DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on September 19, 2025. Claims 1-9 are pending and are examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1, 5, and 9 recite “wherein N is the second value, and wherein the residual coefficient is determined to be 2N or 2N+1 depending on the parity flag in either the case the adjusted remnant coefficient is less than the second value or equal to the second value”. This phrase is interpreted as described in Applicant’s Specification ¶¶629-631. This is the only portion of the specification that describes determining the residual coefficient to be 2N or 2N+1 depending on the parity flag. Accordingly, Examiner determines that, according to Applicant’s own examples, this language is met where “when rem_abs_gt1_flag is 0, the absolute value of the residual coefficient may be set to 2 or 3 depending on the value of par_level flag” and “when rem_abs_gt2_flag is 0, the absolute value of the residual coefficient may be set to 4 or 5 depending on the value of par_level flag”.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,290,737 (the ‘737 patent). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that claims 1-4 of the ‘737 patent and claims 1-9 and 13-15 of the instant invention cover substantially the same subject matter.
The table below shows claim 1, a sample of how each of these claims is rendered unpatentable by claims such as claim 1 of the ‘737 patent:
Instant Application
The ‘737 Patent
1. (Original) A video decoding method comprising the steps of:
1. A video decoding method comprising the steps of:
1. Limitation 1: parsing absolute value information for determining an absolute value of a residual coefficient from a bitstream when a non-zero flag indicates that the residual coefficient is non-zero; and
1. Limitation 2: parsing absolute value information for determining an absolute value of the residual coefficient from the bitstream when the non-zero flag indicates that the residual coefficient is non-zero; and
1. Limitation 2: determining the absolute value of the residual coefficient based on the absolute value information and the non-zero flag,
1. Limitation 3: determining the absolute value of the residual coefficient based on the absolute value information,
1. Limitation 2: parsing absolute value information … when the non-zero flag indicates that the residual coefficient is non-zero…
1. Limitation 3: wherein
the absolute value information comprises a residual coefficient comparison flag indicating whether the residual coefficient is greater than a first value,
1. Limitation 4: wherein
the absolute value information comprises a residual coefficient comparison flag indicating whether the residual coefficient is greater than a first value,
1. Limitation 4: a parity flag is further parsed from the bitstream only when the residual coefficient is greater than the first value, and
1. Limitation 5: a parity flag is further parsed from the bitstream only when the residual coefficient is greater than the first value; and the parity flag indicates whether the value of the residual coefficient is an even number or an odd number,
1. Limitation 5: a first adjusted remnant coefficient comparison flag indicating whether an adjusted remnant coefficient derived by bit-shifting the residual coefficient to the right by 1 is greater than a second value is further parsed when the residual coefficient is greater than the first value,
1. Limitation 6: a first adjusted remnant coefficient comparison flag indicating whether an adjusted remnant coefficient derived by bit-shifting the residual coefficient to the right by 1 is greater than a second value is further parsed when the residual coefficient is greater than the first value,
1. Limitation 6: wherein N is the second value, and wherein the residual coefficient is determined to be 2N or 2N+1 depending on the parity flag in either the case the adjusted remnant coefficient is less than the second value or equal to the second value.
1. Limitation 9: wherein N is the second value, and wherein the residual coefficient is determined to be 2N or 2N+1 depending on the parity flag in either the case the adjusted remnant coefficient is less than the second value or equal to the second value.
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,294,732 (the ‘732 patent). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that claims 1-4 of the ‘732 patent and claims 1-9 of the instant invention cover substantially the same subject matter.
