DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17 are pending in the instant application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/25/2025 and 04/21/2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 16-17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16 recites “An electronic device comprising: … at least one processor in communication with the memory, the at least one processor configured, upon execution of the instructions, to perform the following steps: displaying, by the electronic device,…; detecting, by the electronic device …; and displaying, by the electronic device …”. A claim that includes both apparatus and method language. Claim 16 is not clearly directed to either the apparatus or the method, since it contains method limitations within an apparatus/system claim, leading to confusion as to when infringement occurs. An apparatus claim is a claim directed to a product and defines an invention by its physical or structural components or parts, which focus on “what” is the invention. A method claim is directed to steps of a process, which focus on “how” or a way of doing something and describes a series of steps or “actions” that achieve a particular result rather than the product used in those steps. To avoid ambiguity and ensure clarity, examiner suggest amend the claim as follows “An electronic device comprising: … at least one processor in communication with the memory, the at least one processor configured, upon execution of the instructions, to cause the electronic device to: display…; detect…; and display …”
Claim 17, line 2, recites “the instructions”. To keep consistency in the claim language, examiner suggests “the computer instructions”.
Claim 17, line 3, recites “the display”. To correct antecedent issues, examiner suggests “a display”.
Claim 17, line 6, recites “the rotatable component”. To correct antecedent issues, examiner suggests “a rotatable component”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8, 13-14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wilson et al. (US 20160034167 A1, hereinafter referenced as Wilson).
Regarding Claim 1, Wilson teaches a location selection method for an electronic device (see abstract, Fig. 17A-17B, para. [0610]), wherein a rotatable component (see, Fig. 5A, Fig 15, Figs. 17A-17B, para. [0542], para. [0610]. Rotatable input mechanism (e.g., 506 or 1540)) and a display are disposed in the electronic device (see Fig. 5A, Fig. 15, Figs. 17A-17B, para. [0270], para. [0536], para. [0610]. The electronic device has a touch-sensitive display (e.g., touchscreen 504)), the method comprising:
displaying, by the electronic device, a first location point in a first display area of the display, the first location point comprising a location point on a preset track line (see Fig. 17A, para. [0611]. Screen 1702 depicts a clock face similar to those described in reference to FIGS. 11A-C and includes affordance 1704, which indicates the time of day, and a sinusoidal wave indicating a path of the Sun through the day), the preset track line comprising at least two location points (see Fig. 17A, affordance 1706 and affordance 1714, para. [0611]-[0612]);
detecting, by the electronic device, a first operation on the rotatable component (see Fig. 17A, para. [0612]. a user moves the rotatable input mechanism (e.g., movement 1708)); and
displaying, by the electronic device, a second location point in the first display area in response to the first operation (see Fig. 17A, affordance 1714, para. [0612] Screen 1710 displays a non-current time of day (6:00), as indicated by affordance 1712 and the position of affordance 1714 along the sinusoidal wave), the second location point comprising a location point on the preset track line (see Fig. 17A, para. [0612]. Affordance 1714 along the sinusoidal wave), and the second location point and the first location point are different location points (see Fig. 17A, para. [0611]-[0612]. Affordance 1706 is different from affordance 1714).
Regarding Claim 2, Wilson further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first operation comprises a rotation operation (see Fig. 17A, para. [0612]. a user moves the rotatable input mechanism (e.g., movement 1708)).
Regarding Claim 8, Wilson teaches the method according to claim 1.
Wilson further teaches wherein the method further comprises: detecting, by the electronic device, a touch operation on the second location point (see Fig. 17A, para. [0612]-[0613]. The user contacts the display at affordance 1714 (e.g., touch 1716)); and
displaying, by the electronic device on the display in response to the touch operation, location information corresponding to the second location point (see Fig. 17A, para. [0613]. The user contacts the display at affordance 1714 (e.g., touch 1716), and in response to detecting the contact, device 1700 sets a reminder for the indicated time of day (6:00)).
