DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: throughout the specification (including in the abstract, and in published paragraphs [0008] and [0035]), all occurrences of “fur coils” are objected to as being unclear and incorrect (e.g., does applicant mean “four coils”?)
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim (Specification) Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 13, “the receiver segment” should apparently grammatically read, “the power receiver segment”, for precise antecedent basis. (Note, however, that “a power receiver segment” in line 3 is indefinite as detailed below.) Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
See e.g., claim 4, line 1 for 112(f) claim interpretation (e.g., “means”), although the corresponding structure is apparently unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 11 to 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 4, applicant has apparently not described, in sufficient detail, by what algorithm(s)1, or by what steps or procedure, and with what hardware, he measured a voltage in the analog domain. In this respect, no (analog) circuitry, such as a ladder circuit or VU meters or perhaps innumerable other possible analog devices, and algorithm(s) for using such (analog device) circuitry to measure voltage, is apparently described in the specification, in sufficient detail (e.g., for determining equivalents under 35 U.S.C. 112(f)), with “DVM” shown in the FIGS. being presumed to mean “digital volt meter”. Accordingly, the examiner believes applicant has not evidenced, to those skilled in the art, possession of the full scope2 of the claimed invention, but has only, if anything, described a desired result.
Regarding the using of the system according to claim 1 as recited in claims 11 to 19, applicant has apparently not described, in sufficient detail, by what algorithm(s), or by what steps or procedure, he navigated a vehicle along a road network using the system, assessed lateral misalignment of a vehicle along a road network using the system, assessed rotation of a vehicle along a road network using the system, assessed alignment of the transmitting and receiving coils for static charging of a vehicle using the system and assessing the rotation of the vehicle, assessed a speed of a vehicle along a road network using the system, enabled autonomous or automated driving of a vehicle using the system, or provided the ADAS or LDW using the system. Accordingly, the examiner believes applicant has not evidenced, to those skilled in the art, possession of the full scope of the claimed invention, but has only, if anything, described a desired result.
For example, other than the original claim language, paragraphs [0071] and [0101] of the published specification indicate this:
[0071] The plot 1100 shows the values deduced from the sensing coils for lateral misalignment when the vehicle moves at various offsets over multiple segments. Here the centers of two segments are at X=0 and X=1650.
[0101] Advantageously, all of the aforementioned embodiments and variants of the electric vehicle positioning system, may be usable for may use cases including but not limited to: on road navigation, cruise control, autonomous cars, and other advanced driver assistance systems (ADAS). For static charging the positioning may be useful in determining the most power efficient location to place the electric vehicle for quicker and more power efficient charging.
However, these passages, as well as the original claim language, only described desired results, and not the algorithms by which the claimed functions were achieved, by applicant. Accordingly, the examiner believes applicant has not evidenced, to those skilled in the art, possession of the full scope of the claimed invention, but has only, if anything, described a desired result.
In this respect, see e.g., MPEP 2161.01, I., which indicates, “[O]riginal claims may lack written description when the claims define the invention in functional language specifying a desired result but the specification does not sufficiently describe how the function is performed or the result is achieved. For software, this can occur when the algorithm or steps/procedure for performing the computer function are not explained at all or are not explained in sufficient detail (simply restating the function recited in the claim is not necessarily sufficient). In other words, the algorithm or steps/procedure taken to perform the function must be described with sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how the inventor intended the function to be performed. See MPEP §§ 2163.02 and 2181, subsection IV.”
See also e.g., MPEP 2163, I., A. which indicates, “However, as discussed in subsection I, supra, issues of adequate written description may arise even for original claims, for example, when an aspect of the claimed invention has not been described with sufficient particularity such that one skilled in the art would recognize that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing. . . . An invention described solely in terms of a method of making and/or its function may lack written descriptive support where there is no described or art-recognized correlation between the disclosed function and the structure(s) responsible for the function.”
See also MPEP 2163.03, V. which indicates, “An original claim may lack written description support when (1) the claim defines the invention in functional language specifying a desired result but the disclosure fails to sufficiently identify how the function is performed or the result is achieved or (2) a broad genus claim is presented but the disclosure only describes a narrow species with no evidence that the genus is contemplated. See Ariad Pharms., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc). The written description requirement is not necessarily met when the claim language appears in ipsis verbis in the specification. "Even if a claim is supported by the specification, the language of the specification, to the extent possible, must describe the claimed invention so that one skilled in the art can recognize what is claimed. The appearance of mere indistinct words in a specification or a claim, even an original claim, does not necessarily satisfy that requirement." Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe, Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 968, 63 USPQ2d 1609, 1616 (Fed. Cir. 2002).”
