queue and Jeon (see claims 4-6 above) teaches obtaining the memory address currently being accesses (e.g., noneager access command). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to obtain running status of the memory controller by obtaining the occupancy of the read queue as taught by Bijapur to reduce the bandwidth and bottlenecks between cache and the memory (Bijapur: par. [0001]) and the memory address currently being accessed as taught by Jeon to increase performance of the system and reduce energy consumption (Jeon: abstract).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuttenberg et al. (US 9,141,543) and Artieri et al. (US 2022/0350749) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Jeon et al. (Reducing DRAM Row Activations with Eager Read/Write Clustering) (submitted as an IDS).
Claims 10-12 are similar in scope with claims 4-6 respectively above and thus rejected under same rationales as applied to claims 4-6 above.
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuttenberg et al. (US 9,141,543) and further in view of Loh et al. (US 2013/0238856).
As per claim 8 and 19, Schuttenberg fails to teach wherein the cache comprises a plurality of sets, each set comprises a plurality of cache lines, and storing the write data of the received write command into the cache lines comprises: allocating, to the cache lines of the same set for storage, received data of the write commands whose target addresses are located in a same row.
Loh teaches allocating, to the cache lines of the same set for storage, received write data of the write commands whose target addresses are located in a same row (Loh: figs. 6 and 7; pars. [0052], [0053]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to write data of write commands whose target addresses are located in the same row to the same set as taught by Loh to reduce fragmentation and bandwidth consumption (Loh: par. [0022]). It is also evident from claims 9 and 20 and the current claims 8 and 19, the allocation of the write data to adjacent cache sets or same cache set has their respective advantages and disadvantages and as such one having ordinary skill and art would be motivated to choose either method to allocate the write data.
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuttenberg et al. (US 9,141,543)
As per claims 9 and 20, Schuttenberg expressly fails to teach wherein the cache comprises a plurality of sets, each set comprises a plurality of cache lines, and storing the write data of the received write command into the cache lines comprises: allocating, to cache lines of a plurality of adjacent sets for storage, received write data of the write commands whose target addresses are located in a same row. However, Schuttenberg teaches searching adjacent dirty cache lines to the cache lines being written to the memory (Schuttenberg: fig. 2, col. 4, line 45 – col. 5, line 16). Thus, it would be readily apparent to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to allocate a plurality of adjacent cache sets to the write data of the same memory raw such that when searching for write-back of adjacent cache lines belonging to the same memory row can be written at the same time to the memory thereby reducing the time to write data to the memory device.
Conclusion
The examiner also requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application. 37 C.F.R. § 1.75(d) (1) requires such support in the Specification for any new language added to the claims and 37 C.F.R. § 1.83(a) requires support be found in the Drawings for all claimed features.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (US 2015/0019823) teaches a cache controller that works ahead and preemptively performs write back operations on older, modified data before the cache line is evicted from the cache.
Chung et al. (US 2009/0157954) teaches A cache memory unit includes: a cache memory; an early write-back condition checking unit for checking whether an early write-back condition has been satisfied.
Kaushikkumar M. Patel
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2138
/Kaushikkumar M Patel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2138