DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN202411331272.X, filed on 09/23/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/22/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7-9, 17-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
For claim 7, the prior art does not teach the limitations when view in combination with limitations from the base claims from which claim 7 depends.
For claim 8, the prior art does not teach the limitations when view in combination with limitations from the base claims from which claim 8 depends. Additionally, claim 8 is allowable based on dependency from claim 7.
For claim 9, the prior art does not teach the limitations when view in combination with limitations from the base claims from which claim 9 depends. Additionally, claim 9 is allowable based on dependency from claim 8.
For claim 17, the prior art does not teach the limitations when view in combination with limitations from the base claims from which claim 17 depends.
For claim 18, the prior art does not teach the limitations when view in combination with limitations from the base claims from which claim 18 depends. Additionally, claim 18 is allowable based on dependency from claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 10-14, 16, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinto (US 20230042551), in view of Wysocki (US 20190034306).
Regarding Claim 1, Pinto teaches
A data processing method, executed by one or more processors of a processing near memory (PNM) device, (Pinto [0002] systems and methods for managing memory for computation storage devices. [0012] a computational storage device (e.g., a storage device having a processing functionality) [0036] computational storage (CS) devices (also referred to as near-storage computing devices) can serve to enhance storage functionality uses) (i.e. a computational storage device (CS) is a processing near memory device (PNM))
wherein the PNM device comprises a PNM processor and a cache memory, the data processing method comprising: (Pinto [0037] CS devices can serve to enhance various storage use cases by employing near-storage processing (e.g., performing computations on data proximate to the location of data being stored, for example, in the same device). [0091] the management computing entity 800 may further include or be in communication with volatile media …cache memory)
pulling, from a memory of a central processing unit of a host associated with the PNM device, strip data related to target data processing and storing the strip data in the cache memory; (Pinto [0069] FIG. 4, Host 420, CPU 424, Memory 422, CS device 402, computing engines 406, Device Local Memory 410 [0070] Device Local Memory (DLM) for use by computational storage) (i.e., data from host CPU memory to PNM device, device local memory is cache memory for storing data for processing by PNM device)
and pulling, from the cache memory, the strip data strip by strip, and performing the target data processing. (Pinto [0085] the processing element 905 may serve perform various acceleration operations such as at least portions of an offload functionality, data pre- or post-processing, combinations thereof, and/or the like. [0086] the transmitting component may queue data in one or more buffers)
Pinto teaches PNM devices performing RAID operations (Pinto [0036] CS devices can include storage element that provides functions known as computational storage functions (CSFs) and persistent data storage. Non-limiting examples of CSFs can include functions providing compression, encryption, Database filter, erasure coding, redundant array of inexpensive disks (RAID), hashing and cyclic redundancy check (CRC) operations), but Pinto does not teach strip data, the strip data strip by strip
However, Wysocki teaches strip data, the strip data strip by strip (Wysocki [0063] The term “lightweight RAID logic” may refer to a RAID logic, in which computing-intensive tasks have been offloaded from the host to the drive controllers of the storage devices used. [0065] RAID processing engines may send completions of the entire flow of a given I/O against a given RAID stripe to the host side lightweight logic)
Pinto and Wysocki are analogous art because they are from the same field of data protection. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of Pinto and Wysocki to modify Pinto‘s PNM device performing data processing offload/acceleration including RAID operation with Wysocki’s teaching of a RAID logic in which computing-intensive tasks offloaded from host to drive controllers and process RAID strips. The motivation for doing so would be to have computing-intensive tasks offloaded from host and proper RAID stripe processing (Wysocki [0063]).
