DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
This action is in response to the application filed on September 22, 2025.
This application is a continuation application of International Application No.
PCT/CN2024/107183 filed on July 24, 2024 which claims priority to Chinese Patent Application No. 202311162653.5, filed with the China National Intellectual Property Administration on September 8, 2023, the disclosures of each being incorporated by reference herein in their entireties.
Claim Interpretation
As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “…. display code configured to….; receiving code configured to….; marking code configured to….; recommendation code configured to….; and search code configured to….; result code configured …. “recommendation code is further configured to…. “, “switch code configured to….; interface code configured to….; and the recommendation code is further configured to ….”, “disabling code configured to….; removal code configured to ….; and clearing code configured to ….” and “viewing code configured to ….; sets code configured to…. ”in claims 15-19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al (US 20150193509 A1).
With respect to claims 1, 15 and 20, Li et al teaches
displaying a content detail interface of target content ([0031] FIG. 2A a display of a search display environment on an online resource 105. The process 200 displays an online resource comprising content objects (202). A content object is an element displayed on an online resource 105 when the online resource 105 is rendered by a user device 106, and each content object is selectable or individually identifiable. content objects include text (e.g., a character, term, word, sentence), images (or other graphics), videos, tables and charts to name a few. A content object is selectable or individually identifiable if the content item can be set apart or otherwise distinguished from other content objects on the online resource 105 through user interaction with the content object (e.g., highlighting or "clicking on" the content object). a user device 106 displays the online resource 105. FIG. 2B, screenshot 220 of an online resource 105 (as displayed by a user device 106));
receiving a marking operation selecting at least one content segment within the target content ([0031] FIG. 2A a display of a search display environment on an online resource 105. The process 200 displays an online resource comprising content objects (202). A content object is an element displayed on an online resource 105 when the online resource 105 is rendered by a user device 106, and each content object is selectable or individually identifiable. content objects include text (e.g., a character, term, word, sentence), images (or other graphics), videos, tables and charts to name a few. A content object is selectable or individually identifiable if the content item can be set apart or otherwise distinguished from other content objects on the online resource 105 through user interaction with the content object (e.g., highlighting or "clicking on" the content object). user device 106 displays the online resource 105. online resource 105 (as displayed by a user device 106). [0033] The first selection indication, an indication of a user's interest in a content object(s) on the online resource 105 based on the user's interaction with/selection of the content object(s) of interest. Such an interaction or selection can be in the form of, for example, a user causing the content object(s) of interest to be highlighted or clicked on (through use of a mouse or other input device) or otherwise identified. By way of an example, with reference to the online resource 105, the search display environment apparatus 120 receives the first selection indication that the text "Airline tickets" has been selected in response to that text (e.g., content object) being highlighted);
displaying, based on the marking operation, marking identifiers corresponding to the at least one content segment (FIG. 2B, [0033] The first selection indication, an indication of a user's interest in a content object(s) on the online resource 105 based on the user's interaction with/selection of the content object(s) of interest. Such an interaction or selection can be in the form of a user causing the content object(s) of interest to be highlighted or clicked on (through use of a mouse or other input device) or otherwise identified. By way of an example, with reference to the online resource 105, the search display environment apparatus 120 receives the first selection indication that the text "Airline tickets" has been selected in response to that text (e.g., content object) being highlighted);
generating and displaying at least one piece of recommended search information based on segment detail information in content segments marked by the marking operation and at least one previous marking operation (FIG. 2B, [0033] The first selection indication, an indication of a user's interest in a content object(s) on the online resource 105 based on the user's interaction with/selection of the content object(s) of interest. Such an interaction or selection can be in the form of a user causing the content object(s) of interest to be highlighted or clicked on (through use of a mouse or other input device) or otherwise identified. By way of an example, with reference to the online resource 105, the search display environment apparatus 120 receives the first selection indication that the text "Airline tickets" has been selected in response to that text (e.g., content object) being highlighted); and
receiving a search operation selecting target recommended search information from the at least one piece of recommended search information (FIG. 2B, [0033] The first selection indication, an indication of a user's interest in a content object(s) on the online resource 105 based on the user's interaction with/selection of the content object(s) of interest. Such an interaction or selection can be in the form of a user causing the content object(s) of interest to be highlighted or clicked on (through use of a mouse or other input device) or otherwise identified. [0005] receiving an indication that the one of the content objects has been highlighted. The search operation can include providing search query results responsive to the selected content object and the method can include receiving an indication that one of the search query results has been selected; requesting a resource referenced by the selected search query result, and in response to receiving the resource, displaying the resource in a results display environment);
displaying a search result corresponding to the target recommended search information ([0016] FIG. 2C screenshot of a search display environment displayed on an online resource. [0003] receiving search results responsive to the search operation; and displaying the search results in the search display).
With respect to claims 2 and 16, Li et al teaches displaying the at least one piece of recommended search information corresponding to the current marking operation in a search sub-interface of the content detail interface ([0016] FIG. 2C screenshot of a search display environment displayed on an online resource. [0003] receiving search results responsive to the search operation; and displaying the search results in the search display).
