DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 14 and 19 recites “a motor” which is a double recitation; it is unclear whether the “a motor” is the same “a motor” recited in claims 8 and 15. The metes and bounds of the claims are unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-12, 14-17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Husband et al. (US 2020/0123915 A1) hereinafter Husband in view of Suciu et al. (US 2021/0172333 A1) hereinafter Suciu.
Regarding claim 1, Husband teaches an air-moving device comprising a hub (62), wherein the hub comprises:
a forward pair of blade mounting flanges positioned at a forward end of the hub and radially extending away from an outer surface of the hub (Husband, annotated FIG. 3 below; paras. 0067-0068), wherein the forward pair of blade mounting flanges define a forward blade mounting slot (62D) (Fig. 3, paras. 0067-0068); and
an aft pair of blade mounting flanges positioned at an aft end of the hub and radially extending away from the outer surface of the hub (Husband, annotated FIG. 3 below; paras. 0067-0068), wherein the aft pair of blade mounting flanges define an aft blade mounting slot (62D) (Fig. 3, paras. 0067-0068);
a plurality of blades (66) fastened to the hub (Fig. 3, paras. 0067-0068), wherein each blade of the plurality of blades comprises: a forward blade mounting tab (66B) defining a forward blade mounting hole (Figs. 3-4); and an aft blade mounting tab (66B) defining an aft blade mounting hole (Figs. 3-4); wherein a center of the forward blade mounting hole is offset from a center of the aft blade mounting hole (Fig. 8); and
wherein the forward blade mounting tab is received in the forward blade mounting slot and the aft blade mounting tab is received in the aft blade mounting slot (Figs. 3-4); and a plurality of substantially straight fastening pins (68) that fasten the plurality of blades to the hub (Figs. 2-5A; para. 0070), wherein the plurality of substantially straight fastening pins comprise: a fastening pin (68) that extends through the forward blade mounting hole of a first blade of the plurality of blades and the aft blade mounting hole of a second blade of the plurality of blades, wherein the center of the forward blade mounting hole of the first blade is aligned with the aft blade mounting hole of the second blade (Figs. 2-5A).
Husband fails to teach a motor.
However, Suciu teaches a propulsor configured to generate thrust, the propulsor comprising:
a hub (23) including a first end and a second end that is opposite the first end (Fig. 1, para. 0034);
a blade fan (24) including a plurality of blades arranged in a circular ring where each blade includes a first end (at blade tip), a second end (at blade root) (Fig. 1), a nose cone connected to the first end of the hub (Fig. 1); and a duct (22) that at least partially surrounds the blade fan, the hub, the nose cone (Fig. 1). Suciu further teaches a motor (90) configured to rotate the hub and to “generate electricity during cruise and/or descent conditions” (Fig. 1, para. 0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Husband by mounting a motor on the hub as taught by Suciu in order to generate electricity during cruise and/or descent conditions (Suciu, Fig. 1, para. 0033).
Regarding claim 2, Husband as modified by Suciu teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 1. Husband as modified by Suciu further teaches the first blade is adjacent to the second blade (Husband, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Husband as modified by Suciu teaches all the claimed above in claim 1. Husband as modified by Suciu further teaches a lateral width of each forward blade mounting tab and each aft blade mounting tab is the same; and the center of the forward blade mounting hole is offset from the center of the aft blade mounting hole by the lateral width (Husband, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 4, Husband as modified by Suciu teaches all the claimed above in claim 1. Husband as modified by Suciu further teaches each forward blade mounting tab has a first length and each aft blade mounting tab has a second length greater than the first length (Husband, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 5, Husband as modified by Suciu teaches all the claimed above in claim 1. Husband as modified by Suciu further teaches each forward blade mounting tab has a first axial thickness and each aft blade mounting tab has a second axial thickness greater than the first axial thickness (Husband, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 7, Husband as modified by Suciu teaches all the claimed above in claim 1. Husband as modified by Suciu further teaches the air-moving device is a propulsor configured to generate thrust for an aircraft (Husband, para. 0065 and Suciu, para. 0036).
