DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 22 September 2025 and 3 April 2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 117519512 A) in view of Mölne (US 2010/0045612).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang et al. disclose an electronic device (Figures 1-6) comprising:
a housing (Figures 1-2, 21 and 22 are a housing);
a first button and a second button disposed on a side surface of the housing (Figures 1-2, 100 comprises a first button and a second button as shown in Figure 3 where there are two buttons 12.);
a display disposed at a front surface of the housing (See page 17 of the provided document, second full paragraph, which recites: “Referring to FIG. 1 to FIG. 6, an embodiment of the invention provides a haptic feedback system 100, which is applied to a terminal device 200…the terminal device 200 can be a mobile phone…” where, if the device is a mobile phone, it is well-know that mobile phones have a display disposed at a front surface of the housing.);
a first pressure sensor configured to sense a first pressure on the first button (Figure 3 shows that there is a first pressure sensor 2 for the first button 12 [left button 12 in the Figure], which will sense a first pressure.);
a second pressure sensor configured to sense a second pressure on the second button (Figure 3 shows that there is a second pressure sensor 2 for the second button 12 [right button 12 in the Figure], which will sensor a second pressure.); and
a vibration element configured to output a vibration based on the first pressure or the second pressure (Figure 3 shows a vibration element 3. See page 17 of the provided document, sixth full paragraph, which recites: “the touch feedback vibrator 3, the touch feedback vibrator 3 is used for according to the pressure parameter collected by the pressure sensor 2 to perform the corresponding vibration feedback driving; the pressure sensor 2 and the pressing part 1 are rigidly connected to form an integrated module, the integrated module is flexibly connected with the middle frame 22 through an elastic body 5, and the deformation direction of the elastic body 5 is consistent with the vibration direction of the touch feedback vibrator 3. The flexible connection between the tactile feedback vibrator 3 and the middle frame 22 not only can realize local vibration, but also can shield or reduce the tactile feedback in the unwanted direction because of the flexible connection between the integrated module and the middle frame 22. At the same time, the frequency response range of the haptic feedback system 100 can be enlarged and the amount of vibration can be enlarged at the resonance point of the haptic feedback system 100. The F0 (working frequency) of the haptic feedback system 100 can be controlled to be more than 300 Hz to meet different vibration requirements” and also page 18 of the provided document, first full paragraph, which recites: “In the embodiment, the pressing part 1 comprises a key main body 11 and at least one key cap 12 formed by the key main body 11 protruding out of the middle frame 22, the key main body 11 is set on the inner side of the middle frame 22, the key cap 12 is set in the through hole 221, one side of each key cap 12 close to the tactile feedback vibrator 3 is correspondingly provided with one pressure sensor 2; The key body 11 can realize the strain and reset generated after being pressed. the key cap 12 is pressed to transmit the pressure to the pressure sensor 2 through the key main body 11, the pressure sensor 2 collects the pressed pressure parameter, the signal of the pressure parameter is transmitted to the tactile feedback vibrator 3, the tactile feedback vibrator 3 outputs the corresponding vibration frequency according to the pressure parameter, It is used for providing touch feedback for experiencing good feeling.”.);
wherein the electronic device is configured to:
identify, using the first pressure sensor, the first pressure on the first button (Figure 3, the first pressure will be identified for the first button when pressed, using the first pressure sensor.),
based on identifying the first pressure, output, using the vibration element, a first vibration corresponding to the first pressure (Page 18 of the provided document, first full paragraph, which recites: “In the embodiment, the pressing part 1 comprises a key main body 11 and at least one key cap 12 formed by the key main body 11 protruding out of the middle frame 22, the key main body 11 is set on the inner side of the middle frame 22, the key cap 12 is set in the through hole 221, one side of each key cap 12 close to the tactile feedback vibrator 3 is correspondingly provided with one pressure sensor 2; The key body 11 can realize the strain and reset generated after being pressed. the key cap 12 is pressed to transmit the pressure to the pressure sensor 2 through the key main body 11, the pressure sensor 2 collects the pressed pressure parameter, the signal of the pressure parameter is transmitted to the tactile feedback vibrator 3, the tactile feedback vibrator 3 outputs the corresponding vibration frequency according to the pressure parameter, It is used for providing touch feedback for experiencing good feeling.” Thus, a first vibration according to the first pressure will be output.),
