DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the claims filed on 22 September 2025. Claims 1-13 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a server” in line 10. It is unclear if this is the same or different server already mentioned in the claim. For the purposes of examination, this element will be considered to state “the server.” Appropriate correction is required. Claims 2-12 inherit this deficiency.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “optionally contingent on verification of a prescription and subscription” in lines 12-13. It is unclear if this is a required element or not. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 USC § 101
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?
Claims 1-12 fall within one or more statutory categories. Claims 1-11 fall within the category of a machine. Claim 12 falls within the category of a process.
Step 2A Prong One: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Claims 1-12 recite an abstract idea. Representative claim 1 recites:
a1) authenticate the patient to the system;
a2) guide the patient through … acquiring tinnitus-related data of the patient via patient input;
c1) enforce completion of the plurality of interactive diagnostic modules by disabling access to therapeutic modules in the patient component and enabling access to diagnostic modules;
c2) process the tinnitus-related data …, for automatically assigning the patient to one of a plurality of predefined patient categories, each patient category corresponding to a distinct tinnitus-therapy profile …;
c3) enable access to the therapeutic modules in the patient component after patient categorization;
c4) … programming therapy signal generation parameters, based on the assigned patient category, to enable selective access to therapeutic modules involved in the distinct tinnitus-therapy profile corresponding to the assigned patient category;
c5) … based on a current state of use, to enable access to either diagnostic or therapeutic modules; and
c6) automatically enforce scheduled periodic re-categorization, comprising:
disabling access to therapeutic modules and enabling access to diagnostic modules in the patient component;
acquiring updated tinnitus-related data;
reprocessing the updated data … to re-assign a patient category; and
reprogramming the therapy signal generation parameters in the patient component based on the re-assigned patient category.
Therefore, the claim as a whole is directed to “diagnosis and treatment of tinnitus,” which is an abstract idea because it is a method of organizing human activity. “Diagnosis and treatment of tinnitus” is considered to be a method of organizing human activity because it is an example of managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims include the interaction between a healthcare provider and a patient.
Alternatively, the claims recite a mental process because they include concepts capable of being performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims include the observation, evaluation, and judgment of patient tinnitus information and access to therapy modules.
Step 2A Prong Two: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 1 recites the following additional element(s):
a patient component software-implemented on a user-operated mobile device;
a plurality of software-implemented interactive diagnostic modules, each implemented as software routines;
transmit the tinnitus-related data to a server;
a server configured to receive and store the data transmitted by the patient component;
an automated system configuration component software-implemented on the mobile device and/or the server;
using a predefined multi-stage categorization algorithm;
involving one or more software-implemented interactive therapeutic modules;
automatically configure the patient component.
The additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the exception into a practical application. The additional element connected to transmitting data to a server adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The remaining additional elements amount to merely reciting the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Claim 1 does not include additional elements, considered individually or in combination, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s), individually and in combination, connected to transmitting data to a server adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Further, receiving or transmitting data over a network is considered to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)). The remaining additional elements amount to merely reciting the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, claim 1 is ineligible.
Dependent claim 2 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
the automated system configuration component is further configured to restrict available modules by disabling access to therapeutic modules in the patient component determined to be contraindicated based on the assigned patient category, and
enabling access to therapeutic modules determined to be indicated based on the assigned patient category.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 2 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 3 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
the one or more therapeutic modules comprise at least one module selected from the group consisting of: an in-app sound therapy module, a cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) module, and a masking or neuromodulation module.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 3 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 4 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
release of the tinnitus-therapy profile is enabled only upon verification of a valid prescription and a commercial subscription.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 4 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 5 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
the system is configured to guide the patient through the diagnostic and/or therapeutic modules autonomously, without human intervention.
The additional elements present in this claim merely recite the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). These types of additional elements are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 5 is ineligible.
Dependent claim 6 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
the predefined multi-stage categorization algorithm uses one or more of a Tinnitus Handicap Inventory (THI) score, a response to psychiatric treatment questions in a Tinnitus Sample Case History Questionnaire (TSCHQ), dependent scores in GAD-7 or PHQ-9 questionnaires, and tonal versus atonal sound evaluation as input variable.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 6 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 7 recites the method of claim 6, wherein:
the predefined multi-stage categorization algorithm assigns the patient to a first patient category if the tinnitus-related data includes a THI score above a predefined threshold and/or a YES response to psychiatric treatment questions in the TSCHQ, and the scores in GAD-7 or PHQ-9 questionnaires exceed a respective predefined threshold.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 7 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 8 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
the one or more therapeutic modules comprise at least one module selected from the group consisting of an internet-based cognitive behavioral therapy (iCBT) module, a pink noise module, a masking therapy module, and a neuromodulation therapy module, each implemented as a software routine and tailored according to category-specific logic.
