DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of species in the reply filed on08/04/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that I. Presence of a Generic Claim (Claim 1)
The Requirement states that there is currently no generic claim in the application. Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration of this finding.
Independent claim 1 is broadly drafted and does not specify a single-layer or multilayer arrangement, nor does it specify any particular combination of unipolar and bipolar coils. Because claim 1 does not contain these limiting features, it encompasses and reads on all seven disclosed species (Species A through G) identified by the Examiner. Under MPEP § 806.04(d), a claim is generic if it defines the common properties of all the species. Because claim 1 reads on each of the seven identified species, it is a generic claim. Furthermore, each dependent claim necessarily incorporates all the limitations of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(d). Accordingly,
Applicant respectfully requests that the Examiner withdraw the finding that no generic claim is present.
II. Lack of One-to-One Correspondence and Overlapping Claim Scope
The pending claims do not correspond to the seven identified species on a strict, mutually exclusive, one-to-one basis.
In particular, claims 2-4 and 6-8 overlap in scope and read on more than one of the
embodiments identified by the Examiner. The scope and structure of these pending claims do not support a clear, distinct line of division into seven separate species corresponding individually to FIGS. 1 through 4D. Restricting claims that overlap across multiple embodiments is improper, as it fails to establish clear, mutually exclusive boundaries for the proposed restriction.
III. Insufficient Showing of Distinctness and Examination Burden
To support a restriction requirement, the Examiner must demonstrate that the species are patentably distinct and that there is a serious search or examination burden (see MPEP § 803 and § 808.02).
Here, the Requirement principally explains the differences between Species A and B, but refers only generally to the specification for the remaining Species C through G. The Requirement does not provide a claim-specific analysis demonstrating why each of Species C through G should be separately elected as a patentably distinct species, nor has it established that the examination of the overlapping claimed subject matter would impose a serious search or examination burden on the Office. In the absence of a claim-specific analysis and a proper showing of serious burden, the restriction between these species is procedurally deficient.
This is not found persuasive because Claim 1 is the sole independent claim and thus generic.
Regarding the response regarding Lack of One-to-One Correspondence and Overlapping Claim Scope, the restriction was based sole on the figures and not the claim. The figures clearly identify different spices and embodiments. See Mpep 809.02(a). Furthermore, Pages 4-6 clearly shows the distinction between each figure and the composition of the coils.
Regarding the argument on III. Insufficient Showing of Distinctness and Examination Burden, the examiner has clearly listed the burden the claims and the embodiment presents when the initial restriction was sent and should be referenced.
This office action rejects the claims corresponding to the elected figure. Emphasis added.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9, 10, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2020/0303968) in view of Boys et al. (US 20170222490)
Re Claims 1; Huang discloses a wireless power transfer apparatus, comprising (Fig. 4): two or more wireless power transfer coil modules (406A and 406B) arranged adjacently in of a vehicle (422); and
a controller (442) configured to adjust a phase of a current supplied to each of the two or more adjacently arranged wireless power transfer coil modules according to a coil type of the wireless power transfer coil modules. (Par 0072- 5)
Huang does not disclose a direction of travel
However, Boys discloses a direction of travel (Fig. 10)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have arranged the coils in the direction of travel in order to provide power to the vehicle when the vehicle is moving.
Re Claim 6; Boys discloses wherein the wireless power transfer coil module has two or more layers. (Par 0195, 0198)
Re Claim 9; Boys discloses wherein the wireless power transfer coil module is formed by stacking: a unipolar type coil; (the coil can be operated in a unipolar way Par 0195)
a first bipolar type coil having two coils disposed in a direction perpendicular to the direction of travel of the vehicle; and a second bipolar type coil having two coils disposed in a direction parallel to the direction of travel of the vehicle. (The claim language merely provides a list coil type and does not provide any distinction from each other. The claim broadly reads on the coil having a common loop or structure As shown in Fig. 16, Boys clearly discloses the claimed limitation. Note, Also these references shows the claimed limitation 2022/0085652 Fig. 4, US 20220060057, Fig. 8a)
Re Claim 10; Boys discloses wherein the vehicle is an electric vehicle. (Fig .10e)
Re Claim 11; Boys discloses wherein the vehicle is industrial equipment. (Fig. 10e)
Conclusion
/DANIEL KESSIE/
09/22/2026 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836