DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The status of the claims is as follows:
(a) Claims 1-10 remain pending.
Priority
The Applicant claims benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. §119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. §120, §121, §365(c), or §386(c).
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS) filed on 09/22/2025 and 05/26/2026 comply with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. §1.97 and §1.98. The Examiner has considered all references, except for any references lined through on the attached IDS form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. U.S. P.G. Publication 2023/0112480 (hereinafter, Suzuki), in view of Hsu et al. U.S. P.G. Publication 2022/0126845 (hereinafter, Hsu).
Regarding Claim 1, Suzuki describes a vehicle that allows an autonomous driving kit to be mounted thereto (vehicle including attachable autonomous driving kit, Suzuki, Paragraphs 0036–0039 and Figure 1), comprising:
-a vehicle control interface box (VCIB, Suzuki, Paragraphs 0039 and 0049 and Figure 1); and
-a vehicle system (vehicle platform, Suzuki, Paragraphs 0039–0042 and Figure 1),
-the vehicle control interface box including a first controller and a second controller (first and second VCIB controllers, Suzuki, Paragraph 0061 and Figure 2),
-the vehicle system including a brake device configured to decelerate the vehicle (brake system, Suzuki, Paragraphs 0042–0043 and Figure 2),
-the vehicle system being configured to be capable of receiving a command from the autonomous driving kit through each of a plurality of paths (redundant communication paths, Suzuki, Paragraphs 0056 and 0061–0067 and Figure 2), the plurality of paths including:
-a first path via the first controller (first VCIB communication path, Suzuki, Paragraphs 0061–0066 and Figure 2); and
-a second path via the second controller (second VCIB communication path, Suzuki, Paragraphs 0061–0066 and Figure 2),
the vehicle system being configured to:
-in response to only one of the plurality of paths failing while the vehicle is autonomously driven, continue to autonomously drive the vehicle based on the command received from the autonomous driving kit through a path other than the failed path (redundant control systems maintain vehicle functionality by switching to another control system upon failure, Suzuki, Paragraphs 0067–0068 and Figure 2); and …
Suzuki does not specifically disclose the vehicle system configured to: in response to the first and second paths both failing while the vehicle is autonomously driven, apply autonomous deceleration control to control the brake device to decelerate the vehicle.
Hsu discloses, teaches, or at least suggests detecting failures in redundant braking communication paths and transitioning to alternative functioning paths (Hsu, Paragraphs 0037–0040 and Figures 2–3). Hsu further teaches applying a safe stopping maneuver, including a safe in-lane stop, when communication or controller failures prevent continued normal operation (Hsu, Paragraph 0041 and Figure 2).
As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Suzuki's vehicle system to include in response to the first and second paths both failing while the vehicle is autonomously driven, applying autonomous deceleration control to control the brake device to decelerate the vehicle, as disclosed, taught, or suggested by Hsu.
It would have been obvious to combine and modify the cited references, with a reasonable expectation of success, because initiating autonomous deceleration when both communication paths fail allows the vehicle to reach a safe stopping condition when autonomous operation can no longer be maintained (Hsu, Paragraphs 0039–0041).
Regarding Claim 2, Suzuki, as modified, describes the vehicle of claim 1, wherein:
-the vehicle system further includes a third controller and a fourth controller configured to control the brake device (first and second brake systems, Suzuki, Paragraphs 0065–0068 and Figure 2; primary and secondary brake controllers, Hsu, Paragraphs 0026–0028 and Figure 2),
-the first path is a path to pass the command from the autonomous driving kit to reach the third controller via the first controller (first VCIB controller to first brake system, Suzuki, Paragraphs 0061–0068 and Figure 2), and
-the second path is a path to pass the command from the autonomous driving kit to reach the fourth controller via the second controller (second VCIB controller to second brake system, Suzuki, Paragraphs 0061–0068 and Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 3, Suzuki, as modified, describes the vehicle of claim 2, wherein:
-when the first path does not fail, the third controller controls the brake device based on the command received from the autonomous driving kit through the first path (first brake system controlling the braking apparatus based on commands received through the first VCIB controller, Suzuki, Paragraph 0068 and Figure 2); and
…
Suzuki does not specifically disclose the plurality of paths to further include a third path to pass the command from the autonomous driving kit to reach the third controller via the second controller, and when the first path fails and the second and third paths each do not fail, the third controller controls the brake device based on the command received from the autonomous driving kit through the third path.
Hsu discloses, teaches, or at least suggests a third communication path between a secondary vehicle controller and a primary brake controller (Hsu, Paragraphs 0026–0028 and Figure 2). Hsu further teaches selecting the third communication path when the primary controller or its communication path fails (Hsu, Paragraphs 0039–0040 and 0044–0048 and Figures 2–3).
As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Suzuki's vehicle to further include a third path to pass the command from the autonomous driving kit to reach the third controller via the second controller, and when the first path fails and the second and third paths each do not fail, the third controller controls the brake device based on the command received from the autonomous driving kit through the third path, as disclosed, taught, or suggested by Hsu.
