9DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is in response to Application filed on September 22, 2025 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figure 1 contain more than one figure within the figure numbers. Each Figure should be labeled with a separate figure number (see 37 C.F.R. 1.84(u) or be provided with connecting lead lines or brackets to show how the parts are interconnected.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 10 and 11 and dependent claims are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10 and dependent claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,480,236. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1, 10 and 11 and dependent claims are anticipated by the conflicting patented claims 1, 10 and dependent claims as shown in the table below. The difference between the instant examined claim and the conflicting patented claim is that the conflicting patented claim is narrower in scope and falls within the scope of the examined claim. Thus, the species or sub-genus claimed in the conflicting patent anticipates the examined claimed genus. Therefore, a patent to the examined claim genus would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the species or sub-genus should the genus issue as a patent after the species or sub-genus. See MPEP §804(II)(B)(1).
Present Application
Patent No. 12,480,236
1. An apparatus for bonding a fiber structure by means of a fluid,
comprising: a fluid jet fiber entanglement head having a plurality of nozzles for emitting the fluid,
a manipulator, and
a fiber receptacle for arranging the fiber structure,
wherein the fluid jet head is arranged as an effector on the manipulator, and
wherein the manipulator is provided in such a way that the fluid jet head arranged thereon is movable therewith relative to the fiber receptacle,
wherein the fluid jet head comprises at most 500 nozzles for emitting the fluid.
2. The apparatus according to claim 1, in which the manipulator is provided in such a way that the fluid jet head arranged thereon can be moved in three spatial directions relative to the fiber receptacle.
1. Apparatus for bonding a fiber structure by means of a fluid,
comprising a fluid jet fiber entanglement head having a plurality of nozzles for emitting the fluid,
a manipulator, and
a fiber receptacle for arranging the fiber structure,
wherein the fluid jet head is arranged as an effector on the manipulator, and
wherein the manipulator is provided in such a way that the fluid jet head arranged thereon is movable therewith in three spatial directions relative to the fiber receptacle.
17. Apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the fluid jet head comprises at most 500 nozzles for emitting the fluid.
3. The apparatus according to claim 1, in which the manipulator is provided in such a way that, in a respective relative position of the fluid jet head to the fiber receptacle, an angle of incidence which has a main emission direction of the nozzle with respect to the fiber receptacle can be varied.
2. Apparatus according to claim 1, in which the manipulator is provided in such a way that, in a respective relative position of the fluid jet head to the fiber receptacle, an angle of incidence which has a main emission direction of the nozzle with respect to the fiber receptacle can be varied.
4. The apparatus according to claim 1, in which a surface of the fiber receptacle, which is provided for a contact against the fiber structure, is bulged at least in regions.
3. Apparatus according to claim 1, in which a surface of the fiber receptacle, which is provided for a contact against the fiber structure, is bulged at least in regions.
5. The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a surface of the fiber receptacle provided for a contact against the fiber structure has a plurality of openings for discharging the fluid emitted from the nozzle after exposure to the fiber structure.
4. Apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a surface of the fiber receptacle provided for a contact against the fiber structure has a plurality of openings for discharging the fluid emitted from the nozzle after exposure to the fiber structure.
6. The apparatus according to claim 1, in which at least a surface part of the fiber receptacle, which forms a surface intended for a contact against the fiber structure,is an additively manufactured component.
5. Apparatus according to claim 1, in which at least a surface part of the fiber receptacle, which forms a surface intended for a contact against the fiber structure, is an additively manufactured component.
7. The apparatus according to claim 1, comprising a further manipulator, wherein the fiber receptacle is arranged as an effector on the further manipulator.
6. Apparatus according to claim 1, comprising a further manipulator, wherein the fiber receptacle is arranged as an effector on the further manipulator.
8. The apparatus according to claim 1, comprising a fiber emission unit with which fibers can be applied to the fiber receptacle or the fiber structure.
7. Apparatus according to claim 1, comprising a fiber emission unit with which fibers can be applied to the fiber receptacle or the fiber structure.
9. The apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the fluid jet head comprises at most 10 nozzles for emitting the fluid.
8. Apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the fluid jet head comprises at most 10 nozzles for emitting the fluid.
