DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/19/2025 was filed and is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 13, 14, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grein (US 2020/0190897 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Grein discloses a security profile strip for a door or a window of a transportation system, a train or bus platform, or for a gate or a barrier, the security profile strip comprising:
a base body (10), the base body has at least one connecting portion (17);
at least one light-emitting device (13);
an at least partially translucent cover (12) which is separate from the base body, the cover includes at least one mating connecting portion,
wherein the connecting portion and the mating connecting portion are connected to one another,
wherein at least one surface of the base body and the cover define a first hollow chamber in which the light-emitting device of the security profile strip is accommodated. (Figure 3a; see at least [0069] onward)
In regard to claim 2, Grein discloses the connection between the connecting portion and the mating connecting portion is materially-bonded and/or form-fitting.
In regard to claim 3, Grein discloses at least one edge-side recess is formed in the base body, in which the at least one light-emitting device is arranged, wherein the connecting portion is provided on both sides and in each case adjacent to the recess, as viewed in a longitudinal direction.
In regard to claim 4, Grein discloses a plurality of edge-side recesses are formed in the base body, which are arranged in particular parallel to and spaced apart from one another in a longitudinal direction of the base body.
In regard to claim 5, Grein discloses the cover and/or the base body is made of an elastic material.
In regard to claim 6, Grein discloses the base body and/or the cover is/are partially made of an opaque material.
In regard to claim 7, Grein discloses the first hollow chamber is bounded in a cross-sectional view transverse to a longitudinal direction around its perimeter by a plurality of translucent and/or opaque portions.
In regard to claim 8, Grein discloses the security profile strip accommodates a pressure detection apparatus and/or an electrical contactor (14) in a second hollow chamber and/or with in the first hollow chamber.
In regard to claim 13 and 14, Grein discloses the first and second hollow chamber has an elongated shape
In regard to claim 16, Grein discloses the light-emitting device comprises at least one of a light-emitting diode
In regard to claim 17, Grein discloses a window or door element with a security profile strip according to claim 1 wherein the security profile strip is arranged at a main closing edge and/or at least at one of a secondary closing edges of the door element or the window.
In regard to claim 18, Grein discloses a rail or road vehicle, or train or bus platform, with the window or the door element according to claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-12, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grein (US 2020/0190897 A1).
In regard to claim 9, Grein fails to disclose the security profile strip accommodates an ultrasonic transmitter and/or an ultrasonic detector in a third hollow chamber and/or also in the first and/or a second hollow chamber.
However, a contact connector for controlling the light source is disclosed, and an ultrasonic detector would simply be an improved switch for controlling the light source, thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use an ultrasonic detector in order to use an improved switch for controlling the light.
In regard to claim 10-12, Grein fails to disclose the hollow chambers have a round cross section, an oval cross section, a rectangular cross section, a triangular cross section, a pentagonal cross section, or a hexagonal cross section. However, this is merely a change in shape. Changes in shape without a critical function are obvious variants per the MPEP. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form any shape in order to optimize the light distribution and collapsing function of the member.
In regard to claim 15, Grein discloses that the third hollow chamber has an elongated shape.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Fletcher (US 2025/0347395 A1) disclose a lighting assembly.
Klinkenberg et al (US 2024/0225279 A1) disclose a front panel.
Hundt et al (US 2019/0001869 A1) disclose an illuminated trim.
Trier (US 2016/0236613 A1) disclose a covering device.
Whitehead (US 2002/0152686 A1) disclose a weatherseal.
/CHRISTOPHER E DUNAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875