Regarding Claim 2, Pinto and Wysocki teach
Pinto teaches pulling the strip data from the memory (Pinto [0069] FIG. 4, Host 420, CPU 424, Memory 422, CS device 402, computing engines 406, Device Local Memory 410 [0070] Device Local Memory (DLM) for use by computational storage) (i.e., data pulled from host CPU memory to PNM device to be processed)
Pinto does not teach but Wysocki teaches wherein the pulling the strip data from the memory is performed based on the target data processing being an intensive computation for a redundant array of independent disks, and wherein the intensive computation for the redundant array of independent disks is a computation in which a size of computational resources of the central processing unit required to be occupied exceeds a preset resource size. (Wysocki [0063] The term “lightweight RAID logic” may refer to a RAID logic, in which computing-intensive tasks have been offloaded from the host to the drive controllers of the storage devices used. [0073] provide a higher performance than software based NVMe RAID approaches due to offloading data intensive operations to the SSDs with RAID processing engines. Software RAID approaches may consume significant CPU cycles and may behave like noisy tenants in a system due to host CPU cache trashing and necessity of handling IRQs (Interrupt Requests) coming from member disks, especially in the case of complex multistage RAID I/O flows like read-modify-write.) (i.e. offloading computing-intensive tasks from host when the software RAID approach using host CPU consumes significant resources)
Pinto and Wysocki are analogous art because they are from the same field of data protection. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of Pinto and Wysocki to modify Pinto‘s PNM device performing data processing offload/acceleration including RAID operation with Wysocki’s teaching of a RAID logic in which computing-intensive tasks offloaded from host to drive controllers and process RAID strips. The motivation for doing so would be to have computing-intensive tasks offloaded from host and proper RAID stripe processing (Wysocki [0063]).
Regarding Claim 3, Pinto and Wysocki teach
Pinto teaches computation for the redundant array of independent disks (Pinto (Pinto (Pinto [0036] CS devices can include storage element that provides functions known as computational storage functions (CSFs) and persistent data storage. Non-limiting examples of CSFs can include functions providing compression, encryption, Database filter, erasure coding, redundant array of inexpensive disks (RAID), hashing and cyclic redundancy check (CRC) operations),
Pinto does not teach but Wysocki teaches wherein the intensive computation for the redundant array of independent disks comprises at least one of a data checking computation, a data cloning computation, and a data modification computation. (Wysocki [0064] the RAID processing engine located on an SSD with RAID processing engine requires additional requests to multiple drives to fulfill RAID flows (like read-modify-write) [0091] The parity drive 404 may be configured to read 462 the old parity, fetch 464 the XOR value from the memory buffer 426, calculate an XOR value of the old parity and the XOR value to determine a new parity [0027] mirrored data of a RAID 1 configuration)(i.e. parity calculation is for data checking, mirroring data is data cloning)
Pinto and Wysocki are analogous art because they are from the same field of data protection. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of Pinto and Wysocki to modify Pinto‘s PNM device performing data processing offload/acceleration including RAID operation with Wysocki’s teaching of a RAID logic in which computing-intensive tasks offloaded from host to drive controllers and process RAID strips. The motivation for doing so would be to have computing-intensive tasks offloaded from host and proper RAID stripe processing (Wysocki [0063]).
Regarding Claim 4, Pinto and Wysocki teach
Pinto does not teach but Wysocki teaches wherein based on the target data processing being the data checking computation, the performing the target data processing comprises: performing the data checking computation for a data block contained in the strip data that is pulled strip by strip to obtain a check data block corresponding to the strip data that is pulled strip by strip. (Wysocki [0091] the RAID I/O (request) to a parity drive for a given stripe [0093] The Simplified RAID Engine Slave may be configured to calculate a new parity by XOR'ing new data blocks new data 1 and new data 2)
Pinto and Wysocki are analogous art because they are from the same field of data protection. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of Pinto and Wysocki to modify Pinto‘s PNM device performing data processing offload/acceleration including RAID operation with Wysocki’s teaching of a RAID logic in which computing-intensive tasks offloaded from host to drive controllers and process RAID strips. The motivation for doing so would be to have computing-intensive tasks offloaded from host and proper RAID stripe processing (Wysocki [0063]).