It would have been obvious to combine and modify the cited references, with a reasonable expectation of success, because providing an additional communication path allows the primary brake controller to remain operational when the first communication path fails (Hsu, Paragraphs 0026–0028 and 0039–0040).
Regarding Claim 4, Suzuki, as modified, describes the vehicle of claim 3.
Suzuki does not specifically disclose the vehicle wherein when the first and third paths both fail, the third controller or the fourth controller applies the autonomous deceleration control.
Hsu discloses, teaches, or at least suggests detecting failures in multiple communication paths and performing a safe stopping maneuver when normal braking control cannot be maintained (Hsu, Paragraphs 0039–0041 and Figures 2–3). Hsu further teaches redundant braking controllers capable of controlling the braking system through alternative communication paths (Hsu, Paragraphs 0026–0028 and Figure 2).
As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Suzuki's vehicle to include when the first and third paths both fail, the third controller or the fourth controller applies the autonomous deceleration control, as disclosed, taught, or suggested by Hsu.
It would have been obvious to combine and modify the cited references, with a reasonable expectation of success, because initiating a safe stopping maneuver through an available brake controller allows the vehicle to decelerate when communication with the primary brake controller is lost (Hsu, Paragraphs 0026–0028 and 0039–0041).
Regarding Claim 5, Suzuki, as modified, describes the vehicle of claim 1, wherein:
-the first controller communicates with the autonomous driving kit (first VCIB controller, Suzuki, Paragraphs 0061–0064 and Figure 2); and
-the second controller communicates with the autonomous driving kit (second VCIB controller, Suzuki, Paragraphs 0061–0064 and Figure 2).
Suzuki does not specifically disclose the vehicle wherein the first controller is configured to determine whether communication between the autonomous driving kit and the first controller fails, and output a result of the determination to the vehicle system, and the second controller is configured to determine whether communication between the autonomous driving kit and the second controller fails, and output a result of the determination to the vehicle system.
Hsu discloses, teaches, or at least suggests monitoring the integrity of redundant communication paths and detecting controller or communication failures (Hsu, Paragraphs 0037–0040 and Figure 2). Hsu further teaches utilizing monitoring and diagnostic information to identify communication failures and select an available control path (Hsu, Paragraphs 0039–0041 and Figures 2–3).
As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Suzuki's vehicle to include the first controller determining whether communication between the autonomous driving kit and the first controller fails and outputting a result to the vehicle system, and the second controller determining whether communication between the autonomous driving kit and the second controller fails and outputting a result to the vehicle system, as disclosed, taught, or suggested by Hsu.
It would have been obvious to combine and modify the cited references, with a reasonable expectation of success, because monitoring and reporting the status of each communication path allows the vehicle system to identify failed communication paths and maintain control through a functioning path (Hsu, Paragraphs 0039–0040).
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. U.S. P.G. Publication 2023/0112480 (hereinafter, Suzuki), in view of Hsu et al. U.S. P.G. Publication 2022/0126845 (hereinafter, Hsu), and further in view of Kern et al. U.S. P.G. Publication 2021/0155201 (hereinafter, Kern).
Regarding Claim 6, Suzuki, as modified, describes the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the vehicle control interface box receives commands from the autonomous driving kit (VCIB receiving commands from the ADK, Suzuki, Paragraphs 0049 and 0061–0064 and Figures 1–2).
Suzuki does not specifically disclose the vehicle wherein the vehicle control interface box is configured to switch the autonomous deceleration control between an enabled state and a disabled state based on a request received from the autonomous driving kit, and the vehicle system is configured to apply the autonomous deceleration control only when the autonomous deceleration control is enabled.
Kern discloses, teaches, or at least suggests a safety controller configured to enable an automatic emergency braking function in response to a remotely received control signal (Kern, Paragraphs 0016 and 0023–0027 and Figures 1–2). Kern further teaches controlling activation and deactivation of the automatic emergency braking function through a control interface (Kern, Paragraphs 0023 and 0027 and Figure 2).
As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Suzuki's vehicle to include the vehicle control interface box switching the autonomous deceleration control between an enabled state and a disabled state based on a request received from the autonomous driving kit, and applying the autonomous deceleration control only when the autonomous deceleration control is enabled, as disclosed, taught, or suggested by Kern.
It would have been obvious to combine and modify the cited references, with a reasonable expectation of success, because providing an enable/disable command through the existing control interface allows the autonomous driving system to configure the availability of the fallback braking function (Kern, Paragraphs 0016 and 0023–0027).
Regarding Claim 7, Suzuki, as modified, describes the vehicle of claim 6.
Suzuki does not specifically disclose the vehicle wherein the vehicle control interface box is configured to prohibit switching of enabling/disabling the autonomous deceleration control while the vehicle is autonomously driven.
Kern discloses, teaches, or at least suggests disabling an override function that controls activation or deactivation of an automatic emergency braking system (Kern, Paragraphs 0023 and 0027 and Figure 2).
Suzuki further teaches prohibiting changes to a vehicle control command while the vehicle is traveling, including permitting changes to an immobilization command only while the vehicle is stationary (Suzuki, Paragraphs 0173–0177).
