DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to the originally filed specification and claims filed September 19, 2025.
Claims 1-10 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-8 are directed towards “means-plus-function” language explicitly. The inclusion of the term apparatus is not sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. As such, the limitations of the independent claim reciting means for language are interpreted under 35 USC 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim limitation 1 is directed towards, “first output means for acquiring type specifying information capable of specifying a type of a maintenance target, acquiring first work information indicating a first work for obtaining additional information regarding a state of the maintenance target by using the type specifying information, and outputting the first work information to a communication device” and “second output means for acquiring the additional information generated while the first work is performed or after the first work is performed, acquiring second work information indicating a second work to be performed by an owner or a user of the maintenance target to perform maintenance on the maintenance target using the additional information, and outputting the second work information to the communication device” which invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Claim 1 is directed towards a first and second output means for acquiring and outputting. The specification describes a device in paragraph [39] but the specification also includes a device that are different devices including a washing machine, air conditioner, vehicle, gas appliance, water supply, and other equipment elements [11]. The indefiniteness arises based on the specification providing separate devices that are shown to have a clear link as to which device is performing the steps. The specification provides separate devices that have different requirements and elements that makes it indefinite in terms of providing which device is performing the claims are required under the 35 USC 112(f) interpretation. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed towards non-eligible subject matter.
In terms of Step 1, claims 1-10 are directed towards one of the four categories of statutory subject matter.
In terms of Step 2(a)(1), independent claims 1, 9, and 10 are directed towards (as represented by claim 1), “acquiring type specifying information capable of specifying a type of a maintenance target, acquiring first work information indicating a first work for obtaining additional information regarding a state of the maintenance target by using the type specifying information, and outputting the first work information; and acquiring the additional information generated while the first work is performed or after the first work is performed, acquiring second work information indicating a second work to be performed by an owner or a user of the maintenance target to perform maintenance on the maintenance target using the additional information, and outputting the second work information”. The claims are describing a collection of maintenance information and outputting work instructions to be performed based on the collected information. A person would be able to acquire maintenance information for a DIY repair based on the collected information (maintenance issue and device/asset needing repair). As such, the claims are directed towards an abstract idea under the mental process grouping.
Step 2(a)(II) considers the additional elements with respect to being transformative into a practical application. The additional elements of claims 1, 9, and 10 are directed towards, “An information output apparatus comprising: first output means for; second output means for; to a communication device (claim 1); An information output method causing a computer to perform (claim 9); A non-transitory storage medium storing a program causing a computer to function as (claim 10)”. The additional elements are described in the originally filed specification [39-46], figure 1, and figure 6. The additional elements are merely described as tools to implement the abstract idea. The computer elements are not directed towards a technical improvement and are merely used in their ordinary capacity to receive and transmit data/information. As such, the claims are not directed towards additional elements that are transformative into a practical application. Refer to MPEP 2106.05(f).
Step 2(b) considers the additional elements with respect to being significantly more than the identified abstract idea. The additional elements of claims 1, 9, and 10 are directed towards, “An information output apparatus comprising: first output means for; second output means for; to a communication device (claim 1); An information output method causing a computer to perform (claim 9); A non-transitory storage medium storing a program causing a computer to function as (claim 10)”. The additional elements are described in the originally filed specification [39-46], figure 1, and figure 6. The additional elements are merely described as tools to implement the abstract idea. The computer elements are not directed towards a technical improvement and are merely used in their ordinary capacity to receive and transmit data/information. As such, the claims are not directed towards additional elements that are significantly more than the identified abstract idea. Refer to MPEP 2106.05(f).