Regarding Claim 6, Pinto and Wysocki teach
Pinto does not teach but Wysocki teaches wherein based on the target data processing being the data cloning computation, the performing the target data processing comprises: performing the data cloning computation for a target data block contained in the strip data that is pulled strip by strip to obtain a clone data block corresponding to the target data block. (Wysocki [0002] RAID 1 (full redundancy, mirroring of a storage region of one storage device to another storage region) [0027] mirrored data of a RAID 1 configuration [0028] the RAID may comprise a first stripe (e.g. the storage region) and a second stripe (e.g. the second storage region) (i.e., mirroring is data cloning from one storage region to another storage region, strip by strip)
Pinto and Wysocki are analogous art because they are from the same field of data protection. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of Pinto and Wysocki to modify Pinto‘s PNM device performing data processing offload/acceleration including RAID operation with Wysocki’s teaching of a RAID logic in which computing-intensive tasks offloaded from host to drive controllers and process RAID strips. The motivation for doing so would be to have computing-intensive tasks offloaded from host and proper RAID stripe processing (Wysocki [0063]).
Regarding Claim 10, Pinto and Wysocki teach
Pinto teaches packing the strip data and results of data processing associated with the strip data to obtain packed data, and transmitting the packed data to the central processing unit; (Pinto [0069] FIG. 4 a device 402 (e.g., a CS device), the host 420 can include a central processing unit (CPU) 424, The host 420 can further be connected 430 to the device 402 [0082] processing element in the storage device to generate second data. systems can transmit, via the storage device, third data based on the second data to the host) (i.e., processing result from CS device be transmitted to host)
and writing, by the central processing unit, the packed data into a storage device of the host associated with the PNM device. (Pinto [0044] Processor 110 and memory 115 may also support an operating system under which various applications may be running. These applications may issue requests (which may also be termed commands) to read data from or write data to either memory 115 or storage device 120.)
Pinto does not teach but Wysocki teaches strip data (Wysocki [0063] The term “lightweight RAID logic” may refer to a RAID logic, in which computing-intensive tasks have been offloaded from the host to the drive controllers of the storage devices used. [0065] RAID processing engines may send completions of the entire flow of a given I/O against a given RAID stripe to the host side lightweight logic)
Pinto and Wysocki are analogous art because they are from the same field of data protection. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of Pinto and Wysocki to modify Pinto‘s PNM device performing data processing offload/acceleration including RAID operation with Wysocki’s teaching of a RAID logic in which computing-intensive tasks offloaded from host to drive controllers and process RAID strips. The motivation for doing so would be to have computing-intensive tasks offloaded from host and proper RAID stripe processing (Wysocki [0063]).
Regarding Claim 11, Pinto teaches
A data processing apparatus applied to a processing near memory (PNM) device, (Pinto [0002] systems and methods for managing memory for computation storage devices. [0012] a computational storage device (e.g., a storage device having a processing functionality) [0036] computational storage (CS) devices (also referred to as near-storage computing devices) can serve to enhance storage functionality uses) (i.e. a computational storage device (CS) is a processing near memory device (PNM))
wherein the data processing apparatus comprises: a pulling processor configured to (Pinto [0037] CS devices can serve to enhance various storage use cases by employing near-storage processing (e.g., performing computations on data proximate to the location of data being stored, for example, in the same device). [0091] the management computing entity 800 may further include or be in communication with volatile media …cache memory)