10. An apparatus for bonding a fiber structure by means of a fluid, comprising: a fluid jet fiber entanglement head having a plurality of nozzles for emitting the fluid, a manipulator, and a fiber receptacle for arranging the fiber structure, wherein the fluid jet head is arranged as an effector on the manipulator, and wherein the manipulator is provided in such a way that the fluid jet head arranged thereon is movable therewith relative to the fiber receptacle, wherein the nozzles on the fluid jet head occupy a total area of at most 5 cm2.
1. Apparatus for bonding a fiber structure by means of a fluid, comprising a fluid jet fiber entanglement head having a plurality of nozzles for emitting the fluid, a manipulator, and a fiber receptacle for arranging the fiber structure, wherein the fluid jet head is arranged as an effector on the manipulator, and wherein the manipulator is provided in such a way that the fluid jet head arranged thereon is movable therewith in three spatial directions relative to the fiber receptacle.
9. Apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the fluid jet head comprises a plurality of nozzles, wherein the plurality of nozzles occupy a total area of at most 5 cm.sup.2.
20. The apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the fluid jet head comprises at most 10 nozzles.
8. Apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the fluid jet head comprises at most 10 nozzles for emitting the fluid.
11. A method for bonding a fiber structure, by means of an apparatus according to A method for bonding a fiber structure, by means of an apparatus according to in which method a fluid jet head, which has a plurality of nozzles, and a fiber receptacle, in which a fiber structure is arranged, are moved relative to one another by means of a manipulator, wherein during this relative movement a fluid is emitted at least temporarily from the nozzles of the fluid jet head in order to bond the fiber structure, wherein the fluid is emitted from at most 500 nozzles.
19. The method according to claim 11, wherein the nozzles on the fluid jet head occupy a total area of at most 5 cm2.
1. Apparatus for bonding a fiber structure by means of a fluid,
comprising a fluid jet fiber entanglement head having a plurality of nozzles for emitting the fluid,
a manipulator, and
a fiber receptacle for arranging the fiber structure,
wherein the fluid jet head is arranged as an effector on the manipulator, and
wherein the manipulator is provided in such a way that the fluid jet head arranged thereon is movable therewith in three spatial directions relative to the fiber receptacle.
17. Apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the fluid jet head comprises at most 500 nozzles for emitting the fluid.
9. Apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the fluid jet head comprises a plurality of nozzles, wherein the plurality of nozzles occupy a total area of at most 5 cm.sup.2.
12. The method according to claim 11, in which the readily bonded fiber structure has different properties in different areas.
11. Method according to claim 10, in which the fiber structure has different properties in different areas.
13. The method according to claim 12, in which the different properties of the fiber structure in different areas are at least also due to fibers which differ in the different areas of the fiber structure in at least one of their lengths, their thickness, their material and their color.
12. Method according to claim 11, in which the different properties of the fiber structure in different areas are at least also due to fibers which differ in the different areas of the fiber structure in at least one of their lengths, their thickness, their material and their color.
14. The method according to claim 11, in which the fiber structure already has a three- dimensional shape before solidification.
13. Method according to claim 10, in which the fiber structure already has a three-dimensional shape before solidification.
15. The method according to claim 14, in which the fiber structure is assembled of a plurality of three-dimensional fiber web components before bonding.
14. Method according to claim 13, in which the fiber structure is assembled of a plurality of three-dimensional fiber web components before bonding.
16. The method according to claim 11, in which, in another operating mode, the fluid emitted from the nozzle of the fluid jet head is used to open or separate a part of the fiber structure.
15. Method according to claim 10, in which, in another operating mode, the fluid emitted from the nozzle of the fluid jet head is used to open or separate a part of the fiber structure.
17. A method of manufacturing a part for a body part, a housing part, a garment, a seat or backrest cushion, a packaging cushion or an insulating component by solidifying a fiber structure in a method according to claim 9.
16. Method of manufacturing a part for a body part, a housing part, a garment, a seat or backrest cushion, a packaging cushion or an insulating component by solidifying a fiber structure in a method according to claim 10.
11. A method for bonding a fiber structure, by means of an apparatus according to A method for bonding a fiber structure, by means of an apparatus according to in which method a fluid jet head, which has a plurality of nozzles, and a fiber receptacle, in which a fiber structure is arranged, are moved relative to one another by means of a manipulator, wherein during this relative movement a fluid is emitted at least temporarily from the nozzles of the fluid jet head in order to bond the fiber structure, wherein the fluid is emitted from at most 500 nozzles.