The additional elements present in this claim merely recite the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). These types of additional elements are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 8 is ineligible.
Dependent claim 9 recites the method of claim 8, wherein:
each tinnitus-therapy profile corresponding to one of the patient categories is distinguishable from the therapy profiles associated with other categories in at least one of: the iCBT module, the pink noise module, the masking therapy module, and the neuromodulation therapy module.
This merely further limits the abstract idea of claim 1 discussed above and does not provide further additional elements. Therefore, claim 9 is considered to be ineligible.
Dependent claim 10 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
a control component software-implemented on a terminal,
configured to authenticate a health care professional (HCP) or an ear, nose and throat doctor (ENT), and
to enable the HCP or ENT to view and modify therapy signal generation parameters of the assigned therapy profile stored in the patient component.
The additional elements present in this claim merely recite the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). These types of additional elements are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 10 is ineligible.
Dependent claim 11 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
the patient component is further configured to allow the patient, after categorization, to adjust therapy signal generation parameters of the one or more therapeutic modules enabled in the patient component based on the assigned patient category, including:
for a pink noise module: volume and balance; or a masking therapy module: volume per frequency band, overall volume, and balance; for a neuromodulation module: pitch frequency, volume, equal loudness, and balance; wherein the patient-selected therapy signal generation parameters are stored in the patient component and applied during execution of the respective therapeutic modules until a subsequent re-categorization or a manual override command is received from a control component.
The additional elements present in this claim merely recite the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). These types of additional elements are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 11 is ineligible.
Dependent claim 12 recites the method of claim 1, wherein:
acquiring tinnitus-related data of a patient from a patient component via patient input;
assigning the patient to one of multiple tinnitus-related patient categories based on the acquired patient data, using a predefined multi-stage categorization algorithm;
configuring the patient component based on the assigned patient category, including programming therapy signal generation parameters associated with a tinnitus-therapy profile corresponding to the assigned patient category;
enabling selective access to therapeutic modules involved in the tinnitus-therapy profile corresponding to the assigned patient category, optionally contingent on verification of a prescription and subscription;
periodically re-categorizing the patient by enforced re-acquisition of tinnitus-related data of the patient via user input in the patient component using software-implemented interactive diagnostic modules, implemented as software routines, and updating the patient category using the predefined multi-stage categorization algorithm;
reprogramming the therapy signal generation parameters based on the updated patient category; and
storing categorization and re-categorization results and therapy signal generation parameter adjustments in a database on a server.
The additional elements present in this claim merely recite the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). These types of additional elements are not enough to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 12 is ineligible.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 USC § 101
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?
Claim 13 fall within one or more statutory categories. Claim 13 falls within the category of a process.
Step 2A Prong One: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Claim 13 recites an abstract idea. Independent claim 13 recites:
receiving tinnitus-related data of a patient via user input in response to questionnaires and hearing performance tests …;
processing the patient-specific data to assign the patient to one of a plurality of patient categories based on predefined score thresholds and tonal/atonal classification;
configuring the patient component by programming therapy signal generation parameters associated with a distinct tinnitus-therapy profile corresponding to the assigned category and measured hearing performance;
enabling access to at least one therapy module involved in the distinct tinnitus-therapy profile, based on the assigned category, wherein the at least one therapy module is selected from the group of: cognitive behavioral therapy, pink noise, masking, and neuromodulation;
after a predefined interval, re-acquiring updated patient-specific data including a Tinnitus Handicap Inventory (THI) score;
determining a trend based on a change in the THI score; and
based on the trend, automatically continuing the therapy, or reconfiguring the patient component by reprogramming the therapy signal generation parameters in the patient component, the reprogrammed therapy signal generation parameters being associated with a distinct tinnitus-therapy profile corresponding to a re-assigned category.
Therefore, the claim as a whole is directed to “diagnosis and treatment of tinnitus,” which is an abstract idea because it is a method of organizing human activity. “Diagnosis and treatment of tinnitus” is considered to be a method of organizing human activity because it is an example of managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims include the interaction between a healthcare provider and a patient.
Alternatively, the claims recite a mental process because they include concepts capable of being performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims include the observation, evaluation, and judgment of patient tinnitus information and configuration of tinnitus therapy.
Step 2A Prong Two: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 13 recites the following additional element(s):
the method is “computer-implemented;
displayed or played on a patient component;
wherein the therapy signal generation parameters are programmed and reprogrammed in the patient component without human intervention unless a manual override command is received from a control component.
The additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the exception into a practical application. The additional elements amount to merely reciting the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Claim 13 is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Claim 13 does not include additional elements, considered individually or in combination, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s), individually and in combination, amount to merely reciting the words ‘‘apply it’’ (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, claim 13 is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzman et al. (U.S. 2013/0163797), hereinafter “Suzman,” in view of Abraham-Fuchs et al. (U.S. 2004/0078233), hereinafter “Abraham-Fuchs,” and further in view of Kearby et al. (U.S. 2007/0050212), hereinafter “Kearby.”
Regarding Claim 1, Suzman discloses a self-configuring, closed-loop universal tinnitus management system (UTMS) for treatment of subjective tinnitus, the system comprising:
a) a patient component software-implemented on a user-operated mobile device (See Suzman [0044] the system can be performed using a mobile electronic device.) and configured to:
a2) guide the patient through a plurality of software-implemented interactive diagnostic modules, each implemented as software routines, for acquiring tinnitus-related data of the patient via patient input (See Suzman [0024] the system includes an interface for determining characteristics of the user’s tinnitus. This includes if the user's tinnitus is more tone like (i.e. a continuous beep sound) or noise like (more like background static noise).);
a3) transmit the tinnitus-related data to a server (See Suzman [0045] the system can include the use the tinnitus software, either on the host device or remote server.);
b) the server configured to receive and store the data transmitted by the patient component (See Suzman [0021] the system can use a server to perform the method described. This is understood to include the storage of patient data.);
c) an automated system configuration component software-implemented on the mobile device and/or the server (See Suzman [0045] the system can include the use the tinnitus software, either on the host device or remote server.), configured to:
c2) process the tinnitus-related data using a predefined multi-stage categorization algorithm, for automatically assigning the patient to one of a plurality of predefined patient categories (See Suzman [0025] After the test and diagnosis, a patient tinnitus profile is generated.)… ;
c4) automatically configure the patient component, including programming therapy signal generation parameters, based on the assigned patient category (See Suzman [0024] the system includes an interface for determining characteristics of the user’s tinnitus. This includes if the user's tinnitus is more tone like (i.e. a continuous beep sound) or noise like (more like background static noise). See also [0032] the system uses the generated tinnitus profile to create audio treatment for the patient’s tinnitus.)…;
c6) automatically enforce scheduled periodic re-categorization (See Suzman [0036] the user may access the tinnitus software to test whether there are any changes in the user's condition at any time during treatment. The system can monitor changes in the profile of the user's tinnitus. Upon completion of the selected treatment protocol, or if no improvements are noted in due course or if the tinnitus profile has changed, the user may again utilize the tinnitus software to generate a new notched audio output based on the user's current condition.), comprising:
… enabling access to diagnostic modules in the patient component (See Suzman [0024] the system includes an interface for determining characteristics of the user’s tinnitus. This includes if the user's tinnitus is more tone like (i.e. a continuous beep sound) or noise like (more like background static noise).);
acquiring updated tinnitus-related data (See Suzman [0036] the user may access the tinnitus software to test whether there are any changes in the user's condition at any time during treatment. The system can monitor changes in the profile of the user's tinnitus. Upon completion of the selected treatment protocol, or if no improvements are noted in due course or if the tinnitus profile has changed, the user may again utilize the tinnitus software to generate a new notched audio output based on the user's current condition.);
reprocessing the updated data using the predefined multi-stage categorization algorithm to re-assign a patient category (See Suzman [0036] the user may access the tinnitus software to test whether there are any changes in the user's condition at any time during treatment. The system can monitor changes in the profile of the user's tinnitus. Upon completion of the selected treatment protocol, or if no improvements are noted in due course or if the tinnitus profile has changed, the user may again utilize the tinnitus software to generate a new notched audio output based on the user's current condition.); and
reprogramming the therapy signal generation parameters in the patient component based on the re-assigned patient category (See Suzman [0024] the system includes an interface for determining characteristics of the user’s tinnitus. This includes if the user's tinnitus is more tone like (i.e. a continuous beep sound) or noise like (more like background static noise). See also [0032] the system uses the generated tinnitus profile to create audio treatment for the patient’s tinnitus.).
Suzman does not disclose:
a1) authenticate the patient to the system;
c1) enforce completion of the plurality of interactive diagnostic modules by disabling access to therapeutic modules in the patient component and enabling access to diagnostic modules;
each patient category corresponding to a distinct tinnitus-therapy profile involving one or more software-implemented interactive therapeutic modules;
c3) enable access to the therapeutic modules in the patient component after patient categorization;
enable selective access to therapeutic modules involved in the distinct tinnitus-therapy profile corresponding to the assigned patient category;
c5) automatically configure the patient component based on a current state of use, to enable access to either diagnostic or therapeutic modules; and
disabling access to therapeutic modules.
