DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 9/19/2025, is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
The no statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the claims at issue are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
4. Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over related claims of the U.S. Patent 12,425,582 B2. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are similar to the claims in the US Patent 12,425,582 B2 to meet the limitations claimed in the co-pending applications. Table 1 shows comparisons between the instant claims and the US Patent 12,425,582 B2 claims.
Table 1: Comparison of claims in the instant Application 19334176 vs. the U.S. Patent 12,425,582 B2.
Instant Application 19334176
U.S. Patent 12,425,582 B2
1. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause a video processing apparatus to:receive a bitstream comprising a sequence parameter set (SPS), a flag, and a picture partitioned into a sub-picture with a sub-picture boundary, wherein the sub-picture is a rectangular region capable of containing a plurality of slices within the picture, wherein the flag is included in the SPS to apply to a coded video sequence (CVS), wherein the SPS further comprises a subpic_treated_as_pic_flag[i], wherein i is an index of the sub-picture, and wherein the subpic_treated_as_pic_flag[i] is set equal to one to specify that an i-th sub-picture of each coded picture in the CVS is treated as a picture in a decoding process exclusive of in-loop filtering operations;
determine a current motion vector for the current block from a motion vector predictor candidate list;
decode the sub-picture based on the current motion vector;enable filtering operations across the sub-picture boundary when the flag is set to a first value; and
disable the filtering operations across the sub-picture boundary when the flag is set to a second value.
A method implemented by a decoder, the method
comprising:
receiving a bitstream comprising a sequence parameter set (SPS), a flag, and a picture partitioned into a subpicture with a sub-picture boundary, wherein the subpicture is a rectangular region capable of containing a plurality of slices within the picture, wherein the flag is included in the SPS to apply to a coded video sequence (CVS), wherein the SPS further comprises a
subpic_treated_as_pic_flag[i], wherein i is an index of the sub-picture, and wherein the subpic_treated_as_pic_flag [i] is set equal to one to specify that an i-th sub-picture of each coded picture in the CVS is treated as a picture in a decoding process exclusive of in-loop filtering operations;
deriving a motion vector predictor candidate list for a current block by excluding a collocated motion vector when the collocated motion vector points outside of the sub-picture and when the subpic_treated_as_pic_flag[i] is set to indicate the sub-picture is treated as a picture, wherein the collocated motion vector is included in a collocated block from a collocated picture;
determining a current motion vector for the current block from the motion vector predictor candidate list;
decoding the sub-picture based on the current motion vector;enabling filtering operations across the sub-picture boundary when the flag is set to a first value; and
disabling the filtering operations across the sub-picture boundary when the flag is set to a second value.
Wang et al. (US Patent 12,425,582 B2) further meets the different claim limitations as follow:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (the computer program product comprising computer executable
instructions stored on the non-transitory computer readable medium such that when executed by a processor cause the video coding device to perform the method of any of the preceding aspects.) [Wang: col. 4, line 3-8].
2. wherein the flag is denoted as
a loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled_flag.
2. wherein the flag is denoted as
a loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled_flag.
3. the loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled_flag is set to one when specifying that in-loop filtering operations are enabled across boundaries of the sub-picture, and wherein the loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled_flag is set to zero when specifying that the in-loop filtering operations are disabled across boundaries of the sub-picture.
3. the loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled_flag is set to one when specifying that in-loop filtering operations are enabled across boundaries
of the sub-picture, and wherein the loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled_flag is set to zero when specifying that the in-loop filtering operations are disabled across boundaries of the sub-picture.
4. wherein the filtering operations include application of a deblocking filter.
4. wherein the filtering operations include application of a deblocking filter.
5. wherein the filtering operations include application of an adaptive loop filter (ALF).
5. wherein the filtering operations include application of an adaptive loop filter (ALF).
6. wherein the filtering operations include application of a sample adaptive offset (SAO) filter.
6. wherein the filtering operations include application of a sample adaptive offset (SAO) filter.
7. wherein the sub-picture boundary includes one or more edges of the sub-picture.
7. wherein the sub-picture boundary includes one or more edges of the sub-picture.
Claim Rejection – 35 U.S.C. § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter, which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 14 recites "an encoding method by an encoding apparatus". It is not clear from the claim language what the encoding apparatus does with the encoding method, i.e. the encoding apparatus keeps it, rejects it, deletes it, modifies it, performs it, …, or something else. Therefore, the claim 14 and its depended claims are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Joshi (US Patent Application Publication US 2014/0286400 A1), (“Joshi”).
Claim 14 directed to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (CRM) storing a bitstream generated by an encoding method. The claim does not recite that the CRM contains executable instructions, that when executed, implement the encoding method. The bitstream is a product produced by the encoding method. Therefore, the claims are not limited to the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps (See MPEP 2113 - Product-by-Process claims).
To be given patentable weight, the CRM and the bitstream (i.e. descriptive material) must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the descriptive material performs some function with respect to the CRM to which it is associated. See MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists”. MPEP §2111.05(III).
The CRM storing the claimed bitstream in claim 14 merely services as a support for the CRM of the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and the CRM. Therefore, the structure bitstream, which scope is implied by the encoding method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Joshi (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0286400 A1), (“Joshi”), which recites a storage medium storing a bitstream (a computer-readable storage medium in an encoded bitstream [Joshi: para. 0054], an encoding method (a method of encoding video data) [Joshi: para. 0007], and an encoding apparatus (a video encoding apparatus) [Joshi: para. 0010].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chong (US Patent 9,462,298 B2), (“Chong”), in view of ITU-T (H.265), (“ITU-T”), in view of Coban et al. (JCTVC-I0356), (“Coban”).