Regarding Claim 13, Wilson teaches the method according to claim 1.
Wilson further teaches wherein the first display area is a central area of the display (see Figs. 17A-17B, para. [0610]-[0616]).
Regarding Claim 14, Wilson teaches the method according to claim 1.
Wilson further teaches wherein the displaying, by the electronic device, the second location point in the first display area comprises: displaying, by the electronic device in the first display area, an icon corresponding to the second location point (see Fig. 17A, para. [0612]. Screen 1710 displays a non-current time of day (6:00), as indicated by affordance 1712 and the position of affordance 1714 along the sinusoidal wave).
Regarding Claim 16, Wilson teaches an electronic device (see Figs. 5A-5B, Fig. 17A, para. [0058, para. [0610]. Device 1700 may be device 100, 300, or 500. The electronic device has a touch-sensitive display (e.g., touchscreen 504) and a rotatable input mechanism (e.g., 506 or 1540)), comprising:
a memory storing instructions (see Fig. 5B, para. [0273], para. [0275]. Memory 518 of personal electronic device 500 can be a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, for storing computer-executable instructions); and
at least one processor in communication with the memory (see Fig. 5B, one or more computer processors 516, para. [0273]. Device 500 has bus 512 that operatively couples I/O section 514 with one or more computer processors 516 and memory 518), the at least one processor configured, upon execution of the instructions, to perform the following steps (see para. [0275] Memory 518 of personal electronic device 500 can be a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, for storing computer-executable instructions, which, when executed by one or more computer processors 516, for example, can cause the computer processors to perform the techniques):
displaying, by the electronic device, a first location point in a first display area of the display, the first location point comprising a location point on a preset track line (see Fig. 17A, para. [0611]. Screen 1702 depicts a clock face similar to those described in reference to FIGS. 11A-C and includes affordance 1704, which indicates the time of day, and a sinusoidal wave indicating a path of the Sun through the day), the preset track line comprising at least two location points (see Fig. 17A, affordance 1706 and affordance 1714, para. [0611]-[0612]);
detecting, by the electronic device, a first operation on the rotatable component (see Fig. 17A, para. [0612]. a user moves the rotatable input mechanism (e.g., movement 1708)); and
displaying, by the electronic device, a second location point in the first display area in response to the first operation (see Fig. 17A, affordance 1714, para. [0612] Screen 1710 displays a non-current time of day (6:00), as indicated by affordance 1712 and the position of affordance 1714 along the sinusoidal wave) , the second location point comprising a location point on the preset track line (see Fig. 17A, para. [0612]. Affordance 1714 along the sinusoidal wave), and the second location point and the first location point are different location points (see Fig. 17A, para. [0611]-[0612]. Affordance 1706 is different from affordance 1714).
Regarding Claim 17, Wilson teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing computer instructions that configure at least one processor, upon execution of the instructions, to perform the following steps (see Figs. 5A-5B, Figs. 17A-17B, para. [0273]-[0275], para. [0610]. Memory 518 of personal electronic device 500 can be a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, for storing computer-executable instructions, which, when executed by one or more computer processors 516, for example, can cause the computer processors to perform the techniques):
displaying a first location point in a first display area of the display, the first location point comprising a location point on a preset track line (see Fig. 17A, para. [0611]. Screen 1702 depicts a clock face similar to those described in reference to FIGS. 11A-C and includes affordance 1704, which indicates the time of day, and a sinusoidal wave indicating a path of the Sun through the day), the preset track line comprising at least two location points (see Fig. 17A, affordance 1706 and affordance 1714, para. [0611]-[0612]), the preset track line comprising at least two location points (see Fig. 17A, affordance 1706 and affordance 1714, para. [0611]-[0612]);
detecting a first operation on the rotatable component (see Fig. 17A, para. [0612]. a user moves the rotatable input mechanism (e.g., movement 1708)); and
displaying a second location point in the first display area in response to the first operation (see Fig. 17A, affordance 1714, para. [0612] Screen 1710 displays a non-current time of day (6:00), as indicated by affordance 1712 and the position of affordance 1714 along the sinusoidal wave), the second location point comprising a location point on the preset track line (see Fig. 17A, para. [0612]. Affordance 1714 along the sinusoidal wave), and the second location point and the first location point are different location points (see Fig. 17A, para. [0611]-[0612]. Affordance 1706 is different from affordance 1714).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al. (US 20160034167 A1,) in view of De Rocha Rosario et al. (US 20240144822 A1, hereinafter referenced as De Rocha Rosario).