Abraham-Fuchs teaches:
c1) enforce completion of the plurality of interactive diagnostic modules (Non-limiting intended result which merely describes a desired result from use of the recited structure) by disabling access to therapeutic modules in the patient component (See Abraham-Fuchs [0029] the suitable therapy modules or suitable treatable capabilities can be enabled for access by the user and/or the therapy modules or treatable capabilities which accordingly do not satisfy the minimum prerequisites can be disabled for access by the user during computer-assisted therapy planning.) and enabling access to diagnostic modules (See Abraham-Fuchs [0012] At the start of the rehabilitative measure all the patient's capability deficits are recorded using known methods of measurement, observation and questioning, and their extent being documented. This meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of enabling access to diagnostic modules.);
each patient category corresponding to a distinct tinnitus-therapy profile involving one or more software-implemented interactive therapeutic modules (See Abraham-Fuchs [0029] the suitable therapy modules or suitable treatable capabilities can be enabled for access by the user and/or the therapy modules or treatable capabilities which accordingly do not satisfy the minimum prerequisites can be disabled for access by the user during computer-assisted therapy planning.);
c3) enable access to the therapeutic modules in the patient component after patient categorization (See Abraham-Fuchs [0029] the suitable therapy modules or suitable treatable capabilities can be enabled for access by the user and/or the therapy modules or treatable capabilities which accordingly do not satisfy the minimum prerequisites can be disabled for access by the user during computer-assisted therapy planning.);
to enable selective access to therapeutic modules involved in the distinct tinnitus-therapy profile corresponding to the assigned patient category (See Abraham-Fuchs [0029] the suitable therapy modules or suitable treatable capabilities can be enabled for access by the user and/or the therapy modules or treatable capabilities which accordingly do not satisfy the minimum prerequisites can be disabled for access by the user during computer-assisted therapy planning.);
c5) automatically configure the patient component based on a current state of use, to enable access to either diagnostic or therapeutic modules (See Abraham-Fuchs [0029] the suitable therapy modules or suitable treatable capabilities can be enabled for access by the user and/or the therapy modules or treatable capabilities which accordingly do not satisfy the minimum prerequisites can be disabled for access by the user during computer-assisted therapy planning.); and
disabling access to therapeutic modules (See Abraham-Fuchs [0029] the suitable therapy modules or suitable treatable capabilities can be enabled for access by the user and/or the therapy modules or treatable capabilities which accordingly do not satisfy the minimum prerequisites can be disabled for access by the user during computer-assisted therapy planning.).
The system of Abraham-Fuchs is applicable to the disclosure of Suzman as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to neurological treatment using therapy modules. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzman to include selective module access as taught by Abrahams-Fuchs. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Suzman in order to improve therapy planning by accounting for chronic illnesses in the presence of restrictions prescribed by other illnesses (see Abraham-Fuchs [0002]).
Kearby teaches:
a1) authenticate the patient to the system (See Kearby [0065] the system can authenticate the patient users. [0040] the doctor can activate licenses for specific patients. See also [0058]-[0059].).
The system of Kearby is applicable to the disclosure of Suzman in view of Abrahams-Fuchs as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to tinnitus diagnosis and treatment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzman to include authentication as taught by Kearby. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Suzman in order to confirm patient identity (see Kearby [0065]) and to determine that the registration is valid (See Kearby [0037]).
Regarding claim 2, Suzman in view of Abrahams-Fuchs and Kearby discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Suzman does not further disclose a system, wherein:
the automated system configuration component is further configured to restrict available modules by disabling access to therapeutic modules in the patient component determined to be contraindicated based on the assigned patient category, and
enabling access to therapeutic modules determined to be indicated based on the assigned patient category.
Abraham-Fuchs teaches:
the automated system configuration component is further configured to restrict available modules by disabling access to therapeutic modules in the patient component determined to be contraindicated based on the assigned patient category (See Abraham-Fuchs [0021] and [0023] illness-dependent restrictions. [0033] contraindications in the form of restrictions on use of the therapy modules.), and
enabling access to therapeutic modules determined to be indicated based on the assigned patient category (See Abraham-Fuchs [0029] the suitable therapy modules or suitable treatable capabilities can be enabled for access by the user and/or the therapy modules or treatable capabilities which accordingly do not satisfy the minimum prerequisites can be disabled for access by the user during computer-assisted therapy planning.).
The system of Abraham-Fuchs is applicable to the disclosure of Suzman as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to neurological treatment using therapy modules. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzman to include selective module access as taught by Abrahams-Fuchs. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Suzman in order to improve therapy planning by accounting for chronic illnesses in the presence of restrictions prescribed by other illnesses (see Abraham-Fuchs [0002]).