Regarding claim 1, Chong meets the claim limitations as follows:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors , cause a video processing apparatus to (The video encoder 20 and the video decoder 30 each may be implemented as any of a variety of suitable encoder circuitry, such as one or more microprocessors, digital signal processors (DSPs), application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), discrete logic, software, hardware, firmware or any combinations thereof. When the techniques are implemented partially in software, a device may store instructions for the software in a suitable, non-transitory computer-readable medium and execute the instructions in hardware using one or more processors to perform the techniques of this disclosure. Each of the video encoder 20 and the video decoder 30 may be included in one or more encoders or decoders, either of which may be integrated as part of a combined encoder/decoder (CODEC) in a respective device) [Chong: col. 9, line 1-16]:receive (The receiver 26 of the destination device 14 receives) [Chong: col. 8, line 8-9; Figs. 1, 12] a bitstream (encoded video bitstream) [Chong: col. 9, line 44; Figs. 1, 12] comprising a sequence parameter set (SPS), a flag ((a split flag) [Chong: col. 4, line 16]; (syntax information to determine split information) [Chong: col. 21, line 2]) and a picture partitioned into a sub-picture with a sub-picture boundary ((a video frame may be partitioned into coding units) [Chong: col. 3, line 22-23]; (FIG. 5 is a conceptual diagram showing examples slices of a frame. Frame 180 may be divided into a slice which consists of multiple consecutive LCUs (182)) [Chong: col. 11, line 24-26; Fig. 5]; (the slice or tile boundary from the current slice or tile) [Chong: col. 12, line 33-34]), wherein the sub-picture is a rectangular region capable of containing a plurality of slices within the picture (FIG. 4 is a conceptual diagram showing example tiles of a frame. Frame 160 may be divided into multiple largest coding units (LCU) 162. Two or more LCUs may be grouped into a rectangular-shaped tiles. When tile-based coding is enabled, coding units within each tile are coded (i.e., encoded or decoded) together before coding subsequent tiles. As shown for frame 160, tiles 161 and 163 are oriented in a horizontal manner and have both horizontal and vertical boundaries. As shown for frame 170, tiles 161 and 163 are oriented in a vertical manner and have both horizontal and vertical boundaries) [Chong: col. 11, line 13-26], wherein the flag ((a split flag) [Chong: col. 4, line 16]; (syntax information to determine split information) [Chong: col. 21, line 2]) is included in the SPS to apply to a coded video sequence (CVS), wherein the SPS further comprises a subpic_treated_as_pic _flag[i], wherein i is an index of the sub-picture, and wherein the subpic_treated_as_pic _flag[i] is set equal to one to specify that an i-th sub-picture of each coded picture in the CVS is treated as a picture in a decoding process exclusive of in-loop filtering operations (As shown in FIG. 2, frame 120 is divided into 16 regions, and each region may include multiple CUs. Each of these 16 regions is represented by a number (0-15) that indicates the particular set of linear filter coefficients used by that region. The numbers (0-15) may be index numbers to a predetermined set of filter coefficients that are stored at both a video encoder and a video decoder. In one example, a video encoder may signal, in the encoded video bitstream, the index number of the set of filter coefficients used by the video encoder for a particular region. Based on the signaled index, a video decoder may retrieve the same predetermined set of filter coefficients to use in the decoding process for that region.) [Chong: col. 2, line 36-49];
determine a current motion vector for a current block from a motion vector predictor candidate list (An inter-coded block is encoded according to a motion vector that points to a block of reference samples forming the predictive block, and the residual data indicating the difference between the coded block and the predictive block) [Chong: col. 7, line 47-50]; (when the PU is inter-mode encoded, the PU may include data defining a motion vector for the PU. The data defining the motion vector may describe, for example, a horizontal component of the motion vector, a vertical component of the motion vector, a resolution for the motion vector (e.g., one-quarter pixel precision or one-eighth pixel precision), a reference frame to which the motion vector points, and/or a reference list (e.g., list 0 or list 1) for the motion vector. Data for the leaf-CU defining the PU(s) may also describe, for example, partitioning of the CU into one or more PUs.) [Chong: col. 4, line 35-45]);
decode (decoding) [Chong: col. 7, line 16] the sub-picture ((a video frame may be partitioned into coding units) [Chong: col. 3, line 22-23]; (slices of a frame) [Chong: col. 2, line 42; Fig. 5]; (slice of tile) [Chong: col. 14, line 44]; (the slice level (including an entropy slice) or at the tile level) [Chong: col. 11, line 8-9]) based on the current motion vector (The syntax information may also include modes indicating how each split is encoded (e.g., intra- or inter-prediction, and for intra-prediction an intra-prediction encoding mode), one or more reference frames (and/or reference lists containing identifiers for the reference frames) for each inter-encoded PU, and other information to decode the encoded video sequence. The summer 80 combines the residual blocks with the corresponding prediction blocks generated by the motion compensation unit 72 or the intra-prediction module 74 to form decoded blocks) [Chong: col. 21, line 4-15];
enable (enable) [Chong: col. 14, line 51] filtering operations across the sub-picture boundary when the flag is set to a first value (subset of the above conditions can be chosen to decide whether to apply a partial filter for specific slice of tile boundaries. In the above conditions, a corresponding pixel is a pixel with a pixel value to which a particular coefficient is to be applied to weight the pixel value, e.g., as part of the weighted summation of pixel values to produce the filtered pixel value of the current pixel. In another example of the disclosure, partial filtering may only be enabled for horizontal slice and tile boundaries) [Chong: col. 14, line 43-51]; and disable (disabled) [Chong: col. 12, line 28] filtering operations across the sub-picture boundary when the flag is set to a second value (loop filtering (e.g. deblocking, ALF, and SAO) is disabled across slices and/or tile boundaries) [Chong: col. 12, line 27-29].