Regarding Claim 3, Wilson further teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the displaying, by the electronic device, the second location point in the first display area in response to the first operation (see Fig. 17A, affordance 1714, para. [0612] Screen 1710 displays a non-current time of day (6:00), as indicated by affordance 1712 and the position of affordance 1714 along the sinusoidal wave)comprises:
displaying, by the electronic device, the second location point in the first display area (see Fig. 17A, affordance 1714, para. [0612] Screen 1710 displays a non-current time of day (6:00), as indicated by affordance 1712 and the position of affordance 1714 along the sinusoidal wave).
Wilson further teaches in another embodiment determining, by the electronic device, a rotation direction corresponding to the first operation (see Fig. 10, para. [0374]-[0376]. In some embodiments, as shown in FIG. 10, a user may rotate the representation of the solar system by rotating a rotatable input mechanism (e.g., 506). In these embodiments, the user input may include a movement of the rotatable input mechanism in a first direction of rotation (e.g., movement 1018). For example, the user may move the rotatable input mechanism in one direction to rotate the Earth and the one or more non-Earth planets in a specific direction and view the Earth and the one or more non-Earth planets at later times in the year, and the user may move the rotatable input mechanism in another direction to rotate the Earth and the one or more non-Earth planets in an opposite direction and view the Earth and the one or more non-Earth planets at earlier times in the year).
Combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness.” Boston Scientific Scimed, Inc. v. Cordis Corp., 554 F.3d 982, 991 (Fed. Cir. 2009).
Wilson does not explicitly disclose determining, by the electronic device, the second location point based on the rotation direction and the first location point.
However, De Rocha Rosario teaches determining, by the electronic device, a rotation direction corresponding to the first operation (see Fig. 3, para. [0024]-[0025], para. [0032]-[0036]. A user may use a knob or other user input device to move along a route on a map. The map may have a darkened line or other visual indicator that specifies the current route of vehicle 10. The user's present location along the route may be indicated by a vehicle icon or other visual indicator. As an example, the vehicle's current location on the route may be presented to the user by default, the user may rotate the knob counterclockwise to move the vehicle icon to earlier time periods and thereby access historical portions of the route, and the user may rotate the knob clockwise to move the vehicle icon to future portions of the route at future time periods); and determining, by the electronic device, the second location point based on the rotation direction and the first location point (see Fig. 3, para. [0032]-[0036]. if the user has been traveling for an hour, the user may rotate knob 40 of FIG. 2 counterclockwise to move icon 60 to the location on map 50 that vehicle 10 drove past 15 minutes into the journey). When the user desires to view projected information corresponding to times in the future, the user may move icon 60 towards a later position along line 56 (e.g., a user may move icon 60 to the right away from its current location to a selected position along that corresponds to a future time (e.g., two hours into the journey, which is an hour in the future in this example).
Wilson and De Rocha Rosario are related to display devices with rotational mechanisms, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the method disclosed by Wilson with De Rochas Rosario’s teachings, since it would have allowed the user to effectively slide icon back and forth along line to select a position of interest on line (De Rochas Rosario, para. [0033]).
Regarding Claim 4, Wilson and De Rocha Rosario teach the method according to claim 3.