1. Apparatus for bonding a fiber structure by means of a fluid, comprising a fluid jet fiber entanglement head having a plurality of nozzles for emitting the fluid, a manipulator, and a fiber receptacle for arranging the fiber structure, wherein the fluid jet head is arranged as an effector on the manipulator, and wherein the manipulator is provided in such a way that the fluid jet head arranged thereon is movable therewith in three spatial directions relative to the fiber receptacle.
9. Apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the fluid jet head comprises a plurality of nozzles, wherein the plurality of nozzles occupy a total area of at most 5 cm.sup.2.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means” in claim 1, line 1. That is, “by means of a fluid” is not being interpreted under 112(f) since the term is not being used as a means-plus-function limitation.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10, 12, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the fluid jet head”, in lines 6, 7 and 9, which is indefinite since it is unclear if the fluid jet head is the same structure of in addition to the fluid jet fiber entanglement head recited in line 2.
Claim 3 recites “the nozzle”, which is indefinite since it is unclear if the nozzle recited in claim 3 is part of the plurality of nozzles recited in claim 1, or if a new nozzle is introduced. For purposes of examination, Examiner is interpreting the limitation of the nozzle as being part of the previously recited plurality of nozzles.
Claim 5 recites “the nozzle”, which is indefinite since it is unclear if the nozzle recited in claim 5 is part of the plurality of nozzles recited in claim 1, or if a new nozzle is introduced. For purposes of examination, Examiner is interpreting the limitation of the nozzle as being part of the previously recited plurality of nozzles.
Claim 7 recites “a further manipulator” which is indefinite since it is unclear as to what a further manipulator is referring to.
Claim 9 recites “at most 10 nozzles for emitting the fluid”, which is indefinite since claim 1 recites “wherein the fluid jet head comprises at most 500 nozzles for emitting the fluid”, here, does claim 9 require at most 500 nozzles (recited in claim 1) or at most 10 nozzles, making it is unclear as to the number of nozzles that are required by the claim. Examiner suggests amending the claim limitation to read as -- wherein the “at most 500 nozzles is at most 10 nozzles”, which would be a proper limiting limitation.
Claim 10 recites “the fluid jet head”, in lines 6, 7 and 9, which is indefinite since it is unclear if the fluid jet head is the same structure of in addition to the fluid jet fiber entanglement head recited in line 2.
Claim 12 recites “the readily bonded fiber”, which is indefinite since the recitation lacks proper antecedent basis and it is unclear if this “readily bonded fiber” is the previously recited “fiber structure”. Also, this recitation is indefinite because the scope of the term “readily” cannot be ascertained.
Claim 16 recites “the nozzle”, which is indefinite since it is unclear if the nozzle recited in claim 16 is part of the plurality of nozzles recited in claim 11, or if a new nozzle is introduced. For purposes of examination, Examiner is interpreting the limitation of the nozzle as being part of the previously recited plurality of nozzles.
Claim 17 recites “in a method according to claim 9”, which is indefinite since claim 9 does not set forth a method. Claim 9 is directed to an apparatus.
Claim 18 recites “wherein the fluid is emitted from at most 10 nozzles”, which is indefinite since claim 11 recites “wherein the fluid is emitted from at most 500 nozzles”, here, does claim 18 require at most 500 nozzles (recited in claim 11) or at most 10 nozzles, making it is unclear as to the number of nozzles that are required by the claim. Examiner suggests amending the claim limitation to read as -- wherein the “at most 500 nozzles is at most 10 nozzles”, which would be a proper limiting limitation.
All dependent claims are rejected for depending from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 9-11, 14-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Greenway et al. (2001/0018786)[Greenway].