Claims 1 to 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, line 3, and in claim 2, line 3, “a power receiver segment” is unclear (e.g., “segment” of what particularly, and segment defined particularly how?)
In claim 1, line 5, ‘the power receiver” has no (or insufficient, since only a “power receiver segment” has been previously recited) antecedent basis and is unclear3.
In claim 1, lines 7ff, “a set of two or more sensing coils located on a longitudinal centre. . .” is indefinite and unclear in the claim context because “a set of two or more sensing coils located . . .” has already been recited in the claim, and so it is unclear whether i) two different sets of sensing coils are required by the claim (which seems implied by the lack of a definite article before “set” in line 7, or whether ii) only one set of sensing coils might possibly be required if it meets both of the location requirements recited in lines 5 and 6 and in lines 7 and 8. See MPEP 2173.02, I., “For example, if the language of a claim, given its broadest reasonable interpretation, is such that a person of ordinary skill in the relevant art would read it with more than one reasonable interpretation, then a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph is appropriate.”
In claim 1, lines 12ff, “wherein the calibration data map voltage values representative of magnetic flux though the sensing coils and the power coils” is indefinite in the claim context and from the teachings of the specification, since the calibration data (e.g., shown in FIGS. 7A to 10) is apparently unrepresentative of magnetic flux through the power coils (and is only representative of magnetic flux through the sensing coils when the sensing coils are sensing/conducting measurements). Additionally, “the sensing coils” has insufficient antecedent basis, since a set or possibly two sets of two or more sensing coils has been previously recited and it is unclear which of the sensing coils (maybe some, maybe all, maybe only two?) “the sensing coils” might be referring to.
In claim 1, lines 15ff, “wherein the measurement rectifiers are connected in series with a negative of one coil connected to a positive of another in a first measurement and wherein the measurement rectifiers are connected in counter-series with a positive of one coil connected to a positive of another in a second measurement, thereby providing values that can be combined to a value proportional to a lateral offset of the vehicle” is fully indefinite e.g., in the claim context and from the teachings of the specification. For example, it is unclear whether the phrase “the measurement rectifiers” in line 15 is describing/referring to all off the previously recited measurement rectifiers (the respective measurement rectifiers in lines 6 and 8) or if it is describing/referring to a subset of plural measurement rectifiers. Moreover, in looking at FIGS. 4 and 14, it is unclear what is meant by “connected in series” and “connected in counter-series” might mean, cover, or encompass, when e.g., in FIG. 14, each of the measurement rectifiers clearly has its inputs connected in parallel with one of the other measurement rectifiers, and not connected in series/counter-series with others. It is unclear what is meant by the measurement rectifiers being “connected in series with a negative of coil connected to a positive of another”, when any “negative” coil output would (necessarily or apparently?) be rectified4 (to NOT be negative) before being connected to any other, e.g., at an output stage of the rectifier (cf. FIG. 14). It is unclear why applicant is claiming that the measurement rectifiers are (BOTH) “connected in series” and “connected in counter-series” when the two measurement configurations are apparently mutually exclusive. It is unclear what “in a first measurement” and “in a second measurement” means (e.g., is a “measurement” an action, a configuration of electronic components, a function, or something else entirely?) Lastly, it is unclear what, “thereby providing values that can be combined to a value proportional to a lateral offset of the vehicle . . .” would encompass and cover (e.g., providing two whom or what particularly, “can be combined” with what level of [e.g., herculean?] effort, offset from what position particularly?) from the teachings of the specification.
In claim 3, line 1, and in claim 4, line 1, “the voltmeters” has insufficient antecedent basis and is unclear.
In claim 5, line 2, “the longitudinal position” has insufficient antecedent basis and is unclear (e.g., longitudinal defined particularly how, position of what particularly, etc.?).
In claim 6, line 2, “forward and backward misalignment of the vehicle” is unclear from the teachings of the specification (e.g., forward and backward misalignment defined particularly how, e.g., relative to what particularly, in the claim?)
In claim 6, lines 2ff, “differential magnetic measurement” is unclear with indeterminate metes and bounds (e.g., differential defined particularly how, between which elements and/or measurements, particularly?)
In claim 7, line 2, “the voltage readings” have insufficient antecedent basis and is unclear.
