DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiya et al. (US 2012/0206104 A1) in view of Park et al. (US 2013/0169064 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Tsuchiya discloses, in figure 1, a power supply system (electric power supply system of Fig. 1) (Par 0022) that supplies AC power from a system power supply (power system 2) to an electrical load (10) of a house (1) (Par 0022-0024), the power supply system comprising: a vehicle (90) in which a power storage device (93) is mounted (Par 0040); a current circuit breaker (master breaker 5) that receives AC power to be supplied to the house (1) from the system power supply (power system 2) (Par 0023), and interrupts the AC power at least when overcurrent occurs (Par 0023); a load circuit breaker (current breaker 6) that electrically disconnects the current circuit breaker (5) and the electrical load (10) from each other (Par 0023; “The distribution board 3 is equipped with a master breaker 5 and a current breaker 6. The current breaker 6 has a short circuit detection function to regulate an upper limit of an electric current flowing into each circuit system. In FIG. 1, elements located out of the distribution board 3 and each denoted with the reference numeral 6 are also current breakers (short circuit breakers) having the short circuit detection function.”); a second switch (Fig. 3; 35) that is provided on a power line (Fig. 3; 31) branched from a power line (21) between the first switch (41 as taught by Park) and the electrical load (10) (Par 0035), and switches between electrical connection and disconnection between the electrical load (10) and the vehicle (90) (Par 0037); and a control device (30) that controls operation of each of the first switch (41 as taught by Park) and the second switch (Fig. 3; 35) (Par 0046), wherein in response to receiving a power feeding stop command from the vehicle (90) during power feeding from the vehicle (90) (Par 0056; “the vehicular charge-and-discharge device 92 detects the empty state according to the SOC state (state-of-charge state) of the vehicular battery 93 and transmits a discharge termination command to the control ECU 30. It is conceivable that the control ECU 30 receives the discharge termination command from the vehicular charge-and-discharge device 92 in a condition where the alternating output from the vehicle 90 is converted into direct-current electricity, and the bidirectional power conditioner 11 is caused to discharge the converted direct-current electricity into the alternating-current power line 4”), the control device (30) switches a source of electric power to be supplied to the electrical load (10), from the vehicle (90) to the system power supply when a power feeding voltage from the vehicle becomes equal to or less than a threshold value (Par 0055-0056; during discharge termination when the vehicular charge-and-discharge device 92 detects the empty state according to the SOC state (state-of-charge state) of the vehicular battery 93 which is less than threshold value, a discharge termination command is transmitted to the control ECU 30. Further, the control ECU 30 deactivates the relay device 35 and activates the relay device 25, thus relay device 35 is open and allows the electric load 10 to be only supplied by the grid).
Tsuchiya does not disclose a first switch that switches between electrical connection and disconnection between the current circuit breaker and the electrical load.
However, Park discloses, in figure 6, a first switch (41) that switches between electrical connection and disconnection between the current circuit breaker (52) and the electrical load (4) (Par 0066-0067).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tsuchiya’s alternating-current power line by including a first switch that switches between electrical connection and disconnection between the current circuit breaker and the electrical load as taught by Park in order to protect the battery from over charge protection, over discharge protection, over current protection, over voltage protection, over heating protection (Park; Par 0051).
In regards to claim 2, Tsuchiya and Park disclose the power supply system according to claim 1. Tsuchiya further discloses, in figure 3, wherein in at least one of: a case in which the vehicle (Fig. 1; 90) and the second switch (Fig. 3; 35) are disconnected from each other (Par 0055; “the control ECU 30 further deactivates the relay device 35 and activates the relay device 25”); and a case of receiving an operation for stopping the power feeding (Par 0056), the vehicle (90) transmits the power feeding stop command to the control device (30) (Par 0056).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiya et al. (US 2012/0206104 A1) in view of Park et al. (US 2013/0169064 A1) in further view of Matsumoto et al. (US 2012/0280804 A1).
In regards to claim 4, Tsuchiya and Park disclose the power supply system according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the house includes a power conditioner that receives electric power generated by a solar power generation device, the power conditioner supplies AC power to the vehicle when being connected with the vehicle, and the power supply system further comprises a third switch that switches between electrical connection and disconnection between the power conditioner and the vehicle.
However, Matsumoto discloses, in figure 2, wherein the house includes a power conditioner (38) that receives electric power generated by a solar power generation device (35) (Par 0039), the power conditioner (38) supplies AC power to the vehicle (electric vehicle EV) when being connected with the vehicle (Par 0038-0039), and the power supply system further comprises a third switch (31; Par 0041; “The distribution board 31 includes a switch (not shown)”) that switches between electrical connection and disconnection between the power conditioner (38) and the vehicle (electric vehicle EV) (Par 0041-0042).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tsuchiya’s electric power supply system by including wherein the house includes a power conditioner that receives electric power generated by a solar power generation device, the power conditioner supplies AC power to the vehicle when being connected with the vehicle, and the power supply system further comprises a third switch that switches between electrical connection and disconnection between the power conditioner and the vehicle as taught by Matsumoto in order to prevent emission of greenhouse effect gas, to thereby promote environmental protection (Matsumoto; Par 0004).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yoko et al. (US 2018/0361859 A1); discloses a charging facility collects DC power supplied from a plurality of power supply devices in a DC bus, and then uses the DC power to charge an on-board rechargeable battery for an electric vehicle. In an energy management method for a charging facility, each power supply device operates under independent automatic control according to a change in voltage in the DC bus. An upper-level control unit which collectively controls a plurality of power supply sources is not required, and a plurality of power supply devices can be combined with a simple configuration achieved by merely connecting respective output terminals to the DC bus. In addition, the entire charging facility can be operated flexibly. Thus, it is possible to achieve a simple configuration and to allow flexible operation while a plurality of power converters are combined with a system power supply.
Hamada et al. (US 2022/0194250 A1); discloses a first determination unit determines whether reserve of the power network is not less than a first reference value. When reserve of the power network is not less than the first reference value, a first permission unit permits supply of electric power from the power network to a vehicle. When reserve of the power network is smaller than the first reference value, a second determination unit determines whether or not electric power corresponding to charging power can be supplied to the power network by having at least one of power adjustment resources respond to vehicle charging. When the second determination unit determines that electric power can be supplied, a second permission unit permits supply of electric power from the power network to the vehicle.
Endo et al. (US 2012/0022744 A1); a power supply system comprises a chargeable power storage device; a charging device configured to perform external charging for charging the power storage device using alternating-current power supplied from an external power supply; an air conditioner receiving electric power from the charging device and the power storage device and air-conditioning a compartment in a vehicle; an auxiliary machinery load; and an ECU. The ECU controls at least one of the charging device and the auxiliary machinery load so as to increase the electric power output from the power storage device in a case where overcharging of the power storage device is expected when the air conditioner is intermittently operated during external charging.
/ALEX W LAM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2836