Regarding claim 1, Greenway teaches, an apparatus for bonding a fiber structure by means of a fluid, comprising a fluid jet fiber entanglement head (50, Figure 5) having a plurality of nozzles for emitting the fluid ([0017], [0020], [0054-0056], Figure 5), a manipulator (the device which moves manifold 50 in Figure 5, [0020], [0031], [0054-0056]), and a fiber receptable (the conveyor for supporting the fabric 12; [0055], Figure 5) for arranging the fiber structure (12, Figure 5); wherein the fluid jet head (50) is arranged as an effector on the manipulator (see elongated manipulator which moves the manifold 50 as shown in Figure 5); and wherein the manipulator is provided in such a way that the fluid jet head (50) arranged thereon is movable therewith relative to the fiber receptacle (the conveyor for supporting the fabric 12), see two directions of movement shown in Figure 5; [0020] and [0054-0056]). Also see the embodiment of Figure 6 and the embodiment of Figure 8, both of which also provide a fluid jet head and manipulator which moves the fluid jet head relative to the fiber receptacle [0057-0062]), wherein the fluid jet head (50) comprises at most 500 nozzles for emitting the fluid ([0058] discloses the use of the manifold of U.S. Pat. No. 4,995,151, which has less than 500 nozzles; see Figure 2 showing eight nozzles 36 and see Figure 3 showing five nozzles 36).
Regarding claim 3, Greenway teaches, in which the manipulator is provided in such a way that, in a respective relative position of the fluid jet head (50) to the fiber receptable, an angle of incidence which has a main emission direction of the nozzle with respect to the fiber receptable can be varied (the angle relative to the machine direction of the fiber receptacle may be varied; see [0057], Figure 6 and [0061], Figure 8).
Regarding claim 5, Greenway teaches, wherein a surface of the fiber receptable (the conveyor on which the fabric is supported) provided for a contact against the fiber structure (12) has a plurality of openings for discharging the fluid emitted from the nozzle after exposure to the fiber structure (the conveyor has an open mesh structure as described in [0056]).
Regarding claim 6, Greenway teaches, in which at least a surface part of the fiber receptable, which forms a surface intended for a contact against the fiber structure (12), is an additively manufactured component ([0055-0056]), Examiner notes: that “an additively manufactured component” is a product-by-process limitation since it is directed to the manner by which the component is made (additive manufacturing). A component which has the structure implied by the product-by-process recitation satisfies this claim limitation. The structure of the conveyor (fiber receptacle) of Greenway, as described in the above mentioned paragraphs, satisfies this claim limitation.
Regarding claim 9, Greenway teaches, wherein the fluid jet head (50) comprises at most 10 nozzles for emitting the fluid ([0058] discloses the use of the manifold of U.S. Pat. No. 4,995,151, see Figure 2 showing eight nozzles 36 and see Figure 3 showing five nozzles 36).
Regarding claim 10, Greenway teaches, an apparatus for bonding a fiber structure by means of a fluid, comprising a fluid jet fiber entanglement head (50, Figure 5) having a plurality of nozzles for emitting the fluid ([0017], [0020], [0054-0056], Figure 5), a manipulator (the device which moves manifold 50 in Figure 5, [0020], [0031], [0054-0056]), and a fiber receptable (the conveyor for supporting the fabric 12; [0055], Figure 5) for arranging the fiber structure (12, Figure 5); wherein the fluid jet head (50) is arranged as an effector on the manipulator (see elongated manipulator which moves the manifold 50 as shown in Figure 5); and wherein the manipulator is provided in such a way that the fluid jet head (50) arranged thereon is movable therewith relative to the fiber receptacle (the conveyor for supporting the fabric 12), see two directions of movement shown in Figure 5; [0020] and [0054-0056]). Also see the embodiment of Figure 6 and the embodiment of Figure 8, both of which also provide a fluid jet head and manipulator which moves the fluid jet head relative to the fiber receptacle [0057-0062]), wherein the nozzles on the fluid jet head occupy a total area of at most 5 cm2 (Greenway discloses the use of the manifold of U.S. Pat. No. 4,995,151 [0058], which discloses a nozzle (36) having an effective diameter of about 0.43 inches (col. 5, ln. 3-4). Therefore, the nozzle occupies a total area of at most 5 cm2 , as claimed).