Regarding claim 8, Husband teaches a bladed fan for an air moving device comprising:
a plurality of blades (66) configured to be fastened to a hub (62), wherein each blade of the plurality of blades comprises:
a forward blade mounting tab (66B) defining a forward blade mounting hole and configured to be received in a forward blade mounting slot defined by a forward pair of blade mounting flanges positioned at a forward end of the hub and radially extending away from an outer surface of the hub (Figs. 3-5A; paras. 0067-0068) and Husband, annotated Fig. 3 above); and
an aft blade mounting tab (66B) defining an aft blade mounting hole and configured to be received in an aft blade mounting slot defined by an aft pair of blade mounting flanges positioned at an aft end of the hub and radially extending away from the outer surface of the hub (Figs. 3-5A; paras. 0067-0068 and Husband, annotated Fig. 3 above);
wherein a center of the forward blade mounting hole is offset from a center of the aft blade mounting hole (Fig. 8);
a plurality of fastening pins (68) that fasten the plurality of blades to the hub, wherein the plurality of fastening pins comprise: a fastening pin (68) that extends through the forward blade mounting hole of a first blade of the plurality of blades and the aft blade mounting hole of a second blade of the plurality of blades, wherein the center of the forward blade mounting hole of the first blade is aligned with the aft blade mounting hole of the second blade (Figs. 2-5A).
Husband fails to teach a motor.
However, Suciu teaches a propulsor configured to generate thrust, the propulsor comprising:
a hub (23) including a first end and a second end that is opposite the first end (Fig. 1, para. 0034);
a blade fan (24) including a plurality of blades arranged in a circular ring where each blade includes a first end (at blade tip), a second end (at blade root) (Fig. 1), a nose cone connected to the first end of the hub (Fig. 1); and a duct (22) that at least partially surrounds the blade fan, the hub, the nose cone (Fig. 1). Suciu further teaches a motor (90) configured to rotate the hub and to “generate electricity during cruise and/or descent conditions” (Fig. 1, para. 0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Husband by mounting a motor on the hub as taught by Suciu in order to generate electricity during cruise and/or descent conditions (Suciu, Fig. 1, para. 0033).
Regarding claim 9, Husband as modified by Suciu teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 8. Husband as modified by Suciu further teaches the first blade is adjacent to the second blade (Husband, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Husband as modified by Suciu teaches all the claimed above in claim 8. Husband as modified by Suciu further teaches a lateral width of each forward blade mounting tab and each aft blade mounting tab is the same; and the center of the forward blade mounting hole is offset from the center of the aft blade mounting hole by the lateral width (Husband, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 11, Husband as modified by Suciu teaches all the claimed above in claim 1. Husband as modified by Suciu further teaches each forward blade mounting tab has a first length and each aft blade mounting tab has a second length greater than the first length (Husband, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 12, Husband as modified by Suciu teaches all the claimed above in claim 1. Husband as modified by Suciu further teaches each forward blade mounting tab has a first axial thickness and each aft blade mounting tab has a second axial thickness greater than the first axial thickness (Husband, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 14, Husband as modified by Suciu teaches all the claimed above in claim 8. Husband as modified by Suciu further teaches the bladed fan is configured to be rotated via a motor of a propulsor of an aircraft (Suciu, Fig. 1; para. 0033).
Regarding claim 15, Husband teaches a blade assembly comprising:
a plurality of blades (66) comprising a first blade (66) fastened to a second blade (66) (Fig. 2), each blade of the plurality of blades comprising an airfoil extending between a tip of the blade and a root of the blade (Fig. 3, para. 0068), wherein each of the first blade (66) and the second blade comprises: a forward blade mounting tab (66B) defining a forward blade mounting hole (Figs. 3-5A) and configured to be received in a forward blade mounting slot (62D) defined by a forward pair of blade mounting flanges positioned at a forward end of a hub (62) and radially extending away from an outer surface of the hub (Husband, annotated FIG. 3 above; and an aft blade mounting tab (66B) defining an aft blade mounting hole (Figs. 3-5A) and configured to be received in an aft blade mounting slot (62D) defined by an aft pair of blade mounting flanges positioned at an aft end of the hub and radially extending away from the outer surface of the hub (Husband, annotated FIG. 3 above) wherein a center of the forward blade mounting hole is offset from a center of the aft blade mounting hole (Fig. 8); and a fastening pin (68) that extends through the forward blade mounting hole of the forward blade mounting tab of the first blade and the aft blade mounting hole of the aft blade mounting tab of the second blade (Figs. 3-5A).