Dependent claims 2-8 are further describing the abstract idea and are not directed towards additional elements beyond those identified above. The additional elements are directed towards, “wherein the type specifying information comprises a first image capturing the maintenance target”, “wherein the additional information is an image obtained while the first work is performed or after the first work is performed, and comprises a second image capturing at least one of the maintenance target and the person who has performed the first work”, “wherein the second work comprises a work to be performed on the maintenance target by the owner or the user, and the second work information comprises guidance on the second work”, “wherein the second work comprises that the owner or the user requests maintenance of the maintenance target to an expert of the maintenance, and the second work information comprises information necessary for requesting the maintenance to the expert”, “wherein the second output means specifies a content of maintenance necessary for the maintenance target by using the additional information, and specifies the expert by using the content of the maintenance, and comprises information regarding the expert in the second work information”, “wherein the second output means specifies the expert by using position information regarding a position of the maintenance target, and comprises information regarding the expert in the second work information”, and “wherein the second output means specifies a cost required for the expert to perform the maintenance, and comprises the cost in the second work information”. The claims are further describing the maintenance aspects that a person can perform and provide under the mental process abstract idea. The claims further provide elements of mental process by describing the information received/collected (images obtained/captured), describing the information provided to perform maintenance, and describing the output in terms of both guidance and requesting an expert (such as a person calling a technician based on complexity of repairs). The claims are further describing the mental process of providing maintenance information and direction that falls within the identified abstract idea (mental process). There are no further additional elements beyond those identified above. As such, the claims are directed towards an abstract idea without additional elements that are significantly more or transformative into a practical application.
The claimed invention is describing an abstract idea without additional elements that are significantly more or transformative into a practical application. Therefore, claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 USC 101 for being directed towards noneligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guo et al [2019/0130163], hereafter Guo.
Regarding claim 1, Guo discloses an information output apparatus comprising: first output means for acquiring type specifying information capable of specifying a type of a maintenance target, acquiring first work information indicating a first work for obtaining additional information regarding a state of the maintenance target by using the type specifying information, and outputting the first work information to a communication device (Fig 4 and paragraphs [40-45]; Guo discloses acquiring an image and other information for the component and outputting work information (in terms of the component inventory, location, and other elements). The first information would be interpreted through the ordering aspect or printing the component.); and
second output means for acquiring the additional information generated while the first work is performed or after the first work is performed, acquiring second work information indicating a second work to be performed by an owner or a user of the maintenance target to perform maintenance on the maintenance target using the additional information, and outputting the second work information to the communication device (Paragraphs [40-45]; Guo discloses that the system includes location information for the component to be replaced based on inventory.).
Regarding claim 2, Guo further discloses the information output apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the type specifying information comprises a first image capturing the maintenance target (Paragraph [39]; Guo discloses that the system obtains an image of the component (interpreted as maintenance target).).
Regarding claim 3, Guo further discloses the information output apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the additional information is an image obtained while the first work is performed or after the first work is performed, and comprises a second image capturing at least one of the maintenance target and the person who has performed the first work (Paragraph [39]; Guo discloses that the system includes an image of the component and barcode.).
Regarding claim 4, Guo further discloses the information output apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second work comprises a work to be performed on the maintenance target by the owner or the user, and the second work information comprises guidance on the second work (Paragraph [44-45]; Guo discloses that the system provides component replacement part and location of the part to retrieve the component and replace/maintain the component (interpreted as guidance). Examiner notes that the information provided in terms of the guidance is non-functional descriptive material. There is no specific function other than describing the printed matter that is for a human reader, but the functional aspect is outputting information. Refer to MPEP 2111.05.).
Regarding claim 5, Guo further discloses the information output apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second work comprises that the owner or the user requests maintenance of the maintenance target to an expert of the maintenance, and the second work information comprises information necessary for requesting the maintenance to the expert (Paragraph [35]; Guo discloses that the system provides collaboration with other users that can provide supervision or assistance in maintenance based on the augmented vision system. Examiner notes that the system is providing non-functional descriptive material. The functional aspect is directed towards an output of information and what the information is merely describes non-functional printed matter for a human reader. This is specific to that the owner or the user requests maintenance of the maintenance target to an expert of the maintenance which is stating that the output is information regarding a user to request of another user (expert). As such, the claims are describing non-functional descriptive material. Refer to MPEP 2111.05.).