De Rocha Rosario further teaches wherein the determining, by the electronic device, the second location point based on the rotation direction and the first location point (see Fig. 3, para. [0032]-[0036].) comprises:
when the rotation direction is a first direction, determining, by the electronic device, that a previous location point of the first location point on the preset track line is the second location point (see Fig. 3, para. [0032]-[0036]. Route 52 may be depicted by dots, dashes, a highlight color, or other indicator. In the example of FIG. 3, the route is represented by route line 56. Route line 56 extends between starting point 54 (e.g., a departure location for vehicle 10) and ending point 58 (e.g., a desired destination for vehicle 10). Vehicle 10 may be represented by an indicator such as vehicle icon 60. Icon 60 may be moved back and forth along route line 56. The user may rotate knob 40 of FIG. 2 counterclockwise to move icon 60 to the location on map 50 that vehicle 10 drove past 15 minutes into the journey). By using knob 40 or other suitable input-output device (e.g., display edge sensor, a physical slider, voice command sensor circuitry.), the user can effectively slide icon 60 back and forth along line 56 to select a position of interest on line 56. A user moves icon 60 to a selected previous location along line 56); or
when the rotation direction is a second direction, determining, by the electronic device, that a next location point of the first location point on the preset track line is the second location point (see Fig. 3, para. [0032]-[0036]. By using knob 40 or other suitable input-output device the user can effectively slide icon 60 back and forth along line 56 to select a position of interest on line 56. The user may rotate knob 40 clockwise or may use other input device to move icon 60 to a position along line 56 corresponding to an expected future location of vehicle 10 along the user's route);
wherein the previous location point and the next location point of the first location point are determined based on a forward direction of the preset track line (see Fig. 3, para. [0032]-[0036]. By using knob 40 or other suitable input-output device (e.g., display edge sensor, a physical slider, voice command sensor circuitry), the user can effectively slide icon 60 back and forth along line 56 to select a position of interest on line 56. As an example, a scenario in which a user moves icon 60 to an earlier point in route 56 than the current location of vehicle 10. The user may rotate knob 40 clockwise or may use other input device to move icon 60 to a position along line 56 corresponding to an expected future location of vehicle 10 along the user's route).
Wilson and De Rocha Rosario are related to display devices with rotational mechanisms, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the method disclosed by Wilson with De Rochas Rosario’s teachings, since it would have allowed the user to effectively slide icon back and forth along line to select a position of interest on line (De Rochas Rosario, para. [0033]).
Regarding Claim 5, Wilson and De Rocha Rosario teach the method according to claim 4.
De Rocha Rosario further teaches wherein the first direction comprises a clockwise rotation direction, and the second direction comprises a counterclockwise rotation direction; or the first direction comprises a counterclockwise rotation direction, and the second direction comprises a clockwise rotation direction (see Fig. 3, para. [0030], para. [0032]-[0036], para. [0056]. A user may move slider bar 44 of physical slider 38 back and forth in directions 46, may rotate knob 40 clockwise and counterclockwise about axis 42. For example, if the user has been traveling for an hour, the user may rotate knob 40 of FIG. 2 counterclockwise to move icon 60 to the location on map 50 that vehicle 10 drove past 15 minutes into the journey). When the user desires to view projected information corresponding to times in the future, the user may move icon 60 towards a later position along line 56 (e.g., a user may move icon 60 to the right away from its current location to a selected position along that corresponds to a future time. The user may rotate knob 40 clockwise or may use other input device to move icon 60 to a position along line 56 corresponding to an expected future location of vehicle 10 along the user's route.).
Wilson and De Rocha Rosario are related to display devices with rotational mechanisms, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the method disclosed by Wilson with De Rochas Rosario’s teachings, since it would have allowed the user to effectively slide icon back and forth along line to select a position of interest on line (De Rochas Rosario, para. [0033]).
Regarding Claim 9, Wilson teaches the method according to claim 1.
