DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Application filed on September 19, 2025. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamamoto et al. (US 20220340156; hereinafter Yamamoto).
In regards to claim 1, Yamamoto discloses of an apparatus of a vehicle (“An HMI control device includes an automation level acquisition portion and a display control unit. The automation level acquisition portion acquires an autonomous driving level determined by a driving control device. The display control portion controls an image display operation of an HMI device according to the autonomous driving level acquired by the automation level acquisition portion. When terminating a high autonomous driving level as the autonomous driving level, the display control portion controls the HMI device to provide an action instruction display that instructs the driver to take a low-level associated state so as to handle a low autonomous driving level. The low autonomous driving level is the autonomous driving level under which an in-vehicle system including the driving control device is prohibited from performing at least one of a lateral motion control realized by performing steering and a longitudinal motion control realized by performing acceleration/deceleration.” (Abstract)), the apparatus comprising:
a processor (“The above-described functional configurations and methods may be embodied by a dedicated computer that is provided by configuring a processor and memory programmed to execute one or more functions embodied by a computer program. Alternatively, the functional configurations and methods may be embodied by a dedicated computer that is provided by configuring a processor using one or more dedicated hardware logic circuits. Alternatively, the functional configurations and methods may be embodied by one or more dedicated computers configured as a combination of a processor and memory programmed to execute one or more functions and a processor comprised of one or more hardware logic circuits. A computer-readable non-transitory tangible storage medium may store the computer program as an instruction executed by a computer. The functional configurations and methods can be also represented as a computer program including procedures for embodying those, or as a non-transitory tangible storage medium to store the program.” (Para 0257), see also claim 23); and
a memory storing at least one instruction that, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory (“The above-described functional configurations and methods may be embodied by a dedicated computer that is provided by configuring a processor and memory programmed to execute one or more functions embodied by a computer program. Alternatively, the functional configurations and methods may be embodied by a dedicated computer that is provided by configuring a processor using one or more dedicated hardware logic circuits. Alternatively, the functional configurations and methods may be embodied by one or more dedicated computers configured as a combination of a processor and memory programmed to execute one or more functions and a processor comprised of one or more hardware logic circuits. A computer-readable non-transitory tangible storage medium may store the computer program as an instruction executed by a computer. The functional configurations and methods can be also represented as a computer program including procedures for embodying those, or as a non-transitory tangible storage medium to store the program.” (Para 0257) see also claim 23), is configured to cause the apparatus to:
release vehicle control associated with a first autonomous driving mode stored in the memory (“Times TA1 through TA6 are defined as follows. Changeover request start time TA1 denotes the time to start the driving changeover request. The driving changeover request includes allowing the front display device to provide the transition-related display and the action instruction display. Changeover request start time TA1 is comparable to action instruction timing to allow the HMI device 20 to provide the action instruction display (at least the main action instruction display). Therefore, changeover request start time TA1 is similar to display start time T11 in FIG. 4. Changeover start time TA2 denotes the time when the driver starts the driving changeover operation in response to the driving changeover request. Changeover start time TA2 is similar to driving changeover start time T12 in FIG. 4. Changeover termination time TA3 denotes the time to terminate the driver's driving changeover operation started at changeover start time TA2. Changeover termination time TA3 is similar to driving changeover operation termination time T13 in FIG. 4. Endpoint passing time TA4 denotes the time when the subject vehicle reaches the end of the automated-driving road section. Endpoint passing time TA4 is similar to time T14 in FIG. 4. For ease of explanation, FIGS. 22 through 24 are drawn so that the time axis as the horizontal axis is almost equally spaced and endpoint passing time TA4 is located at the same position in the horizontal direction. Approval period start time TA5 enables the driver to perform the approval operation. Approval period start time TA5 is comparable to approval request timing that allows the HMI device 20 to provide the approval request display, for example. Alternatively, approval period start time TA5 is comparable to approval permission timing that permits an input operation to approve the implementation of the middle autonomous level. Transition time TA6 denotes the approval implementation timing when the driver performs an approval operation to implement the middle autonomous level. Transition time TA6 is similar to time T15 in FIG. 4.” (Para 0212), “In more detail, suppose the driver does not sleep during the automated driving at level 4 as the high autonomous driving level. As illustrated in FIG. 25, level 4 is maintained until changeover termination time TA3. At changeover termination time TA3, the autonomous driving level transitions from level 4 to level 1. At transition time TA6, the autonomous driving level transitions from level 1 to level 2. This transition mode is similar to the level transition mode according to the example in FIG. 4 illustrating the transition from the automated driving to level 1 as the low autonomous driving level and then to level 2 as the middle autonomous level.” (Para 0224), see also Figs 23-25, where TA3 indicates a release of a higher level autonomous driving function),
based on the release of the vehicle control associated with the first autonomous driving mode, output, via a user interface of the vehicle, a prompt for a user input (“Times TA1 through TA6 are defined as follows. Changeover request start time TA1 denotes the time to start the driving changeover request. The driving changeover request includes allowing the front display device to provide the transition-related display and the action instruction display. Changeover request start time TA1 is comparable to action instruction timing to allow the HMI device 20 to provide the action instruction display (at least the main action instruction display). Therefore, changeover request start time TA1 is similar to display start time T11 in FIG. 4. Changeover start time TA2 denotes the time when the driver starts the driving changeover operation in response to the driving changeover request. Changeover start time TA2 is similar to driving changeover start time T12 in FIG. 4. Changeover termination time TA3 denotes the time to terminate the driver's driving changeover operation started at changeover start time TA2. Changeover termination time TA3 is similar to driving changeover operation termination time T13 in FIG. 4. Endpoint passing time TA4 denotes the time when the subject vehicle reaches the end of the automated-driving road section. Endpoint passing time TA4 is similar to time T14 in FIG. 4. For ease of explanation, FIGS. 22 through 24 are drawn so that the time axis as the horizontal axis is