DETAILED ACTION
The present Office Action is in response to amended claims filed on 10/13/2025. Claims 1-15 have been amended. Claims 16-20 have been added. Claim 1-20 are pending in the application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copies have been filed in parent Applications No. CN202310295199.4 filed on 03/22/2023 and CN202310700909.7 filed on 06/13/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 9, 11-13, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sity et al. (US2022/0164297), hereinafter Sity.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, taking claim 1 as exemplary, Sity teaches a storage, comprising:
wherein the storage comprises a first wafer configured to store data and comprising a first plurality of regions (Sity, [0638], memory chips that may contain one or more dies can selectively be cut from the wafer; [0639], a wafer 3501 containing dies 3503; [0640]), wherein each of the first plurality of regions comprises a second plurality of dice (Sity, [0640], Die 3503 or a group of dies may be used for fabrication of a memory chip), and wherein each of the second plurality of dice comprises a third plurality of banks (Sity, [0640], memory banks 3511A-3511D designed to store data; [0652], each die to be included in memory chip 3506 may include various memory units such as memory banks 3511A-3511D);
a second wafer stacked with the first wafer (Sity, [1550], base die 11019; Fig.93A); and
a medium controller disposed on the second wafer (Sity, [1550], a second memory controller 11022 of the base die 11019) connected to each of the third plurality of banks (Sity, [0404], a memory chip may include a plurality of memory banks, each memory bank having a bank controller; [0418]; [0646], at least one controller associated with the group of dies may be configured to control the operation of the group of dies as a single memory chip; Fig. 36A; Fig.87F), and configured to:
receive a data access instruction (Sity, [0556]; [0557], the request may be received via a data bus specifying a read command in line 2218 and address in line 2220; [0643]; [0646], The controller may include one or more circuits that manage the flow of data going to and from the memory chip … In an example embodiment, the controller may be configured to facilitate read and write requests or other commands associated with the distributed processors of the memory chip, and may be configured to control any other suitable aspects of the memory chip); and
access, based on the data access instruction, one of the third plurality of banks (Sity, [0408], such as a sub-bank row decoder and a sub-bank column decoder for allowing reads and writes, either by a processing element or processor subunit or by a higher-level memory controller issuing commands, to locations on the memory sub-bank(s); [0413], [0418]; [0501]; [0513]; [0651], [1065], [1079]; Fig.93I).
Regarding claim 11, the claim has similar limitations as claim 1 and is rejected for the similar reasons. Furthermore, Sity teaches one or more processors configured to send a data access instruction (Sity, [1079], the host may send a zero value indicator to the memory chip rather than a zero data value. In this way, the memory chip (e.g., a controller disposed on the memory chip) may store or refresh a zero value in memory; Fig. 89A).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, taking claim 2 as exemplary, Sity teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Sity further teaches the storage of claim 1, wherein the medium controller comprises a fourth plurality of sub-controllers, and wherein each of the fourth plurality of sub- controllers corresponds to one of the first plurality of regions (Sity, [0654], in addition to forming dies 3503 on wafer 3501, wafer 3501 may also contain logical circuits 3711 referred to as glue logic 3711 … the presence of glue logic 3711 may allow multiple dies to be configured to function together as a single memory chip; [0656], glue logic 3711 may be a controller for controlling multiple memory units of a multi-die memory chip; Fig.37), is connected to each of the third plurality of banks in the one of the first plurality of regions (Sity, [0404]; [0418]; [0646], at least one controller associated with the group of dies may be configured to control the operation of the group of dies as a single memory chip), and is configured to: receive the data access instruction (Sity, [0556]; [0557], the request may be received via a data bus specifying a read command in line 2218 and address in line 2220; [0643]; [0646], The controller may include one or more circuits that manage the flow of data going to and from the memory chip … In an example embodiment, the controller may be configured to facilitate read and write requests or other commands associated with the distributed processors of the memory chip, and may be configured to control any other suitable aspects of the memory chip ): and access, based on the data access instruction, one of the third plurality of banks in the one of the first plurality of regions (Sity, [0413], [0418]; [0501]; [0513]; [0651], [1065], [1079]).