identify, using the second pressure sensor, the second pressure on the second button (Figure 3, the second pressure will be identified for the second button when pressed, using the second pressure.), and
based on identifying the second pressure, output, using the vibration element, a second vibration corresponding to the second pressure (Page 18 of the provided document, first full paragraph, which recites: “In the embodiment, the pressing part 1 comprises a key main body 11 and at least one key cap 12 formed by the key main body 11 protruding out of the middle frame 22, the key main body 11 is set on the inner side of the middle frame 22, the key cap 12 is set in the through hole 221, one side of each key cap 12 close to the tactile feedback vibrator 3 is correspondingly provided with one pressure sensor 2; The key body 11 can realize the strain and reset generated after being pressed. the key cap 12 is pressed to transmit the pressure to the pressure sensor 2 through the key main body 11, the pressure sensor 2 collects the pressed pressure parameter, the signal of the pressure parameter is transmitted to the tactile feedback vibrator 3, the tactile feedback vibrator 3 outputs the corresponding vibration frequency according to the pressure parameter, It is used for providing touch feedback for experiencing good feeling.” Thus, a second vibration according to the second pressure will be output.).
Zhang et al. fail to teach wherein the vibration element is disposed between the first pressure sensor and the second pressure sensor, and, although Zhang et al. states that the device is a mobile phones, Zhang et al. fails to explicitly teach at least one processor comprising processing circuitry, and memory comprising one or more storage media, storing instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to perform the steps.
Mölne discloses an electronic device (Figures 1-3) comprising a display (Figures 1-3 and paragraph [0025].), a first pressure sensor (Figures 2-3, first 7 on the left), a second pressure sensor (Figures 2-3, second 7 on the right), a vibration element (Figure 2, 12), wherein the vibration element is disposed between a first pressure sensor and a second pressure sensor (Figure 2, 12 is located between the first 7 and the second 7 located at the closest edges shown in the Figure.), and
at least one processor comprising processing circuitry (Paragraphs [0039] and [0063].), and
memory comprising one or more storage media, storing instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to perform steps (Paragraphs [0039] and [0063].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to “one of ordinary skill” in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the central teachings of the vibration element of Mölne, as well as using a processor and a memory, in the electronic device taught by Zhang et al. The motivation to combine would have been in order to provide a more centralized location for the vibration element relative to the first and second buttons, thus providing more consistent feedback to the user. Further, moving the vibration element to be disposed between the first pressure sensor and the second pressure sensor would require a mere rearrangement of parts that has been held unpatentable because shifting the position would not have modified the operation of the device. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang et al. and Mölne disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first pressure sensor is disposed under the first button (Zhang et al.: Figure 3 shows the first pressure sensor 2 is disposed under the first button 12.); and wherein the second pressure sensor is disposed under the second button (Zhang et al.: Figure 3 shows the second pressure sensor 2 is disposed under the second button 12.).
Regarding claim 14, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 117519512 A) in view of Mölne (US 2010/0045612) and further in view of Welch et al. (US 11,816,056).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang et al. and Mölne disclose the electronic device of claim 1.
Zhang et al. and Mölne fail to teach wherein the electronic device further comprises:
a third button disposed on the side surface of the housing, and
a switch circuit for sensing an input on the third button; and
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
in response to the first pressure on the first button and the input on the third button being maintained during reference time, reset the electronic device.
Welch et al. disclose a electronic device comprises:
a third button disposed on the side surface of a housing (Figure 2 shows first, second and third buttons on the side surface of a housing: 220, 222 and 224.), and
a switch circuit for sensing an input on the third button (Figure 4 and column 18, line 64 to column 19, line 19.); and
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
in response to first pressure on the first button and the input on the third button being maintained during reference time, reset the electronic device (column 18, line 64 to column 19, line 19: “multiple button presses for a factory reset” which clearly will have to occur for some period of time during which both buttons are pressed for the reset to take place, i.e. a non-zero time is a reference time.).
