DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 is indefinite because it is not clear if the claim depends on claim 16 or if it is a multiple dependency claim depending on any one of claims 1-13. The dependency is not clear.
Claim 24 is indefinite because it fails to further limit claim 16 from which it depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, 15-17, 20-21, and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hetzberg et al. (US 2019/0165244).
In reference to claim 1, Hertzberg discloses a method of adjusting the frequency of a qubit comprising a Josephson junction (see [0001]), the method comprising:
directing an electron beam (see [0049] where Hertzberg discloses uses electron-beam lithography for heating the Josephson junction) to heat the Josephson junction (402); and
cooling the Josephson junction following the heating of the Josephson junction by the electron beam, (see [0051] which discloses the process of annealing of the Josephson junction. Annealing inherently includes the steps of first heating followed by cooling of a material.)
wherein the heating and cooling of the Josephson junction serves to alter a resistance of the Josephson junction, and wherein the alteration of the resistance of the Josephson junction changes the frequency of the qubit ([0051] further discloses annealing of the Josephson junction which results in a change in the resistance.)
In reference to claim 2 Hertzberg discloses in Figure 3A, 3B, [0049] and [0051], wherein directing the electron beam (thermal source 502) to heat the Josephson junction comprises directing the electron beam to be incident on the Josephson junction (402).
In reference to claim 3 Hertzberg discloses in [0049] wherein directing the electron beam to heat the Josephson junction (402) comprises directing the electron to beam incident on a component (bilayer of resist) which is thermally coupled to the Josephson junction (402), thereby causing heating of the component and heating of the Josephson junction through heat conduction from the heated component.
In reference to claim 4 Hertzberg discloses in [0049] wherein the component comprises a portion of a substrate (400) supporting the Josephson junction.
In reference to claim 5 Hertzberg discloses in [0048] wherein the qubit comprises the Josephson junction (402) connected between two superconducting electrodes (through a trilayer (superconductor – insulator- superconductor) stack.
In reference to claim 9 Hertzberg discloses in [0051] wherein the directing an electron beam to heat the Josephson junction comprises directing the electron beam to heat the Josephson junction (402) for a single continuous exposure time period (10 seconds).
In reference to claim 15 Hertzberg discloses wherein the directing an electron beam to heat the Josephson junction (402) comprises using an electron beam lithography apparatus (see [0049] where Hertzberg discloses uses electron-beam lithography for heating the Josephson junction) to direct the electron beam to heat the Josephson junction (402).
In reference to claim 16 Hertzberg discloses in Figure 10 a method of adjusting qubit frequencies of a quantum information processor comprising a plurality of qubits (Multi-Qubit Chip), wherein each qubit comprises a Josephson junction (402), the method comprising:
determining a frequency of each of the plurality of qubits (S1020);
identifying, based on the determined frequencies of the plurality of qubits, at least one of the qubits for frequency adjustment (S1025); and
adjusting a frequency of the at least one qubit identified for frequency adjustment (S1030, S1040, S1050, S1060). The same applies to claims 23 and 24.
In reference to claim 17 Hertzberg discloses in Figure 8 wherein determining a frequency of each of the plurality of qubits comprises measuring a resistance of a Josephson junctions included in each of the plurality of qubits (S825).
In reference to claim 20 Hertzberg discloses in the ABSTRACT and [0054] wherein adjusting the frequency of the at least one qubit identified for frequency adjustment comprises increasing the resistance of a Josephson junction of at least a first of the at least one qubit identified for frequency adjustment so as to decrease the frequency of the at least a first of the at least one qubit identified for frequency adjustment (see [0054] where Hertzberg discloses decreasing or increasing the resistance of the Josephson junction (402), which may increase or decrease the frequency of a qubit associated with the Josephson junction (402)).
In reference to claim 21 Hertzberg discloses in the ABSTRACT and [0054] wherein adjusting the frequency of the at least one qubit identified for frequency adjustment comprises decreasing the resistance of a Josephson junction of at least a second of the at least one qubit identified for frequency adjustment so as to increase the frequency of the at least a second of the at least one qubit identified for frequency adjustment (see [0054] where Hertzberg discloses decreasing or increasing the resistance of the Josephson junction (402), which may increase or decrease the frequency of a qubit associated with the Josephson junction (402)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hertzberg et al. (US 2019/0165244) in view of Orcutt (US 12,201,036).
In reference to claim 10 Hertzberg discloses all the limitations of the claim as mentioned above with respect to claim 1. Hertzberg does not disclose directing a plurality of pulses of an electron beam. Orcutt discloses in Figure 1 a method of laser annealing of qubits using a beam splitter splitting an optical beam into a plurality of optical beams (110). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that a method of using a plurality of pulses in the annealing process (as disclosed by Orcutt) could have been implemented into the annealing process of Hertzberg for the benefit of producing a uniform junction temperature even in the presence of laser misalignment as disclosed by Orcutt (see column 3, lines 37-43).
In reference to claim 11 Hertzberg in view of Orcutt discloses all the limitations of the claim as mentioned above with respect to claims 1 and 10. Orcutt further discloses wherein at least some of the plurality of pulses of an electron beam are directed to be incident at a plurality of different positions. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that a method of using a plurality of pulses in the annealing process (as disclosed by Orcutt) could have been implemented into the annealing process of Hertzberg for the benefit of producing a uniform junction temperature even in the presence of laser misalignment as disclosed by Orcutt (see column 3, lines 37-43).
In reference to claim 12 Hertzberg in view of Orcutt discloses all the limitations of the claim as mentioned above with respect to claims 1 and 10-11. Orcutt further discloses wherein the plurality of different positions (110) are arranged to form an exposure pattern which encloses the Josephson junction (104). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that a method of using a plurality of pulses in the annealing process (as disclosed by Orcutt) could have been implemented into the annealing process of Hertzberg for the benefit of producing a uniform junction temperature even in the presence of laser misalignment as disclosed by Orcutt (see column 3, lines 37-43).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8, 13-14, and 18-19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CASSANDRA F COX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836