a pulling processor configured to pull, from a memory of a central processing unit of a host associated with the PNM device, strip data related to target data processing and store the strip data in a cache memory; (Pinto [0069] FIG. 4, Host 420, CPU 424, Memory 422, CS device 402, computing engines 406, Device Local Memory 410 [0070] Device Local Memory (DLM) for use by computational storage) (i.e., data from host CPU memory to PNM device, device local memory is cache memory for storing data for processing by PNM device)
and a data processor configured to pull the strip data from the cache memory strip by strip and perform the target data processing. (Pinto [0085] the processing element 905 may serve perform various acceleration operations such as at least portions of an offload functionality, data pre- or post-processing, combinations thereof, and/or the like. [0086] the transmitting component may queue data in one or more buffers)
Pinto teaches PNM devices performing RAID operations (Pinto [0036] CS devices can include storage element that provides functions known as computational storage functions (CSFs) and persistent data storage. Non-limiting examples of CSFs can include functions providing compression, encryption, Database filter, erasure coding, redundant array of inexpensive disks (RAID), hashing and cyclic redundancy check (CRC) operations), but Pinto does not teach strip data, the strip data strip by strip
However, Wysocki teaches strip data, the strip data strip by strip (Wysocki [0063] The term “lightweight RAID logic” may refer to a RAID logic, in which computing-intensive tasks have been offloaded from the host to the drive controllers of the storage devices used. [0065] RAID processing engines may send completions of the entire flow of a given I/O against a given RAID stripe to the host side lightweight logic)
Pinto and Wysocki are analogous art because they are from the same field of data protection. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of Pinto and Wysocki to modify Pinto‘s PNM device performing data processing offload/acceleration including RAID operation with Wysocki’s teaching of a RAID logic in which computing-intensive tasks offloaded from host to drive controllers and process RAID strips. The motivation for doing so would be to have computing-intensive tasks offloaded from host and proper RAID stripe processing (Wysocki [0063]).
Regarding Claim 12, Pinto and Wysocki teach
Pinto teaches pulling the strip data from the memory (Pinto [0069] FIG. 4, Host 420, CPU 424, Memory 422, CS device 402, computing engines 406, Device Local Memory 410 [0070] Device Local Memory (DLM) for use by computational storage) (i.e., data pulled from host CPU memory to PNM device to be processed)
Pinto does not teach but Wysocki teaches wherein the pulling the strip data from the memory is performed based on the target data processing being an intensive computation for a redundant array of independent disks, and wherein the intensive computation for the redundant array of independent disks is a computation in which a size of computational resources of the central processing unit required to be occupied exceeds a preset resource size. (Wysocki [0063] The term “lightweight RAID logic” may refer to a RAID logic, in which computing-intensive tasks have been offloaded from the host to the drive controllers of the storage devices used. [0073] provide a higher performance than software based NVMe RAID approaches due to offloading data intensive operations to the SSDs with RAID processing engines. Software RAID approaches may consume significant CPU cycles and may behave like noisy tenants in a system due to host CPU cache trashing and necessity of handling IRQs (Interrupt Requests) coming from member disks, especially in the case of complex multistage RAID I/O flows like read-modify-write.) (i.e. offloading computing-intensive tasks from host when the software RAID approach using host CPU consumes significant resources)
Pinto and Wysocki are analogous art because they are from the same field of data protection. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of Pinto and Wysocki to modify Pinto‘s PNM device performing data processing offload/acceleration including RAID operation with Wysocki’s teaching of a RAID logic in which computing-intensive tasks offloaded from host to drive controllers and process RAID strips. The motivation for doing so would be to have computing-intensive tasks offloaded from host and proper RAID stripe processing (Wysocki [0063]).