Claim 13 has similar limitations as claim 2 and is rejected for the similar reasons.
Regarding claims 9 and 17, taking claim 9 as exemplary, Sity teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Sity further teaches the storage of claim 1, wherein the storage further comprises a test circuit configured to: perform, on the first wafer, a function test comprising a part or all of: a read/write test, a delay test, a life test, or a temperature test (Sity, [0868]; [0869], The tester 5200 may write test sequences and then read back the data to compare it to expected results; [0870]); and
record, in the first wafer, one of the third plurality of banks that fails the function test and one of the second plurality of dice comprising the one of the third plurality of banks (Sity, [0431]; [0669], memory units of dies 3503 may be tested to identify dies with faulty memory units (such dies are referred to as faulty of failed dies); [0929], the information indicative of the test results may indicate a status of at least one memory bank; [0932], In the second step, the tester writes (5223) to the tested memory the expected results and the logic units compare the expected results to data read from their memory banks, saving a list of errors; [0933], In the third step, the tester reads (5224) from the logic units the faulty addresses; [0944]).
Claim 17 has similar limitations as claim 9 and is rejected for the similar reasons.
Regarding 12, Sity teaches all the features with respect to claim 11 as outlined above. Sity further teaches the computing device of claim 11, wherein the medium controller comprises a fourth plurality of sub-controllers, and wherein the one or more processors are connected to one or more of the fourth plurality of sub-controllers (Sity, [0504]; [1015];; Fig. 22; Fig. 72A).
Regarding claim 20, Sity teaches all the features with respect to claim 11 as outlined above. Sity further teaches the computing device of claim 11, wherein the storage further comprises a test circuit configured to: perform, on the first wafer, a function test comprising a temperature test; and record, in the first wafer, one of the third plurality of banks that fails the function test and one of the second plurality of dice comprising the one of the third plurality of banks (Sity, [0885], testing each bit of the memory and verifying that the tested bits are functional. Moreover, sometimes the memory testing may be repeated under different voltage and temperature conditions; [0929], the information indicative of the test results may indicate a status of at least one memory bank).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sity as applied to claims 2 and 12 respectively above, and in view of Kandula et al. (US2024/0264231), hereinafter Kandula.
Regarding claims 3 and 16, taking claim 3 as exemplary, Sity teaches all the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above. Sity does not explicitly teach the storage of claim 2, wherein the sub- controllers are configured to communicate with each other by using a network-on-chip (NoC), as claimed.
However, Sity in view of Kandula teaches the storage of claim 2, wherein the sub- controllers are configured to communicate with each other by using a network-on-chip (NoC) (Kandula, [0015], a system interconnect 102 through which agents resident on one or more input/output (I/O) die(s) 104 or one or more compute dies(s) 106 communicate to a memory 108 through one or more memory controller(s) 124 that may be included on the one or more compute die(s) 106 (e.g., as integrated memory controller) or located on one or more separate dies. System interconnect 102 can be configured as a network on a chip (NoC) fabric).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sity to incorporate teachings of Kandula to have controller of a group of dies communicate via NoC. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Sity with Kandula because it improves scalability and power efficiency of the storage system disclosed in Sity by sharing wires and links of NoC.
Claim 16 has similar limitations as claim 3 and is rejected for the similar reasons.
Claim(s) 4-5 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sity as applied to claim 2 above, and in view of Yudanov (US2019/0065100), hereinafter Yudanov.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, taking claim 4 as exemplary, Sity teaches all the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above. Sity further teaches the method storage of claim 2, wherein the sub-controllers are connected to each other (Sity, [0285], Processor subunits may additionally or alternatively form part of controllers for corresponding dedicated memory banks; [0311]; Fig. 7A-7C;), and wherein each of the fourth plurality of sub- controllers is further configured to transmit, to another one of the fourth plurality of sub-controllers, the data access instruction when the sub-controller cannot process the data access instruction.
However, Sity does not explicitly teach wherein each of the fourth plurality of sub- controllers is further configured to transmit, to another one of the fourth plurality of sub-controllers, the data access instruction when the sub-controller cannot process the data access instruction, as claimed.