Wilson further teaches in another embodiment wherein the method further comprises: detecting, by the electronic device, a second operation on the rotatable component (see Figs. 53C and 53F, para. [0935]. In some embodiments, other user inputs may be operable to cause the device to exit a time-scrubbing mode. In some embodiments, alternate user inputs that may cause a device to exit a time-scrubbing mode may include a depression of a rotatable and depressible input mechanism, such as user inputs 5324b and 5334b in FIGS. 53C and 53F, respectively. Allowing a user to exit a time-scrubbing mode by depressing a rotatable and depressible input mechanism may increase the ease of scrubbing time forward or backward and then easily exiting time-scrubbing mode when a user is finished with time-scrubbing mode, as commands to execute both functions can be entered with a single input mechanism)
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the method disclosed by Wilson with Willson teachings of a second operation (depression input) in the rotatable component, since it would have enhanced user’s interaction with the electronic device by allowing the user to provide addition inputs using the same component and thus increasing the ease in manipulating the electronic device.
Moreover, combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness.” Boston Scientific Scimed, Inc. v. Cordis Corp., 554 F.3d 982, 991 (Fed. Cir. 2009).
Wilson does not explicitly disclose displaying, by the electronic device on the display in response to the second operation, location information corresponding to the second location point.
However, De Rocha Rosario teaches displaying, by the electronic device on the display in response to the second operation, location information corresponding to the second location point (see Fig. 7, para. [0024], para. [0034], para. [0035], para. [0042]-[0044]. By using knob 40 the user can effectively slide icon 60 back and forth along line 56 to select a position of interest on line 56. Content may be presented to the user with display 30 (e.g., a portion of map 50), and/or other output devices (e.g., speakers) that corresponds to the selected position of icon 60 on line 56. Content associated with the selected location can also be presented (e.g., information on nearby points of interest from a map database, geographically tagged images and/or social media content associated with a map database, etc.). In this way, the user can recreate older portions of the user's journey and may browse through these older portions of the journey by using knob 40 or other user input device to select other desired previous locations along line 56. FIG. 7 shows an illustrative interactive map (map 96) that contains route 52. Supplemental information 98 may be presented on display 30 that corresponds to the currently selected location of vehicle icon 60 (which may correspond to a past location of vehicle 10 along route 52, the current location of vehicle 10 along route 52, or a future location of vehicle 10 along route 52). Information 98 may include, for example, local map 100, containing roadways 102 in the vicinity of a highway exit).
Wilson and De Rocha Rosario are related to display devices with rotational mechanisms, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the method disclosed by Wilson with De Rochas Rosario’s teachings of displaying location information, since it would have enhanced user’s interaction with the electronic device and thus improving user’s experience.
Regarding Claim 10, Wilson and De Rocha Rosario teach the method according to claim 9.
Wilson further teaches wherein the second operation comprises pressing the rotatable component (see Figs. 53C and 53F, para. [0935]. In some embodiments, other user inputs may be operable to cause the device to exit a time-scrubbing mode. In some embodiments, alternate user inputs that may cause a device to exit a time-scrubbing mode may include a depression of a rotatable and depressible input mechanism, such as user inputs 5324b and 5334b in FIGS. 53C and 53F, respectively. Allowing a user to exit a time-scrubbing mode by depressing a rotatable and depressible input mechanism may increase the ease of scrubbing time forward or backward and then easily exiting time-scrubbing mode when a user is finished with time-scrubbing mode, as commands to execute both functions can be entered with a single input mechanism)
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the method disclosed by Wilson and De Rocha Rosario with Willson teachings of a second operation (depression input) in the rotatable component, since it would have enhanced user’s interaction with the electronic device by allowing the user to provide addition inputs using the same component and thus increasing the ease in manipulating the electronic device.