Regarding Claim 13, Pinto and Wysocki teach
Pinto teaches computation for the redundant array of independent disks (Pinto (Pinto (Pinto [0036] CS devices can include storage element that provides functions known as computational storage functions (CSFs) and persistent data storage. Non-limiting examples of CSFs can include functions providing compression, encryption, Database filter, erasure coding, redundant array of inexpensive disks (RAID), hashing and cyclic redundancy check (CRC) operations),
Pinto does not teach but Wysocki teaches wherein the intensive computation for the redundant array of independent disks comprises at least one of a data checking computation, a data cloning computation, and a data modification computation. (Wysocki [0064] the RAID processing engine located on an SSD with RAID processing engine requires additional requests to multiple drives to fulfill RAID flows (like read-modify-write) [0091] The parity drive 404 may be configured to read 462 the old parity, fetch 464 the XOR value from the memory buffer 426, calculate an XOR value of the old parity and the XOR value to determine a new parity [0027] mirrored data of a RAID 1 configuration)(i.e. parity calculation is for data checking, mirroring data is data cloning)
Pinto and Wysocki are analogous art because they are from the same field of data protection. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of Pinto and Wysocki to modify Pinto‘s PNM device performing data processing offload/acceleration including RAID operation with Wysocki’s teaching of a RAID logic in which computing-intensive tasks offloaded from host to drive controllers and process RAID strips. The motivation for doing so would be to have computing-intensive tasks offloaded from host and proper RAID stripe processing (Wysocki [0063]).
Regarding Claim 14, Pinto and Wysocki teach
Pinto does not teach but Wysocki teaches wherein based on the target data processing being the data checking computation, the data processor is configured to: perform the data checking computation for a data block contained in the strip data that is pulled strip by strip to obtain a check data block corresponding to the strip data that is pulled strip by strip. (Wysocki [0091] the RAID I/O (request) to a parity drive for a given stripe [0093] The Simplified RAID Engine Slave may be configured to calculate a new parity by XOR'ing new data blocks new data 1 and new data 2)
Pinto and Wysocki are analogous art because they are from the same field of data protection. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of Pinto and Wysocki to modify Pinto‘s PNM device performing data processing offload/acceleration including RAID operation with Wysocki’s teaching of a RAID logic in which computing-intensive tasks offloaded from host to drive controllers and process RAID strips. The motivation for doing so would be to have computing-intensive tasks offloaded from host and proper RAID stripe processing (Wysocki [0063]).
Regarding Claim 16, Pinto and Wysocki teach
Pinto does not teach but Wysocki teaches wherein based on the target data processing being the data cloning computation, the data processor is configured to: perform the data cloning computation for a target data block contained in the strip data that is pulled strip by strip to obtain a clone data block corresponding to the target data block. (Wysocki [0002] RAID 1 (full redundancy, mirroring of a storage region of one storage device to another storage region) [0027] mirrored data of a RAID 1 configuration [0028] the RAID may comprise a first stripe (e.g. the storage region) and a second stripe (e.g. the second storage region) (i.e., mirroring is data cloning from one storage region to another storage region, strip by strip)
Pinto and Wysocki are analogous art because they are from the same field of data protection. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of Pinto and Wysocki to modify Pinto‘s PNM device performing data processing offload/acceleration including RAID operation with Wysocki’s teaching of a RAID logic in which computing-intensive tasks offloaded from host to drive controllers and process RAID strips. The motivation for doing so would be to have computing-intensive tasks offloaded from host and proper RAID stripe processing (Wysocki [0063]).
Regarding Claim 19, Pinto and Wysocki teach
Pinto teaches a packing processor configured to pack the strip data and results of data processing associated with the strip data to obtain packed data, and transmit the packed data to the central processing unit; (Pinto [0069] FIG. 4 a device 402 (e.g., a CS device), the host 420 can include a central processing unit (CPU) 424, The host 420 can further be connected 430 to the device 402 [0082] processing element in the storage device to generate second data. systems can transmit, via the storage device, third data based on the second data to the host) (i.e., processing result from CS device be transmitted to host)
and a writing processor configured to write, by the central processing unit, the packed data into a storage device of the host associated with the PNM device. (Pinto [0044] Processor 110 and memory 115 may also support an operating system under which various applications may be running. These applications may issue requests (which may also be termed commands) to read data from or write data to either memory 115 or storage device 120.)