Regarding claim 3, Suzman in view of Abrahams-Fuchs and Kearby discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Suzman further discloses a system, wherein:
the one or more therapeutic modules comprise at least one module selected from the group consisting of: an in-app sound therapy module, a cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) module, and a masking or neuromodulation module (See Suzman [0061] the system uses the collected data to treat tinnitus using masking and sound therapy.).
Regarding claim 4, Suzman in view of Abrahams-Fuchs and Kearby discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Suzman further discloses a system, wherein:
release of the tinnitus-therapy profile is enabled only upon verification of a valid prescription (See Suzman [0050] the therapy modules are prescribed.).
Suzman does not disclose:
[verification of] a commercial subscription.
Kearby teaches:
[verification of] a commercial subscription (See Kearby [0037] check for payment in order to provide license for patient access to app.).
The system of Kearby is applicable to the disclosure of Suzman in view of Abrahams-Fuchs as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to tinnitus diagnosis and treatment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzman to include authentication as taught by Kearby. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Suzman in order to confirm patient identity (see Kearby [0065]) and to determine that the registration is valid (See Kearby [0037]).
Regarding claim 5, Suzman in view of Abrahams-Fuchs and Kearby discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Suzman further discloses a system, wherein:
the system is configured to guide the patient through the diagnostic and/or therapeutic modules autonomously, without human intervention (See Suzman [0054] The methods for treating tinnitus disclosed herein may be implemented as hardware, software, or a combination of hardware and software.).
Regarding claim 8, Suzman in view of Abrahams-Fuchs and Kearby discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Suzman further discloses a system, wherein:
the one or more therapeutic modules comprise at least one module selected from the group consisting of an internet-based cognitive behavioral therapy (iCBT) module, a pink noise module, a masking therapy module, and a neuromodulation therapy module (See Suzman [0061] the system uses the collected data to treat tinnitus using masking and sound therapy.), each implemented as a software routine and tailored according to category-specific logic (See Suzman [0054] The methods for treating tinnitus disclosed herein may be implemented as hardware, software, or a combination of hardware and software.).
Regarding claim 9, Suzman in view of Abrahams-Fuchs and Kearby discloses the system of claim 8 as discussed above. Suzman further discloses a system, wherein:
each tinnitus-therapy profile corresponding to one of the patient categories is distinguishable from the therapy profiles associated with other categories in at least one of: the iCBT module, the pink noise module, the masking therapy module, and the neuromodulation therapy module (See Suzman [0054] The methods for treating tinnitus disclosed herein may be implemented as hardware, software, or a combination of hardware and software. [0061] the masking noise (white or grey noise) is generated based on the at least one characteristic of the user's tinnitus determined using the diagnosis module of the system. Therefore, each treatment is different based on the tinnitus profile of the user.).
Regarding claim 10, Suzman in view of Abrahams-Fuchs and Kearby discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Suzman further discloses a system, comprising:
a control component software-implemented on a terminal (See Suzman [0045] the system can include the use the tinnitus software, either on the host device or remote server.).
Suzman does not disclose:
configured to authenticate a health care professional (HCP) or an ear, nose and throat doctor (ENT), and
to enable the HCP or ENT to view and modify therapy signal generation parameters of the assigned therapy profile stored in the patient component.
Kearby teaches:
configured to authenticate a health care professional (HCP) or an ear, nose and throat doctor (ENT) 9See Kearby [0038] the doctor device can be used to send licenses for the software to the patient devices. See also [0042]. [0043] the system can authenticate the physician user. [0052] the physician can be required to log on with user ID and password.), and
to enable the HCP or ENT to view and modify therapy signal generation parameters of the assigned therapy profile stored in the patient component (See Kearby [0042] the doctor device can be used to view the patient data and patient results. The physician and/or the rehabilitation software can decide that the rehabilitation program should be adjusted.).
The system of Kearby is applicable to the disclosure of Suzman in view of Abrahams-Fuchs as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to tinnitus diagnosis and treatment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzman to include authentication as taught by Kearby. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Suzman in order to confirm patient identity (see Kearby [0065]) and to determine that the registration is valid (See Kearby [0037]).