In claim 7, lines 2ff, “thereby [by the time averaging of the voltage readings] providing a robust dynamic positioning signal” is fully indefinite and unclear, being facially subjective5 (e.g., what makes the signal “robust”, how does mere time averaging make a robust positioning signal, etc.?) from the teachings of the specification.
In claim 8, line 2, “position tracking by averaging lateral sensor data” is indefinite (tacking what position particularly, and lateral sensor data defined particularly how?)
In claim 9, lines 2ff, “automated driving lead or supported by lateral position data of an electric road system associated with said power transmitting coils located below the road” is fully indefinite from the teachings of the specification, with both “automated driving lead” and “supported by lateral positioning data of an electric road system” being fully unclear (e.g., lead and/or supported in what respect, particularly?)
Claims 11 to 19 are rejected as being indefinite for being “use claims” (see MPEP 2173.05(q)) that purport to claim a process without setting forth any steps involved in the process.
In claim 12, line 1, “assessing lateral misalignment of a vehicle” is indefinite (e.g., lateral misalignment defined particularly how, e.g., relative to what particularly, in the claim?)
In claim 13, line 1, and in claim 15, line 1, “assessing the rotation [of the vehicle]” is indefinite, with insufficient antecedent basis for “the rotation” and rotation relative to what or about what axis being indefinite, and with “assessing” (e.g., by whom or what, in what way particularly?) being vague and indefinite.
Claim limitation “means for measuring a voltage in the analog domain” (in claim 4) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No structure(s) and/or algorithm(s) for measuring a voltage in the analog domain is apparently described, in sufficient detail, for determining equivalents under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim(s) depending from claims expressly noted above are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 by/for reason of their dependency from a noted claim that is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, for the reasons given.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 to 6, 10, 11, 14, 15, and 17, as understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Widmer et al. (2016/0025821) in view of Mizukura et al.6 (Japan, 5-173633; with EPO machine translation cited by the examiner).
Widmer et al. (‘821) reveals:
per claim 1, a system for positioning a wirelessly powered electric vehicle [e.g., for guidance and alignment, in FIG. 3], relative to power transmitting coils located below or on the road [e.g., paragraphs [0002], [0005], etc.], the system comprising:
one or more power coils [e.g., 116, etc.] forming a power receiver segment attached to the electric vehicle [e.g., paragraphs [0038], FIG. 1, etc., “The electric vehicle 112 may include a battery unit 118, an electric vehicle induction coil 116 . . .”];
a set of two or more sensing coils [e.g., sense coils 510-810 in FIGS. 5A to 8; see e.g., 610A, 610D (or e.g., 610B, 610C, or any other two or more sense coils) in FIG. 6B] located on the power receiver [e.g., located on 605 in FIGS. 6C and 6D] and connected to respective voltmeters via respective measurement [e.g., connected to the analog front-end channels 840 in FIG. 8 (acting as voltmeters) used as input signals (as [digital] voltages, magnetic field signals, etc.) to DSP 835. DSP 835 may be configured to concurrently process several positioning magnetic field signals generated by the sense coils 810A-810D and deliver vector outputs Vxi, Vyi, Vzi for each of the i=1 . . . N positioning magnetic field signals, e.g., for determining a position or direction of the vehicle inductive power transfer (IPT) coupler relative to the base IPT coupler in a suitable coordinate system];
a set of two or more sensing coils located along a longitudinal centre of the power receiver segment and connected to respective voltmeters via respective measurement rectifiers [e.g., as shown at 610B, 610C on the substrate 605 in FIG. 6B, wherein as indicated at paragraph [0094], “Such a back plate or shield [substrate] may be required if the sensing system 500A comprising the plurality of planar sensor coils 510 is installed on the bottom of an electric vehicle or on a ferroconcrete ground.”]; and
a computer processor [e.g., the DSP 835 or the signal combiner(s) and detector(s) 520, 620] configured to receive readings from the voltmeters [e.g., as shown by the signal reception in FIGS. 8, etc.] and calculate, based on calibration data [e.g., FIGS. 7A, 7B, etc., and as described at paragraphs [0111] to [0115], etc.], a position of the electric vehicle relative to the power transmitting coils [e.g., for determining a position or direction of the vehicle inductive power transfer (IPT) coupler relative to the base IPT coupler in a suitable coordinate system, and for the subsequent alignment (e.g., as described at paragraphs [0005], [0041], [0062], [0086], etc.); see e.g., paragraph [0115]],
wherein the calibration data map voltage values representative of magnetic flux though the sensing coils and the power coils, into longitudinal and lateral displacement of the receiver segment, respectively [e.g., paragraphs [0073], [0087], [0115], [0120], etc.], and
Widmer et al. (‘821) may not reveal the details regarding the measurement rectifiers, although he teaches that either DC or AC may be supplied through the power link 110 in FIG. 1, with the examiner understanding that e.g., rectifiers may not be needed e.g., when DC was supplied through the power link 110.