As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Suzuki's vehicle to include prohibiting switching of enabling/disabling the autonomous deceleration control while the vehicle is autonomously driven, as disclosed, taught, or suggested by Kern and Suzuki.
It would have been obvious to combine and modify the cited references, with a reasonable expectation of success, because prohibiting changes to the fallback braking enable state during autonomous driving prevents unintended disabling of the safety function while the vehicle is operating (Kern, Paragraphs 0023–0027; Suzuki, Paragraphs 0173–0177).
Regarding Claim 8, Suzuki, as modified, describes the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the vehicle system controls a brake device to decelerate the vehicle (brake system, Suzuki, Paragraphs 0042–0043 and 0068 and Figure 2).
Suzuki does not specifically disclose the vehicle wherein the vehicle system is configured to avoid obtaining a new command from the autonomous driving kit while the autonomous deceleration control is applied, and continue the autonomous deceleration control until the vehicle has a stationary status.
Kern discloses, teaches, or at least suggests disregarding acceleration inputs during a controlled stopping procedure (Kern, Paragraphs 0017–0018 and Figure 1). Kern further teaches continuing a controlled speed reduction until the vehicle reaches a stopping speed and subsequently applying braking to stop the vehicle (Kern, Paragraphs 0019–0020 and Figures 1–2).
As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Suzuki's vehicle to include avoiding obtaining a new command from the autonomous driving kit while the autonomous deceleration control is applied, and continuing the autonomous deceleration control until the vehicle has a stationary status, as disclosed, taught, or suggested by Kern.
It would have been obvious to combine and modify the cited references, with a reasonable expectation of success, because preventing new control commands from interrupting an active fail-safe stopping procedure allows the vehicle to complete its controlled deceleration until stationary (Kern, Paragraphs 0017–0020).
Regarding Claim 9, Suzuki, as modified, describes the vehicle of claim 8, wherein the vehicle system controls the brake device based on a deceleration request from the autonomous driving kit (acceleration command including deceleration requests, Suzuki, Paragraphs 0185–0191).
Suzuki does not specifically disclose the vehicle wherein when the vehicle system determines that the first and second paths both fail while the autonomous driving kit transmits a deceleration request to decelerate the vehicle, the vehicle system controls the brake device in the autonomous deceleration control to cause deceleration for the vehicle to approach a larger one of a deceleration requested by the deceleration request and a predetermined deceleration.
Kern discloses, teaches, or at least suggests a predetermined controlled deceleration procedure for slowing a vehicle to a stop (Kern, Paragraphs 0019–0020 and Figures 1–2).
As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Suzuki's vehicle to include when the vehicle system determines that the first and second paths both fail while the autonomous driving kit transmits a deceleration request to decelerate the vehicle, controlling the brake device in the autonomous deceleration control to cause deceleration for the vehicle to approach a larger one of a deceleration requested by the deceleration request and a predetermined deceleration, as disclosed, taught, or suggested by Kern.
It would have been obvious to combine and modify the cited references, with a reasonable expectation of success, because selecting the larger deceleration allows the vehicle to maintain the greater requested braking response while ensuring sufficient deceleration during the fail-safe stopping procedure (Kern, Paragraphs 0019–0020).
Regarding Claim 10, Suzuki, as modified, describes the vehicle of claim 9, wherein:
-the vehicle system further includes a vehicle drive device configured to accelerate the vehicle (propulsion system, Suzuki, Paragraphs 0046 and 0072 and Figure 2); and …
Suzuki does not specifically disclose the vehicle wherein when the vehicle system determines that the first and second paths both fail while the autonomous driving kit transmits an acceleration request to accelerate the vehicle, the vehicle system controls the vehicle drive device in the autonomous deceleration control to zero acceleration for the vehicle, and subsequently controls the brake device in the autonomous deceleration control to cause deceleration for the vehicle to approach a predetermined deceleration.
Kern discloses, teaches, or at least suggests disabling or eliminating throttle input during a controlled stopping procedure (Kern, Paragraphs 0017–0018 and Figure 1). Kern further teaches controlling the braking system to reduce vehicle speed according to predetermined speed-reduction parameters (Kern, Paragraphs 0019–0020 and Figures 1–2). Kern additionally teaches transmitting control signals to disable throttle functionality and reduce vehicle speed through controlled deceleration (Kern, Paragraphs 0029–0032 and Figure 3).
As a result, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found it obvious to modify Suzuki's vehicle to include when the vehicle system determines that the first and second paths both fail while the autonomous driving kit transmits an acceleration request to accelerate the vehicle, controlling the vehicle drive device in the autonomous deceleration control to zero acceleration for the vehicle, and subsequently controlling the brake device in the autonomous deceleration control to cause deceleration for the vehicle to approach a predetermined deceleration, as disclosed, taught, or suggested by Kern.
It would have been obvious to combine and modify the cited references, with a reasonable expectation of success, because eliminating an acceleration request before applying predetermined deceleration prevents conflicting propulsion and braking commands during a fail-safe stopping maneuver (Kern, Paragraphs 0017–0020 and 0029–0032).
Conclusion
/ANDREW J CROMER/Examiner, Art Unit 3667