Regarding claim 11, Suzman in view of Abrahams-Fuchs and Kearby discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Suzman further discloses a system, wherein:
the patient component is further configured to allow the patient, after categorization, to adjust therapy signal generation parameters of the one or more therapeutic modules enabled in the patient component based on the assigned patient category (See Suzman [0022] the user is first prompted to adjust the volume to a volume suitable for the user to hear and enjoy music. This step allows the user to make sure that the device is working properly, and also sets a benchmark for the hearing threshold of the user. See also [0024].), including: for a pink noise module: volume and balance;
for a masking therapy module: volume per frequency band, overall volume, and balance; for a neuromodulation module: pitch frequency, volume, equal loudness, and balance (See Suzman See Suzman [0054] The methods for treating tinnitus disclosed herein may be implemented as hardware, software, or a combination of hardware and software. [0022] the user is first prompted to adjust the volume to a volume suitable for the user to hear and enjoy music. This step allows the user to make sure that the device is working properly, and also sets a benchmark for the hearing threshold of the user. See also [0024].);
wherein the patient-selected therapy signal generation parameters are stored in the patient component and applied during execution of the respective therapeutic modules (See Suzman See Suzman [0054] The methods for treating tinnitus disclosed herein may be implemented as hardware, software, or a combination of hardware and software. [0022] the user is first prompted to adjust the volume to a volume suitable for the user to hear and enjoy music. This step allows the user to make sure that the device is working properly, and also sets a benchmark for the hearing threshold of the user. See also [0024].) until a subsequent re-categorization or a manual override command is received from a control component (See Suzman [0036] the user may access the tinnitus software to test whether there are any changes in the user's condition at any time during treatment. The system can monitor changes in the profile of the user's tinnitus. Upon completion of the selected treatment protocol, or if no improvements are noted in due course or if the tinnitus profile has changed, the user may again utilize the tinnitus software to generate a new notched audio output based on the user's current condition.).
Regarding claim 12, Suzman in view of Abrahams-Fuchs and Kearby discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Suzman further discloses a method for personalized tinnitus therapy management using a self-configuring, closed-loop universal tinnitus management system (UTMS) as defined in claim 1, the method comprising:
acquiring tinnitus-related data of a patient from a patient component via patient input (See Suzman [0024] the system includes an interface for determining characteristics of the user’s tinnitus. This includes if the user's tinnitus is more tone like (i.e. a continuous beep sound) or noise like (more like background static noise).);
assigning the patient to one of multiple tinnitus-related patient categories based on the acquired patient data, using a predefined multi-stage categorization algorithm (See Suzman [0025] After the test and diagnosis, a patient tinnitus profile is generated. [0054] The methods for treating tinnitus disclosed herein may be implemented as hardware, software, or a combination of hardware and software. );
configuring the patient component based on the assigned patient category, including programming therapy signal generation parameters associated with a tinnitus-therapy profile corresponding to the assigned patient category (See Suzman [0024] the system includes an interface for determining characteristics of the user’s tinnitus. This includes if the user's tinnitus is more tone like (i.e. a continuous beep sound) or noise like (more like background static noise). See also [0032] the system uses the generated tinnitus profile to create audio treatment for the patient’s tinnitus.);
enabling … access to therapeutic modules (See Suzman [0024] the system includes an interface for determining characteristics of the user’s tinnitus. This includes if the user's tinnitus is more tone like (i.e. a continuous beep sound) or noise like (more like background static noise).) involved in the tinnitus-therapy profile corresponding to the assigned patient category (See Suzman [0025] After the test and diagnosis, a patient tinnitus profile is generated.), optionally contingent on verification of a prescription and subscription (this is not required by the claim language, as it is optional);
periodically re-categorizing the patient by enforced re-acquisition of tinnitus-related data of the patient via user input in the patient component using software-implemented interactive diagnostic modules, implemented as software routines, and updating the patient category using the predefined multi-stage categorization algorithm (See Suzman [0036] the user may access the tinnitus software to test whether there are any changes in the user's condition at any time during treatment. The system can monitor changes in the profile of the user's tinnitus. Upon completion of the selected treatment protocol, or if no improvements are noted in due course or if the tinnitus profile has changed, the user may again utilize the tinnitus software to generate a new notched audio output based on the user's current condition.);
reprogramming the therapy signal generation parameters based on the updated patient category (See Suzman [0024] the system includes an interface for determining characteristics of the user’s tinnitus. This includes if the user's tinnitus is more tone like (i.e. a continuous beep sound) or noise like (more like background static noise). See also [0032] the system uses the generated tinnitus profile to create audio treatment for the patient’s tinnitus.); and
storing categorization and re-categorization results and therapy signal generation parameter adjustments in a database on a server (See Suzman [0021] the system can use a server to perform the method described. This is understood to include the storage of patient data.).
Suzman does not disclose:
[the enabled access to the therapeutic modules is] selective.
Abraham-Fuchs teaches:
[the enabled access to the therapeutic modules is] selective (See Abraham-Fuchs [0029] the suitable therapy modules or suitable treatable capabilities can be enabled for access by the user and/or the therapy modules or treatable capabilities which accordingly do not satisfy the minimum prerequisites can be disabled for access by the user during computer-assisted therapy planning.).