However, in the context/field of an improved electromagnetic guidance controller for a traveling vehicle that includes magnetic sensors in the form of “pickup coils” (paragraph [0021]) that sense , Mizukura et al. (JP, ‘633) teaches in conjunction with FIGS. 1 to 7 that when an AC current of a predetermined frequency is applied to the guide induction cable 46, a preprocessing unit 53 (FIG. 4) including an amplifier 54 and rectifier 55 for each sensor (45a, 45b) may be used to smooth and rectify the signals from the magnetic signals. After the signals are smoothed (e.g., by the rectifier 55 and amplifier 54), a differential output value between the magnetic sensors is determined by the differential calculation circuit 56 and a ratio between the differential output value and the sum of the outputs (e.g., abstract, claim 1, paragraphs [0008], [0009], [0036], [0043], etc.) is determined by the function (or “ratio”, at paragraph [0031]) calculation circuit 59, and the controller 49 calculates the amount of lateral displacement of the magnetic sensors 45a and 45b relative to the guidance cable 46 from the output values of both calculation circuits 56 and 59.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement or modify the Widmer et al. (‘821) guidance and alignment system and method so that an AC power link 110 would have additionally been utilized as a guide induction cable to guide the vehicle e.g., obviously along a final length of a guide path leading to the parking stall, as taught by Mizukura et al. (JP, ‘633), in order “to properly guide the driver or the vehicle to the charging spot” e.g., using park by wire (as desired by Widmer et al. (‘821) himself at paragraphs [0062], [0063], etc.) even before the magnetic vectoring system in Widmer et al. (‘821) provided the disclosed assistance with aligning the IPT coupler of the electric vehicle with the IPT coupler of the base pad in the manner claimed, and so that, for processing magnetic sensor signals (e.g., from laterally disposed sense coils such as 610A, 610D in FIG. 6B of Widmer et al. (‘821) or analogous 45a, 45b in Mizukura et al. (JP, ‘633)) resulting from an AC guide signal as taught by Mizukura et al. (JP, ‘633), outputs of the sense coils (610A, 610D or 45a, 45b) would have been amplified and rectified, as taught by Mizukura et al. (JP, ‘633) in FIG. 3, and then the smoothed sensor signals would have been processed, e.g., in calculation circuits 56, 59, in order to determine a ratio of the differential output value (e.g., Va – Vb, in Mizukura et al. (JP, ‘633) to the sum of the outputs (e.g., Va + Vb, or Vm3, in Mizukura et al. (JP, ‘633), so that the amount of lateral displacement of the magnetic sensors 45a and 45b of the vehicle relative to the guidance cable 46 would have been calculatable from the output values of both (difference and sum) calculation circuits 56 and 59, as taught by Mizukura et al. (JP, ‘633) e.g., in claim 1, etc., in order to perform guide by wire as desired by Widmer et al. (‘821), with a reasonable expectation of success, and e.g., as a use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
As such, the implemented or modified Widmer et al. (‘821) guidance and alignment system and method would have rendered obvious:
per claim 1, a system for positioning a wirelessly powered electric vehicle [e.g., in Widmer et al. (‘821), for guidance and alignment, in FIG. 3], relative to power transmitting coils located below or on the road [e.g., in Widmer et al. (‘821), paragraphs [0002], [0005], etc.], the system comprising:
one or more power coils [e.g., in Widmer et al. (‘821), 116, etc.] forming a power receiver segment attached to the electric vehicle [e.g., in Widmer et al. (‘821), paragraphs [0038], FIG. 1, etc., “The electric vehicle 112 may include a battery unit 118, an electric vehicle induction coil 116 . . .”];
a set of two or more sensing coils [e.g., in Widmer et al. (‘821), sense coils 510-810 in FIGS. 5A to 8; see e.g., 610A, 610D (or e.g., 610B, 610C, or any other two or more sense coils) in FIG. 6B] located on the power receiver [e.g., in Widmer et al. (‘821), located on 605 in FIGS. 6C and 6D] and connected to respective voltmeters via respective measurement rectifiers [e.g., in Widmer et al. (‘821), connected to the analog front-end channels 840 in FIG. 8 (acting as voltmeters) used as input signals (as [digital] voltages, magnetic field signals, etc.) to DSP 835. DSP 835 may be configured to concurrently process several positioning magnetic field signals generated by the sense coils 810A-810D and deliver vector outputs Vxi, Vyi, Vzi for each of the i=1 . . . N positioning magnetic field signals, e.g., for determining a position or direction of the vehicle inductive power transfer (IPT) coupler relative to the base IPT coupler in a suitable coordinate system; and obviously utilizing rectifiers (55) as taught by Mizukura et al. (JP, ‘633) in the analog front-end channels 840 for rectifying the voltage sensed by the pickup/sense coils (45a, 45b) from the AC guide signal (as taught by Mizukura et al. (JP, ‘633)) to smooth and amplify the amplified si8gnals, as part of the preamplification and filtering etc. taught and desired by Widmer et al. (‘633) in FIG. 8];