Regarding claim 11, Greenway teaches, a method for bonding a fiber structure, by means of an apparatus according to claim 1, in which method a fluid jet head (50), which has a plurality of nozzles (see Figure 5), and a fiber receptable (the conveyor; [0055]), in which a fiber structure (12) is arranged, are moved relative to one another by means of a manipulator (see Figure 5; see manipulator which moves fluid manifold 50; [0055-0056]; also see Figures 6 and 8 [0057-0061]), wherein during this relative movement a fluid is emitted at least temporarily from the nozzle of the fluid jet head (50) in order to bond the fiber structure ([0017], [0020], and [0054-0062]), wherein the fluid is emitted from at most 500 nozzles ([0058] discloses the use of the manifold of U.S. Pat. No. 4,995,151, which has less than 500 nozzles; see Figure 2 showing eight nozzles 36 and see Figure 3 showing five nozzles 36, therefore, wherein the fluid is emitted from at most 500 nozzles as claimed).
Regarding claim 14, Greenway teaches, in which the fiber structure already has a three-dimensional shape before solidification (a fiber or yarn which forms the fabric 12 has a three dimensional shape, due to the shape of a fiber or yarn).
Regarding claim 15, Greenways teaches, in which the fiber structure (12) is assembled of a plurality of three-dimensional fiber web components before bonding (a fiber or yarn itself is a three-dimensional structure; since each individual fiber/yarn presents a three-dimensional structure, the fibers are considered to be “a plurality of three-dimensional fiber web components” which make up the fiber web 12, therefore, the fiber structure (12), is assembled of a plurality of three-dimensional fiber web components before bonding as claimed).
Regarding claim 17, Greenway teaches, A method of manufacturing a part for a body part, a housing part, a garment, a seat or backrest cushion, a packaging cushion or an insulating component by solidifying a fiber structure in a method according to claim 9 (Greenways discloses a method of manufacturing a “part” (the fabric disclosed by Greenway [0002]), here, the part as disclosed could be used for a garment or for a body part in as much as Applicant has claimed in claim 17. The hydroenhancement disclosed by Greenway is a solidifying of the fiber structure, therefore, Greenway teaches A method of manufacturing a part for a body part, a housing part, a garment, a seat or backrest cushion, a packaging cushion or an insulating component by solidifying a fiber structure in a method according to claim 9, as claimed).
Regarding claim 18, Greenway teaches, wherein the fluid is emitted from at most 10 nozzles ([0058] discloses the use of the manifold of U.S. Pat. No. 4,995,151, see Figure 2 showing eight nozzles 36 and see Figure 3 showing five nozzles 36, therefore, wherein the fluid is emitted from at most 10 nozzles, as claimed).
Regarding claim 19, Greenway teaches, wherein the nozzles on the fluid jet head occupy a total area of at most 5 cm2 (Greenway discloses the use of the manifold of U.S. Pat. No. 4,995,151 [0058], which discloses nozzles (36) having an effective diameter of about 0.43 inches (col. 5, ln. 3-4). Therefore, the nozzles occupies a total area of at most 5 cm2 , as claimed).
Regarding claim 20, Greenway teaches, wherein the fluid jet head (50) comprises at most 10 nozzles for emitting the fluid ([0058] discloses the use of the manifold of U.S. Pat. No. 4,995,151, see Figure 2 showing eight nozzles 36 and see Figure 3 showing five nozzles 36).
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yanamoto et al. (2015/0299920)[Yanamoto].
Regarding claim 1, Yanamoto teaches, an apparatus for bonding a fiber structure by means of a fluid, comprising a fluid jet fiber entanglement head (2) having a plurality of nozzles (21) for emitting the fluid ([0050], [0053], Figure 1); a manipulator (the robot arm disclosed in para. 0077); and a fiber receptable (1/10) for arranging the fiber structure (3) ([0051], Figure 2D); wherein the fluid jet head (2) is arranged as an effector on the manipulator (robotic arm) ([0077]); and wherein the manipulator is provided in such a way that the fluid jet head (2) arranged thereon is movable therewith relative to the fiber receptacle (a robotic arm capable of aimed spraying as disclosed in [0077], and therefore would permit movement relative to the fiber receptacle as claimed), wherein the fluid jet head (2) comprises at most 500 nozzles for emitting the fluid (see Figure 1, which shows less than 500 nozzles 21, 21a).
Regarding claim 4, Yanamoto teaches, in which a surface (10) of the fiber receptable (1), which is provided for a contact against the fiber structure (3), is bulged at least in regions ([0023], [0029], Figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Yanamoto teaches, wherein a surface of the fiber receptable (1) provided for a contact against the fiber structure (3) has a plurality of openings (11) for discharging the fluid emitted from the nozzle (21) after exposure to the fiber structure ([0020], [0051]).