The system of Abraham-Fuchs is applicable to the disclosure of Suzman as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to neurological treatment using therapy modules. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzman to include selective module access as taught by Abrahams-Fuchs. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Suzman in order to improve therapy planning by accounting for chronic illnesses in the presence of restrictions prescribed by other illnesses (see Abraham-Fuchs [0002]).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzman et al. (U.S. 2013/0163797), hereinafter “Suzman,” in view of Abraham-Fuchs et al. (U.S. 2004/0078233), hereinafter “Abraham-Fuchs,” and Kearby et al. (U.S. 2007/0050212), hereinafter “Kearby,” and further in view of Searchfield et al. (U.S. 2014/0171195), hereinafter “Searchfield.”
Regarding claim 6, Suzman in view of Abrahams-Fuchs and Kearby discloses the system of claim 1 as discussed above. Suzman does not further disclose a system, wherein:
the predefined multi-stage categorization algorithm uses one or more of a Tinnitus Handicap Inventory (THI) score, a response to psychiatric treatment questions in a Tinnitus Sample Case History Questionnaire (TSCHQ), dependent scores in GAD-7 or PHQ-9 questionnaires, and tonal versus atonal sound evaluation as input variable.
Searchfield teaches:
the predefined multi-stage categorization algorithm uses one or more of a Tinnitus Handicap Inventory (THI) score, a response to psychiatric treatment questions in a Tinnitus Sample Case History Questionnaire (TSCHQ), dependent scores in GAD-7 or PHQ-9 questionnaires, and tonal versus atonal sound evaluation as input variable (See Searchfield [0186] patients were given audiometric & tinnitus assessment, questionnaire provision covering cognitive stage, depression, anxiety, stress and tinnitus impressions. [0188] patients demonstrating hearing pathology or insufficient tinnitus complaint were excluded. This is a form of categorization (in or out). [0191] the questionnaires includes the TSCHQ and THI.).
The system of Searchfield is applicable to the disclosure of Suzman in view of Abraham-Fuchs and Kearby as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to tinnitus classification and treatment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzman to include specific THI and TSCHQ assessments and questions as taught by Searchfield. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Suzman in order to facilitate auditory training for sufferers of tinnitus, or to at least provide the public with a useful choice (see Searchfield 0007]).
Regarding claim 7, Suzman in view of Abrahams-Fuchs, Kearby, and Searchfield discloses the system of claim 6 as discussed above. Suzman does not further disclose a system, wherein:
the predefined multi-stage categorization algorithm assigns the patient to a first patient category if the tinnitus-related data includes a THI score above a predefined threshold and/or a YES response to psychiatric treatment questions in the TSCHQ, and the scores in GAD-7 or PHQ-9 questionnaires exceed a respective predefined threshold.
Searchfield teaches:
the predefined multi-stage categorization algorithm assigns the patient to a first patient category if the tinnitus-related data includes a THI score above a predefined threshold and/or a YES response to psychiatric treatment questions in the TSCHQ, and the scores in GAD-7 or PHQ-9 questionnaires exceed a respective predefined threshold (See Searchfield [0186] patients were given audiometric & tinnitus assessment, questionnaire provision covering cognitive stage, depression, anxiety, stress and tinnitus impressions. [0188] patients demonstrating hearing pathology or insufficient tinnitus complaint were excluded. This is a form of categorization (in or out) using a threshold. [0191] the questionnaires includes the TSCHQ and THI.).
The system of Searchfield is applicable to the disclosure of Suzman in view of Abraham-Fuchs and Kearby as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to tinnitus classification and treatment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzman to include specific THI and TSCHQ assessments and questions as taught by Searchfield. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Suzman in order to facilitate auditory training for sufferers of tinnitus, or to at least provide the public with a useful choice (see Searchfield 0007]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzman et al. (U.S. 2013/0163797), hereinafter “Suzman,” in view of Searchfield et al. (U.S. 2014/0171195), hereinafter “Searchfield,” and further in view of Kearby et al. (U.S. 2007/0050212), hereinafter “Kearby.”