a set of two or more sensing coils located along a longitudinal centre of the power receiver segment and connected to respective voltmeters via respective measurement rectifiers [e.g., in Widmer et al. (‘821), as shown at 610B, 610C on the substrate 605 in FIG. 6B, wherein as indicated at paragraph [0094], “Such a back plate or shield [substrate] may be required if the sensing system 500A comprising the plurality of planar sensor coils 510 is installed on the bottom of an electric vehicle or on a ferroconcrete ground.”]; and
a computer processor [e.g., in Widmer et al. (‘821), the DSP 835 or the signal combiner(s) and detector(s) 520, 620] configured to receive readings from the voltmeters [e.g., in Widmer et al. (‘821), as shown by the signal reception in FIGS. 8, etc.] and calculate, based on calibration data [e.g., in Widmer et al. (‘821), FIGS. 7A, 7B, etc., and as described at paragraphs [0111] to [0115], etc.], a position of the electric vehicle relative to the power transmitting coils [e.g., in Widmer et al. (‘821), for determining a position or direction of the vehicle inductive power transfer (IPT) coupler relative to the base IPT coupler in a suitable coordinate system, and for the subsequent alignment (e.g., as described at paragraphs [0005], [0041], [0062], [0086], etc.); see e.g., paragraph [0115]],
wherein the calibration data map voltage values representative of magnetic flux though the sensing coils and the power coils, into longitudinal and lateral displacement of the receiver segment, respectively [e.g., in Widmer et al. (‘821), paragraphs [0073], [0087], [0115], [0120], etc.], and
wherein the measurement rectifiers [e.g., 55 in Mizukura et al. (JP, ‘633)] are connected in series with a negative of one coil connected to a positive of another in a first measurement [e.g., in Mizukura et al. (JP, ‘633), to obtain the “sum” (abstract, claim 1) of the outputs of the measurement rectifiers (55) by adding one voltage to another (Va + Vb) as would be readily understood by those skilled in the art, in a manner analogous to connecting two batteries in series (i.e., + terminal of first voltage source to – terminal of second voltage source) to sum the voltage] and wherein the measurement rectifiers are connected in counter-series [e.g., to obtain the differential output value (abstract, claim 1) of the outputs of the measurement rectifiers (55) by one voltage from the other (Va – Vb) as would be readily understood by those skilled in the art, in a manner analogous to connecting two batteries in counter-series (i.e., + or - terminal of first voltage source to same terminal of second voltage source) to differentiate the voltages at the unconnected terminals] with a positive of one coil connected to a positive of another in a second measurement, thereby providing values that can be combined to a value proportional to a lateral offset of the vehicle [e.g., so that the amount of lateral displacement of the magnetic sensors 45a and 45b of the vehicle relative to the guidance cable 46 would have been calculatable from the output values of both (difference and sum) calculation circuits 56 and 59, as taught by Mizukura et al. (JP, ‘633) as described at paragraphs [0008], [0061], claim 1, etc.];
per claim 3, depending from claim 1, wherein the voltmeters are digital voltmeters [e.g., to obviously allow the DSP 835 (which in combination with the A/D converters 825 constitute a volt meter) in Widmer et al. (‘821) to measure and processes voltages from the sense coils 810];
per claim 4, depending from claim 1, wherein the voltmeters comprise means for measuring a voltage in the analog domain [e.g., where the A/D converters 825 in Widmer et al. (‘821) obviously measure voltage in the analog domain to convert analog voltage inputs to [volt]metered digital outputs];
per claim 5, depending from claim 1, wherein the computer processor is further configured to determine the longitudinal position based on the lateral offset [e.g., the x-vector component output at 850A in FIG. 8 in Widmer et al. (‘821), where the x- (or x’-) axis is parallel to the longitudinal axis of the vehicle/parking stall, where a y-vector component (lateral offset) is delivered at the same time by digital signal processing, with the component outputs being thus related];
per claim 6, depending from claim 1, wherein the computer processor is further configured to discriminate forward and backward misalignment of the vehicle, based on differential magnetic measurement [e.g., whether/when the vehicle’s x-position is aligned for inductive power transfer (IPT) with the parking stall, e.g., in FIGS. 4A and 4B of Widmer et al. (‘821)];