Regarding claim 6, Yanamoto teaches, in which at least a surface part of the fiber receptable (1), which forms a surface (10) intended for a contact against the fiber structure (3), is an additively manufactured component ([0023, 0029, 0051-0052]). Examiner notes: that “an additively manufactured component” is a product-by-process limitation since it is directed to the manner by which the component is made (additive manufacturing). A component which has the structure implied by the product-by-process recitation satisfies this claim limitation. The structure of the mold (1/10) of Yanamoto, as described in the above mentioned paragraphs, satisfies this claim limitation.
Regarding claim 8, Yanamoto teaches, comprising a fiber emission unit with which fibers can be applied to the fiber receptacle or the fiber structure (Yanamoto discloses that the fibers forming the nonwoven web (3) are dry-laid or wet-laid to form the web (see [0056] disclosing a dry process or wet process). Such a dry-laying or wet-laying process comprises a fiber emission unit (the dry-laying or wet-laying device) with which fibers can be applied to the fiber structure, therefore, Yanamoto discloses a fiber emission unit with which fibers can be applied to the fiber receptacle or the fiber structure as claimed).
Regarding claim 11, Yanamoto teaches, a method for bonding a fiber structure, by means of an apparatus according to claim 1, in which method a fluid jet head (2), which has a plurality of nozzles (21), and a fiber receptable (1,10), in which a fiber structure (3) is arranged ([0050-0054], Figures 1 and 2D), are moved relative to one another by means of a manipulator (robot arm; [0077]); wherein during this relative movement a fluid is emitted at least temporarily from the nozzle (21) of the fluid jet head (2) in order to bond the fiber structure (3) ([0050-0055], [0059-0061], and [0077], Figures 1 and 2D), wherein the fluid is emitted from at most 500 nozzles (see Figure 1, which shows less than 500 nozzles 21, 21a, therefore, wherein the fluid is emitted from at most 500 nozzles as claimed).
Regarding claim 12, Yanamoto teaches, in which the readily bonded fiber structure has different properties in different areas (as disclosed in [0009] and [0018], the fiber structure has different densities in different areas; as disclosed in [0019] the fiber structure has different degrees of entanglement or thickness in different areas).
Regarding claim 13, Yanamoto teaches, in which the different properties of the fiber structure in different areas are at least also due to fibers which differ in the different areas of the fiber structure in at least one of their lengths, their thickness, their material and their color ([0018] discloses areas of different thickness provide different properties of the fiber structure in different areas due to fibers which differ in the different areas of the fiber structure in their thickness (the fibers differ in their thickness since they are provided as a thicker layer of fibers), therefore, the different properties of the fiber structure in different areas are at least also due to fibers which differ in the different areas of the fiber structure in at least one of their lengths, their thickness, their material and their color as claimed).
Regarding claim 14, Yanamoto teaches, the fiber structure already has a three-dimensional shape before solidification (see three-dimensional structure shown in Figures 2A and 2B).
Regarding claim 15, Yanamoto teaches, in which the fiber structure (3) is assembled of a plurality of three-dimensional fiber web components before bonding (a fiber itself is a three-dimensional structure; since each individual fiber presents a three-dimensional structure, the fibers are considered to be “a plurality of three-dimensional fiber web components” which make up the fiber web 3).
Regarding claim 16, Yanamoto teaches, in which, in another operating mode, the fluid emitted from the nozzle (21) of the fluid jet head (2) is used to open or separate a part of the fiber structure (2) (the protrusions of the mold are pierced through the web to form holes, as described in [0025]; therefore the fluid is used to “open or separate” a part of the fiber structure as claimed).
Regarding claim 17, Yanamoto teaches, the method is used for manufacturing a part for a body part (a mask [0065]), a garment (a mask [0065]), a seat component [0065] or an insulating component (the reinforcing material [0065] could be used to insulate) by solidifying a fiber structure per the method according to claim 9 ([0063-0065]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanamoto et al (2015/0299920)[Yanamoto] in view of Olry et al (US 5,226,217).