However, Sity in view of Yudanov teaches the method storage of claim 2 claim 1, wherein the sub-controllers are connected to each other (Yudanov, [0029]; Fig.4A; 4B), and wherein each of the fourth plurality of sub- controllers is further configured to transmit, to another one of the fourth plurality of sub-controllers, the data access instruction when the sub-controller cannot process the data access instruction (Yudanov, [0018], The first memory controller receives a memory operation request and forwards the memory operation request to the second memory controller; [0037], a read command is received at a first controller … If the data address falls within the memory segment associated with the first controller (e.g., M0), then the data is returned by memory M0 and not returned by the second controller C1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sity to incorporate teachings of Yudanov to forward a memory operation request to a second memory controller from a first memory controller if the first memory controller is unable to process the memory operation. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Sity with Yudanov because it improves efficiency and performance of the storage system disclosed in Sity by allowing an unprocessed memory access request to be forwarded from a first memory controller to a second memory controller that is able to process the memory access, instead of resending the memory access request from a host.
Claim 14 has similar limitations as claim 4 and is rejected for the similar reasons.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, taking claim 5 as exemplary, Sity teaches all the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above. Sity further teaches the storage of claim 2, wherein each of the fourth plurality of sub- controllers is connected to an adjacent one of the fourth plurality of sub-controllers (Sity, [0285], Processor subunits may additionally or alternatively form part of controllers for corresponding dedicated memory banks; [0311]; Fig. 7A-7C;) and is further configured to transmit, to the adjacent one of the fourth plurality of sub-controllers, the data access instruction when the sub-controller cannot process the data access instruction.
Sity does not explicitly teach transmit, to the adjacent one of the fourth plurality of sub-controllers, the data access instruction when the sub-controller cannot process the data access instruction, as claimed.
However, Sity in view of Yudanov teaches the storage of claim 2, wherein each of the fourth plurality of sub- controllers is connected to an adjacent one of the fourth plurality of sub-controllers and is further configured to transmit, to the adjacent one of the fourth plurality of sub-controllers, the data access instruction when the sub-controller cannot process the data access instruction (Yudanov, [0018], The first memory controller receives a memory operation request and forwards the memory operation request to the second memory controller; Yudanov, [0029], beginning with the first controller C0, each controller is in communication with two additional controllers over its associated controller bus; Fig.4A; 4B; [0037], a read command is received at a first controller … If the data address falls within the memory segment associated with the first controller (e.g., M0), then the data is returned by memory M0 and not returned by the second controller C1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sity to incorporate teachings of Yudanov to forward a memory operation request to a second memory controller from a first memory controller if the first memory controller is unable to process the memory operation. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Sity with Yudanov because it improves efficiency and performance of the storage system disclosed in Sity by allowing an unprocessed memory access request to be forwarded from a first memory controller to a second memory controller that is able to process the memory access, instead of resending the memory access request from a host.
Claim 15 has similar limitations as claim 5 and is rejected for the similar reasons.
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sity as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Khan et al. (US10,185,671), hereinafter Khan.
Regarding claim 6, Sity teaches all the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above. Sity further teaches the storage of claim 2, wherein the sub-controllers are connected in series to form a ring (Sity, [0285], Processor subunits may additionally or alternatively form part of controllers for corresponding dedicated memory banks; [0311]; Fig. 7A-7C;), and wherein each of the fourth plurality of sub-controllers is further configured to broadcast, by using the ring, the data access instruction when the sub-controller cannot process the data access instruction.
Sity does not teach wherein each of the fourth plurality of sub-controllers is further configured to broadcast, by using the ring, the data access instruction when the sub-controller cannot process the data access instruction, as claimed
However, Sity in view Khan teaches wherein each of the fourth plurality of sub-controllers is further configured to broadcast, by using the ring, the data access instruction when the sub-controller cannot process the data access instruction (Khan, col.4, line, 58 – col.5, line 4, The ring bus 120 connects the logic modules 133 and the ring bus controller 130; col.5, lines 5-22, Each logic module 133 is configured to: (1) receive the broadcast request (whether a broadcast read request or a broadcast write request); (2) look at the broadcast address to see whether the logic module was targeted; and (3) pass the broadcast request downstream to the next logic module.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sity to broadcast I/O commands to memory controllers that are connected to a ring bus, which allows a first memory controller to forward I/O commands to a second memory controller if the first memory controller is not the target of the I/O commands. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Sity with Khan because it improves efficiency and performance by allowing an unprocessed memory access request to be forwarded from a first memory controller to a second memory controller without having a host device to resend the memory access request.