Chong does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
receive, a bitstream comprising a sequence parameter set (SPS),
wherein the flag is included in the SPS to apply to a coded video sequence (CVS) wherein the SPS further comprises a subpic_treated_as_pic _flag[i], wherein i is an index of the sub-picture, and wherein the subpic_treated_as_pic _flag[i] is set equal to one to specify that an i-th sub-picture of each coded picture in the CVS is treated as a picture in a decoding process exclusive of in-loop filtering operations;
enable, filtering operations across the sub-picture boundary when the flag is set to a first value; and disable, the filtering operations across the sub-picture boundary when the flag is set to a second value.
However, in the same field of endeavor ITU-T further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations as follows:
a bitstream comprising a sequence parameter set (SPS) (sequence parameter set (SPS): A syntax structure containing syntax elements that apply to zero or more entire CVSs as determined by the content of a syntax element found in the PPS referred to by a syntax element found in each slice segment header) [ITU-T: page 11]….,
wherein the flag is included in the SPS to apply to a coded video sequence (CVS) ((sequence parameter set (SPS): A syntax structure containing syntax elements that apply to zero or more entire CVSs as determined by the content of a syntax element found in the PPS referred to by a syntax element found in each slice segment header) [ITU-T: page 11]; (A sequence of bits, in the form of a NAL unit stream or a byte stream, that forms the representation of coded pictures and associated data forming one or more coded video sequences) [ITU-T: page 4]; (i.e. specified in the sequence parameter set (SPS) that is referred to by the corresponding coded picture) [ITU-T: page 6]);
wherein the SPS further comprises (sequence parameter set (SPS): A syntax structure containing syntax elements that apply to zero or more entire CVSs as determined by the content of a syntax element found in the PPS referred to by a syntax element found in each slice segment header) [ITU-T: page 11] a subpic_treated_as_pic _flag[i], wherein i is an index of the sub-picture ((il_exact_sample_value_match_flag[i]: … the boundaries of the i-th identified tile set are treated as picture boundaries) [ITU-T: page 528] – Note: A tile is a sub-picture), and wherein the subpic_treated_as-pic_flag[i] is set equal to one to specify that an i-th sub-picture of each coded picture in the CVS ((values of i for all pictures in the CVS) [ITU-T: page 354]; (the boundaries of the i-th identified tile set are treated as picture boundaries) [ITU-T: page 528]).
enable, filtering operations across the sub-picture boundary when the flag is set to a first value (loop_filter_across_tiles_enabled_flag equal to 1 specifies that in-loop filtering operations may be performed across tile boundaries in pictures) [ITU-T: page 86]; and disable, the filtering operations across the sub-picture boundary when the flag is set to a second value (loop_filter_across_tiles_enabled_flag equal to 0 specifies that in-loop filtering operations are not performed across tile boundaries in pictures) [ITU-T: page 86].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chong with ITU-T to implement the method specified in the ITU-T H.265 video standard.
Therefore, the combination of Chong with ITU-T will enable the system to comply with the ITU-T H.265 international video coding standard to allows motion video to be manipulated as a form of computer data and to be stored on various storage media, transmitted and received over existing and future networks and distributed on existing and future broadcasting channels [ITU-T: Page i - Summary].
In the same field of endeavor Coban further discloses the claim limitations a as follows:
the SPS (sequence parameter set (SPS)) [Coban: para. 0209] further comprises a subpic_treated_as_pic _flag[i] (In HEVC we define a new concept called “sub-pictures” that partition the picture into predefined rectangular regions. Each sub-picture would be processed as an independent picture except that all sub-pictures constituting a picture share the same global information such as SPS, PPS and reference picture sets. Figure 1 shows the partitioning of picture into sub-pictures. This feature can be useful for applications multiple independent decoders operate on a picture, such as multiple displays with their individual decoders decoding and composing a larger picture with synchronization) [Coban: page 1].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chong and ITU-T with Coban to implement Coban’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Chong and ITU-T with Coban will enable the system to support High Efficient Video Coding (HEVC) standard.
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Chong meets claim limitations as set forth in claims 1 and 14. Chong does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
wherein the flag is denoted as a loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled_flag.
However, in the same field of endeavor ITU-T with Coban further disclosethe deficient claim limitation as follows:
a loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled_flag ((
loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled_flag[ i]) [Coban: para. 0335]; (loop_filter_across_tiles_enabled_flag equal to 1 specifies that in-loop filtering operations may be performed across tile boundaries) [ITU-T: page 84]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chong and ITU-T with Coban to implement Coban’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Chong and ITU-T with Coban will enable the system to improve the quality of decompressed images and videos [Coban: para. 0054].
Regarding claims 3, 10, 17, Chong meets claim limitations as set forth in claims 2, 8, 16. Chong does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled_flag is set to one when specifying that in-loop filtering operations are enabled across boundaries of the sub-picture, and wherein the loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled_flag is set to zero when specifying that the in-loop filtering operations are disabled across boundaries of the sub-picture.