The table below shows claim 1, a sample of how each of these claims is rendered unpatentable by claims such as claim 1 of the ‘732 patent:
Instant Application
The ‘732 Patent
1. (Original) A video decoding method comprising the steps of:
1. A video decoding method comprising the steps of:
1. Limitation 1: parsing absolute value information for determining an absolute value of a residual coefficient from a bitstream when a non-zero flag indicates that the residual coefficient is non-zero; and
1. Limitation 2: parsing absolute value information for determining an absolute value of the residual coefficient from the bitstream when the non-zero flag indicates that the residual coefficient is non-zero; and
1. Limitation 2: determining the absolute value of the residual coefficient based on the absolute value information and the non-zero flag,
1. Limitation 3: determining the absolute value of the residual coefficient based on the absolute value information,
1. Limitation 2: parsing absolute value information … when the non-zero flag indicates that the residual coefficient is non-zero…
It would have been clear to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that where the absolute value of the residual coefficient is based on absolute value information and this absolute value information is only parsed/obtained when the non-zero flag indicates non-zero, then the absolute value of the residual coefficient is based on both the absolute value information and the non-zero flag.
1. Limitation 3: wherein
the absolute value information comprises a residual coefficient comparison flag indicating whether the residual coefficient is greater than a first value,
1. Limitation 4: wherein
the absolute value information comprises a residual coefficient comparison flag indicating whether the residual coefficient is greater than a first value,
1. Limitation 4: a parity flag is further parsed from the bitstream only when the residual coefficient is greater than the first value, and
1. Limitation 5: a parity flag is further parsed from the bitstream only when the residual coefficient is greater than the first value…
1. Limitation 5: a first adjusted remnant coefficient comparison flag indicating whether an adjusted remnant coefficient derived by bit-shifting the residual coefficient to the right by 1 is greater than a second value is further parsed when the residual coefficient is greater than the first value,
1. Limitation 6: a first adjusted remnant coefficient comparison flag indicating whether an adjusted remnant coefficient derived by bit-shifting the residual coefficient to the right by 1 is greater than a second value is further parsed when the residual coefficient is greater than the first value,
1. Limitation 6: wherein N is the second value, and wherein the residual coefficient is determined to be 2N or 2N+1 depending on the parity flag in either the case the adjusted remnant coefficient is less than the second value or equal to the second value.
1. Limitation 7: wherein N is the second value, and wherein the residual coefficient is determined to be 2N or 2N+1 depending on the parity flag in either the case the adjusted remnant coefficient is less than the second value or equal to the second value.
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 13 of U.S. Patent Application No. 19/087,265 (the ‘265 application). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that claims 1-6 and 13 of the ‘265 application and claims 1-9 of the instant invention cover substantially the same subject matter.
The table below shows claim 1, a sample of how each of these claims is rendered unpatentable by claims such as claim 1 of the ‘265 application:
Instant Application
The ‘265 Application
1. (Original) A video decoding method comprising the steps of:
1. A video decoding method comprising the steps of:
1. Limitation 1: parsing absolute value information for determining an absolute value of a residual coefficient from a bitstream when a non-zero flag indicates that the residual coefficient is non-zero; and
1. Limitation 1: parsing absolute value information for determining an absolute value of the residual coefficient from the bitstream when the non-zero flag indicates that the residual coefficient is non-zero; and
1. Limitation 2: determining the absolute value of the residual coefficient based on the absolute value information and the non-zero flag,
1. Limitation 2: determining the absolute value of the residual coefficient based on the absolute value information and the non-zero flag,
1. Limitation 3: wherein
the absolute value information comprises a residual coefficient comparison flag indicating whether the residual coefficient is greater than a first value,
1. Limitation 3: wherein
the absolute value information comprises a residual coefficient comparison flag indicating whether the residual coefficient is greater than a first value,
1. Limitation 4: a parity flag is further parsed from the bitstream only when the residual coefficient is greater than the first value, and
1. Limitation 4: a parity flag is further parsed from the bitstream only when the residual coefficient is greater than the first value; …
1. Limitation 5: a first adjusted remnant coefficient comparison flag indicating whether an adjusted remnant coefficient derived by bit-shifting the residual coefficient to the right by 1 is greater than a second value is further parsed when the residual coefficient is greater than the first value,
1. Limitation 5: a first adjusted remnant coefficient comparison flag indicating whether an adjusted remnant coefficient derived by bit-shifting the residual coefficient to the right by 1 is greater than a second value is further parsed when the residual coefficient is greater than the first value, and
1. Limitation 6: wherein N is the second value, and wherein the residual coefficient is determined to be 2N or 2N+1 depending on the parity flag in either the case the adjusted remnant coefficient is less than the second value or equal to the second value.