Husband fails to teach a motor.
However, Suciu teaches a propulsor configured to generate thrust, the propulsor comprising:
a hub (23) including a first end and a second end that is opposite the first end (Fig. 1, para. 0034);
a blade fan (24) including a plurality of blades arranged in a circular ring where each blade includes a first end (at blade tip), a second end (at blade root) (Fig. 1), a nose cone connected to the first end of the hub (Fig. 1); and a duct (22) that at least partially surrounds the blade fan, the hub, the nose cone (Fig. 1). Suciu further teaches a motor (90) configured to rotate the hub and to “generate electricity during cruise and/or descent conditions” (Fig. 1, para. 0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Husband by mounting a motor on the hub as taught by Suciu in order to generate electricity during cruise and/or descent conditions (Suciu, Fig. 1, para. 0033).
Regarding claim 16, Husband as modified by Suciu teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 15. Husband as modified by Suciu further teaches the first blade is adjacent to the second blade (Husband, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, Husband as modified by Suciu teaches all the claimed above in claim 15. Husband as modified by Suciu further teaches a lateral width of each forward blade mounting tab and each aft blade mounting tab is the same; and the center of the forward blade mounting hole is offset from the center of the aft blade mounting hole by the lateral width (Husband, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 19, Husband as modified by Suciu teaches all the claimed above in claim 15. Husband as modified by Suciu further teaches the blade assembly is included in a bladed fan that is configured to be rotated via a motor of a propulsor of an aircraft (Suciu, Fig. 1, para. 0033).
Regarding claim 20, Husband as modified by Suciu teaches all the claimed above in claim 15. Husband as modified by Suciu further teaches each forward blade mounting tab has a first length and each aft blade mounting tab has a second length greater than the first length (Husband, Fig. 8); and each forward blade mounting tab has a first axial thickness and each aft blade mounting tab has a second axial thickness greater than the first axial thickness (Husband, Fig. 8).
Claim(s) 6, 13 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Husband in view of Suciu and further in view of Alvanos et al. (US 8,936,440 B2) hereinafter Alvanos.
Husband as modified by Suciu teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claims 1, 8 and 15 respectively. Husband as modified by Suciu further teaches each blade of the plurality of blades comprises: an airfoil extending between a tip of the blade and a root of the blade (Husband, Fig. 3). Husband as modified by Suciu fails to teach a base disposed at the root of the blade that extends away from the airfoil and defines a first surface disposed toward the airfoil and a second surface, opposite the first surface, disposed away from the airfoil; wherein the forward blade mounting tab of the blade and the aft blade mounting tab of the blade are connected to and extend away from the second surface of the base.
However, Alvanos teaches a blade fan comprising:
a hub (64C) (Fig. 3);
a plurality of blades each including a first end, a second end that is opposite the first end, and an airfoil (66C) between the first end and the second end, wherein the second end of each blade includes a first mounting tab (86F) and a second mounting tab (88F) that are inserted into the hub (Fig. 3, Col. 4, lines 14-49); and
a plurality of fasteners (84) configured to connect the plurality of blades to the hub, wherein each fastener is configured to connect the first mounting tab of a first blade from the plurality of blades to the hub and the second mounting tab of a second blade from the plurality of blades to the hub, the second blade directly adjacent to the first blade (Fig. 3, Col. 4, lines 14-49). Alvanos further teaches of the plurality of blades further comprises: a base (formed by platform segments 86 and 88) (Fig. 3) including a lower surface, a first connection surface at a first side of the base, and a second connection surface at a second side of the base that is opposite the first side of the base, wherein the first mounting tab and the second mounting tab extend perpendicularly from the lower surface of the base away from the lower surface (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Husband such that the airfoil comprises a base as taught by Alvanos as all claimed part were known and would have yielded none but an expected result; namely stiffening the blades.
Conclusion
/MAXIME M ADJAGBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745