However, in the same field of endeavor ITU-T with Coban further disclosethe deficient claim limitation as follows:
a loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled_flag (
loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled_flag[i]) [Coban: para. 0335] is set to one when specifying that in-loop filtering operations are enabled across boundaries of the sub-picture (loop_filter_across_tiles_enabled_flag equal to 1 specifies that in-loop filtering operations may be performed across tile boundaries) [ITU-T: page 84];
a loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled_flag (
loop_filter_across_subpic_enabled_flag[ i]) [Coban: para. 0335] is set to zero when specifying that the in-loop filtering operations are disabled across boundaries of the sub-picture (loop_filter_across_tiles_enabled_flag equal to 0 specifies that in-loop filtering operations are not performed across tile boundaries) [ITU-T: page 84].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chong and ITU-T with Coban to implement Coban’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Chong and ITU-T with Coban will enable the system to improve the quality of decompressed images and videos [Coban: para. 0054].
Regarding claims 4, 11, 18, Chong meets claim limitations as set forth in claims 1, 8, 14. Chong does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
wherein the filtering operations include application of a deblocking filter (Loop filtering may include one or more of adaptive loop filtering (ALF), sample adaptive
offset (SAO) filtering, and deblocking filtering) [Chong: col. 1, line 67 – col. 2, line 2].
Regarding claims 5, 12, 19, Chong meets claim limitations as set forth in claims 1, 8, 14. Chong does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
wherein the filtering operations include application of an adaptive loop filter (ALF) (Loop filtering may include one or more of adaptive loop filtering (ALF), sample adaptive
offset (SAO) filtering, and deblocking filtering) [Chong: col. 1, line 67 – col. 2, line 2].
Regarding claims 6, 13, 20, Chong meets claim limitations as set forth in claims 1, 8, 14. Chong does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
wherein the filtering operations include application of a sample adaptive offset (SAO) filter (Loop filtering may include one or more of adaptive loop filtering (ALF), sample adaptive offset (SAO) filtering, and deblocking filtering) [Chong: col. 1, line 67 – col. 2, line 2].
Regarding claim 7, Chong meets claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Chong does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
wherein the sub-picture boundary includes one or more edges of the sub-picture (A set of filter coefficients, for example, may define how filtering is applied along edges of video blocks) [Chong: col. 6, line 9-10].
Regarding claim 8, Chong meets the claim limitations as follows:
An encoder (The video encoder) [Chong: col. 9, line 1; Fig. 1] comprising:one or more processors configured to (one or more microprocessors, digital signal processors (DSPs), application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), discrete logic, software, hardware, firmware or any combinations thereof) [Chong: col. 9, line 3-7]:partition a picture into a sub-picture with a sub-picture boundary (syntax information to determine split information that describes how each CU of a frame of the encoded video sequence is split (and likewise, how sub-CUs are split). The syntax information may also include modes indicating how each split is encoded (e.g., intra- or inter-prediction, and for intra-prediction an intra-prediction encoding mode), one or more reference frames (and/or reference lists containing identifiers for the reference frames) for each inter-encoded PU, and other information to decode the encoded video sequence) [Chong: col. 21, line 2-11], wherein the sub-picture is a rectangular region capable of containing a plurality of slices within the picture (FIG. 4 is a conceptual diagram showing example tiles of a frame. Frame 160 may be divided into multiple largest coding units (LCU) 162. Two or more LCUs may be
grouped into a rectangular-shaped tiles. When tile-based coding is enabled, coding units within each tile are coded (i.e., encoded or decoded) together before coding subsequent tiles. As shown for frame 160, tiles 161 and 163 are oriented in a horizontal manner and have both horizontal and vertical boundaries. As shown for frame 170, tiles 161 and 163 are oriented in a vertical manner and have both horizontal and vertical boundaries) [Chong: col. 11, line 13-26];set a flag (subset of the above conditions can be chosen to decide whether to apply a partial filter for specific slice of tile boundaries. In the above conditions, a corresponding pixel is a pixel with a pixel value to which a particular coefficient is to be applied to weight the pixel value, e.g., as part of the weighted summation of pixel values to produce the filtered pixel value of the current pixel. In another example of the disclosure, partial filtering may only be enabled for horizontal slice and tile boundaries) [Chong: col. 14, line 43-51] in a sequence parameter set (SPS) in a bitstream to indicate whether filtering operations are performed across the sub-picture boundary (loop filtering (e.g. deblocking, ALF, and SAO) is disabled across slices and/or tile boundaries) [Chong: col. 12, line 27-29], wherein the flag is included in the SPS to apply to a coded video sequence (CVS);encode (encoding) [Chong: col. 1, line 35] a subpic_treated_as_pic_flag[i] into the SPS, wherein i is an index of the sub-picture (As shown in FIG. 2, frame 120 is divided into 16 regions, and each region may include multiple CUs. Each of these 16 regions is represented by a number (0-15) that indicates the particular set of linear filter coefficients used by that region. The numbers (0-15) may be index numbers to a predetermined set of filter coefficients that are stored at both a video encoder and a video decoder. In one example, a video encoder may signal, in the encoded video bitstream, the index number of the set of filter coefficients used by the video encoder for a particular region. Based on the signaled index, a video decoder may retrieve the same predetermined set of filter coefficients to use in the decoding process for that region.) [Chong: col. 2, line 36-49], and wherein the subpic_treated_as_pic_flag[i] is set equal to one to specify that an i-th sub-picture of each coded picture in the CVS is treated as a picture in a decoding process exclusive of in-loop filtering operations (As shown in FIG. 2, frame 120 is divided into 16 regions, and each region may include multiple CUs. Each of these 16 regions is represented by a number (0-15) that indicates the particular set of linear filter coefficients used by that region. The numbers (0-15) may be index numbers to a predetermined set of filter coefficients that are stored at both a video encoder and a video decoder. In one example, a video encoder may signal, in the encoded video bitstream, the index number of the set of filter coefficients used by the video encoder for a particular region. Based on the signaled index, a video decoder may retrieve the same predetermined set of filter coefficients to use in the decoding process for that region.) [Chong: col. 2, line 36-49];determine a current motion vector for the current block from a motion vector predictor candidate list (An inter-coded block is encoded according to a motion vector that points to a block of reference samples forming the predictive block, and the residual data indicating the difference between the coded block and the predictive block) [Chong: col. 7, line 47-50]; (when the PU is inter-mode encoded, the PU may include data defining a motion vector for the PU. The data defining the motion vector may describe, for example, a horizontal component of the motion vector, a vertical component of the motion vector, a resolution for the motion vector (e.g., one-quarter pixel precision or one-eighth pixel precision), a reference frame to which the motion vector points, and/or a reference list (e.g., list 0 or list 1) for the motion vector. Data for the leaf-CU defining the PU(s) may also describe, for example, partitioning of the CU into one or more PUs.) [Chong: col. 4, line 35-45]);