almost equally spaced and endpoint passing time TA4 is located at the same position in the horizontal direction. Approval period start time TA5 enables the driver to perform the approval operation. Approval period start time TA5 is comparable to approval request timing that allows the HMI device 20 to provide the approval request display, for example. Alternatively, approval period start time TA5 is comparable to approval permission timing that permits an input operation to approve the implementation of the middle autonomous level. Transition time TA6 denotes the approval implementation timing when the driver performs an approval operation to implement the middle autonomous level. Transition time TA6 is similar to time T15 in FIG. 4.” (Para 0212), “The display command transmission portion 186 transmits display command information to the HMI control device 25 controlling the HMI device 20 and thereby allows the HMI device 20 to provide a level-related display related to the autonomous driving level. The HMI device 20 then audiovisually notifies subject vehicle occupants including the driver of the autonomous driving level being or to be implemented. Specifically, the HMI device 20 allows the meter display 212, for example, to display the currently active autonomous driving level. When the automated driving is available, the HMI device 20 allows the meter display 212, for example, to display the availability of the automated driving and an approval operation instruction to accept the approval operation for starting the automated driving.” (Para 0116), see also Figs 23-25, where TA5 begins a prompt for a user to indicate a desire to switch to a higher autonomous driving level),
based on the user input received via the user interface in response to the prompt, generate a signal indicating activation of vehicle control associated with a second autonomous driving mode stored in the memory (“Times TA1 through TA6 are defined as follows. Changeover request start time TA1 denotes the time to start the driving changeover request. The driving changeover request includes allowing the front display device to provide the transition-related display and the action instruction display. Changeover request start time TA1 is comparable to action instruction timing to allow the HMI device 20 to provide the action instruction display (at least the main action instruction display). Therefore, changeover request start time TA1 is similar to display start time T11 in FIG. 4. Changeover start time TA2 denotes the time when the driver starts the driving changeover operation in response to the driving changeover request. Changeover start time TA2 is similar to driving changeover start time T12 in FIG. 4. Changeover termination time TA3 denotes the time to terminate the driver's driving changeover operation started at changeover start time TA2. Changeover termination time TA3 is similar to driving changeover operation termination time T13 in FIG. 4. Endpoint passing time TA4 denotes the time when the subject vehicle reaches the end of the automated-driving road section. Endpoint passing time TA4 is similar to time T14 in FIG. 4. For ease of explanation, FIGS. 22 through 24 are drawn so that the time axis as the horizontal axis is almost equally spaced and endpoint passing time TA4 is located at the same position in the horizontal direction. Approval period start time TA5 enables the driver to perform the approval operation. Approval period start time TA5 is comparable to approval request timing that allows the HMI device 20 to provide the approval request display, for example. Alternatively, approval period start time TA5 is comparable to approval permission timing that permits an input operation to approve the implementation of the middle autonomous level. Transition time TA6 denotes the approval implementation timing when the driver performs an approval operation to implement the middle autonomous level. Transition time TA6 is similar to time T15 in FIG. 4.” (Para 0212), “The display command transmission portion 186 transmits display command information to the HMI control device 25 controlling the HMI device 20 and thereby allows the HMI device 20 to provide a level-related display related to the autonomous driving level. The HMI device 20 then audiovisually notifies subject vehicle occupants including the driver of the autonomous driving level being or to be implemented. Specifically, the HMI device 20 allows the meter display 212, for example, to display the currently active autonomous driving level. When the automated driving is available, the HMI device 20 allows the meter display 212, for example, to display the availability of the automated driving and an approval operation instruction to accept the approval operation for starting the automated driving.” (Para 0116), see also Figs 23-25, where TA6 is a switch to a higher autonomous driving level), and
control, based on the signal and the activation of vehicle control associated with the second autonomous driving mode, autonomous driving of the vehicle (“Times TA1 through TA6 are defined as follows. Changeover request start time TA1 denotes the time to start the driving changeover request. The driving changeover request includes allowing the front display device to provide the transition-related display and the action instruction display. Changeover request start time TA1 is comparable to action instruction timing to allow the HMI device 20 to provide the action instruction display (at least the main action instruction display). Therefore, changeover request start time TA1 is similar to display start time T11 in FIG. 4. Changeover start time TA2 denotes the time when the driver starts the driving changeover operation in response to the driving changeover request. Changeover start time TA2 is similar to driving changeover start time T12 in FIG. 4. Changeover termination time TA3 denotes the time to terminate the driver's driving changeover operation started at changeover start time TA2. Changeover termination time TA3 is similar to driving changeover operation termination time T13 in FIG. 4. Endpoint passing time TA4 denotes the time when the subject vehicle reaches the end of the automated-driving road section. Endpoint passing time TA4 is similar to time T14 in FIG. 4. For ease of explanation, FIGS. 22 through 24 are drawn so that the time axis as the horizontal axis is almost equally spaced and endpoint passing time TA4 is located at the same position in the horizontal direction. Approval period start time TA5 enables the driver to perform the approval operation. Approval period start time TA5 is comparable to approval request timing that allows the HMI device 20 to provide the approval request display, for example. Alternatively, approval period start time TA5 is comparable to approval permission timing that permits an input operation to approve the implementation of the middle autonomous level. Transition time TA6 denotes the approval implementation timing when the driver performs an approval operation to implement the middle autonomous level. Transition time TA6 is similar to time T15 in FIG. 4.” (Para 0212), “The display command transmission portion 186 transmits display command information to the HMI control device 25 controlling the HMI device 20 and thereby allows the HMI device 20 to provide a level-related display related to the autonomous driving level. The HMI device 20 then audiovisually notifies subject vehicle occupants including the driver of the autonomous driving level being or to be implemented. Specifically, the HMI device 20 allows the meter display 212, for example, to display the currently active autonomous driving level. When the automated driving is available, the HMI device 20 allows the meter display 212, for example, to display the availability of the automated driving and an approval operation instruction to accept the approval operation for starting the automated driving.” (Para 0116), see also Figs 23-25, where TA6 is a switch to a higher autonomous driving level).
