DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior application, and names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application may constitute a continuation or divisional. Should applicant desire to claim the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120, 37 CFR 1.78, and MPEP § 211 et seq. The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and 1.78(d) in the application is more than six years before the actual filing date of the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/19/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9,15-17,25-33,39-41,43 and 49-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akutsu et al. (US20220392117) (hereinafter Akutsu) in view of Jang (US20200342294) (hereinafter Jang).
Regarding claim 1, Akutsu discloses an encoder comprising: circuitry; and a memory connected to the circuitry, wherein the circuitry is configured to execute (Fig. 1; memory and processing circuitry for coding operations)
generating, based on an input image, a plurality of feature maps having one or more layers [Figs. 4, 9-12, 16-19, 0035, 0052-0059, 0160-0180; generated image data including feature maps from a plurality of layers].
generating, based on the plurality of feature maps, a plurality of unit feature maps by packing a plurality of pixels included in at least one feature map into at least one encoded block [Figs. 4, 9-12, 16-19, 0070-0082, 0160-0180; image information including a plurality of feature maps and image data].
generating a picture by arranging a plurality of encoded blocks corresponding to the plurality of unit feature maps [Figs. 4, 9-12, 16-19, 0070-0082, 0160-0180; tiling and arranging feature maps].
encoding the picture into a bitstream [Fig 1., 0072-0077, 0110 coding image information into data streams].
Akutsu discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Akutsu does not explicitly disclose matching, in the generating of the unit feature maps, an upper left boundary of each unit feature map with an upper left boundary of any encoded block.
Jang discloses matching, in the generating of the unit feature maps, an upper left boundary of each unit feature map with an upper left boundary of any encoded block [Figs. 2-3, 8-12, 0030-0033; pixel group indications including group boundary information].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Akutsu with the teachings of Jang as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such systems that can efficiently perform convolution operations in neural network applications and improve performance is achieved (see Jang 0004-0006).
Regarding claim 2, Akutsu discloses wherein the picture is a plurality of pictures, and in the generating of the picture, a plurality of encoded blocks are arranged in different pictures, the plurality of encoded blocks corresponding to a plurality of unit feature maps having different layers [Figs. 4-9, 0069-0082, 0099, 0165-0180; different arrangements of tiled video data].
Regarding claim 3, Akutsu discloses wherein the picture includes a plurality of sectioned regions, and in the generating of the picture, a plurality of encoded blocks are arranged in different sectioned regions, the plurality of encoded blocks corresponding to a plurality of unit feature maps having different layers [0160-0180; plurality of regions and layers identified in feature maps].
Regarding claim 4, Akutsu discloses wherein the sectioned region includes a sub-picture, a tile, or a slice [0160-0180; plurality of regions and layers identified in feature maps].
Regarding claim 5, Akutsu discloses wherein, in the encoding of the bitstream, syntax information or index information designating a generation method of the unit feature map and a generation method of the picture is encoded into a supplemental enhancement information (SEI) region or another header region of the bitstream [0160-0180; storing and transmitting picture information in a data stream].
Regarding claim 6, Akutsu discloses wherein, in the generating of the unit feature map, one unit feature map is generated by collecting a pixel set at a same position included in each feature map from a plurality of feature maps included in each layer of the one or more layers, and packing a plurality of collected pixel sets in one encoded block [0160-0180; dividing image information according to feature in sequentially located tiles].
Regarding claim 7, Akutsu discloses wherein the pixel set is one pixel or two or more adjacent pixels [0160-0180; dividing image information according to feature in sequentially located tiles].
Regarding claim 8, Akutsu discloses wherein, in the generating of the unit feature map, a size of an encoded block in each layer of the one or more layers is set based on a number of feature maps included in each layer of the one or more layers and a number of pixels included in the pixel set [0160-0180; size determination of image data including number of feature maps and layers].
Regarding claim 9, Akutsu discloses wherein, in the generating of the unit feature map, a plurality of collected pixel sets are arranged in the encoded block in a designated scan order [0160-0180; scanning algorithms for coding image information].
Regarding claim 11, Akutsu discloses wherein, in the generating of the picture, a number of encoded blocks included in each layer of the one or more layers is set based on a number of pixels included in a feature map, the feature map being included in each layer of the one or more layers, and a number of pixels included in the pixel set [0160-0180; feature map information including layers and target feature].