Moreover, combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness.” Boston Scientific Scimed, Inc. v. Cordis Corp., 554 F.3d 982, 991 (Fed. Cir. 2009).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al. (US 20160034167 A1,) in view of De Rocha Rosario et al. (US 20240144822 A1, hereinafter referenced as De Rocha Rosario), further in view of Kim et al. (US 20200249771 A1, hereinafter referenced as Kim).
Regarding Claim 6, Wilson teaches the method according to claim 2.
Wilson does not explicitly disclose wherein the displaying, by the electronic device, the second location point in the first display area in response to the first operation comprises: determining, by the electronic device, a rotation direction and a rotation rate that correspond to the first operation; determining, by the electronic device, the second location point based on the rotation direction, the rotation rate, and the first location point; and displaying, by the electronic device, the second location point in the first display area.
However, De Rocha Rosario teaches wherein the displaying, by the electronic device, the second location point in the first display area in response to the first operation comprises: determining, by the electronic device, a rotation direction that correspond to the first operation (see Fig. 3, para. [0024]-[0025], para. [0032]-[0036], para. [0036]. A user may use a knob or other user input device to move along a route on a map. The map may have a darkened line or other visual indicator that specifies the current route of vehicle 10. The user's present location along the route may be indicated by a vehicle icon or other visual indicator. As an example, the vehicle's current location on the route may be presented to the user by default, the user may rotate the knob counterclockwise to move the vehicle icon to earlier time periods and thereby access historical portions of the route, and the user may rotate the knob clockwise to move the vehicle icon to future portions of the route at future time periods);
determining, by the electronic device, the second location point based on the rotation direction and the first location point; and displaying, by the electronic device, the second location point in the first display area (see Fig. 3, para. [0032]-[0036]. By using knob 40 or other suitable input-output device (e.g., display edge sensor, a physical slider, voice command sensor circuitry), the user can effectively slide icon 60 back and forth along line 56 to select a position of interest on line 56. As an example, a scenario in which a user moves icon 60 to an earlier point in route 56 than the current location of vehicle 10. The user may rotate knob 40 clockwise or may use other input device to move icon 60 to a position along line 56 corresponding to an expected future location of vehicle 10 along the user's route)
Wilson and De Rocha Rosario are related to display devices with rotational mechanisms, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the method disclosed by Wilson with De Rochas Rosario’s teachings, since it would have allowed the user to effectively slide icon back and forth along line to select a position of interest on line (De Rochas Rosario, para. [0033]).
Wilson and De Rocha Rosario do not explicitly disclose determining, by the electronic device, a rotation rate that correspond to the first operation; and determining, by the electronic device, the second location point based on the rotation direction, the rotation rate, and the first location point.
However, Kim teaches determining, by the electronic device, a rotation rate that correspond to the first operation (see Fig. 12, para. [0244]-[0248]. The mobile terminal can sense a first input signal 1220a for rotating the crown 242 in a first direction with a first speed); and determining, by the electronic device, the second location point based on the rotation direction, the rotation rate, and the first location point (see Figs. 12, para. [0244]-[0248]. In this instance, referring to FIG. 12 (b), the mobile terminal can sense a first input signal 1220a for rotating the crown 242 in a first direction with a first speed. The mobile terminal can change positions of the hour hand 51 and the minute hand 52 according to the rotation of the crown 242).
Wilson, De Rocha Rosario and Kim are related to display devices with rotational mechanisms, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the method disclosed by Wilson and De Rochas Rosario with Kim’s teachings of using both rotational direction and speed in the crown input, since it would have enhanced user’s experience by facilitating user’s ability to control the interface.
Regarding Claim 7, Wilson, De Rocha Rosario and Kim teach the method according to claim 6.