Regarding claim 13, Suzman discloses a computer-implemented method for configuring a tinnitus therapy device, comprising:
receiving tinnitus-related data of a patient via user input in response to questionnaires and hearing performance tests displayed or played on a patient component 9See Suzman [0024] the system includes an interface for determining characteristics of the user’s tinnitus. This includes if the user's tinnitus is more tone like (i.e. a continuous beep sound) or noise like (more like background static noise).);
processing the patient-specific data to assign the patient to one of a plurality of patient categories (See Suzman [0024] the system includes an interface for determining characteristics of the user’s tinnitus. This includes if the user's tinnitus is more tone like (i.e. a continuous beep sound) or noise like (more like background static noise).) based on predefined score thresholds and tonal/atonal classification (See Suzman [0031] the system categorizes the patient, including whether the tinnitus is tonal or not. [0064] the system uses hearing thresholds for input data.);
configuring the patient component by programming therapy signal generation parameters associated with a distinct tinnitus-therapy profile corresponding to the assigned category and measured hearing performance (See Suzman [0024] the system includes an interface for determining characteristics of the user’s tinnitus. This includes if the user's tinnitus is more tone like (i.e. a continuous beep sound) or noise like (more like background static noise). See also [0032] the system uses the generated tinnitus profile to create audio treatment for the patient’s tinnitus.);
enabling access to at least one therapy module involved in the distinct tinnitus-therapy profile, based on the assigned category, wherein the at least one therapy module is selected from the group of: cognitive behavioral therapy, pink noise, masking, and neuromodulation (See Suzman [0061] the system uses the collected data to treat tinnitus using masking and sound therapy.);
after a predefined interval, re-acquiring updated patient-specific data (See Suzman [0036] the user may access the tinnitus software to test whether there are any changes in the user's condition at any time during treatment. The system can monitor changes in the profile of the user's tinnitus. Upon completion of the selected treatment protocol, or if no improvements are noted in due course or if the tinnitus profile has changed, the user may again utilize the tinnitus software to generate a new notched audio output based on the user's current condition.);
determining a trend (See Suzman [0036] the user may access the tinnitus software to test whether there are any changes in the user's condition at any time during treatment. The system can monitor changes in the profile of the user's tinnitus. Upon completion of the selected treatment protocol, or if no improvements are noted in due course or if the tinnitus profile has changed, the user may again utilize the tinnitus software to generate a new notched audio output based on the user's current condition. Monitoring changes in the user tinnitus-profile, meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of “determining a trend.”); and
based on the trend, automatically continuing the therapy, or reconfiguring the patient component by reprogramming the therapy signal generation parameters in the patient component, the reprogrammed therapy signal generation parameters being associated with a distinct tinnitus-therapy profile corresponding to a re-assigned category (See Suzman [0036] the user may access the tinnitus software to test whether there are any changes in the user's condition at any time during treatment. The system can monitor changes in the profile of the user's tinnitus. Upon completion of the selected treatment protocol, or if no improvements are noted in due course or if the tinnitus profile has changed, the user may again utilize the tinnitus software to generate a new notched audio output based on the user's current condition. Monitoring changes in the user tinnitus-profile, meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of “determining a trend.”),
wherein the therapy signal generation parameters are programmed and reprogrammed in the patient component without human intervention (See Suzman [0054] The methods for treating tinnitus disclosed herein may be implemented as hardware, software, or a combination of hardware and software.).
Suzman does not disclose:
[data collected and used by the system includes] a Tinnitus Handicap Inventory (THI) score;
[no human intervention] unless a manual override command is received from a control component.
Searchfield teaches:
[data collected and used by the system includes] a Tinnitus Handicap Inventory (THI) score (See Searchfield [0186] patients were given audiometric & tinnitus assessment, questionnaire provision covering cognitive stage, depression, anxiety, stress and tinnitus impressions. [0188] patients demonstrating hearing pathology or insufficient tinnitus complaint were excluded. This is a form of categorization (in or out). [0191] the questionnaires includes the TSCHQ and THI.).
The system of Searchfield is applicable to the disclosure of Suzman as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to tinnitus classification and treatment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzman to include specific THI and TSCHQ assessments and questions as taught by Searchfield. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Suzman in order to facilitate auditory training for sufferers of tinnitus, or to at least provide the public with a useful choice (see Searchfield 0007]).
Kearby teaches:
[no human intervention] unless a manual override command is received from a control component (See Kearby [0042] the doctor device can be used to view the patient data and patient results. The physician and/or the rehabilitation software can decide that the rehabilitation program should be adjusted.).
The system of Kearby is applicable to the disclosure of Suzman in view of Searchfield as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to tinnitus diagnosis and treatment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Suzman to include authentication as taught by Kearby. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Suzman in order to confirm patient identity (see Kearby [0065]) and to determine that the registration is valid (See Kearby [0037]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hanley et al. (U.S. 2011/0137111) teaches a system and method for rehabilitation of auditory system disorders. DiGiovanni et al. (U.S. 2007/0133832) teaches a system and method for treating tinnitus and hyperacusis.
/B.L.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3684
/Shahid Merchant/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3684