Regarding claim 15, Akutsu discloses wherein, in the generating of the unit feature map, one unit feature map is generated by packing one feature map into one encoded block set or by packing a plurality of feature maps into one encoded block set [0160-0180; transmitting video data relating to feature maps].
Regarding claim 16, Akutsu discloses wherein the encoded block set is one encoded block or two or more adjacent encoded blocks [0160-0180; transmitting video data relating to feature maps].
Regarding claim 17, Akutsu discloses wherein, in the generating of the unit feature map, a size of an encoded block set in each layer of the one or more layers is set based on a number of pixels of a feature map included in each layer of the one or more layers [0160-0180; dynamic division of map and tile data].
Regarding claim 19, Akutsu discloses wherein a number of encoded block sets in each layer of the one or more layers is set based on a number of feature maps included in each layer of the one or more layers [0160-0180; performing coding and determining map and tile data on a plurality of layers].
Regarding claim 25, Akutsu discloses a decoder comprising: circuitry; and a memory connected to the circuitry, wherein the circuitry is configured to execute:
decoding, based on a bitstream, a picture in which a plurality of encoded blocks corresponding to a plurality of unit feature maps are arranged, the plurality of unit feature maps being generated based on a plurality of feature maps by packing a plurality of pixels included in at least one feature map into at least one encoded block [Figs. 4, 9-12, 16-19, 0070-0082, 0160-0180; image information including a plurality of feature maps and image data].
the plurality of feature maps having one or more layers [Figs. 4, 9-12, 16-19, 0035, 0052-0059, 0160-0180; generated image data including feature maps from a plurality of layers].
acquiring the plurality of unit feature maps based on the picture [Figs. 4, 9-12, 16-19, 0035, 0052-0059, 0160-0180; generated image data including feature maps from a plurality of layers].
reconstructing the plurality of feature maps based on the plurality of unit feature maps [Fig. 14-15, 0035, 0072-0076; performing decoding process for the entropy encoded data].
Akutsu discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Akutsu does not explicitly disclose in the picture, an upper left boundary of each unit feature map being matched with an upper left boundary of any encoded block.
Jang discloses in the picture, an upper left boundary of each unit feature map being matched with an upper left boundary of any encoded block [Figs. 2-3, 8-12, 0030-0033; pixel group indications including group boundary information].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Akutsu with the teachings of Jang as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such systems that can efficiently perform convolution operations in neural network applications and improve performance is achieved (see Jang 0004-0006).
Regarding claim 26, Akutsu discloses wherein the picture is a plurality of pictures, and a plurality of encoded blocks are arranged in different pictures, the plurality of encoded blocks corresponding to a plurality of unit feature maps having different layers [Figs. 4-9, 0069-0082, 0099, 0165-0180; different arrangements of tiled video data].
Regarding claim 27, Akutsu discloses wherein the picture includes a plurality of sectioned regions, and a plurality of encoded blocks are arranged in different sectioned regions, the plurality of encoded blocks corresponding to a plurality of unit feature maps having different layers [0160-0180; plurality of regions and layers identified in feature maps].
Regarding claim 28, Akutsu discloses wherein the sectioned region includes a sub-picture, a tile, or a slice [0160-0180; plurality of regions and layers identified in feature maps].
Regarding claim 29, Akutsu discloses wherein, in the decoding of the picture, syntax information or index information designating a generation method of the unit feature map and a generation method of the picture is decoded from a supplemental enhancement information (SEI) region or another header region of the bitstream [0160-0180; storing and transmitting picture information in a data stream].
Regarding claim 30, Akutsu discloses wherein one unit feature map is generated by collecting a pixel set at a same position included in each feature map from a plurality of feature maps included in each layer of the one or more layers, and packing a plurality of collected pixel sets in one encoded block [0160-0180; dividing image information according to feature in sequentially located tiles].
Regarding claim 31, Akutsu discloses wherein the pixel set is one pixel or two or more adjacent pixels [0160-0180; dividing image information according to feature in sequentially located tiles].
Regarding claim 32, Akutsu discloses wherein a size of an encoded block in each layer of the one or more layers is set based on a number of feature maps included in each layer of the one or more layers and a number of pixels included in the pixel set [0160-0180; size determination of image data including number of feature maps and layers].
Regarding claim 33, Akutsu discloses wherein, in the generating of the unit feature map, a plurality of collected pixel sets are arranged in the encoded block in a designated scan order [0160-0180; scanning algorithms for coding image information].