In regards to claim 2, Yamamoto discloses of the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one instruction that, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, is configured to cause the apparatus to activate at least one of control functions operating in the first autonomous driving mode among functions supported by the second autonomous driving mode (“Level 2: Advanced operation support . . . The operations automation system continuously performs the vertical vehicle motion control subtask and the horizontal vehicle motion control subtask belonging to the dynamic operation task in a specific definite domain.” (Para 0048), “Level 3: Conditional automated driving . . . The operations automation system continuously performs all dynamic operation tasks in a particular definite domain. In principle, the driver is not responsible for OEDR such as monitoring around the subject vehicle. However, the operations automation system requests the driver to take over driving with time to spare when it is difficult to continue the autonomous driving level. The driver needs to appropriately respond to the request.” (Para 0050), “Level 4: Advanced automated driving . . . The operations automation system continuously performs all dynamic operation tasks in a particular definite domain. The operations automation system takes action against a case where it is difficult to continue the autonomous driving level in the definite domain.” (Para 0051)),
wherein the first autonomous driving mode is configured to be operated by a first autonomous driving system associated with a first autonomous driving level “Level 3: Conditional automated driving . . . The operations automation system continuously performs all dynamic operation tasks in a particular definite domain. In principle, the driver is not responsible for OEDR such as monitoring around the subject vehicle. However, the operations automation system requests the driver to take over driving with time to spare when it is difficult to continue the autonomous driving level. The driver needs to appropriately respond to the request.” (Para 0050), “Level 4: Advanced automated driving . . . The operations automation system continuously performs all dynamic operation tasks in a particular definite domain. The operations automation system takes action against a case where it is difficult to continue the autonomous driving level in the definite domain.” (Para 0051) see also Para 0212 and Figs 23-25), and
wherein the second autonomous driving mode is configured to be operated by a second autonomous driving system associated with a second autonomous driving level different from the first autonomous driving level (“Level 2: Advanced operation support . . . The operations automation system continuously performs the vertical vehicle motion control subtask and the horizontal vehicle motion control subtask belonging to the dynamic operation task in a specific definite domain.” (Para 0048), see also Para 0212 and Figs 23-25).
In regards to claim 3, Yamamoto discloses of the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one of control functions operating in the first autonomous driving mode comprises at least one of longitudinal control of the vehicle or lateral control of the vehicle (“The vehicle control portion 185 executes the vehicle motion control subtask corresponding to the autonomous driving level. The vehicle control portion 185 controls longitudinal and/or lateral motions of the subject vehicle based on the autonomous driving level settled by the automation level determining portion 184.” (Para 0087), “When a high autonomous driving level as the autonomous driving level included in the automated operation terminates, the display control process allows the HMI device to provide an action instruction display that causes the driver to take a low-level associated state as a driver state, namely, a state of the driver. The low-level associated state is capable of a low autonomous driving level, namely, the autonomous driving level at which an in-vehicle system (10) including the driving control device does not provide at least lateral motion control based on steering or longitudinal motion control based on acceleration/deceleration.” (Para 0273)).
In regards to claim 4, Yamamoto discloses of the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first autonomous driving mode and the second autonomous driving mode are modes in which at least one function is supported differently from each other (“Level 2: Advanced operation support . . . The operations automation system continuously performs the vertical vehicle motion control subtask and the horizontal vehicle motion control subtask belonging to the dynamic operation task in a specific definite domain.” (Para 0048), “Level 3: Conditional automated driving . . . The operations automation system continuously performs all dynamic operation tasks in a particular definite domain. In principle, the driver is not responsible for OEDR such as monitoring around the subject vehicle. However, the operations automation system requests the driver to take over driving with time to spare when it is difficult to continue the autonomous driving level. The driver needs to appropriately respond to the request.” (Para 0050), “Level 4: Advanced automated driving . . . The operations automation system continuously performs all dynamic operation tasks in a particular definite domain. The operations automation system takes action against a case where it is difficult to continue the autonomous driving level in the definite domain.” (Para 0051)).
In regards to claim 5, Yamamoto discloses of the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one instruction that, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, is configured to cause the apparatus to output, via the user interface, the prompt based on at least one of:
a destination route of the vehicle being set (“The driving environment acquisition portion 252 acquires information related to the operation environment of the subject vehicle. Specifically, the driving environment acquisition portion 252 acquires various quantities related to the natural environment around the subject vehicle from the outside state sensor 12 that detects or acquires the quantities. The driving environment acquisition portion 252 acquires resultant objects detected by the perimeter monitoring sensor 13 from the perimeter monitoring sensor 13. Moreover, the driving environment acquisition portion 252 acquires the following from the locator 14 and the navigation device 16: the current position of the subject vehicle, the scheduled travel route, and the traffic information including the traffic congestion information on the scheduled travel route.” (Para 0103), “The automation level acquisition portion 253 acquires a resultant autonomous driving level settled in the driving control device 18. Specifically, the automation level acquisition portion 253 acquires the resultant autonomous driving level settled by the automation level determining portion 184 from the driving control device 18.” (Para 0104)),
the vehicle driving on a road of a predefined type (“The driving environment acquisition portion 252 acquires information related to the operation environment of the subject vehicle. Specifically, the driving environment acquisition portion 252 acquires various quantities related to the natural environment around the subject vehicle from the outside state sensor 12 that detects or acquires the quantities. The driving environment acquisition portion 252 acquires resultant objects detected by the perimeter monitoring sensor 13 from the perimeter monitoring sensor 13. Moreover, the driving environment acquisition portion 252 acquires the following from the locator 14 and the navigation device 16: the current position of the subject vehicle, the scheduled travel route, and the traffic information including the traffic congestion information on the scheduled travel route.” (Para 0103), “The automation level acquisition portion 253 acquires a resultant autonomous driving level settled in the driving control device 18. Specifically, the automation level acquisition portion 253 acquires the resultant autonomous driving level settled by the automation level determining portion 184 from the driving control device 18.” (Para 0104), “The HUD device 22 displays visual images including characters and/or symbols in front of the driver. The HUD device 22 uses AR technology to form virtual images in front of the driver and thereby superimposedly displays a visual image in the foreground including the road surface ahead of the traveling subject vehicle. The “superimposing display” signifies displaying related information (such as a building name) over or near a superimposed object (such as a building) included in the foreground so that the superimposed object and the related information can be displayed in association with each other. The “superimposing display” also applies to route display, travel direction display, and traffic information display concerning the road surface ahead, for example. Specifically, the HUD device 22 projects the visual image light constituting the visual image onto a predetermined projection range PA in the front windshield 9. The HUD device 22 thereby allows the driver to view the reflected light, namely, the visual image light reflecting off the front windshield 9 so that the visual image can be displayed as an AR display.” (Para 0093)), or
accumulated data about a driver of the vehicle satisfying a predetermined condition (“The driver state acquisition portion 254 acquires driver states. Specifically, the driver state acquisition portion 254 acquires the resultant driver state detected by the driver state detection portion 17 from the driver state detection portion 17.” (Para 0105), “The display control portion 255 controls the HMI device 20 to output images and/or audio. Namely, the display control portion 255 controls the meter panel 21, the HUD device 22, and the CID device 23, for example, to output images and audio, thereby providing various information for subject vehicle occupants including the driver. The “various information” includes operation state information, operation environment information, information related to autonomous driving levels, route information, traffic congestion information, and various messages, for example. The display control portion 255 interacts with the terminal device 24 during the second task performed by the driver using the terminal device 24 so that the terminal device 24 can provide various information.” (Para 0106), “The driver state detection portion 17 detects whether the driver sleeps during the operation at the high autonomous driving level. The automation level determining portion 184 settles the mode of change in the autonomous driving level, transitioning from the high autonomous driving level to the middle autonomous level, depending on whether the driver sleeps during the operation at the high autonomous driving level. If the driver sleeps while implementing level 4 as the high autonomous driving level, the automation level determining portion 184 terminates the high autonomous driving level earlier than when the driver state is a non-sleeping state.” (Para 0223)).