Hence the prior art includes each element claimed although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of the actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. In combination, the combination of Zhang et al. and Mölne performs the same function as it does separately of providing an electronic device comprising side buttons and vibration, and Welch et al. performs the same function as it does separately of providing three side buttons, where two can be pressed together for a device reset.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performed the same function as it does separately. The results of the combination would have been predictable and resulted in a third button disposed on the side surface of a housing and providing resetting the device when pressure is applied to the first button and the third button is also pressed.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 20, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 9.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 117519512 A) in view of Mölne (US 2010/0045612) and further in view of Hashimoto et al. (JP 2004-039278 A).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang et al. and Mölne disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the electronic device comprises a button assembly for the first button and the second button (Zhang et al.: Figure 3.); wherein the button assembly further comprises:
a base frame including a protrusion unit formed to protrude from the side surface of the housing (Zhang et al.: Figure 3, 11 is a based frame.).
While Zhang et al. discloses a rubber 5 in Figure 3, Zhang et al. and Mölne fail to teach:
a first rubber for cushioning an impact, under the base frame; and
a second rubber for waterproof from an outside of the housing, connected to the first rubber.
Hashimoto et al. disclose a button assembly comprising:
a first rubber for cushioning an impact, under a base frame (Figure 1, 2c and paragraph [0018].); and
a second rubber for waterproof from an outside of the housing, connected to the first rubber (Figure 1, 2e and paragraph [0019].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to “one of ordinary skill” in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the rubber teachings of Hashimoto et al. in the button assembly taught by the combination of Zhang et al. and Mölne. The motivation to combine would have been in order to prevent water from entering between the buttons when operated and the button hole on the surface (See paragraph [0001] of Hashimoto et al.).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang et al., Mölne and Hashimoto et al. disclose the electronic device of claim 12, wherein the first button is defined based on a first portion of the base frame, and wherein the second button is defined based on a second portion of the base frame (Zhang et al.: Figure 1, the first button 12 is defined by a first portion of 11 and the second button 12 is defined by a second portion of 11.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8, 10 and 15-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reasons for indicating allowable subject matter in claim 2 is the inclusion of the limitations reciting “wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: in case that the first pressure on the first button is not identified using the first pressure sensor and a third pressure on the first button is identified using the vibration element, identify malfunction associated with the first button” which, in combination with the other recited features, is not taught and/or suggested either singularly or in combination within the prior art.
Zhang et al. does disclose, on page 18 of the provided document, last paragraph. Which recites “In this embodiment, the haptic feedback system 100 further comprises a touch module for detecting the gesture operation. And it can avoid some wrong operation, such as the trigger caused by the change of the pressure value caused by the external force such as falling, extruding and so on. However, when there is no touch module, the included pressure sensor 2 module can also be used for gesture operation detection, such as sliding, multi-level pressure and so on.” However, Zhang et al. fail to provide any specifics, and thus fails to teach the specific malfunction identification as highlighted above.
Claims 3-8 are indicated as having allowable subject matter due to their dependency from claim 2.
The primary reasons for indicating allowable subject matter in claim 10 is the inclusion of the limitations reciting “wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on identifying, via the vibration element, a third pressure on the first button, identify that a function allocated to the first pressure on the first button is not executed during a reference time interval, and based on identifying that the function allocated to the first pressure on the first button is not executed during the reference time interval, detect malfunction associated with the first button” which, in combination with the other recited features, is not taught and/or suggested either singularly or in combination within the prior art.
Claim 15 is indicated as having allowable subject matter for the same reasons as claim 2.
Claims 16-19 are indicated as having allowable subject matter due to their dependency from claim 15.
Conclusion
/STEPHEN G SHERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621
17 June 2026