Pinto does not teach but Wysocki teaches strip data (Wysocki [0063] The term “lightweight RAID logic” may refer to a RAID logic, in which computing-intensive tasks have been offloaded from the host to the drive controllers of the storage devices used. [0065] RAID processing engines may send completions of the entire flow of a given I/O against a given RAID stripe to the host side lightweight logic)
Pinto and Wysocki are analogous art because they are from the same field of data protection. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of Pinto and Wysocki to modify Pinto‘s PNM device performing data processing offload/acceleration including RAID operation with Wysocki’s teaching of a RAID logic in which computing-intensive tasks offloaded from host to drive controllers and process RAID strips. The motivation for doing so would be to have computing-intensive tasks offloaded from host and proper RAID stripe processing (Wysocki [0063]).
Regarding Claim 20, Pinto teaches
A processing near memory (PNM) device, comprising: (Pinto [0002] systems and methods for managing memory for computation storage devices. [0012] a computational storage device (e.g., a storage device having a processing functionality) [0036] computational storage (CS) devices (also referred to as near-storage computing devices) can serve to enhance storage functionality uses) (i.e. a computational storage device (CS) is a processing near memory device (PNM))
a PNM processor; and cache memory; (Pinto [0037] CS devices can serve to enhance various storage use cases by employing near-storage processing (e.g., performing computations on data proximate to the location of data being stored, for example, in the same device). [0091] the management computing entity 800 may further include or be in communication with volatile media …cache memory)
wherein the cache memory is configured to: store strip data related to target data processing pulled by the PNM processor from a memory of a central processing unit of a host associated with the PNM device, (Pinto [0069] FIG. 4, Host 420, CPU 424, Memory 422, CS device 402, computing engines 406, Device Local Memory 410 [0070] Device Local Memory (DLM) for use by computational storage) (i.e., data from host CPU memory to PNM device, device local memory is cache memory for storing data for processing by PNM device)
and wherein the PNM processor is configured to: pull strip data from the cache memory strip by strip and perform the target data processing. (Pinto [0085] the processing element 905 may serve perform various acceleration operations such as at least portions of an offload functionality, data pre- or post-processing, combinations thereof, and/or the like. [0086] the transmitting component may queue data in one or more buffers)
Pinto teaches PNM devices performing RAID operations (Pinto [0036] CS devices can include storage element that provides functions known as computational storage functions (CSFs) and persistent data storage. Non-limiting examples of CSFs can include functions providing compression, encryption, Database filter, erasure coding, redundant array of inexpensive disks (RAID), hashing and cyclic redundancy check (CRC) operations), but Pinto does not teach strip data, the strip data strip by strip
However, Wysocki teaches strip data, the strip data strip by strip (Wysocki [0063] The term “lightweight RAID logic” may refer to a RAID logic, in which computing-intensive tasks have been offloaded from the host to the drive controllers of the storage devices used. [0065] RAID processing engines may send completions of the entire flow of a given I/O against a given RAID stripe to the host side lightweight logic)
Pinto and Wysocki are analogous art because they are from the same field of data protection. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of Pinto and Wysocki to modify Pinto‘s PNM device performing data processing offload/acceleration including RAID operation with Wysocki’s teaching of a RAID logic in which computing-intensive tasks offloaded from host to drive controllers and process RAID strips. The motivation for doing so would be to have computing-intensive tasks offloaded from host and proper RAID stripe processing (Wysocki [0063]).
Claim(s) 5, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinto (US 20230042551), in view of Wysocki (US 20190034306), further in view of Ori (US 9274720).