In regards to claim 6, Yamamoto discloses of the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one instruction that, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, is configured to cause the apparatus to, based on the user input, via the user interface, being received within a predetermined time duration from a point in time when the prompt is outputted via the user interface, activate the vehicle control associated with the second autonomous driving mode (“Times TA1 through TA6 are defined as follows. Changeover request start time TA1 denotes the time to start the driving changeover request. The driving changeover request includes allowing the front display device to provide the transition-related display and the action instruction display. Changeover request start time TA1 is comparable to action instruction timing to allow the HMI device 20 to provide the action instruction display (at least the main action instruction display). Therefore, changeover request start time TA1 is similar to display start time T11 in FIG. 4. Changeover start time TA2 denotes the time when the driver starts the driving changeover operation in response to the driving changeover request. Changeover start time TA2 is similar to driving changeover start time T12 in FIG. 4. Changeover termination time TA3 denotes the time to terminate the driver's driving changeover operation started at changeover start time TA2. Changeover termination time TA3 is similar to driving changeover operation termination time T13 in FIG. 4. Endpoint passing time TA4 denotes the time when the subject vehicle reaches the end of the automated-driving road section. Endpoint passing time TA4 is similar to time T14 in FIG. 4. For ease of explanation, FIGS. 22 through 24 are drawn so that the time axis as the horizontal axis is almost equally spaced and endpoint passing time TA4 is located at the same position in the horizontal direction. Approval period start time TA5 enables the driver to perform the approval operation. Approval period start time TA5 is comparable to approval request timing that allows the HMI device 20 to provide the approval request display, for example. Alternatively, approval period start time TA5 is comparable to approval permission timing that permits an input operation to approve the implementation of the middle autonomous level. Transition time TA6 denotes the approval implementation timing when the driver performs an approval operation to implement the middle autonomous level. Transition time TA6 is similar to time T15 in FIG. 4.” (Para 0212), see also Para 0216).
In regards to claim 7, Yamamoto discloses of the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the user input comprises at least one of:
an input received via a physical button of the vehicle (“As illustrated in FIG. 6, the meter display 212 provides the transition-related display of “HANDS-OFF OPERATION ENABLED” in the level information display area DB1. The meter display 212 provides a first input request display GC1 and a second input request display GC2 in the driving information display area DB2. The first input request display GC1 shows an approval button containing the character string “APPROVE.” The second input request display GC2 shows a disapproval button containing the character string “DISAPPROVE.”” (Para 0139), “The input device 232 is a transparent touch panel and is overlaid on the CID display 231 to cover the CID display 231. The input device 232 can allow the driver, for example, to view the content on the CID display 231 and accept an input manipulation by the driver, for example, corresponding to the content. The CID switch 233 includes multiple manual operation switches placed around the CID display 231 and the input device 232.” (Para 0097)););
an input received via a selection area displayed on a touchscreen display of the vehicle (“The input device 232 is a transparent touch panel and is overlaid on the CID display 231 to cover the CID display 231. The input device 232 can allow the driver, for example, to view the content on the CID display 231 and accept an input manipulation by the driver, for example, corresponding to the content. The CID switch 233 includes multiple manual operation switches placed around the CID display 231 and the input device 232.” (Para 0097));
a user voice input (“The input device 232 may include a handheld pointing device, for example, operated by the driver in place of or in addition to the touch panel overlaid on the CID display 231. The input device 232 may include a voice input device that detects the driver's utterance.” (Para 0253)); or
a user gesture input (“The input device 232 is a transparent touch panel and is overlaid on the CID display 231 to cover the CID display 231. The input device 232 can allow the driver, for example, to view the content on the CID display 231 and accept an input manipulation by the driver, for example, corresponding to the content. The CID switch 233 includes multiple manual operation switches placed around the CID display 231 and the input device 232.” (Para 0097); wherein a selection on a touchscreen can be reasonably interpreted as a user gesture input).