decode (decoding) [Chong: col. 7, line 16]; andencode (encoding) [Chong: col. 1, line 35] the sub-picture ((a video frame may be partitioned into coding units) [Chong: col. 3, line 22-23]; (slices of a frame) [Chong: col. 2, line 42; Fig. 5]; (slice of tile) [Chong: col. 14, line 44]; (the slice level (including an entropy slice) or at the tile level) [Chong: col. 11, line 8-9]) in the bitstream based on the current motion vector (The syntax information may also include modes indicating how each split is encoded (e.g., intra- or inter-prediction, and for intra-prediction an intra-prediction encoding mode), one or more reference frames (and/or reference lists containing identifiers for the reference frames) for each inter-encoded PU, and other information to decode the encoded video sequence. The summer 80 combines the residual blocks with the corresponding prediction blocks generated by the motion compensation unit 72 or the intra-prediction module 74 to form decoded blocks) [Chong: col. 21, line 4-15]; anda memory coupled to the one or more processors (The video encoder 20 and the video decoder 30 each may be implemented as any of a variety of suitable encoder circuitry, such as one or more microprocessors, digital signal processors (DSPs), application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), discrete logic, software, hardware, firmware or any combinations thereof. When the techniques are implemented partially in software, a device may store instructions for the software in a suitable, non-transitory computer-readable medium and execute the instructions in hardware using one or more processors to perform the techniques of this disclosure. Each of the video encoder 20 and the video decoder 30 may be included in one or more encoders or decoders, either of which may be integrated as part of a combined encoder/decoder (CODEC) in a respective device) [Chong: col. 9, line 1-16], the memory configured to store the bitstream (Encoded video data may also be stored on a storage medium 34 or a file server 36 and may be accessed by the destination device 14 as desired) [Chong: col. 6, line 47-49; Figs. 1, 11] for communication toward a decoder (As shown in FIG. 1, the system 10 includes a source device 12 that transmits encoded video to a destination device 14 via a communication channel 16.) [Chong: col. 6, line 44-47; Figs. 1, 11].
Chong does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
a sequence parameter set (SPS),
wherein the flag is included in the SPS to apply to a coded video sequence (CVS);subpic_treated_as_pic_flag[i] is set equal to one to specify that an i-th sub-picture of each coded picture in the CVS;
However, in the same field of endeavor ITU-T further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations as follows:
a flag in a sequence parameter set (SPS) (sequence parameter set (SPS): A syntax structure containing syntax elements that apply to zero or more entire CVSs as determined by the content of a syntax element found in the PPS referred to by a syntax element found in each slice segment header) [ITU-T: page 11] in a bitstream to indicate whether filtering operations are performed across the sub-picture boundary ((loop_filter_across_tiles_enabled_flag equal to 1 specifies that in-loop filtering operations may be performed across tile boundaries in pictures) [ITU-T: page 84]; (loop_filter_across_tiles_enabled_flag equal to 0 specifies that in-loop filtering operations are not performed across tile boundaries in pictures) [ITU-T: page 84]), wherein the flag is included in the SPS to apply to a coded video sequence (CVS) ((sequence parameter set (SPS): A syntax structure containing syntax elements that apply to zero or more entire CVSs as determined by the content of a syntax element found in the PPS referred to by a syntax element found in each slice segment header) [ITU-T: page 11] ; (A sequence of bits, in the form of a NAL unit stream or a byte stream, that forms the representation of coded pictures and associated data forming one or more coded video sequences) [ITU-T: page 5]; (specified in the sequence parameter set (SPS) that is referred to by the corresponding coded picture) [ITU-T: page 6]);
wherein the SPS further comprises (sequence parameter set (SPS): A syntax structure containing syntax elements that apply to zero or more entire CVSs as determined by the content of a syntax element found in the PPS referred to by a syntax element found in each slice segment header) [ITU-T: page 11] a subpic_treated_as_pic _flag[i], wherein i is an index of the sub-picture ((il_exact_sample_value_match_flag[i]: … the boundaries of the i-th identified tile set are treated as picture boundaries) [ITU-T: page 528] – Note: A tile is a sub-picture), and wherein the subpic_treated_as-pic_flag[i] is set equal to one to specify that an i-th sub-picture of each coded picture in the CVS is treated as a picture in a decoding process exclusive of in-loop filtering operations ((values of i for all pictures in the CVS) [ITU-T: page 354]; (the boundaries of the i-th identified tile set are treated as picture boundaries for purposes of the decoding process) [ITU-T: page 528]);
excluding a collocated motion vector when the collocated motion vector points outside of the sub-picture ((The temporal motion-constrained tile sets SEI message indicates that the inter prediction process is constrained such that no sample value outside each identified tile set, and no sample value at a fractional sample position that is derived using one or more sample values outside the identified tile set, is used for inter prediction of any sample within the identified tile set.) [ITU-T: D.3.30 on page 350]; (motion_vectors_over_pic_boundaries_flag equal to 0 indicates that no sample outside the picture boundaries and no sample at a fractional sample position for which the sample value is derived using one or more samples outside the picture boundaries is used for inter prediction of any sample) [ITU-T: page 386]; (For any picture that follows the picture lastPicInSet in output order, the syntax elements in the slice segments of the picture shall be constrained such that no samples or motion vector values outside of the union of gdrRefreshedSliceSegmentSet and upSwitchingRefreshedSliceSegmentSet are used for inter prediction or inter-layer prediction in the decoding process of the picture) [ITU-T: page 495]; (The presence of the inter-layer constrained tile sets SEI message indicates that the inter-layer prediction process is constrained such that no sample value outside each associated reference tile set, and no sample value at a fractional sample position that is derived using one or more sample values outside each associated reference tile set, is used for inter-layer prediction of any sample within the identified tile set) [ITU-T: page 497]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chong with ITU-T to implement the method specified in the ITU-T H.265 video standard.
