DETAILED ACTION
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers and/or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The Examiner notes that it has been held that a recitation that a structural element is "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to” perform a function does not limit the claim to a particular structure and thus only requires the ability to so perform the function. (See In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138. See also, MPEP 2111.04) As such, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims and the prior art, the recitations of "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to” will be deemed met by an element in the prior art capable of performing the function recited in connection with "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to”. The examiner is aware of the functional language in the various claims.
Disclaimer
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 11/18/2025 and 2/17/2026 fail to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because the publication dates are missing. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-6 and 8-21 in the reply filed on 12/29/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 10-19 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 discloses the phrase “a first side”; claim 3 discloses “a second side”; and claim 20 discloses the phrases “a first side” and “a second side”. However, the specification and drawings fail to identify or describe these sides or otherwise provide antecedent or structural context that would allow one of ordinary skill in the art to determine what structures correspond to the “first side” and the “second side”. Accordingly, the meets and bounds of the claimed subject matter cannot be determined with reasonable certainty.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first side as disclosed in claim 1; the second side as disclosed in claim 3; and the first side and the second side as recited in claim 20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Tube video, “Ready to ship pet toys bouncing ball stuffed plush chewing toys” (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SgueVfyE4Z0). From here on the You Tube video is identified as “You Tube” in the instant office action.
Regarding claim 1, You tube discloses a device (see the entire You Tube video content from 0-50 seconds and see the screen shot figures examiner attached below) comprising: an internal structure comprising a durable material capable of bouncing off of a surface when dropped from a first height (the bouncing ball as disclosed in the title of the video is considered as a durable material since it is capable of bouncing off the ground surface as recited); a first fabric (the plush cover of the ball as disclosed in the title of the You Tube video and as the toys shown in the video). Clearly the video discloses the fabric having a first side comprising a pile configured to completely cover the internal structure (see the title of the video and the images of the toy as shown in the video. The outside of the toy is shown as being plush surface that has obviously have piles); one or more extremities comprising a second fabric (for example as shown in the screen shot Figure provided below, the right side toy that is in the middle with red color is disclosed as having ears/extremities that is made of a second fabric that is different from the fabric that is used from the mouth area fabric), the one or more extremities comprising an arm, a leg, a tail, or a wing; and one or more facial features sewn onto the first fabric (as shown in the Video Figures below, the eyes and nose are shown as being sewn. Some of the toys also disclose extremities as recited in the claim), wherein the device is configured to bounce at a second height that is between 55% to 70% of the first height (as shown in section of the video (for example, see the two figures that show the two screen shots of the toy bouncing at two different heights), the toy is capable of bouncing at different heights that can be considered as including the height of 50%-70% as recited).
If applicant argues that the device of the You Tube does not teach the height of 50%-70% range, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to for the ball of Morgan to bounce in the range recited, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the one or more facial features comprise an embroidered or stuffed eye, nose, snout, whisker, eyebrow, eyelash, or mouth and wherein the facial features are sewn onto the first fabric such that the one or more facial features lay flat against the first side of the first fabric to prevent damping when the device bounces (see rejection of claim 1 above and figures provided above including the entire You Tube video).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the first fabric further comprises a second side, the second side comprises a pile surface or a smooth surface (since the You Tube toy is disclosed as plush bouncing toy, the plush cover obviously or inherently will have a pile or smooth surface as recited).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the one or more extremities are sewn onto the first fabric (the toys show seams and it is inherent or obvious that the extremities are sewn as recited).
Regarding claim 8, the You Tube video does not explicitly disclose the plush fabric exterior with a pile length of 3 mm to 50 mm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a pile length range as recited, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 9, wherein the first fabric is sewn over the internal structure tightly such that the first fabric does not bunch or shift over the internal structure when the device bounces (see claim 1 above and the You Tube video of the toys).