In regards to claim 8, Yamamoto discloses of the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the physical button or the selection area is configured to:
independently activate the first autonomous driving mode and the second autonomous driving mode, respectively (“When the driver state acquired by the driver state acquisition process stabilizes at the low-level associated state, the display control process allows the HMI device to provide an approval request display prompting the input operation to approve the implementation of the middle autonomous level.” (Para 0278), “The driving control device 18 is configured as an “automated driving ECU” or a “driving assist ECU.” The driving control device 18 controls operations of the subject vehicle based on signals and information acquired from the vehicle state sensor 11, the outside state sensor 12, the perimeter monitoring sensor 13, and the locator 14, for example. Specifically, the driving control device 18 performs a predetermined driving control operation. According to the present embodiment, the “predetermined operation control operation” includes a vehicle control operation, namely, an operation to implement the dynamic operation tasks corresponding to levels 1 through 3. According to the present embodiment, the driving control device 18 can set the autonomous driving level for the subject vehicle to one of level 0, level 1 [ACC], level 1 [LKA], level 2, level 2 [G mode], and level 3.” (Para 0081), see also Figs 23-25), or
selectively activate either the first autonomous driving mode or the second autonomous driving mode(“When the driver state acquired by the driver state acquisition process stabilizes at the low-level associated state, the display control process allows the HMI device to provide an approval request display prompting the input operation to approve the implementation of the middle autonomous level.” (Para 0278), “The driving control device 18 is configured as an “automated driving ECU” or a “driving assist ECU.” The driving control device 18 controls operations of the subject vehicle based on signals and information acquired from the vehicle state sensor 11, the outside state sensor 12, the perimeter monitoring sensor 13, and the locator 14, for example. Specifically, the driving control device 18 performs a predetermined driving control operation. According to the present embodiment, the “predetermined operation control operation” includes a vehicle control operation, namely, an operation to implement the dynamic operation tasks corresponding to levels 1 through 3. According to the present embodiment, the driving control device 18 can set the autonomous driving level for the subject vehicle to one of level 0, level 1 [ACC], level 1 [LKA], level 2, level 2 [G mode], and level 3.” (Para 0081), see also Figs 23-25).
In regards to claim 9, Yamamoto discloses of the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the user input is received through an input interface provided on a steering wheel of the vehicle (“The HMI device 20 includes a steering switch, for example, in addition to the meter switch 213 and the CID switch 233. The steering switch is provided for a spoke portion of the steering wheel 8, for example. The HMI device 20 can provide a result of accepting the driver's input operation for the components such as the driving control device 18 via the onboard communication line 10A.” (Para 0098)).
In regards to claim 12-17, the claims recite analogous limitations to claims 1-6, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
In regards to claim 18, Yamamoto discloses of a vehicle (“An HMI control device includes an automation level acquisition portion and a display control unit. The automation level acquisition portion acquires an autonomous driving level determined by a driving control device. The display control portion controls an image display operation of an HMI device according to the autonomous driving level acquired by the automation level acquisition portion. When terminating a high autonomous driving level as the autonomous driving level, the display control portion controls the HMI device to provide an action instruction display that instructs the driver to take a low-level associated state so as to handle a low autonomous driving level. The low autonomous driving level is the autonomous driving level under which an in-vehicle system including the driving control device is prohibited from performing at least one of a lateral motion control realized by performing steering and a longitudinal motion control realized by performing acceleration/deceleration.” (Abstract)), comprising:
a driving control circuit configured to control autonomous driving of the vehicle (“An HMI control device includes an automation level acquisition portion and a display control unit. The automation level acquisition portion acquires an autonomous driving level determined by a driving control device. The display control portion controls an image display operation of an HMI device according to the autonomous driving level acquired by the automation level acquisition portion. When terminating a high autonomous driving level as the autonomous driving level, the display control portion controls the HMI device to provide an action instruction display that instructs the driver to take a low-level associated state so as to handle a low autonomous driving level. The low autonomous driving level is the autonomous driving level under which an in-vehicle system including the driving control device is prohibited from performing at least one of a lateral motion control realized by performing steering and a longitudinal motion control realized by performing acceleration/deceleration.” (Abstract));
a processor (“The above-described functional configurations and methods may be embodied by a dedicated computer that is provided by configuring a processor and memory programmed to execute one or more functions embodied by a computer program. Alternatively, the functional configurations and methods may be embodied by a dedicated computer that is provided by configuring a processor using one or more dedicated hardware logic circuits. Alternatively, the functional configurations and methods may be embodied by one or more dedicated computers configured as a combination of a processor and memory programmed to execute one or more functions and a processor comprised of one or more hardware logic circuits. A computer-readable non-transitory tangible storage medium may store the computer program as an instruction executed by a computer. The functional configurations and methods can be also represented as a computer program including procedures for embodying those, or as a non-transitory tangible storage medium to store the program.” (Para 0257), see also claim 23); and
a memory storing at least one instruction that, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory(“The above-described functional configurations and methods may be embodied by a dedicated computer that is provided by configuring a processor and memory programmed to execute one or more functions embodied by a computer program. Alternatively, the functional configurations and methods may be embodied by a dedicated computer that is provided by configuring a processor using one or more dedicated hardware logic circuits. Alternatively, the functional configurations and methods may be embodied by one or more dedicated computers configured as a combination of a processor and memory programmed to execute one or more functions and a processor comprised of one or more hardware logic circuits. A computer-readable non-transitory tangible storage medium may store the computer program as an instruction executed by a computer. The functional configurations and methods can be also represented as a computer program including procedures for embodying those, or as a non-transitory tangible storage medium to store the program.” (Para 0257), see also claim 23), is configured to cause the vehicle to:
detect deactivation of a first autonomous driving mode, wherein the vehicle is configured to perform, in the first autonomous driving mode, at least one of longitudinal control of autonomous driving or lateral control of autonomous driving (“Times TA1 through TA6 are defined as follows. Changeover request start time TA1 denotes the time to start the driving changeover request. The driving changeover request includes allowing the front display device to provide the transition-related display and the action instruction display. Changeover request start time TA1 is comparable to action instruction timing to allow the HMI device 20 to provide the action instruction display (at least the main action instruction display). Therefore, changeover request start time TA1 is similar to display start time T11 in FIG. 4. Changeover start time TA2 denotes the time when the driver starts the driving changeover operation in response to the driving changeover request. Changeover start time TA2 is similar to driving changeover start time T12 in FIG. 4. Changeover termination time TA3 denotes the time to terminate the driver's driving changeover operation started at changeover start time TA2. Changeover termination time TA3 is similar to driving changeover operation termination time T13 in FIG. 4. Endpoint passing time TA4 denotes the time when the subject vehicle reaches the end of the automated-driving road section. Endpoint passing time TA4 is similar to time T14 in FIG. 4. For ease of explanation, FIGS. 22 through 24 are drawn so that the time axis as the horizontal axis is almost equally spaced and endpoint passing time TA4 is located at the same position in the horizontal direction. Approval period start time TA5 enables the driver to perform the approval operation. Approval period start time TA5 is comparable to approval request timing that allows the HMI device 20 to provide the approval request display, for example. Alternatively, approval period start time TA5 is comparable to approval permission timing that permits an input operation to approve the implementation of the middle autonomous level. Transition time TA6 denotes the approval implementation timing when the driver performs an approval operation to implement the middle autonomous level. Transition time TA6 is similar to time T15 in FIG. 4.” (Para 0212), “In more detail, suppose the driver does not sleep during the automated driving at level 4 as the high autonomous driving level. As illustrated in FIG. 25, level 4 is maintained until changeover termination time TA3. At changeover termination time TA3, the autonomous driving level transitions from level 4 to level 1. At transition time TA6, the autonomous driving level transitions from level 1 to level 2. This transition mode is similar to the level transition mode according to the example in FIG. 4 illustrating the transition from the automated driving to level 1 as the low autonomous driving level and then to level 2 as the middle autonomous level.” (Para 0224), “The vehicle control portion 185 executes the vehicle motion control subtask corresponding to the autonomous driving level. The vehicle control portion 185 controls longitudinal and/or lateral motions of the subject vehicle based on the autonomous driving level settled by the automation level determining portion 184.” (Para 0087), “When a high autonomous driving level as the autonomous driving level included in the automated operation terminates, the display control process allows the HMI device to provide an action instruction display that causes the driver to take a low-level associated state as a driver state, namely, a state of the driver. The low-level associated state is capable of a low autonomous driving level, namely, the autonomous driving level at which an in-vehicle system (10) including the driving control device does not provide at least lateral motion control based on steering or longitudinal motion control based on acceleration/deceleration.” (Para 0273), see also Figs 23-25, where TA3 indicates a release of a higher level autonomous driving function),
obtain, via a user interface of the vehicle and based on the detected deactivation, a user input for activating a second autonomous driving mode that is different from the first autonomous driving mode (“Times TA1 through TA6 are defined as follows. Changeover request start time TA1 denotes the time to start the driving changeover request. The driving changeover request includes allowing the front display device to provide the transition-related display and the action instruction display. Changeover request start time TA1 is comparable to action instruction timing to allow the HMI device 20 to provide the action instruction display (at least the main action instruction display). Therefore, changeover request start time TA1 is similar to display start time T11 in FIG. 4. Changeover start time TA2 denotes the time when the driver starts the driving changeover operation in response to the driving changeover request. Changeover start time TA2 is similar to driving changeover start time T12 in FIG. 4. Changeover termination time TA3 denotes the time to terminate the driver's driving changeover operation started at changeover start time TA2. Changeover termination time TA3 is similar to driving changeover operation termination time T13 in FIG. 4. Endpoint passing time TA4 denotes the time when the subject vehicle reaches the end of the automated-driving road section. Endpoint passing time TA4 is similar to time T14 in FIG. 4. For ease of explanation, FIGS. 22 through 24 are drawn so that the time axis as the horizontal axis is almost equally spaced and endpoint passing time TA4 is located at the same position in the horizontal direction. Approval period start time TA5 enables the driver to perform the approval operation. Approval period start time TA5 is comparable to approval request timing that allows the HMI device 20 to provide the approval request display, for example. Alternatively, approval period start time TA5 is comparable to approval permission timing that permits an input operation to approve the implementation of the middle autonomous level. Transition time TA6 denotes the approval implementation timing when the driver performs an approval operation to implement the middle autonomous level. Transition time TA6 is similar to time T15 in FIG. 4.” (Para 0212), “The display command transmission portion 186 transmits display command information to the HMI control device 25 controlling the HMI device 20 and thereby allows the HMI device 20 to provide a level-related display related to the autonomous driving level. The HMI device 20 then audiovisually notifies subject vehicle occupants including the driver of the autonomous driving level being or to be implemented. Specifically, the HMI device 20 allows the meter display 212, for example, to display the currently active autonomous driving level. When the automated driving is available, the HMI device 20 allows the meter display 212, for example, to display the availability of the automated driving and an approval operation instruction to accept the approval operation for starting the automated driving.” (Para 0116), “Level 2: Advanced operation support . . . The operations automation system continuously performs the vertical vehicle motion control subtask and the horizontal vehicle motion control subtask belonging to the dynamic operation task in a specific definite domain.” (Para 0048), “Level 3: Conditional automated driving . . . The operations automation system continuously performs all dynamic operation tasks in a particular definite domain. In principle, the driver is not responsible for OEDR such as monitoring around the subject vehicle. However, the operations automation system requests the driver to take over driving with time to spare when it is difficult to continue the autonomous driving level. The driver needs to appropriately respond to the request.” (Para 0050), “Level 4: Advanced automated driving . . . The operations automation system continuously performs all dynamic operation tasks in a particular definite domain. The operations automation system takes action against a case where it is difficult to continue the autonomous driving level in the definite domain.” (Para 0051), see also Figs 23-25, where TA5 begins a prompt for a user to indicate a desire to switch to a higher autonomous driving level),
