Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: 1-12 and 14;
Interpupillary distance detector;
Gaze detector;
Gaze detector determiner;
Surrounding state detector; (claim 8)
Degree-of-danger detector; (claim 8)
Sound recognizer; (claim 10)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connell II, US 20100208206 in view of YOKOYAMA, US 20210282639.
In considering claim 13,
The claimed interpupillary distance detection… is met by pupil finder 802 and eye separation distance determining component 804 and maximal eye separation distance determining unit 808 (Fig 8) (para 12-15, 22, 32-33, 35, 38, 42-44)
The claimed gaze detection…is met by gaze determining component (Fig 8, 806, para 6-15, 19-20, 22, 30-33, 35, 38, 42-44), which determine the gaze based upon the pupil distance.
In considering limitation c) Connell discloses the eye separation, including max separation may be recorded over a period of time (para 42), however does not disclose the predetermined amount.
The examiner incorporates YOKOYAMA, US 20210282639 which discloses that based upon the change of the pupil diameter from a reference diameter (distance) which is used by the HMD to prevent accidents (para 115) based upon where the user is looking (gazing) and sudden change in pupil distance (diameter). where the pupil distance when looking at closer items is smaller than when looking at further/more distance areas (para 40, 81, 82, 88)
Based upon the above combination in would have been obvious to monitor the pupil distance and gaze, where based upon the amount of change within a period of time and the amount including less than, greater than or equal to the max distance or not, to ensure the display reflected the necessary information to ensure accidents were avoided and the user was informed of potential obstacles/target to ensure a safe vehicle operation, thus being an obvious modification to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-12 and 14 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The examiner notes based upon the 35 USC 112(f) interpretation of claims 1-12 and 14, the prior art fails to disclose the structure/routine as explicitly recited in the disclosure.
(Claim 13 is a method claim which does not invoke 35 USC 112(f) interpretation, and thus that claim has been rejected as noted above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure—see cited references on attached form PTO-892:
The additional cited art below, also disclose that based upon the pupil distance, determines whether the user is looking further away (pupil distance>) or looking nearby/closer(pupil distance<).
US 12,702293 (full text para 23)
US 20190369719 (para 38,40)
US 20230341709; (para 35, 43, 55)
US 20250375108 (para 49, 134, 154)
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
Washington, D.C. 20231
or faxed to:
(571)-273-8300
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Technology Center 2400 Customer Service Office whose telephone number is
(703)305-HELP.
General information about patents, trademarks, products and services offered by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), and other related information is available by contacting the USPTO’s General Information Services Division at:
800-PTO-9199 or 703-308-HELP
(FAX) 703-305-7786
(TDD) 703-305-7785
An automated message system is available 7 days a week, 24 hours a day providing informational responses to frequently asked questions and the ability to order certain documents. Customer service representatives are available to answer questions, send materials or connect customers with other offices of the USPTO from 8:30 a.m. - 8:00p.m. EST/EDT, Monday-Friday excluding federal holidays.
For other technical patent information needs, the Patent Assistance Center can be reached through customer service representatives at the above numbers, Monday through Friday (except federal holidays) from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. EST/EDT.
The Patent Electronic Business Center (EBC) allows USPTO customers to retrieve data, check the status of pending actions, and submit information and applications. The tools currently available in the Patent EBC are Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) and the Electronic Filing System (EFS). PAIR (http://pair.uspto.gov) provides customers direct secure access to their own patent application status information, as well as to general patent information publicly available. EFS allows customers to electronically file patent application documents securely via the Internet. EFS is a system for submitting new utility patent applications and pre-grant publication submissions in electronic publication-ready form. EFS includes software to help customers prepare submissions in extensible Markup Language (XML) format and to assemble the various parts of the application as an electronic submission package. EFS also allows the submission of Computer Readable Format (CRF) sequence listings for pending biotechnology patent applications, which were filed in paper form.
/BRIAN P YENKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2422