Regarding claim 20, bouncing device (see the entire You Tube video content from 0-50 seconds and see the screen shot figures examiner attached above) comprising: an internal structure comprising a highly durable material capable of bouncing off of a surface at a certain height (the bouncing ball as disclosed in the title of the video is considered as a durable material since it is capable of bouncing off the ground surface as recited); a fabric covering comprising a first side and a second side (the plush cover of the ball as disclosed in the title of the You Tube video and as the toys shown in the video), wherein the first side comprises a fluffy pile (see the outside cover of the toys as shown in the Video), wherein the second side is configured to abut the internal structure (clearly and obviously the second side of the fabric abuts to the surface of the inside ball element), and wherein the fabric covering is configured to tightly and completely cover the internal structure such that the fabric does not bunch or move when the bouncing device bounces off of the surface (see the toy in the You Tube video and the above attached figures); at least one external extremity, wherein the at least one external extremity comprises a fabric material and wherein the at least one external extremity is configured such that when the bouncing device bounces the at least one extremity does not dampen the bounce (see rejection of claims 1-2 above); and at least one embroidered facial feature, wherein the at least one embroidered facial feature is embroidered or attached to the fabric covering such that the at least one embroidered facial feature does not dampen the bounce of the bouncing device when the device bounces off the surface (see rejection of claims 1-2 above and figures provided above including the entire You Tube video).
Regarding claim 21, the You Tube video does not explicitly disclose wherein the first height is approximately 3 feet. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make a toy that is capable of reaching any height including 3 feet, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You tube in view of Stillinger (US Patent No. 5,413,331).
The toy in the You Tube video does not explicitly disclose the device comprising polyurethane and the polyurethane comprising toluene diisocyantate, polyether polyol, tin octoate, silicone oil, and a color. Stillinger on the other hand discloses an amusement ball that has a cover and the inside ball containing a durable material that comprises a polyurethane material (see column 4 lines 34-35). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the device of the You Tube device out of polyurethane material so that the balls could have good rebound ability character as disclosed in column 1 line 10. In addition, it is well known that polyurethane material since it has excellent bounce and tear resistance. The references as used above disclose the use of polyurethane as discussed above but fail to teach the polyurethane to comprise toluene diisocyantate, polyether polyol, tin octoate, silicone oil, and a color as recited. It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention to incorporate known formulation compounds and colorants into the polyurethane as taught by the secondary reference, Stillinger. Polyurethane materials are conventionally formulated with various additives (e.g., stabilizers, fillers, plasticizers, pigments, or dyes and so on) depending on desired properties and appearance. The selection of particular additives from known compounds and the addition of color to polyurethane would have been a matter of routine optimization and design choice, since such modifications merely involve selecting known components for their known functions and would have yielded predictable results, namely a polyurethane bouncing ball with the desired composition and appearance. Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious over the references as combined.
Conclusion
The following are suggested formats for either a Certificate of Mailing or Certificate of Transmission under 37 CFR 1.8(a). The certification may be included with all correspondence concerning this application or proceeding to establish a date of mailing or transmission under 37 CFR 1.8(a). Proper use of this procedure will result in such communication being considered as timely if the established date is within the required period for reply. The Certificate should be signed by the individual actually depositing or transmitting the correspondence or by an individual who, upon information and belief, expects the correspondence to be mailed or transmitted in the normal course of business by another no later than the date indicated.
Certificate of Mailing
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being deposited with the United States Postal Service with sufficient postage as first class mail in an envelope addressed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
on __________.
(Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
________________________________________________________
Signature: ______________________________________
Certificate of Transmission by Facsimile
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being facsimile transmitted to the United States Patent and Trademark Office, Fax No. (___)_____ -_________ on _____________. (Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
_________________________________________
Signature: ________________________________________
Certificate of Transmission via USPTO Patent Electronic Filing System
I hereby certify that this correspondence is being transmitted via the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) patent electronic filing system to the USPTO
on _____________.
(Date)
Typed or printed name of person signing this certificate:
_________________________________________
Signature: ________________________________________
Please refer to 37 CFR 1.6(a)(4), 1.6(d) and 1.8(a)(2) for filing limitations concerning transmissions via the USPTO patent electronic filing system, facsimile transmissions and mailing, respectively.
/NINI F LEGESSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711