based on a determination that the user input is received within a predetermined time from a time associated with the deactivation, output a signal indicating activation of the second autonomous driving mode (“Times TA1 through TA6 are defined as follows. Changeover request start time TA1 denotes the time to start the driving changeover request. The driving changeover request includes allowing the front display device to provide the transition-related display and the action instruction display. Changeover request start time TA1 is comparable to action instruction timing to allow the HMI device 20 to provide the action instruction display (at least the main action instruction display). Therefore, changeover request start time TA1 is similar to display start time T11 in FIG. 4. Changeover start time TA2 denotes the time when the driver starts the driving changeover operation in response to the driving changeover request. Changeover start time TA2 is similar to driving changeover start time T12 in FIG. 4. Changeover termination time TA3 denotes the time to terminate the driver's driving changeover operation started at changeover start time TA2. Changeover termination time TA3 is similar to driving changeover operation termination time T13 in FIG. 4. Endpoint passing time TA4 denotes the time when the subject vehicle reaches the end of the automated-driving road section. Endpoint passing time TA4 is similar to time T14 in FIG. 4. For ease of explanation, FIGS. 22 through 24 are drawn so that the time axis as the horizontal axis is almost equally spaced and endpoint passing time TA4 is located at the same position in the horizontal direction. Approval period start time TA5 enables the driver to perform the approval operation. Approval period start time TA5 is comparable to approval request timing that allows the HMI device 20 to provide the approval request display, for example. Alternatively, approval period start time TA5 is comparable to approval permission timing that permits an input operation to approve the implementation of the middle autonomous level. Transition time TA6 denotes the approval implementation timing when the driver performs an approval operation to implement the middle autonomous level. Transition time TA6 is similar to time T15 in FIG. 4.” (Para 0212), see also Para 0216 and Figs 23-25),
activate, based on the signal, the second autonomous driving mode that follows the first autonomous driving mode, wherein at least one control function previously performed by the first autonomous driving mode is resumed in the second autonomous driving mode (“Times TA1 through TA6 are defined as follows. Changeover request start time TA1 denotes the time to start the driving changeover request. The driving changeover request includes allowing the front display device to provide the transition-related display and the action instruction display. Changeover request start time TA1 is comparable to action instruction timing to allow the HMI device 20 to provide the action instruction display (at least the main action instruction display). Therefore, changeover request start time TA1 is similar to display start time T11 in FIG. 4. Changeover start time TA2 denotes the time when the driver starts the driving changeover operation in response to the driving changeover request. Changeover start time TA2 is similar to driving changeover start time T12 in FIG. 4. Changeover termination time TA3 denotes the time to terminate the driver's driving changeover operation started at changeover start time TA2. Changeover termination time TA3 is similar to driving changeover operation termination time T13 in FIG. 4. Endpoint passing time TA4 denotes the time when the subject vehicle reaches the end of the automated-driving road section. Endpoint passing time TA4 is similar to time T14 in FIG. 4. For ease of explanation, FIGS. 22 through 24 are drawn so that the time axis as the horizontal axis is almost equally spaced and endpoint passing time TA4 is located at the same position in the horizontal direction. Approval period start time TA5 enables the driver to perform the approval operation. Approval period start time TA5 is comparable to approval request timing that allows the HMI device 20 to provide the approval request display, for example. Alternatively, approval period start time TA5 is comparable to approval permission timing that permits an input operation to approve the implementation of the middle autonomous level. Transition time TA6 denotes the approval implementation timing when the driver performs an approval operation to implement the middle autonomous level. Transition time TA6 is similar to time T15 in FIG. 4.” (Para 0212), “The display command transmission portion 186 transmits display command information to the HMI control device 25 controlling the HMI device 20 and thereby allows the HMI device 20 to provide a level-related display related to the autonomous driving level. The HMI device 20 then audiovisually notifies subject vehicle occupants including the driver of the autonomous driving level being or to be implemented. Specifically, the HMI device 20 allows the meter display 212, for example, to display the currently active autonomous driving level. When the automated driving is available, the HMI device 20 allows the meter display 212, for example, to display the availability of the automated driving and an approval operation instruction to accept the approval operation for starting the automated driving.” (Para 0116), see also Figs 23-25, where TA6 is a switch to a higher autonomous driving level); and
control, based on the activated second autonomous driving mode, autonomous driving of the vehicle (“Times TA1 through TA6 are defined as follows. Changeover request start time TA1 denotes the time to start the driving changeover request. The driving changeover request includes allowing the front display device to provide the transition-related display and the action instruction display. Changeover request start time TA1 is comparable to action instruction timing to allow the HMI device 20 to provide the action instruction display (at least the main action instruction display). Therefore, changeover request start time TA1 is similar to display start time T11 in FIG. 4. Changeover start time TA2 denotes the time when the driver starts the driving changeover operation in response to the driving changeover request. Changeover start time TA2 is similar to driving changeover start time T12 in FIG. 4. Changeover termination time TA3 denotes the time to terminate the driver's driving changeover operation started at changeover start time TA2. Changeover termination time TA3 is similar to driving changeover operation termination time T13 in FIG. 4. Endpoint passing time TA4 denotes the time when the subject vehicle reaches the end of the automated-driving road section. Endpoint passing time TA4 is similar to time T14 in FIG. 4. For ease of explanation, FIGS. 22 through 24 are drawn so that the time axis as the horizontal axis is almost equally spaced and endpoint passing time TA4 is located at the same position in the horizontal direction. Approval period start time TA5 enables the driver to perform the approval operation. Approval period start time TA5 is comparable to approval request timing that allows the HMI device 20 to provide the approval request display, for example. Alternatively, approval period start time TA5 is comparable to approval permission timing that permits an input operation to approve the implementation of the middle autonomous level. Transition time TA6 denotes the approval implementation timing when the driver performs an approval operation to implement the middle autonomous level. Transition time TA6 is similar to time T15 in FIG. 4.” (Para 0212), “The display command transmission portion 186 transmits display command information to the HMI control device 25 controlling the HMI device 20 and thereby allows the HMI device 20 to provide a level-related display related to the autonomous driving level. The HMI device 20 then audiovisually notifies subject vehicle occupants including the driver of the autonomous driving level being or to be implemented. Specifically, the HMI device 20 allows the meter display 212, for example, to display the currently active autonomous driving level. When the automated driving is available, the HMI device 20 allows the meter display 212, for example, to display the availability of the automated driving and an approval operation instruction to accept the approval operation for starting the automated driving.” (Para 0116), see also Figs 23-25, where TA6 is a switch to a higher autonomous driving level).