1. Limitation 7: wherein N is the second value, and wherein the residual coefficient is determined to be 2N or 2N+1 depending on the parity flag in either the case the adjusted remnant coefficient is less than the second value or equal to the second value.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0203998 (“Hsaing 2”), which corresponds to a priority application dated August 22, 2018, in view of the level of skill in the art.
With respect to claim 1, Hsaing 2 discloses the invention substantially as claimed, including
A video decoding method (see Fig. 1B), comprising the steps of:
parsing absolute value information for determining an absolute value of the residual coefficient from the bitstream when the non-zero flag indicates that the residual coefficient is non-zero (see ¶¶10-11, 12, 29, describing that the decoder parses syntax from multiple coding passes, e.g., coeff_abs_level_greater1_flag, i.e., absolute value information, and that these passes/the parsing of this syntax only occurs when sig_coeff_flag = 1, i.e., when the non-zero flag indicates that the residual coefficient is non-zero); and
determining the absolute value of the residual coefficient based on the absolute value information and the non-zero flag (see citations above and ¶28, describing that the absolute value of the residual transform coefficient is determined based on the syntax from signalling in the multiple coding passes, e.g., including those in the first pass – sig_coeff_flag, coeff_abs_level_greater1_flag, and par_level_flag, i.e., based on the absolute value information and the non-zero flag),
wherein
the absolute value information comprises a residual coefficient comparison flag indicating whether the residual coefficient is greater than a first value (see ¶¶29-30, describing that the syntax of the multiple different coding passes, i.e., the absolute value information, includes coeff_abs_level_greater1_flag, i.e., a residual coefficient comparison flag indicating whether the residual coefficient is greater than 1, i.e., a first value),
a parity flag is further parsed from the bitstream only when the residual coefficient is greater than the first value (see ¶¶28-29, describing that when coeff_abs_level_greater1_flag is 0, par_level_flag/parity bit is set equal to a particular value, i.e., it is not parsed, but when coeff_abs_level_greater1_flag = 1, the decoder parses a par_level_flag/parity bit from the bitstream, i.e., the parity flag is parsed from the bitstream only when the residual coefficient is greater than the first value); and
a first adjusted remnant coefficient comparison flag indicating whether an adjusted remnant coefficient derived by bit-shifting the residual coefficient to the right by 1 is greater than a second value is further parsed when the residual coefficient is greater than the first value (see ¶¶28-30, describing that the decoder parses a coeff_abs_level_rs1_gt1_flag and coeff_abs_level_rs1_gt2_flag, i.e., adjusted remnant coefficient comparison flags, indicating whether an adjusted remnant coefficient AbsLevelRS1 (derived by bit-shifting the residual coefficient, AbsLevel, to the right by 1) is greater than 1 and greater than 2, respectively, and that these are only parsed when coeff_abs_greater1_flag is greater than 1, i.e., when the residual coefficient is greater than the first value),
wherein N is the second value, and wherein the residual coefficient is determined to be 2N or 2N+1 depending on the parity flag in either the case the adjusted remnant coefficient is less than the second value or equal to the second value (see citations and arguments with respect to elements above, and Claim Interpretation section above; see also ¶¶30-31, which describe that signaling coeff_abs_level_greater1_flag and the parity bit indicate whether AbsLevel is greater than 1, i.e., AbsLevel = 0 or 1 is signaled by coeff_abs_level_greater1_flag = 0 and a parity bit; likewise signaling coeff_abs_level_rs1_gt1_flag, coeff_abs_level_greater1_flag, and the parity bit indicates whether AbsLevel is greater than 3, i.e., AbsLevel 2 or 3 is signaled by coeff_abs_level_rs1_gt1_flag = 0, coeff_abs_level_greater1_flag = 1, and a parity bit; and signaling coeff_abs_level_rs1_gt2_flag, coeff_abs_level_rs1_gt1_flag, coeff_abs_level_greater1_flag, and the parity bit indicate whether AbsLevel is greater than 5, i.e., AbsLevel 4 or 5 is signaled by coeff_abs_level_rs1_gt2_flag = 0, coeff_abs_level_rs1_gt1_flag = 1, coeff_abs_level_greater1_flag = 1, and a parity bit. From this one of skill would have understood that when coeff_abs_level_rs1_gt1_flag is signaled and is 0, the absolute value of the residual transform coefficient is 2 or 3 depending on the value of the parity bit and when coeff_abs_level_rs1_gt2_flag is signaled and is 0, the absolute value of the residual transform coefficient is 4 or 5 depending on the value of the parity bit, i.e., wherein N is the second value, and wherein the residual coefficient is determined to be 2N or 2N+1 depending on the parity flag in either the case the adjusted remnant coefficient is less than the second value or equal to the second value).