Regarding Claim 5, Pinto and Wysocki teach
Pinto does not teach but Wysocki teaches receiving an algorithm type regarding the data checking computation [a request] transmitted by the central processing unit; (Wysocki [0024] The computer system host 310 is configured to transmit a request related to the storage region to the first storage device)
wherein the performing the data checking computation for the data block contained in the strip data that is pulled strip by strip to obtain the check data block corresponding to the strip data that is pulled strip by strip comprises: performing, based on the algorithm type of the data checking computation, the data checking computation for the data block contained in the strip data that is pulled strip by strip to obtain the check data block corresponding to the strip data that is pulled strip by strip. (Wysocki [0091] the RAID I/O (request) to a parity drive for a given stripe [0093] The Simplified RAID Engine Slave may be configured to calculate a new parity by XOR'ing new data blocks new data 1 and new data 2)
Pinto and Wysocki are analogous art because they are from the same field of data protection. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of Pinto and Wysocki to modify Pinto‘s PNM device performing data processing offload/acceleration including RAID operation with Wysocki’s teaching of a RAID logic in which computing-intensive tasks offloaded from host to drive controllers and process RAID strips. The motivation for doing so would be to have computing-intensive tasks offloaded from host and proper RAID stripe processing (Wysocki [0063]).
Pinto-Wysocki does not teach an algorithm type regarding the data checking computation, based on the algorithm type of the data checking computation
However, Ori teaches an algorithm type regarding the data checking computation, based on the algorithm type of the data checking computation (Ori Col. 8, lines 19-21: RAID-1, RAID-5, RAID-6, RAID-50, RAID-60, 3-parity RAID (N+p+q+r), or any other suitable scheme. Col. 12, lines 20-21: RAID schemes that define multiple parity blocks per stripe)
Pinto, Wysocki and Ori are analogous art because they are from the same field of data protection. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of Pinto, Wysocki and Ori to modify Pinto-Wysocki‘s RAID operation with Ori’s teaching of different RAID scheme/type. The motivation for doing so would be that parity/data checking of multiple parity blocks per stripe is based on RAID schemes (Ori Col. 12, lines 20-21).
Regarding Claim 15, Pinto and Wysocki teach
Pinto does not teach but Wysocki teaches a receiving processor configured to receive an algorithm type regarding the data checking computation [a request] transmitted by the central processing unit; (Wysocki [0024] The computer system host 310 is configured to transmit a request related to the storage region to the first storage device)
and wherein the data processor is configured to: perform, based on the algorithm type of the data checking computation, the data checking computation for the data block contained in the strip data that is pulled strip by strip to obtain the check data block corresponding to the strip data that is pulled strip by strip. (Wysocki [0091] the RAID I/O (request) to a parity drive for a given stripe [0093] The Simplified RAID Engine Slave may be configured to calculate a new parity by XOR'ing new data blocks new data 1 and new data 2)
Pinto and Wysocki are analogous art because they are from the same field of data protection. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of Pinto and Wysocki to modify Pinto‘s PNM device performing data processing offload/acceleration including RAID operation with Wysocki’s teaching of a RAID logic in which computing-intensive tasks offloaded from host to drive controllers and process RAID strips. The motivation for doing so would be to have computing-intensive tasks offloaded from host and proper RAID stripe processing (Wysocki [0063]).
Pinto-Wysocki does not teach an algorithm type regarding the data checking computation, based on the algorithm type of the data checking computation
However, Ori teaches an algorithm type regarding the data checking computation, based on the algorithm type of the data checking computation (Ori Col. 8, lines 19-21: RAID-1, RAID-5, RAID-6, RAID-50, RAID-60, 3-parity RAID (N+p+q+r), or any other suitable scheme. Col. 12, lines 20-21: RAID schemes that define multiple parity blocks per stripe)
Pinto, Wysocki and Ori are analogous art because they are from the same field of data protection. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, having the teaching of Pinto, Wysocki and Ori to modify Pinto-Wysocki‘s RAID operation with Ori’s teaching of different RAID scheme/type. The motivation for doing so would be that parity/data checking of multiple parity blocks per stripe is based on RAID schemes (Ori Col. 12, lines 20-21).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Aga (US 20250110898) teaches processing-in-memory utilized by the host to offload performance of computations
Simionescu (US 20180113633) teaches efficient cache buffering for strip data and parity
Conclusion
/WEI MA/Examiner, Art Unit 2135