In regards to claim 19, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 5 and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
In regards to claim 20, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 7 and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto in view of Zeeb (DE 102018207675; see attached English translation for citations).
In regards to claim 10, Yamamoto discloses of the apparatus of claim 1.
However, Yamamoto does not specifically disclose of wherein the user interface is configured to output a selectable option for activating a preset function, wherein the preset function is among functions supported by the second autonomous driving mode.
Zeeb, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the user interface is configured to output a selectable option for activating a preset function, wherein the preset function is among functions supported by the second autonomous driving mode (“In step 403, a current driving situation is ascertained and, based on this ascertainment, a selection of activatable driver assistance functions for selection is proposed to the driver. In this exemplary embodiment, the determination is made on the basis of a plurality of parameters. Among other things, the current position, speed and the traffic situation, in particular the traffic density in the immediate vicinity of the vehicle, are included. Since, in this example situation, the vehicle is located on a freeway in the right lane and a situation analysis has shown that further road users could be en route without speed restriction on the left passing lane and the rear of the vehicle is additionally covered by a truck, with the result that it is not possible to ensure sufficient visibility by means of the mounted video, lidar and radar sensors, the passing pilot is located at its system boundary. Alternative assistance systems for lane change piloting can be a lane change assistant, an ACC without passing function or merely a lane keeping assist. These different options are offered to the driver as options, between which he can select by means of voice control or touchscreen.” (Para 0064), “In step 404, a selection signal of the driver is received, by means of which a selection is made from the offered alternatively activatable assistance functions.” (Para 0065), and “In step 405, the lane change assistant is switched to based on the received selection signal from the lane change pilot, since the driver does not wish to drive any further on the right lane and consequently wishes to change manually to the passing lane with the aid of the lane change assistant.” (Para 0066), see also Para 0010).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the user interface and the second autonomous driving mode, as taught by Yamamoto, to include having selectable preset functions supported by the second autonomous driving mode, as taught by Zeeb, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow the driver to have options for different assistance systems (Zeeb Para 0064).
In regards to claim 11, Yamamoto in view of Zeeb teaches of the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one instruction that, when executed by the processor communicating with the memory, is configured to cause the apparatus to:
output, via the user interface, a graphical area for selecting a plurality of functions supported by the second autonomous driving mode (“In step 403, a current driving situation is ascertained and, based on this ascertainment, a selection of activatable driver assistance functions for selection is proposed to the driver. In this exemplary embodiment, the determination is made on the basis of a plurality of parameters. Among other things, the current position, speed and the traffic situation, in particular the traffic density in the immediate vicinity of the vehicle, are included. Since, in this example situation, the vehicle is located on a freeway in the right lane and a situation analysis has shown that further road users could be en route without speed restriction on the left passing lane and the rear of the vehicle is additionally covered by a truck, with the result that it is not possible to ensure sufficient visibility by means of the mounted video, lidar and radar sensors, the passing pilot is located at its system boundary. Alternative assistance systems for lane change piloting can be a lane change assistant, an ACC without passing function or merely a lane keeping assist. These different options are offered to the driver as options, between which he can select by means of voice control or touchscreen.” (Zeeb Para 0064), “In step 404, a selection signal of the driver is received, by means of which a selection is made from the offered alternatively activatable assistance functions.” (Zeeb Para 0065), and “In step 405, the lane change assistant is switched to based on the received selection signal from the lane change pilot, since the driver does not wish to drive any further on the right lane and consequently wishes to change manually to the passing lane with the aid of the lane change assistant.” (Zeeb Para 0066), “Possible confirmation of activation can be effected, for example, by means of a nominal operating element of the respective system (e.g. ACC lever), by means of operating elements dedicated to this application (e.g. steering wheel knobs), an input at the infotainment system (e.g. touch screen, rotary/push actuator), by voice input or gesture recognition.” (Zeeb Para 0032), see also Zeeb Para 0010), and
based on reception of a selection input for a specific function, activate the specific function mode (“In step 403, a current driving situation is ascertained and, based on this ascertainment, a selection of activatable driver assistance functions for selection is proposed to the driver. In this exemplary embodiment, the determination is made on the basis of a plurality of parameters. Among other things, the current position, speed and the traffic situation, in particular the traffic density in the immediate vicinity of the vehicle, are included. Since, in this example situation, the vehicle is located on a freeway in the right lane and a situation analysis has shown that further road users could be en route without speed restriction on the left passing lane and the rear of the vehicle is additionally covered by a truck, with the result that it is not possible to ensure sufficient visibility by means of the mounted video, lidar and radar sensors, the passing pilot is located at its system boundary. Alternative assistance systems for lane change piloting can be a lane change assistant, an ACC without passing function or merely a lane keeping assist. These different options are offered to the driver as options, between which he can select by means of voice control or touchscreen.” (Zeeb Para 0064), “In step 404, a selection signal of the driver is received, by means of which a selection is made from the offered alternatively activatable assistance functions.” (Zeeb Para 0065), and “In step 405, the lane change assistant is switched to based on the received selection signal from the lane change pilot, since the driver does not wish to drive any further on the right lane and consequently wishes to change manually to the passing lane with the aid of the lane change assistant.” (Zeeb Para 0066), see also Zeeb Para 0010).
The motivation for combining Yamamoto and Zeeb is the same as that recited for claim 10 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kuenzner (US 20200062278) discloses a driving system is provided with a plurality of different driving functions for an automated drive with different degrees of automation for a motor vehicle. At least the driving function with the highest degree of automation is not constantly available. The driving system has a user interface for interacting with the driver. The user interface has an input component which is common to the plurality of driving functions for a signaling, by the driver, of a driver-side request for an automated drive to the driving system. The driving system is designed to determine an operating action via the input component for an automated drive. After the operating action is determined, the available driving function of the plurality of driving functions which has the degree of automation with the highest potential is determined. Provided the driving function is determined which has the degree of automation with the highest potential among the available driving functions, the driving function can be activated.
/KYLE J KINGSLAND/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663