As detailed above, Hsiang 2 does not explicitly use a letter “N” with a second value and define as “2N or 2N+1” depending on parity. However, as detailed above, Hsiang 2 provides a description that makes it clear that one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood the method of Hsiang 2 to utilize such a function (e.g., AbsLevel 2 or 3 is signaled by coeff_abs_level_rs1_gt1_flag = 0, coeff_abs_level_greater_flag = 1 and parity, i.e., 2N or 2N+1 where N=1; and AbsLevel 4 or 5 is signaled by coeff_abs_level_rs1_gt1_flag = 1, coeff_abs_level_greater_flag = 1 and parity, i.e., 2N or 2N+1 where N=2; etc. (see cited portions of specification and element above for further explanation). Accordingly, to such a person, it would have been obvious to have described such a “2N or 2N+1” mathematical function in the coding method of Hsiang 2 based on the examples provided.
With respect to claim 2, Hsiang 2 discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above Hsiang 2 in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Hsiang 2 additionally discloses:
wherein
one or more adjusted remnant coefficient comparison flags indicating whether the adjusted remnant coefficient is greater than one or more values are further parsed when the adjusted remnant coefficient is greater than a third value (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above, describing that at least a coeff_abs_level_rs1_gt2_flag, i.e., an adjusted remnant coefficient comparison flag indicating whether the adjusted remnant coefficient is greater than one or more values, which is further parsed when coeff_abs_level_rs1_gt1_flag indicates that the adjusted remnant coefficient is greater than 1, i.e., a third value).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 2.
With respect to claim 3, Hsiang 2 discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above Hsiang 2 in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Hsiang 2 additionally discloses:
wherein
a residual value information is further parsed when the adjusted remnant coefficient is greater than the second value (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 1 above and Hsiang 2 ¶¶11-12, 23, 26, 32, Table 1, describing that when coeff_abs_level_rs1_gt2_ is greater than 1, i.e., when the adjusted remnant coefficient is greater than the second value, then remainder/remaining/residual value information, e.g., coeff_abs_level_rs1_remainder, may be parsed), and
the residual value information comprises a value obtained by subtracting the second value from the adjusted remnant coefficient (see citations with respect to element above and claim 1 above, describing that the remainder value, i.e., residual value information, is the remaining absolute value of a transform coefficient level that is coded after coding coeff_abs_level_rs1_gt2, and only if coeff_abs_level_rs1_gt2 = 1, i.e., it is only coded where the adjusted remnant coefficient is greater than 2 – thus, once coeff_abs_level_rs1_gt2 = 1 is coded indicating the adjusted remnant coefficient is greater than 2, one of ordinary skill would have understood the described “remaining” value to indicate how much greater than 2 the value is, i.e., it indicates a value obtained by subtracting the second value from the adjusted remnant coefficient).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 3.