Kim further teaches wherein the determining, by the electronic device, the second location point based on the rotation direction, the rotation rate, and the first location point comprises: determining, by the electronic device based on the rotation rate, a quantity of location points between the first location point and the second location point; and determining, by the electronic device, the second location point based on the rotation direction, the quantity of location points, and the first location point (see Figs. 12, para. [0244]-[0248]. In this instance, referring to FIG. 12 (b), the mobile terminal can sense a first input signal 1220a for rotating the crown 242 in a first direction with a first speed. The mobile terminal can change positions of the hour hand 51 and the minute hand 52 according to the rotation of the crown 242. As depicted in Fig. 12(a) and 12(b) the watch numbers are set at predetermined distances and the second position of the minute hand (Fig. 12(b)) depends on rotating the crown in the first direction with the first speed and the quantity of numbers between the first position (Fig. 12(a) and the second position (Fig. 12(b)).
Wilson, De Rocha Rosario and Kim are related to display devices with rotational mechanisms, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the method disclosed by Wilson and De Rochas Rosario with Kim’s teachings of using both rotational direction and speed in the crown input, since it would have enhanced user’s experience by facilitating user’s ability to control the interface.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al. (US 20160034167 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Wilson teaches the method according to claim 1.
Wilson further teaches in another embodiment wherein the electronic device comprises a smartwatch (see Figs. 53A-53B, para. [0828], para. [0833], para. [0876]. Device 5300 takes the form factor of a “smart watch,”).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of selecting a smart watch for the electronic device as disclosed by Wilson in another embodiment, since it would have been obvious to try from a finite number of options for electronic devices with rotatable components known in the art, that would have yielded the same predictable result.
Moreover, combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness.” Boston Scientific Scimed, Inc. v. Cordis Corp., 554 F.3d 982, 991 (Fed. Cir. 2009).
Regarding Claim 12, the method according to claim 11.
Wilson further teaches in the another embodiment wherein the rotatable component comprises a crown of the smartwatch (see Figs. 53A-53B, para. [0876]. Figs. 53A-53B. A user input (such as a rotation of a rotatable input mechanism such as a crown of a smart watch).
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of selecting a smart watch for the electronic device as disclosed by Wilson in another embodiment, since it would have been obvious to try from a finite number of options for electronic devices with rotatable components known in the art, that would have yielded the same predictable result.
Moreover, combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness.” Boston Scientific Scimed, Inc. v. Cordis Corp., 554 F.3d 982, 991 (Fed. Cir. 2009).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al. (US 20160034167 A1) in view of Williams et al. (US 10987028 B2, hereinafter referenced as Williams).
Regarding Claim 15, Wilson teaches the method according to claim 14.
Wilson further teaches wherein the displaying, by the electronic device in the first display area, the icon corresponding to the second location point ()
Wilson does not explicitly disclose zooming in, by the electronic device based on a preset proportion, on the icon corresponding to the second location point, and displaying the zoomed-in icon in the first display area.
However, Williams teaches wherein the displaying the icon corresponding to the second location point comprises: zooming in, by the electronic device based on a preset proportion, on the icon corresponding to the second location point, and displaying the zoomed-in icon in the first display area (see Figs. 12L-12M, col. 74 lines 5-18. FIG. 12L depicts an example of user interface 1222 for scrolling of seconds-setting affordance 1224B. Referring to FIG. 12L, rotational input 1209 is received at rotatable input mechanism 604A. In response to rotational input 1209, options for seconds-setting affordance 1224B is scrolled in an upward direction such that different options for seconds-setting affordance 1224B are displayed, as depicted in FIG. 12M. For example, FIG. 12M depicts user interface 1222 changing seconds-setting affordance 1224B from “30” (as depicted in FIG. 12L) to “29” (as depicted in FIG. 12M). As depicted in Fig. 12M the number 29 is enlarged with respect to the number 29 in Fig. 12L).
Wilson and Williams are related to display devices with rotational mechanisms, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the method disclosed by Wilson with William’s teachings, since it would have enhanced user’s experience by facilitating the user to identify the second location point.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zambetti et al . US 20160170625 A1 – Display watch with rotatable input mechanism (crown). A position of a displayed focus selector changes in response to a rotation direction of the crown.
/IM/Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 6/1/26