Therefore, the combination of Chong with ITU-T will enable the system to comply with the ITU-T H.265 international video coding standard to allows motion video to be manipulated as a form of computer data and to be stored on various storage media, transmitted and received over existing and future networks and distributed on existing and future broadcasting channels [ITU-T: Page i - Summary].
In the same field of endeavor Coban further discloses the claim limitations a as follows:
the SPS (sequence parameter set (SPS)) [Coban: para. 0209] further comprises a subpic_treated_as_pic _flag[i] (In HEVC we define a new concept called “sub-pictures” that partition the picture into predefined rectangular regions. Each sub-picture would be processed as an independent picture except that all sub-pictures constituting a picture share the same global information such as SPS, PPS and reference picture sets. Figure 1 shows the partitioning of picture into sub-pictures. This feature can be useful for applications multiple independent decoders operate on a picture, such as multiple displays with their individual decoders decoding and composing a larger picture with synchronization) [Coban: page 1].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chong and ITU-T with Coban to implement Coban’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Chong and ITU-T with Coban will enable the system to support High Efficient Video Coding (HEVC) standard.
Regarding claims 9 and 15, Chong meets claim limitations as set forth in claims 8 and 14.
Chong further meets the claim limitations as follows:
decode the sub-picture (decoding of digital video) [Chong: col. 7, line 16] for use in a reference picture (In this manner, in-loop filtered video data may be used for reference) [Chong: col. 11, line 1-2];perform the filtering operations across the sub-picture boundary (loop filter unit 79, alone or together with other components of video decoder 30, may be configured to perform loop filtering in a video coding process. Loop filtering may include one or more of deblocking, ALF, and SAO filtering. For example, loop filter unit 79
may be configured to determine, for a current pixel, that one or more pixels corresponding to filter coefficients of a filter mask for an loop filter are across one of a slice or a tile boundary, and to perform loop filtering on the current pixel using a partial loop filter) [Chong: col. 21, line 18-27] when the flag is set to a first value (The loop filter unit 43 may then perform loop filtering on the reconstructed blocks in accordance with the techniques described above. In examples of the disclosure, loop filter unit 43, alone or together with other components of video encoder 20, may be configured to perform loop filtering in a video coding process. For example, loop filter unit 43 may be configured to determine, for a current pixel of a reconstructed block, that one or more pixels corresponding to filter coefficients of a filter mask for an loop filter are across one of a slice or a tile boundary, and to perform loop filtering on the current pixel using a partial loop filter (e.g., a symmetrical or asymmetrical partial loop filter according to examples of this disclosure)) [Chong: col. 19, line 7-19]; andomit the filtering operations across the sub-picture boundary (loop filtering may be skipped entirely) [Chong: col. 14, line 52-53] when the flag is set to a second value (The decision made by a coder, i.e., an encoder or decoder, to use a partial filter can also be based on other criteria. For example, a partial filter may not be used when the number of coefficients whose corresponding pixels are not available
is greater than some threshold. A partial filter may not be used when the sum of the coefficient values whose corresponding pixels are not available is greater than some threshold. As another example, a partial filter may not be used when the sum of the absolute values of the coefficient values whose corresponding pixels are not available is greater than some threshold) [Chong: col. 14, line 26-36].
However, in the same field of endeavor ITU-T with Coban further disclosethe deficient claim limitation as follows:
perform the filtering operations across the sub-picture boundary when the flag is set to a first value (loop_filter_across_tiles_enabled_flag equal to 1 specifies that in-loop filtering operations may be performed across tile boundaries) [ITU-T: page 84]; andomit the filtering operations across the sub-picture boundary when the flag is set to a second value (loop_filter_across_tiles_enabled_flag equal to 0 specifies that in-loop filtering operations are not performed across tile boundaries in pictures) [ITU-T: page 84].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chong and ITU-T with Coban to implement Coban’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Chong and ITU-T with Coban will enable the system to improve the quality of decompressed images and videos [Coban: para. 0054].