Regarding claim 7, Sity teaches all the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above. Sity further teaches the storage of claim 2, wherein the medium controller further comprises an input/output (I/O) circuit (Sity, [0890], I/O controller 5214), wherein the I/O circuit and the fourth plurality of sub-controllers are connected in series to form a ring (Sity, [0285], Processor subunits may additionally or alternatively form part of controllers for corresponding dedicated memory banks; [0311]; Fig. 7A-7C; [0958], This may allow logic 5215 to be controlled by commands received by the I/O controller 5214), wherein the I/O circuit is configured to: connect, through a system bus, to an apparatus outside of the storage (Sity, [0958], commands received by the I/O controller 5214; Fig. 69); receive the data access instruction and broadcast, by using the ring, the data access instruction, and wherein the sub-controller is further configured to listen to the ring to obtain the data access instruction.
Sity does not explicitly teach receive the data access instruction and broadcast, by using the ring, the data access instruction, and wherein the sub-controller is further configured to listen to the ring to obtain the data access instruction, as claimed.
However, Sity in view of Khan teaches wherein the I/O circuit (Khan, Fig.1 controller 130) and the fourth plurality of sub-controllers (Khan, Fig.1, 133) are connected in series to form a ring, wherein the I/O circuit is configured to: connect, through a system bus, to an apparatus outside of the storage; receive the data access instruction and broadcast, by using the ring, the data access instruction, and wherein the sub-controller is further configured to listen to the ring to obtain the data access instruction (Khan, col.4, line, 58 – col.5, line 4, The ring bus 120 connects the logic modules 133 and the ring bus controller 130; col.5, lines 5-22, Each logic module 133 is configured to: (1) receive the broadcast request (whether a broadcast read request or a broadcast write request); (2) look at the broadcast address to see whether the logic module was targeted; and (3) pass the broadcast request downstream to the next logic module).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sity to broadcast I/O commands to memory controllers that are connected to a ring bus, which allows a first memory controller to forward I/O commands to a second memory controller if the first memory controller is not the target of the I/O commands. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Sity with Khan because it improves efficiency and performance of the storage system disclosed in Sity by allowing an unprocessed memory access request to be forwarded from a first memory controller to a second memory controller without having a host device to resend the memory access request.
Regarding claim 8, Sity teaches all the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above. Sity does not explicitly teach the storage of claim 2, wherein each of the fourth plurality of sub-controllers is further configured to store data address information of the one of the first plurality of regions corresponding to the sub-controller, wherein the data address information records a first data address of the one of the first plurality of regions, and wherein a second data address carried in the data access instruction that cannot be processed by the sub-controller is not the first data address, as claimed.
However, Sity in view of Khan teaches the storage of claim 2, wherein each of the fourth plurality of sub-controllers is further configured to store data address information of the one of the first plurality of regions corresponding to the sub-controller, wherein the data address information records a first data address of the one of the first plurality of regions, and wherein a second data address carried in the data access instruction that cannot be processed by the sub-controller is not the first data address (Khan, col.5, lines 5-22, Each logic module 133 is configured to: (1) receive the broadcast request (whether a broadcast read request or a broadcast write request); (2) look at the broadcast address to see whether the logic module was targeted; and (3) pass the broadcast request downstream to the next logic module; col.5, lines 23-30, each logic module 133 is configured with a broadcast address range. Each logic module 133 may determine whether the broadcast address included in the broadcast request is within the broadcast address range of the receiving logic module 133; Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sity to store address range in each memory controller. When I/O commands are broadcasted to memory controllers, it allows a first memory controller to forward I/O commands to a second memory controller if the address range of the first memory controller does not match the address of the I/O commands. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Sity with Khan because it improves efficiency and performance by allowing an unprocessed memory access request to be forwarded from a first memory controller to a second memory controller without having a host device to resend the memory access request.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sity as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bhawmik (US2013/0197851), hereinafter Bhawmik.
