DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in India on 09/19/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the IN202441070765 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nigai et al. (WO 2024/023581 A1).
As to claim 17, Nigai et al. teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon, a set of computer-executable instructions causing a computer comprising one or more processors to perform steps (page 21, lines 18-22: computer executable code housed on computer readable media), comprising:
determining activation of a trigger during a real-world view captured by a user device of a user (page 15, lines 11-13: Figure 12 illustrates one step in which example content displayed on a mixed reality store fixture 1200 in response to shopper or user interaction therewith, in which step a user scans a QR code 1238 with a mobile device 1290 to initiate interaction therewith; page 22, lines 14-15), the trigger being associated with a mixed reality experience identifier (ID) (page 22, lines 15-23: the QR code returns the URL of the application 2030 or webpage configured to render an interface on the user’s mobile device 1290 along with a unique identifier of the mixed reality store fixture 100);
providing access to one or more assets linked to the mixed reality experience ID, wherein the one or more assets are dynamically downloaded to the user device (page 22, lines 20-31: provides the unique identifier of the mixed reality store fixture 100 to the central platform 2010, and content is returned, such as brand logo, colors to use for rendering an interface and campaign content, including models, looks and product information. App 2030 displays corresponding products on the user’s mobile device 1290);
rendering an alpha channel video overlay on the real-world view (page 3, lines 9-18; page 16, lines 3-5: progression of different looks seamlessly transitioning in sequence on the mixed reality store fixture 1200; page 16, lines 17-18: Video transition between looks, when a change is made, can be accomplished immediately and smoothly when media is perfectly synchronized); and
enabling user interaction with the alpha channel video overlay using one of gestures and touch inputs to render a mixed reality experience to the user (page 9, lines 4-5: touch interaction; page 16, lines 1-3: As illustrated, a shopper scrolls through various looks or collections 1593a, 1593b, 1593c, 1593d and can select them for display on the subject mixed reality store fixture 1200; page 18, lines 10-12: touchscreen employed, input can be made by tap, scroll).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nigai et al. (WO 2024/023581 A1) in view of Frederick et al. (US 2022/0254114 A1).
As to claim 1, Nigai et al. teaches a method of providing a mixed reality experience to users (page 15, lines 11-13: mixed reality), the method comprising:
determining, by a mixed reality system, activation of a trigger during a real-world view captured by a user device of a user (page 15, lines 11-13: Figure 12 illustrates one step in which example content displayed on a mixed reality store fixture 1200 in response to shopper or user interaction therewith, in which step a user scans a QR code 1238 with a mobile device 1290 to initiate interaction therewith; page 22, lines 14-15), the trigger being associated with a mixed reality experience identifier (ID) (page 22, lines 15-23: the QR code returns the URL of the application 2030 or webpage configured to render an interface on the user’s mobile device 1290 along with a unique identifier of the mixed reality store fixture 100);
providing, by the mixed reality system, access to one or more assets linked to the mixed reality experience ID, wherein the one or more assets are dynamically downloaded to the user device (page 22, lines 20-31: provides the unique identifier of the mixed reality store fixture 100 to the central platform 2010, and content is returned, such as brand logo, colors to use for rendering an interface and campaign content, including models, looks and product information. App 2030 displays corresponding products on the user’s mobile device 1290);
rendering, by the mixed reality system, an alpha channel video overlay on the real-world view (page 3, lines 9-18; page 16, lines 3-5: progression of different looks seamlessly transitioning in sequence on the mixed reality store fixture 1200; page 16, lines 17-18: Video transition between looks, when a change is made, can be accomplished immediately and smoothly when media is perfectly synchronized); and
enabling, by the mixed reality system, user interaction with the alpha channel video overlay using one of gestures and touch inputs to render a mixed reality experience to the user (page 9, lines 4-5: touch interaction; page 16, lines 1-3: As illustrated, a shopper scrolls through various looks or collections 1593a, 1593b, 1593c, 1593d and can select them for display on the subject mixed reality store fixture 1200; page 18, lines 10-12: touchscreen employed, input can be made by tap, scroll), but does not explicitly disclose platform agnostic.
However, Frederick et al. teaches platform agnostic ([0047]: platform-agnostic format allows mixed reality data to be used by any platform).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nigai et al. by providing platform agnostic mixed reality as taught by Frederick et al. in order to allow mixed reality data to be used in a uniform manner by any platform.
As to claim 2, Nigai et al. in view of Frederick et al. teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the trigger comprises one of a quick response (QR) code, a near field communication (NFC) tag, and a hyperlink (Nigai et al., page 15, lines 11-13; page 25, lines 2-5).
As to claim 9, Nigai et al. teaches a mixed reality system for providing a mixed reality experience to users (page 15, lines 11-13: mixed reality), the mixed reality system comprising:
a communication interface in electronic communication with one or more devices (page 21, lines 15-17: communication architecture of mixed reality store fixture system; page 22, lines 20-31; page 24, lines 5-8);
a memory that stores instructions (page 21, lines 18-22: computer executable code housed on computer readable media); and
a processor responsive to the instructions (page 21, lines 18-22: computer executable code) to:
determine activation of a trigger during a real-world view captured by a user device of a user (page 15, lines 11-13: Figure 12 illustrates one step in which example content displayed on a mixed reality store fixture 1200 in response to shopper or user interaction therewith, in which step a user scans a QR code 1238 with a mobile device 1290 to initiate interaction therewith; page 22, lines 14-15), the trigger being associated with a mixed reality experience identifier (ID) (page 22, lines 15-23: the QR code returns the URL of the application 2030 or webpage configured to render an interface on the user’s mobile device 1290 along with a unique identifier of the mixed reality store fixture 100);
provide access to one or more assets linked to the mixed reality experience ID, wherein the one or more assets are dynamically downloaded to the user device (page 22, lines 20-31: provides the unique identifier of the mixed reality store fixture 100 to the central platform 2010, and content is returned, such as brand logo, colors to use for rendering an interface and campaign content, including models, looks and product information. App 2030 displays corresponding products on the user’s mobile device 1290);
render an alpha channel video overlay on the real-world view (page 3, lines 9-18; page 16, lines 3-5: progression of different looks seamlessly transitioning in sequence on the mixed reality store fixture 1200; page 16, lines 17-18: Video transition between looks, when a change is made, can be accomplished immediately and smoothly when media is perfectly synchronized); and
enable user interaction with the alpha channel video overlay using one of gestures and touch inputs to render a mixed reality experience to the user (page 9, lines 4-5: touch interaction; page 16, lines 1-3: As illustrated, a shopper scrolls through various looks or collections 1593a, 1593b, 1593c, 1593d and can select them for display on the subject mixed reality store fixture 1200; page 18, lines 10-12: touchscreen employed, input can be made by tap, scroll), but does not explicitly disclose platform agnostic.
However, Frederick et al. teaches platform agnostic ([0047]: platform-agnostic format allows mixed reality data to be used by any platform).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nigai et al. by providing platform agnostic mixed reality as taught by Frederick et al. in order to allow mixed reality data to be used in a uniform manner by any platform.
As to claim 10, Nigai et al. in view of Frederick et al. teaches the mixed reality system as claimed in claim 9, wherein the trigger comprises one of a quick response (QR) code, a near field communication (NFC) tag, and a hyperlink (Nigai et al., page 15, lines 11-13; page 25, lines 2-5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 and 11-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/STACY KHOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624