per claim 10, depending from claim 1, a method of using the system for positioning a wirelessly powered electric vehicle, with regards to power transmitting coils located below or on the road [e.g., paragraph [0077] in Widmer et al. (‘821), “In some embodiments, the methods and systems described herein may be used in various other embodiments of wireless power transfer or IPT, for example, dynamic vehicle charging on a roadway, or driverless navigation or general positioning and automated control technique (e.g., robotic controls, etc.). . . . In such locations, the magnetic field sources may be roadway-embedded, for example, embedded in the access aisles or the shoulders of the drivable roadways.”; see also FIG. 1];
per claim 11, depending from claim 1, a method of navigation a vehicle along a network of roads using the system [e.g., the “driverless navigation” with robotic controls in paragraph [0077] of Widmer et al. (‘821)];
per claim 14, depending from claim 1, a method for assessing an alignment of transmitting and receiving coils for static charging of a vehicle using the system [e.g., paragraph [0082] in Widmer et al. (‘821), “As the coupling factor between the charging base IPT coupler 410 and the electric vehicle IPT coupler 420 increases (i.e., the two IPT couplers 410, 420 become more substantially aligned), the efficiency of wireless power transfer between the two IPT couplers 410 and 420 increases. As the coupling factor decreases, the efficiency of the wireless power transfer likewise decreases.”];
per claim 15, depending from claim 14, further comprising assessing the rotation of a vehicle [e.g., FIGS. 4A and 4B, and paragraphs [0080] to [0085] in Widmer et al. (‘821)];
per claim 17, a method of enabling autonomous and/or automated driving of a vehicle using the system [e.g., the “driverless navigation” with robotic controls in paragraph [0077] of Widmer et al. (‘821)];
Claims 2 and 7 to 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Widmer et al. (2016/0025821) in view of Mizukura et al. (Japan, 5-173633; with EPO machine translation cited by the examiner) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rumbak (2016/0339785).
Widmer et al. (‘821) as implemented or modified in view of Mizukura et al. (JP, ‘633) has been described above.
The implemented or modified Widmer et al. (‘821) guidance and alignment system and method may not reveal the overlapping coils or the time-averaging, as claimed.
However, in the context/field of an improved system and method for powering on-road electric vehicles, Rumbak (‘785) teaches that a receiver array 10 installed at the vehicle underneath 52 of vehicle 50 includes a multi-phase receiver 15 having at least a number of overlapping coils 17 as shown in FIGS. 3A and 3B, wherein the number of cells or coils 17 in a receiver unit 15 depends on the power required by the vehicle. Additionally, different average energy values may be measured at the outlets of tracking coils 13 provided on either side of the receiver array 10, wherein the difference between the average energy values at the two tracking coils 13 may be smaller as the shift from the desirable position above power transmission line 20.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement or further modify the Widmer et al. (‘821) guidance and alignment system and method so that a receiver array having a number of overlapping coils corresponding to the power required by the vehicle would have been provided, as taught by Rumbak (‘785) and shown in FIGS. 3A and 3B, to receive the power required by the vehicle, and so that an average energy value (obviously time-averaged power) of the sense coils would have been utilized to determine the shift of the vehicle from its desirable position, as taught by Rumbak (‘785), in order to detect real-time positional shifts as taught by Rumbak (‘785) while reducing effects of (high frequency) transients/noise, with a reasonable expectation of success, and e.g., as a use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
As such, the implemented or further modified Widmer et al. (‘821) guidance and alignment system and method would have rendered obvious:
per claim 2, depending from claim 1, wherein the one or more power coils forming a power receiver segment attached to the electric vehicle comprises three partially overlapping coils forming a power receiver segment attached to the electric vehicle [e.g., as shown and described with respect to FIGS. 3A and 3B of Rumbak (‘785)];