Regarding claim 10, Sity teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. Sity further teaches the method storage of claim 1, wherein the medium controller is further configured to: perform, on the first wafer, a function test comprising a part or all of: a read/write test, a delay test, a life test, or a temperature test (Sity, [0868]; [0869], The tester 5200 may write test sequences and then read back the data to compare it to expected results; [0870]; [0878], Instead of using testing units, the memory controllers may be configured to receive instructions to access memory entries included in configuration information and execute the access instructions and output results; [0943]); and
record, in the first wafer, one of the third plurality of banks that fails the function test and one of the second plurality of dice comprising the one of the third plurality of banks (Sity, [0431]; [0669], memory units of dies 3503 may be tested to identify dies with faulty memory units (such dies are referred to as faulty of failed dies); [0929], the information indicative of the test results may indicate a status of at least one memory bank; [0932], In the second step, the tester writes (5223) to the tested memory the expected results and the logic units compare the expected results to data read from their memory banks, saving a list of errors; [0933], In the third step, the tester reads (5224) from the logic units the faulty addresses; [0944]).
Sity does not explicitly teach the medium controller is further configured to perform a test, as claimed.
However, Sity in view of Bhawmik teaches the medium controller is further configured to perform a test (Bhawmik, [0026], The base die includes a master test controller).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sity to incorporate teachings of Bhawmik to integrate the master test controller functionality into the media controller in a base die. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Sity with Bhawmik because it improves efficiency of the storage system disclosed in Sity by have the media controller as a master controller to control functions of a storage substrate.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sity as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Oh et al. (US2018/0067847), hereinafter Oh.
Regarding claim 18, Sity teaches all the features with respect to claim 11 as outlined above. Sity does not explicitly teach the computing device of claim 11, wherein the storage further comprises a test circuit configured to: perform, on the first wafer, a function test comprising a delay test; and record, in the first wafer, one of the third plurality of banks that fails the function test and one of the second plurality of dice comprising the one of the third plurality of banks, as claimed.
However, Sity in view of Oh teaches the computing device of claim 11, wherein the storage further comprises a test circuit configured to: perform, on the first wafer, a function test comprising a delay test; and record, in the first wafer, one of the third plurality of banks that fails the function test and one of the second plurality of dice comprising the one of the third plurality of banks (Oh, [0112], For example, in the case where a memory cell is a DRAM cell, tRCD (RAS to CAS Delay), tRP (Row Precharge Delay), tWR (Write Recover Delay), tREF (Refresh Period), or the like may be tested; Sity, [0431]; [0669]; [0932]; [0933]; [0944]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sity to incorporate teachings of Oh to perform delay test on memory cells. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Sity with Oh because it improves reliability of the storage disclosed in Sity by catching timing defects early.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sity as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Tatsumi et al. (US2004/0085796), hereinafter Tatsumi.
Regarding claim 19, Sity teaches all the features with respect to claim 11 as outlined above. Sity does not explicitly teach the computing device of claim 11, wherein the storage further comprises a test circuit configured to: perform, on the first wafer, a function test comprising a life test; and record, in the first wafer, one of the third plurality of banks that fails the function test and one of the second plurality of dice comprising the one of the third plurality of banks, as claimed.
However, Sity in view of Tatsumi teaches the computing device of claim 11, wherein the storage further comprises a test circuit configured to: perform, on the first wafer, a function test comprising a life test; and record, in the first wafer, one of the third plurality of banks that fails the function test and one of the second plurality of dice comprising the one of the third plurality of banks (Tatsumi, [0060]; [0071], the internal voltage of the DRAM as the memory circuit is forced to thereby conduct the accelerated life test; Sity, [0431]; [0669]; [0932]; [0933]; [0944]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sity to incorporate teachings of Tatsumi to perform accelerated life test on memory cells. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Sity with Oh because it improves reliability of the storage system disclosed in Sity by enabling timing defects to be caught early.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Vogelsang et al. (US 2022/0137843) teaches a stacked memory with a first plurality of memory banks in a first wafer and a second plurality of controllers in a second wafer.
/NANCI N WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2137