DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a ball bearing arrangement” (Claim 3) and “one damping element” (Claim 8) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification does not disclose a reference number for “a ball bearing arrangement” (Claim 3) or “one damping element” (Claim 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 5-7, the claims are directed toward the module and asset that are outside the scope of Applicant’s invention (i.e. the multi-axis modular coupling system of Claim 1). Therefore the metes and bounds are unascertainable. Rather, Applicant may characterize the attachment means structurally, with regards to the mounting plate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inagaki et al. (US Pub No. 2023/0249334 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Inagaki et al. discloses
a mounting plate (i.e. the vertical plate of 60, Fig. 1) employed to attach to different custom modules for enabling movement of different user assets (i.e. intended use);
a first degree of freedom element (25, 41, 43) employed to enable a translational degree of freedom of the multi-axis modular coupling system along a vertical axis of the multi-axis modular coupling system;
a second degree of freedom element (i.e. structure pertaining to “SECOND D.O.F.” in annotated Fig. 2 below) to enable a first rotational degree of freedom of the multi-axis modular coupling system along a longitudinal axis (i.e. the longitudinal centerline of 52) of the multi-axis modular coupling system; and
a third degree of freedom element (i.e. structure pertaining to “THIRD D.O.F.” in annotated Fig. 2 below) to enable a second rotational degree of freedom of the multi-axis modular coupling system along a lateral axis (i.e. see annotated Fig. 2 below) of the multi-axis modular coupling system,
wherein when the multi-axis modular coupling system is in use (i.e. contingent limitation, per MPEP 2111.04), a given custom module (i.e. a tool T, but also intended use) from amongst the different custom modules is attached to the mounting plate, wherein at least one of: the first degree of freedom element, the second degree of freedom element, the third degree of freedom element, operates to accommodate for floor surface irregularities when a given user asset from amongst the different user assets is carried by the mobile robot (i.e. intended use, however all three degree of freedom elements accommodate floor surface irregularities by providing mobility in as much as Applicant’s device does).
Regarding Claim 4, Inagaki et al. discloses
the third degree of freedom element is implemented using a first link (51) and a second link (52) that are mechanically coupled using a pin joint (i.e. a pin or shaft feature is inherent since they rotate with respect to each other).
Regarding Claims 5-7, the scope of the claims cannot be ascertained as per the 112 rejection above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inagaki et al. (US Pub No. 2023/0249334 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Inagaki et al. discloses the first degree of freedom element to have a guide rod (43) and a linear carriage (41) but does not disclose a plurality of each.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Inagaki et al. by including a plurality of guide rods and linear carriages, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art and for the purpose of more stably supporting the robot arm. It is noted that Inagaki et al. does not limit the lifting and lowering device 40 ([0031]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inagaki et al. (US Pub No. 2023/0249334 A1) in view of Jinno et al. (US Patent No. 5,525,027).
Regarding Claim 3, Inagaki et al. does not disclose a ball bearing arrangement.
Jinno et al. discloses a coupling 7 to have a ball bearing arrangement (lines 1-2 of Column 6), for the purpose of facilitating rotation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date to modify the invention of Inagaki et al. by including a ball bearing
arrangement as disclosed by Jinno et al., for the purpose of facilitating rotation. It is
noted this may be applied to any of the rotational joints of Inagaki et al.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inagaki et al. (US Pub No. 2023/0249334 A1) in view of Nuchter et al. (US Pub No. 2010/0224427 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Inagaki et al. discloses a drive system (35a, wherein the claim does not define the drive system) but does not disclose a damping element.
Nuchter et al. discloses at least one damping element (23), for the purpose of isolating a load transfer/reducing vibration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date to modify the invention of Inagaki et al. by including the damping element
as disclosed by Nuchter et al., for the purpose of isolating a load transfer/reducing
vibration. It is noted the claim further recites intended use.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inagaki et al. (US Pub No. 2023/0249334 A1) in view of Carithers et al. (US Pub No. 2021/0276203 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Inagaki et al. does not disclose an electrical connector.
Carithers et al. discloses an electrical connector (118) configured to enable electrical interfacing with the given custom module, the electrical connector being adapted to transfer at least one of: a power signal ([0069]), a control signal, an emergency signal, from the mobile robot to the given custom module, for the purpose of transmitting power.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date to modify the invention of Inagaki et al. by including the electrical connector
as disclosed by Carithers et al., for the purpose of transmitting power.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yokote et al. (US Pub No. 2022/0033020) discloses floating unit 20 as in Fig. 18.
Pringle, IV et al. (US Pub No. 2019/0168388) discloses wrist 228 that has three degrees of freedom as in Fig. 26.
/PRASAD V GOKHALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 August 7, 2026