Regarding claim 14, Chong meets the claim limitations as follows:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream generated by an encoding method by an encoding apparatus, the encoding method comprising (The video encoder 20 and the video decoder 30 each may be implemented as any of a variety of suitable encoder circuitry, such as one or more microprocessors, digital signal processors (DSPs), application specific integrated circuits (ASICs), field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), discrete logic, software, hardware, firmware or any combinations thereof. When the techniques are implemented partially in software, a device may store instructions for the software in a suitable, non-transitory computer-readable medium and execute the instructions in hardware using one or more processors to perform the techniques of this disclosure. Each of the video encoder 20 and the video decoder 30 may be included in one or more encoders or decoders, either of which may be integrated as part of a combined encoder/decoder (CODEC) in a respective device) [Chong: col. 9, line 1-16]:partitioning a picture into a sub-picture with a sub-picture boundary (syntax information to determine split information that describes how each CU of a frame of the encoded video sequence is split (and likewise, how sub-CUs are split). The syntax information may also include modes indicating how each split is encoded (e.g., intra- or inter-prediction, and for intra-prediction an intra-prediction encoding mode), one or more reference frames (and/or reference lists containing identifiers for the reference frames) for each inter-encoded PU, and other information to decode the encoded video sequence) [Chong: col. 21, line 2-11], wherein the sub-picture is a rectangular region capable of containing a plurality of slices within the picture (FIG. 4 is a conceptual diagram showing example tiles of a frame. Frame 160 may be divided into multiple largest coding units (LCU) 162. Two or more LCUs may be
grouped into a rectangular-shaped tiles. When tile-based coding is enabled, coding units within each tile are coded (i.e., encoded or decoded) together before coding subsequent tiles. As shown for frame 160, tiles 161 and 163 are oriented in a horizontal manner and have both horizontal and vertical boundaries. As shown for frame 170, tiles 161 and 163 are oriented in a vertical manner and have both horizontal and vertical boundaries) [Chong: col. 11, line 13-26];setting a flag (subset of the above conditions can be chosen to decide whether to apply a partial filter for specific slice of tile boundaries. In the above conditions, a corresponding pixel is a pixel with a pixel value to which a particular coefficient is to be applied to weight the pixel value, e.g., as part of the weighted summation of pixel values to produce the filtered pixel value of the current pixel. In another example of the disclosure, partial filtering may only be enabled for horizontal slice and tile boundaries) [Chong: col. 14, line 43-51] in a sequence parameter set (SPS) in a bitstream to indicate whether filtering operations are performed across the sub-picture boundary (loop filtering (e.g. deblocking, ALF, and SAO) is disabled across slices and/or tile boundaries) [Chong: col. 12, line 27-29], wherein the flag is included in the SPS to apply to a coded video sequence (CVS);encoding (encoding) [Chong: col. 1, line 35] a subpic_treated_as_pic_flag[i] into the SPS, wherein i is an index of the sub-picture (As shown in FIG. 2, frame 120 is divided into 16 regions, and each region may include multiple CUs. Each of these 16 regions is represented by a number (0-15) that indicates the particular set of linear filter coefficients used by that region. The numbers (0-15) may be index numbers to a predetermined set of filter coefficients that are stored at both a video encoder and a video decoder. In one example, a video encoder may signal, in the encoded video bitstream, the index number of the set of filter coefficients used by the video encoder for a particular region. Based on the signaled index, a video decoder may retrieve the same predetermined set of filter coefficients to use in the decoding process for that region.) [Chong: col. 2, line 36-49], and wherein the subpic_treated_as_pic_flag[i] is set equal to one to specify that an i-th sub-picture of each coded picture in the CVS is treated as a picture in a decoding process exclusive of in-loop filtering operations (As shown in FIG. 2, frame 120 is divided into 16 regions, and each region may include multiple CUs. Each of these 16 regions is represented by a number (0-15) that indicates the particular set of linear filter coefficients used by that region. The numbers (0-15) may be index numbers to a predetermined set of filter coefficients that are stored at both a video encoder and a video decoder. In one example, a video encoder may signal, in the encoded video bitstream, the index number of the set of filter coefficients used by the video encoder for a particular region. Based on the signaled index, a video decoder may retrieve the same predetermined set of filter coefficients to use in the decoding process for that region.) [Chong: col. 2, line 36-49];determining a current motion vector for the current block from a motion vector predictor candidate list (An inter-coded block is encoded according to a motion vector that points to a block of reference samples forming the predictive block, and the residual data indicating the difference between the coded block and the predictive block) [Chong: col. 7, line 47-50]; (when the PU is inter-mode encoded, the PU may include data defining a motion vector for the PU. The data defining the motion vector may describe, for example, a horizontal component of the motion vector, a vertical component of the motion vector, a resolution for the motion vector (e.g., one-quarter pixel precision or one-eighth pixel precision), a reference frame to which the motion vector points, and/or a reference list (e.g., list 0 or list 1) for the motion vector. Data for the leaf-CU defining the PU(s) may also describe, for example, partitioning of the CU into one or more PUs.) [Chong: col. 4, line 35-45]);
encoding (encoding) [Chong: col. 1, line 35] the sub-picture ((a video frame may be partitioned into coding units) [Chong: col. 3, line 22-23]; (slices of a frame) [Chong: col. 2, line 42; Fig. 5]; (slice of tile) [Chong: col. 14, line 44]; (the slice level (including an entropy slice) or at the tile level) [Chong: col. 11, line 8-9]) in the bitstream based on the current motion vector (The syntax information may also include modes indicating how each split is encoded (e.g., intra- or inter-prediction, and for intra-prediction an intra-prediction encoding mode), one or more reference frames (and/or reference lists containing identifiers for the reference frames) for each inter-encoded PU, and other information to decode the encoded video sequence. The summer 80 combines the residual blocks with the corresponding prediction blocks generated by the motion compensation unit 72 or the intra-prediction module 74 to form decoded blocks) [Chong: col. 21, line 4-15]; andgenerating the bitstream (lossless entropy coding, the encoder generates a bitstream that includes the encoded video data) [Chong: col. 5, line 62-63; Figs. 1, 11].