With respect to claims 3 and 17, Li et al teaches receiving an enabling operation from the switch control prior to receiving the marking operation; displaying, based on the enabling operation, the search sub-interface in the content detail interface; and displaying the at least one piece of recommended search information in the search sub-interface ([0016] FIG. 2C screenshot of a search display environment displayed on an online resource. [0003] receiving search results responsive to the search operation; and displaying the search results in the search display).
With respect to claims 4 and 18, Li et al teaches receiving an enabling operation from the switch control prior to receiving the marking operation; displaying, based on the enabling operation, the search sub-interface in the content detail interface; and displaying the at least one piece of recommended search information in the search sub-interface (FIG. 2C, screenshot of a search display environment displayed on an online resource, the search display environment apparatus 120, for example, receives a second selection indication in response to the selected text 226 (e.g., "Airline tickets") being dragged from its display location 226-A to the display location 230-A (e.g., caused by a user interaction with a mouse dragging the selected text 226).
With respect to claims 5 and 19, Li teaches receiving a viewing operation from the option viewing control; displaying, based on the viewing operation, first search information sets corresponding to the content segments marked by the marking operation and the at least one previous m irking operation in the content detail interface, wherein each of the first search information sets comprises: first search information including the at least one piece of recommended search information and candidate search information; wherein association degrees between the at least one piece of recommended search information and the content segments satisfy a preset association condition; and wherein association degrees between the candidate search information and the content segments do not satisfy the preset association condition ([0035] the search operation can be the search display environment apparatus 120 providing or accessing for display search query results responsive to the selected content object (e.g., search query results responsive to the selected text 226 submitted as a search query), providing or accessing for display search query suggestions specifying suggestions for search queries related to the selected content object (e.g., search query suggestions for a search query based on the text from the selected text 226), the search operation is user selectable. [0026] User devices 106 can submit search queries to the search system 110. The search queries can be submitted to the search system 110 in the form of a search request that includes the search query. A search result can be data generated by the search system 110 that identifies an online resource 105 that satisfies a particular search query and includes a resource locator for the online resource 105).
With respect to claim 6, Li teaches receiving a search operation selecting target first search information from the first search information sets; displaying a search result corresponding to the target first search information ([0003] receiving a first selection indication indicating that one of the content objects has been selected; the online resource is subordinate to the display of the search display environment, and a first portion of the online resource is obscured by the display of the search environment, display environment and is displayed concurrently with the search display environment; receiving search results responsive to the search operation; and displaying the search results in the search display environment).
With respect to claim 7, Li et al teaches generating at least one piece of second search information based on segment detail information in content segments marked by the marking operation, wherein the at least one piece of second search information is generated independently from content segments marked by the at least one previous marking operation; and displaying the at least one piece of second search information in the content detail interface ([0003] second selection indication being a translation of the selected content item; in response to receiving the second selection indication: displaying a search display environment on the online resource, wherein the display of the online resource is subordinate to the display of the search display environment, a second portion of the online resource is displayed concurrently with the search display environment; receiving search results responsive to the search operation; and displaying the search results in the search display environment).
With respect to claim 8, Li et al teaches generating at least one piece of second search information based on segment detail information in content segments marked by the marking operation, wherein the at least one piece of second search information is generated independently from content segments marked by the at least one previous marking operation; and displaying the at least one piece of second search information in the content detail interface ([0003] second selection indication being a translation of the selected content item; in response to receiving the second selection indication: displaying a search display environment on the online resource, wherein the display of the online resource is subordinate to the display of the search display environment, a second portion of the online resource is displayed concurrently with the search display environment; receiving search results responsive to the search operation; and displaying the search results in the search display environment).
With respect to claim 12, Li et al teaches determining controversial recommended search information among the at least one piece of recommended search information displayed in the content detail interface ([0043] FIG. 2D, the search display environment 240 includes search results 242 that are search query suggestions 242 for search queries related to the selected text 226 "Airline tickets." The search query suggestions 242).
With respect to claim 13, Li et al teaches performing authenticity verification on the search result corresponding to the at least one recommended search information; or performing opposite viewpoint recognition on the search result corresponding to the at least one recommended search information; and determining whether the recommended search information is controversial ([0043] FIG. 2D, the search display environment 240 includes search results 242 that are search query suggestions 242 for search queries related to the selected text 226 "Airline tickets." The search query suggestions 242).
With respect to claim 14, Li et al teaches receiving an unmarking operation removing at least one marked content segment from the content segments; generating updated recommended search information based on remaining content segments after the unmarking operation; displaying the updated recommended search information in the content detail interface (([0043] FIG. 2D, the search display environment 240 includes search results 242 that are search query suggestions 242 for search queries related to the selected text 226 "Airline tickets." The search query suggestions 242).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
UMEDA (US 20210286820 A1). INFORMATION PROCESSING APPARATUS AND NON-TRANSITORY COMPUTER READABLE MEDIUM.
Considered for teachings related generally attribute information assigned to a document and information that indicates whether the attribute information is first attribute information that a user is not enabled to assign or second attribute information that the user is enabled to assign and one or multiple processors configured to perform first search on the attribute information on the document using the first attribute information in a search formula and second search on the attribute information on the document using the second attribute information in the search formula.
/ISAAC M WOO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2163