per claim 7, depending from claim 1, wherein the computer processor is further configured to carry out time-averaging of the voltage readings, thereby providing a robust dynamic positioning signal [e.g., as described at paragraphs [0057], [080], [0100], etc. in Rumbak (‘785); and at paragraph [0109] in Widmer et al. (‘821), “The signal combiners and detectors 520, 520′, 620 may also perform operations such as filtering, averaging, correlating, etc., of the linearly combined signals of the signal combiner or of the outputs of the sense coils 510, 610”; with the filtering at 815 to “clean up” the signals also obviously providing averaging; and with the average value “Vm” of the pickup coil signals also being provided as taught by Mizukura et al. (JP, ‘633), to calculate the lateral displacement];
per claim 8, depending from claim 7, wherein said providing a robust dynamic positioning comprises position tracking by averaging lateral sensor data [e.g., as described at paragraphs [0057], [080], [0100], etc. in Rumbak (‘785)];
per claim 9, depending from claim 7, wherein said providing a robust dynamic positioning comprises automated driving lead or supported by lateral positioning data of an electric road system associated with said power transmitting coils located below the road [e.g., as described at paragraphs [0057], [080], [0100], etc. in Rumbak (‘785); see also FIGS. 1A to 3B];
Claims 11 to 13 and 17 to 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Widmer et al. (2016/0025821) in view of Mizukura et al. (Japan, 5-173633; with EPO machine translation cited by the examiner) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamamoto et al. (2021/0025959).
Widmer et al. (‘821) as implemented or modified in view of Mizukura et al. (JP, ‘633) has been described above.
The implemented or modified Widmer et al. (‘821) guidance and alignment system and method may not reveal the particular uses, as claimed.
However, in the context/field of an improved magnetic measurement system and calibration method for a vehicle having a sensor array 11 and a detection unit 12, Yamamoto et al. (‘959) teaches e.g., at paragraph [0035] that a result of detection by detection unit 12 is inputted to, for example, an ECU (Electronic Control Unit) not depicted or the like on a vehicle 5 side, and used in various controls such as automatic steering control and lane departure warning for vehicle 5 to travel while keeping the lane.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement or further modify the Widmer et al. (‘821) guidance and alignment system and method so that the magnetic guidance and alignment system would have also been used for lane departure warning, as taught by Yamamoto et al. (‘959) at paragraph [0035], to assist the vehicle in keeping the lane, with a reasonable expectation of success, and e.g., as a use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
As such, the implemented or further modified Widmer et al. (‘821) guidance and alignment system and method would have rendered obvious:
per claim 11, depending from claim 1, a method of navigation a vehicle along a network of roads using the system [e.g., the “driverless navigation” with robotic controls in paragraph [0077] of Widmer et al. (‘821); and for lane keeping as taught by Yamamoto et al. (‘959) at paragraph [0035]];
per claim 12, depending from claim 1, a method of assessing lateral misalignment of a vehicle along a network of roads using the system [e.g., for lane keeping and obviously assessing/warning lane departure as taught by Yamamoto et al. (‘959) at paragraph [0035];
per claim 13, depending from claim 1, a method of assessing the rotation of a vehicle along a curved road using the system [e.g., for lane keeping and obviously assessing/warning lane departure (obviously on a curved road) as taught by Yamamoto et al. (‘959) at paragraph [0035];
per claim 17, a method of enabling autonomous and/or automated driving of a vehicle using the system [e.g., the “driverless navigation” with robotic controls in paragraph [0077] of Widmer et al. (‘821); and the “automatic steering control” in paragraph [0035] of Yamamoto et al. (‘959)];
per claim 18, depending from claim 1, a method of providing advanced driver assistance system “ADAS” using the system [e.g., for lane departure warning, as taught by Yamamoto et al. (‘959) at paragraph [0035], which is/was a well-known ADAS function to those skilled in the art[7]];
per claim 19, depending from claim 1, a method of providing lane departure warning “LDW” using the system [e.g., for lane departure warning, as taught by Yamamoto et al. (‘959) at paragraph [0035]];
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Widmer et al. (2016/0025821) in view of Mizukura et al. (Japan, 5-173633; with EPO machine translation cited by the examiner) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pantic et al. (2019/0097471).
Widmer et al. (‘821) as implemented or modified in view of Mizukura et al. (JP, ‘633) has been described above.
The implemented or modified Widmer et al. (‘821) guidance and alignment system and method may not reveal the particular speed assessing use, as claimed.