Regarding claim 35, Akutsu discloses wherein a number of encoded blocks included in each layer of the one or more layers is set based on a number of pixels included in a feature map, the feature map being included in each layer of the one or more layers, and a number of pixels included in the pixel set [0160-0180; feature map information including layers and target feature].
Regarding claim 39, Akutsu discloses wherein one unit feature map is generated by packing one feature map into one encoded block set or by packing a plurality of feature maps into one encoded block set [0160-0180; transmitting video data relating to feature maps].
Regarding claim 40, Akutsu discloses wherein the encoded block set is one encoded block or two or more adjacent encoded blocks [0160-0180; transmitting video data relating to feature maps and block information].
Regarding claim 41, Akutsu discloses wherein a size of an encoded block set in each layer of the one or more layers is set based on a number of pixels of a feature map included in each layer of the one or more layers [0160-0180; performing coding and determining map and tile data].
Regarding claim 43, Akutsu discloses wherein a number of encoded block sets in each layer of the one or more layers is set based on a number of feature maps included in each layer of the one or more layers [0160-0180; performing coding and determining map and tile data on a plurality of layers].
Regarding claim 49, Akutsu discloses an encoding method for causing an encoder to execute: generating, based on an input image, a plurality of feature maps having one or more layers [Figs. 4, 9-12, 16-19, 0035, 0052-0059, 0160-0180; generated image data including feature maps from a plurality of layers].
generating, based on the plurality of feature maps, a plurality of unit feature maps by packing a plurality of pixels included in at least one feature map into at least one encoded block [Figs. 4, 9-12, 16-19, 0035, 0052-0059, 0160-0180; generated image data including feature maps from a plurality of layers].
generating a picture by arranging a plurality of encoded blocks corresponding to the plurality of unit feature maps [Figs. 4, 9-12, 16-19, 0070-0082, 0160-0180; image information including a plurality of feature maps and image data].
generating a bitstream by encoding the picture [Fig 1., 0072-0077, 0110 coding image information into data streams].
Akutsu discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Akutsu does not explicitly disclose matching, in the generating of the unit feature maps, an upper left boundary of each unit feature map with an upper left boundary of any encoded block.
Jang discloses matching, in the generating of the unit feature maps, an upper left boundary of each unit feature map with an upper left boundary of any encoded block [Figs. 2-3, 8-12, 0030-0033; pixel group indications including group boundary information].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Akutsu with the teachings of Jang as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such systems that can efficiently perform convolution operations in neural network applications and improve performance is achieved (see Jang 0004-0006).
Regarding claim 50, Akutsu discloses a decoding method for causing a decoder to execute: decoding, based on a bitstream, a picture in which a plurality of encoded blocks corresponding to a plurality of unit feature maps are arranged, the plurality of unit feature maps being generated based on a plurality of feature maps by packing a plurality of pixels included in at least one feature map into at least one encoded block [Figs. 4, 9-12, 16-19, 0070-0082, 0160-0180; image information including a plurality of feature maps and image data].
the plurality of feature maps having one or more layers [Figs. 4, 9-12, 16-19, 0035, 0052-0059, 0160-0180; generated image data including feature maps from a plurality of layers].
acquiring the plurality of unit feature maps based on the picture; and reconstructing the plurality of feature maps based on the plurality of unit feature maps [Fig. 14-15, 0035, 0072-0076; performing decoding process for the entropy encoded data].
Akutsu discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Akutsu does not explicitly disclose in the picture, an upper left boundary of each unit feature map being matched with an upper left boundary of any encoded block.
Jang discloses in the picture, an upper left boundary of each unit feature map being matched with an upper left boundary of any encoded block [Figs. 2-3, 8-12, 0030-0033; pixel group indications including group boundary information].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Akutsu with the teachings of Jang as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such systems that can efficiently perform convolution operations in neural network applications and improve performance is achieved (see Jang 0004-0006).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-14, 18, 20-24, 34-38, 42 and 44-48 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior arts of record individually nor in combination do not explicitly disclose wherein the picture includes a plurality of sectioned regions, and in the generating of the picture, a plurality of encoded blocks corresponding to a plurality of unit feature maps having different layers are arranged in different sectioned regions, and in a case where each sectioned region includes a surplus encoded block in which the unit feature map is not stored, the surplus encoded block is padded using a specific value, when taken in the environment of the independent claims.
Conclusion
/TALHA M NAWAZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483