Regarding claim 6, Guo further discloses the information output apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the second output means specifies a content of maintenance necessary for the maintenance target by using the additional information, and specifies the expert by using the content of the maintenance, and comprises information regarding the expert in the second work information (Paragraph [35]; Guo discloses that the system provides collaboration with other users that can provide supervision or assistance in maintenance based on the augmented vision system. The collaborative user provides guidance and content based on the augmented vision system that provides communication with users.).
Regarding claim 7, Guo further discloses the information output apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the second output means specifies the expert by using position information regarding a position of the maintenance target, and comprises information regarding the expert in the second work information (Paragraph [35]; Guo discloses that the system provides collaboration with other users that can provide supervision or assistance in maintenance based on the augmented vision system. The collaboration includes a further user (supervisor, coordinator) to communicate with the user and is based on the vision of the environment zone for the component.).
Regarding claim 9, Guo discloses an information output method causing a computer to perform: acquiring type specifying information capable of specifying a type of a maintenance target, acquiring first work information indicating a first work for obtaining additional information regarding a state of the maintenance target by using the type specifying information, and outputting the first work information to a communication device (Fig 4 and paragraphs [40-45]; Guo discloses acquiring an image and other information for the component and outputting work information (in terms of the component inventory, location, and other elements). The first information would be interpreted through the ordering aspect or printing the component.); and
acquiring the additional information generated while the first work is performed or after the first work is performed, acquiring second work information indicating a second work to be performed by an owner or a user of the maintenance target to perform maintenance on the maintenance target using the additional information, and outputting the second work information to the communication device (Paragraphs [40-45]; Guo discloses that the system includes location information for the component to be replaced based on inventory.).
Regarding claim 10, Guo discloses a non-transitory storage medium storing a program causing a computer to function as: acquiring type specifying information capable of specifying a type of a maintenance target, acquiring first work information indicating a first work for obtaining additional information regarding a state of the maintenance target by using the type specifying information, and outputting the first work information to a communication device (Fig 4 and paragraphs [40-45]; Guo discloses acquiring an image and other information for the component and outputting work information (in terms of the component inventory, location, and other elements). The first information would be interpreted through the ordering aspect or printing the component.); and
acquiring the additional information generated while the first work is performed or after the first work is performed, acquiring second work information indicating a second work to be performed by an owner or a user of the maintenance target to perform maintenance on the maintenance target using the additional information, and outputting the second work information to the communication device (Paragraphs [40-45]; Guo discloses that the system includes location information for the component to be replaced based on inventory.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al [2019/0130163], hereafter Guo, in view of Antony et al [2022/0092557], hereafter Antony.
Regarding claim 8, Guo discloses the above-enclosed limitations of the information output apparatus according to claim 5, however, Guo does not specifically teach a cost;
Antony teaches wherein the second output means specifies a cost required for the expert to perform the maintenance, and comprises the cost in the second work information (Paragraph [36]; Antony teaches a similar maintenance plan system that specifically provides cost estimates for labor and replacement parts. This also includes costs for labor in terms of expertise and other technician aspects [61].).
Guo discloses a maintenance repair system that provides guidance and outputs based on the component and other information, however, Guo does not specifically teach cost estimate;
The sole difference between the primary reference and the claimed subject matter is that Guo does not specifically teach cost estimates. Guo provides information regarding the repair and maintenance for the components.
Antony teaches a similar maintenance system that specifically provides cost estimates was known in the prior art at the time of the invention.
Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself—that is in the substitution of the cost estimate output of Antony for the displayed maintenance information of Guo. Therefore, the simple substitution of one known element for another providing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Torii et al [2013/0114100] (maintenance based on image of device to repair);
/ANDREW CHASE LAKHANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629