Regarding claim 2, Yanamoto teaches, which the manipulator is provided in such a way that the fluid jet head arranged thereon can be moved in directions relative to the fiber receptacle (a robotic arm is provided in such a way that the fluid jet head arranged thereon can be moved in directions relative to the fiber receptacle, here, the robotic arm is capable of providing partly-aimed spraying as disclosed in [0077], and therefore would permit movement relative to the fiber receptacle as claimed).
Robotic arms typically provide movement in at least three directions, however, Yanamoto fails to teach, in which the manipulator is provided in such a way that the fluid jet head arranged thereon can be moved in three spatial directions relative to the fiber receptacle.
Olry teaches, an apparatus for reinforcing fibrous preforms by entanglement of fibers using a needling head 30 attached to a robotic arm 20 (Fig. 1). Olry teaches that the robotic arm (20) provides movement in three spatial directions (col. 2, ln 5-12, col. 2-3, ln 55-10, Examiner notes col. 3, ln 6-10 disclose six degrees of freedom of movement). Olry teaches that this enables formation of the fibrous preform into complex shapes (col. 1, ln 45-52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the robotic arm of Yanamoto with movement in at least three spatial directions relative to the fiber receptable as taught by Olry, in order to facilitate formation of the fibrous preform into complex shapes, col. 1, ln 45-52.
Regarding claim 7, Yanamoto teaches, an apparatus as claimed and teaches that the fiber receptable (1/10) is movable in the direction of the fluid jet head (2) (see arrow in Figure 2D and [0054] and [0059]).
Yanamoto fails to teach, comprising a further manipulator, wherein the fiber receptacle is arranged as a effector on the further manipulator.
Olry teaches, that the fiber receptable 10 is supported on a table 19 which has a manipulator (see table 19 and its support in Figure 1) to move the table and fiber receptacle 10 in various directions (see Figure 1). Olry teaches that the fiber receptable is thereby displaceable along the X and Y axes and may include rotation or tiling movement (col. 3, ln. 11-22; col. 4, ln 57-62). Olry teaches that the movement of the robotic arm and the table manipulator may be coordinated and are controlled by the control unit 28 to bring the needling head into the desired position relative to the fiber receptable (col. 3, ln. 11-22). This facilitates formation of a fibrous preform which is complex in shape (col. 1, lines 49-52), therefore, Orly discloses comprising a further manipulator, wherein the fiber receptacle is arranged as a effector on the further manipulator, as claimed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a further manipulator in the apparatus of Yanamoto, such that the fiber receptable is arranged as an effector on the further manipulator as taught by Orly, in order to coordinate movement between the robotic arm and the fiber receptable to facilitate formation of a complex shape, col. 1, lines 49-52.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanamoto et al (US 2015/0299920).
Regarding claim 10, Yanamoto teaches, an apparatus for bonding a fiber structure by means of a fluid, comprising a fluid jet fiber entanglement head (2) having a plurality of nozzles (21) for emitting the fluid ([0050], [0053], Figure 1); a manipulator (the robot arm, [0077]); and a fiber receptable (1/10) for arranging the fiber structure (3) ([0051], Figure 2D); wherein the fluid jet head (2) is arranged as an effector on the manipulator (robotic arm, [0077]); and wherein the manipulator is provided in such a way that the fluid jet head (2) arranged thereon is movable therewith relative to the fiber receptacle (a robotic arm capable of aimed spraying as disclosed in [0077], and therefore would permit movement relative to the fiber receptacle as claimed).
While Yanamoto discloses nozzles 21, 21a, the size of the nozzles are not discloses, therefore, Yanamoto fails to teach, wherein the nozzles on the fluid jet head occupy a total area of at most 5 cm2 .
However, nozzles are typically less than 5 cm2, and it is within the routine skill in the art to determine the optimal size for the nozzle depending upon the water pressure, the type of entanglement which is desired to be carried out, the fiber structure which is to be entangled, and other standard considerations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the nozzle of Yanamoto of a size (area) of at most 5 cm2 , since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1. 6,105,222 by Fleissner discloses an apparatus with a fluid jet fiber entanglement head having a plurality of nozzles, a manipulator and a fiber receptacle.
2. 4,995,151 by Siegal discloses an apparatus with a fluid jet fiber entanglement head having a plurality of nozzles, a manipulator and a fiber receptacle.
/Jillian K Pierorazio/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732