DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyck (US 20230358114 A1), in light of Lende (US 20200173252 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Dyck discloses a casing string (combination 10, 11) assembly for deployment in a wellbore, the casing string assembly comprising: a shoe track (combination 105, 106, 107) provided at a lower end of a casing string that provides a flow path (pgph. 57); an annular isolation apparatus (103a) arranged uphole from the shoe track and including a radial sealing member operable to expand radially and form a seal within an annulus defined between the casing string and an inner wall of the wellbore (fig. 1, pgph. 57); a communication tool (all elements between 103a and lower end of 233 of fig. 3A which is part of 100 of fig. 1, or all elements between 103a and upper end of 100 which includes 233, or all elements above 101) arranged uphole from the annular isolation apparatus and including at least one port (203 and ports of 104c, 104b) that facilitates fluid communication between the flow path and the annulus (pgph. 57), the at least one port being selectively opened and closed to permit and restrict fluid flow therethrough (pgphs. 57); and a first isolation device (plug, pgph. 57) operable to form a seal within the flow path downhole from the annular isolation apparatus and thereby isolating the shoe track from the annular isolation apparatus and the communication tool (pgph. 57).
However, Dyck fails to disclose the bypass mechanism, but does disclose using dissolvable elements (pgphs. 8, 55, 57).
Nevertheless, Lende discloses wherein a plug (300) includes a bypass mechanism (205, 305) selectively operable to permit fluid flow through the first isolation device (pgph. 35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have used the plug of Lende instead of the plug of Dyck in order to allow for selectable access to the area downhole of the plug without having to drill away the plug as taught by Lende (pgph. 1) and since this is the simple substitution of one prior art plug for another with predictable results and a reasonable expectation for success.
With respect to claim 2, Dyck further discloses wherein the communication tool further includes a plurality of longitudinally spaced landing profiles (in 104b, 104c, 223) therein for receiving at least second and third isolation devices thereon (plugs for 104b, 104c, pgph. 57).
With respect to claim 3, Dyck further discloses wherein the communication tool further includes a barrier member (240) movable from a retracted position (fig. 3A), where the barrier member does not obstruct the flow path, and an extended position (3B), where the barrier member extends across the flow path (pgph. 61).
With respect to claim 4, Dyck further discloses wherein the communication tool further includes a sliding sleeve (combination 220, 242) movable from an initial longitudinal position, where the sliding sleeve longitudinally overlaps and retains the barrier member in the retracted position (overlaps slightly as shown in fig. 8), and an activated longitudinal position, where the barrier member is able to move to the extended position (pgph. 61)
With respect to claim 5, Dyck further discloses a fourth isolation device (270) conveyable into the flow path to generate a sealed interface uphole from the communication tool (at 233, pgph. 59).
With respect to claim 6, Dyck further discloses a lower casing barrier (106) disposed in the flow path below the first isolation device and responsive to landing the first isolation device within the casing string to move from an open position to a closed position (pgph. 57, 106 will close when plug is seated on 107 since flow will no longer be able to open 106).
With respect to claim 7, Dyck further discloses wherein the shoe track includes a landing profile (seat of 107) at an upper end thereof for receiving the first isolation device (pgph. 57, figs. 1a, 1b).
With respect to claims 8, 11, and 19 these limitations are substantially similar to those of claims 1, 3, and 6 discussed supra, except for the pump and fluid source with the cement slurry and deactivation fluid, taught by Dyck in pgphs. 57, 71.
With respect to claim 9, Dyck in light of Lende further discloses second and third isolation devices (for 104C, pgph. 57, Dyck and element 270) operable to form respective seals within the flow path within the communication tool, each of the second and third isolation devices including a respective bypass mechanism selectively operable to permit fluid flow through the second and third isolation devices (taught by Lende, obviously applicable to all plugs of Dyck).
With respect to claim 10, Dyck discloses wherein the at least one port includes a first port (port of 104b) longitudinally spaced from a second port (port of 104C) within the communication tool, the first port disposed downhole from the second isolation device (port of 104b will be downhole from isolation device used to open sleeve of 104C) and the second port (port of 104C) disposed longitudinally between the second and third isolation devices (port of 104C will be between isolation device used to open sleeve of 104C and isolation device 270 of element 100 shown in figs. 1B, 5A).
With respect to claim 12, Dyck discloses wherein the at least one port of the communication tool includes a first port (port of 104B or port of 104C) and a second port (port of 100, shown as 203 in figs. 3A-5A or port of 104C) disposed uphole of the first port (shown in figs. 1A-5A).
With respect to claim 13, Dyck discloses wherein the communication tool further includes at least a one communication tool landing profile (landing profile of 104C) defined longitudinally between the first port and the second port for receiving a second isolation device to thereby isolate the first port from the second port (pgph. 57).
With respect to claim 14, Dyck discloses wherein the communication tool further includes a landing profile (233) defined uphole of the second port for receiving a third isolation (270) device to thereby isolate the second port from the casing string above the third isolation device (pgph. 59).
With respect to claim 16, Dyck discloses cement (108) filling the annulus above the annular isolation apparatus (shown in fig. 1A); and the first isolation device landed on the shoe track landing profile and including a bypass mechanism therein selectively operable to permit a flow of the deactivation fluid therethrough into the shoe track (discussed supra).
With respect to claim 17, Lende discloses wherein the bypass mechanism includes a rupture disc operable to rupture in response to a predetermined pressure of the deactivation fluid (pgph. 30, Lende).
With respect to claim 18, Dyck discloses wherein the barrier member is constructed as a flapper (240) biased to the extended position (pgph. 61).
With respect to claim 20, Dyck discloses an upper landing profile (233) defined within the casing string uphole of the barrier member for receiving an upper isolation device (270) conveyable into the flow path to generate a sealed interface uphole from the barrier member (pgph. 59).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20150345252 A1 also discloses the limitations of the independent claims other than the bypass. US 20150184489 A1 also discloses many of the elements.
/KIPP C WALLACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674 07/31/2026