Chong does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
a sequence parameter set (SPS),
wherein the flag is included in the SPS to apply to a coded video sequence (CVS);subpic_treated_as_pic_flag[i] is set equal to one to specify that an i-th sub-picture of each coded picture in the CVS;
However, in the same field of endeavor ITU-T further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations as follows:
a flag in a sequence parameter set (SPS) (sequence parameter set (SPS): A syntax structure containing syntax elements that apply to zero or more entire CVSs as determined by the content of a syntax element found in the PPS referred to by a syntax element found in each slice segment header) [ITU-T: page 11] in a bitstream to indicate whether filtering operations are performed across the sub-picture boundary (( loop_filter_across_tiles_enabled_flag equal to 1 specifies that in-loop filtering operations may be performed across tile boundaries in pictures) [ITU-T: page 84]; ( loop_filter_across_tiles_enabled_flag equal to 0 specifies that in-loop filtering operations are not performed across tile boundaries in pictures) [ITU-T: page 84]), wherein the flag is included in the SPS to apply to a coded video sequence (CVS) (( sequence parameter set (SPS): A syntax structure containing syntax elements that apply to zero or more entire CVSs as determined by the content of a syntax element found in the PPS referred to by a syntax element found in each slice segment header) [ITU-T: page 11]; (A sequence of bits, in the form of a NAL unit stream or a byte stream, that forms the representation of coded pictures and associated data forming one or more coded video sequences) [ITU-T: page 5]; (specified in the sequence parameter set (SPS) that is referred to by the corresponding coded picture) [ITU-T: page 6]);
wherein the SPS further comprises (sequence parameter set (SPS): A syntax structure containing syntax elements that apply to zero or more entire CVSs as determined by the content of a syntax element found in the PPS referred to by a syntax element found in each slice segment header) [ITU-T: page 11] a subpic_treated_as_pic _flag[i], wherein i is an index of the sub-picture ((il_exact_sample_value_match_flag[i]: … the boundaries of the i-th identified tile set are treated as picture boundaries) [ITU-T: page 528] – Note: A tile is a sub-picture), and wherein the subpic_treated_as-pic_flag[i] is set equal to one to specify that an i-th sub-picture of each coded picture in the CVS is treated as a picture in a decoding process ((values of i for all pictures in the CVS) [ITU-T: page 354]; (the boundaries of the i-th identified tile set are treated as picture boundaries for purposes of the decoding process) [ITU-T: page 528]);
excluding a collocated motion vector when the collocated motion vector points outside of the sub-picture ((The temporal motion-constrained tile sets SEI message indicates that the inter prediction process is constrained such that no sample value outside each identified tile set, and no sample value at a fractional sample position that is derived using one or more sample values outside the identified tile set, is used for inter prediction of any sample within the identified tile set.) [ITU-T: D.3.30 on page 350]; (motion_vectors_over_pic_boundaries_flag equal to 0 indicates that no sample outside the picture boundaries and no sample at a fractional sample position for which the sample value is derived using one or more samples outside the picture boundaries is used for inter prediction of any sample) [ITU-T: page 386]; (For any picture that follows the picture lastPicInSet in output order, the syntax elements in the slice segments of the picture shall be constrained such that no samples or motion vector values outside of the union of gdrRefreshedSliceSegmentSet and upSwitchingRefreshedSliceSegmentSet are used for inter prediction or inter-layer prediction in the decoding process of the picture) [ITU-T: page 495]; (The presence of the inter-layer constrained tile sets SEI message indicates that the inter-layer prediction process is constrained such that no sample value outside each associated reference tile set, and no sample value at a fractional sample position that is derived using one or more sample values outside each associated reference tile set, is used for inter-layer prediction of any sample within the identified tile set) [ITU-T: page 497]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chong with ITU-T to implement the method specified in the ITU-T H.265 video standard.
Therefore, the combination of Chong with ITU-T will enable the system to comply with the ITU-T H.265 international video coding standard to allows motion video to be manipulated as a form of computer data and to be stored on various storage media, transmitted and received over existing and future networks and distributed on existing and future broadcasting channels [ITU-T: Page i - Summary].
In the same field of endeavor Coban further discloses the claim limitations a as follows:
the SPS (sequence parameter set (SPS)) [Coban: para. 0209] further comprises a subpic_treated_as_pic _flag[i] (In HEVC we define a new concept called “sub-pictures” that partition the picture into predefined rectangular regions. Each sub-picture would be processed as an independent picture except that all sub-pictures constituting a picture share the same global information such as SPS, PPS and reference picture sets. Figure 1 shows the partitioning of picture into sub-pictures. This feature can be useful for applications multiple independent decoders operate on a picture, such as multiple displays with their individual decoders decoding and composing a larger picture with synchronization) [Coban: page 1].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chong and ITU-T with Coban to implement Coban’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Chong and ITU-T with Coban will enable the system to support High Efficient Video Coding (HEVC) standard.
Reference Notice
Additional prior arts, included in the Notice of Reference Cited, made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact Information
/Philip P. Dang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488