With respect to claim 5, Hsiang 2 discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above Hsiang 2 in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1. Hsiang 2 additionally discloses:
A video encoding method (see Fig. 1A) comprising the steps of:
encoding absolute value information for determining an absolute value of a residual coefficient when the residual coefficient is non-zero (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above and Hsiang 2 ¶¶10-12, 21, describing that the encoder encodes the multiple coding pass syntax information that is used to determine the absolute value of the residual transform coefficient if sig_coeff_flag indicates it is non-zero);
wherein
the absolute value information comprises a residual coefficient comparison flag indicating whether the residual coefficient is greater than a first value (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above),
a parity flag for the residual coefficient is further encoded only when the residual coefficient is greater than the first value (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above); and
a first adjusted remnant coefficient comparison flag indicating whether an adjusted remnant coefficient derived by bit-shifting the residual coefficient to the right by 1 is greater than a second value is further encoded when the residual coefficient is greater than the first value (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above),
wherein N is the second value, and wherein the residual coefficient is determined to be 2N or 2N+1 depending on the parity flag in either the case the adjusted remnant coefficient is less than the second value or equal to the second value (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 1 above).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 5.
With respect to claim 6, Hsiang 2 discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above Hsiang 2 in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 5. Hsiang 2 additionally discloses:
wherein
one or more adjusted remnant coefficient comparison flags indicating whether the adjusted remnant coefficient is greater than one or more values are further encoded when the adjusted remnant coefficient is greater than a third value (see citations and arguments with respect to corresponding element of claim 2 above).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 6.
With respect to claim 7, Hsiang 2 discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above Hsiang 2 in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 5. Hsiang 2 additionally discloses:
wherein
a residual value information is further encoded when the adjusted remnant coefficient is greater than the second value, and the residual value information comprises a value obtained by subtracting the second value from the adjusted remnant coefficient (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 3 above).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claim 1 also apply to claim 7.
With respect to claim 9, claim 9 recites the elements of claim 5 in computer-readable storage medium form rather than apparatus form. Hsiang 2 discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program and a bitstream, wherein the computer program is executed by a processor to perform the encoding method and generate the bitstream (see Figs. 1A and 1B, items “output bitstream”, “input bitstream”, and items 122 and 140 – which store such a bitstream at least temporarily, ¶¶37, 41, describing that the coding device may be embodied in software, i.e., stored instructions, executed by a processor of a CPU – Examiner takes Official Notice that one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have understood such instructions/software to be stored in the CPU’s memory). Accordingly, the citations and arguments with respect to claim 5 also apply to claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiang 2 in view of the level of skill in the art and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0077117 (“Karczewicz”).
With respect to claim 4, Hsiang 2 discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above Hsiang 2 in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 1.
Hsiang 2 does not explicitly disclose wherein the parity flag indicates whether the value of the residual coefficient is an even number or an odd number.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Karczewicz discloses that it was known for the parity flag to indicate whether the absolute value of the residual transform coefficient is even or odd, i.e.:
wherein the parity flag indicates whether the value of the residual coefficient is an even number or an odd number (see ¶¶13, 178, describing that the parity level flag indicates if a coefficient has an absolute level that is even or odd).
At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill would have been familiar with parity flags and their use in signaling coefficient levels and have understood that, as evidenced by Karczewicz, such flags were known to be used to indicate whether the value is an even number or an odd number. Accordingly, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, using parity in this way in the system of Hsiang 2 would have represented nothing more than the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way and/or the combination of prior art elements according to predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include a parity flag indicating an even or an odd number in the coding system of Hsiang 2 as taught by Karczewicz.
With respect to claim 8, Hsiang 2 discloses the invention substantially as claimed. As described above Hsiang 2 in view of the level of skill in the art discloses all the elements of independent claim 5 and Hsiang 2 in view of Karczewicz discloses each and every element of dependent claim 4, the combination of which is incorporated herein. Hsiang 2/Karczewicz additionally discloses:
wherein the parity flag indicates whether the value of the residual coefficient is an even number or an odd number (see citations and arguments with respect to claim 4 above).
The reasons for combining the cited prior art with respect to claims 1 and 4 also apply to claim 8.
Conclusion
/LINDSAY J UHL/ Examiner, Art Unit 2481