However, in the context/field of an improved vehicle misalignment measurement system and method, Pantic et al. (‘471) teaches e.g., in the abstract and at paragraphs [0004], [0101], etc. that the method calculates not only the lateral misalignment but also the vehicle speed along a longitudinal X axis direction from the detection information e.g., from coils 115, etc.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement or further modify the Widmer et al. (‘821) guidance and alignment system and method so that the vehicle speed along the longitudinal X axis of the vehicle would also have been calculated from the detection information (from the sense coils), as taught by Pantic et al. (‘471), to adjust the transmitted power accordingly, with a reasonable expectation of success, and e.g., as a use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
As such, the implemented or further modified Widmer et al. (‘821) guidance and alignment system and method would have rendered obvious:
per claim 16, depending from claim 1, a method of assessing a speed of a vehicle along a road, using the system [e.g., as taught by Pantic et al. (‘471) in the abstract, and at paragraphs [0004], [0101], etc.];
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
For example only, He (China, 109733221) reveals in FIGS. 2B and 2C rectifier circuits for left and right position detection coils 2, 3, with a Google (Image) translation of FIGS. 2B and 2C being reproduced below/on the next page by the examiner:
Conclusion
/DAVID A TESTARDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664
1 See the 2019 35 U.S.C. 112 Compliance Federal Register Notice (Federal Register, Vol. 84, No. 4, Monday, January 7, 2019, pages 57 to 63). See also https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/2019_112_guidance_initiative.pptx . Quoting the FR Notice at pages 61 and 62, "The Federal Circuit emphasized that ‘‘[t]he written description requirement is not met if the specification merely describes a ‘desired result.’ ’’ Vasudevan, 782 F.3d at 682 (quoting Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1349). . . . When examining computer-implemented, software-related claims, examiners should determine whether the specification discloses the computer and the algorithm(s) that achieve the claimed function in sufficient detail that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor possessed the claimed subject matter at the time of filing. An algorithm is defined, for example, as 'a finite sequence of steps for solving a logical or mathematical problem or performing a task.' Microsoft Computer Dictionary (5th ed., 2002). Applicant may 'express that algorithm in any understandable terms including as a mathematical formula, in prose, or as a flow chart, or in any other manner that provides sufficient structure.' Finisar, 523 F.3d at 1340 (internal citation omitted). It is not enough that one skilled in the art could theoretically write a program to achieve the claimed function, rather the specification itself must explain how the claimed function is achieved to demonstrate that the applicant had possession of it. See, e.g., Vasudevan, 782 F.3d at 682–83. If the specification does not provide a disclosure of the computer and algorithm(s) in sufficient detail to demonstrate to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor possessed the invention that achieves the claimed result, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for lack of written description must be made. See MPEP § 2161.01, subsection I."
2 See MPEP 2161.01, I. and LizardTech Inc. v. Earth Resource Mapping Inc., 424 F.3d 1336, 1345 (Fed. Cir. 2005) cited therein ("Whether the flaw in the specification is regarded as a failure to demonstrate that the applicant possessed the full scope of the invention recited in [the claim] or a failure to enable the full breadth of that claim, the specification provides inadequate support for the claim under [§ 112(a)]"). See also MPEP 2163.02.
3 See Nautilus, Inc. v. Biosig Instruments, Inc. (U.S. Supreme Court, 2014) which held, "A patent is invalid for indefiniteness if its claims, read in light of the patent’s specification and prosecution history, fail to inform, with reasonable certainty, those skilled in the art about the scope of the invention." See also In re Packard, 751 F.3d 1307 (Fed.Cir.2014)(“[A] claim is indefinite when it contains words or phrases whose meaning is unclear,” i.e., “ambiguous, vague, incoherent, opaque, or otherwise unclear in describing and defining the claimed invention.”) and Ex Parte McAward, Appeal No. 2015-006416 (PTAB, Aug. 25, 2017, Precedential) (“Applying the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim, then, the Office establishes a prima facie case of indefiniteness with a rejection explaining how the metes and bounds of a pending claim are not clear because the claim contains words or phrases whose meaning is unclear.”)
4 rec·ti·fi·er (rĕk′tə-fī′ər) n.
. . .
2. Electronics A device, such as a diode, that converts alternating current to direct current.
. . .
[From: American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition. Copyright © 2016 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company. Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company. All rights reserved. Retrieved 19 September 2026.]
5 See MPEP 2173.05(b), IV.
6 The EPO designation for this document is JPH05173633.
7 See the Wikipedia article cited herewith.