DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in the present application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 21 March 2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 202310315072.4 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 23 January 2026 and 21 April 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-16, and 18--20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0077219 A1 in view of Stickle US Patent 9,201,883 B1.
Regarding claim 1, Tan et al. teaches the following:
A backup method for a terminal, the method comprising [note: Abstract, “Systems and methods are described to transfer content from a first computing device to a second computing that is not directly accessible from the first computing device. The transfer may be carried out using an application operating on the first computing device that uploads the content to the cloud storage service. The second computing device may operate an application that monitors the cloud storage service for recently uploaded content.”; paragraph 0023, mobile device, smartphone, memory, processors, and network interfaces ]:
determining a first application for data backup [note: Figure 4 (412) backup application; paragraph 0025, system checks for data that needs backup ];
packaging and compressing a file in a first application user space corresponding to the first application to obtain a first compressed package, a file size of the file being less than a first threshold, the first compressed package being stored in the first application user space [note: figure 4 (434) compression module; paragraph 0043, hash code; paragraph 0055, teaches file storage based on file size threshold and compression, “The monitoring module 430 may be used to monitor content being stored on the computing device 402 and determine whether a backup of content should be initiated. The division module 432 may be used to divide content into multiple portions, so that the portions of the content may be uploaded to the cloud storage service 106 piecemeal. The operations performed by the division module 432 may be utilized to back up a file that exceeds an amount of storage for a particular cloud storage service 106. In that case, the file can be divided into portions that are less than the storage limit for individual files stored on the cloud storage service 106. The compression module 434 may be used to compress a content to a smaller size. The compression module 434 may select a compression algorithm based on the type of the content. The encryption module 436 may be used to encrypt a content so that it is not decipherable by the public. The encryption module 436 may employ any encryption methodology, including a public key/private key pair, or a session key negotiated for a finite time period or for a finite number of transactions. The communication module 438 may be used to send and receive messages to and from the backup service 428 in the private network 404. This communication may be carried out using a manifest file, such as the manifest file 118 of FIG. 1, or a communications file, such as the communications file 120 of FIG. 1, stored by the cloud storage service 106. The configuration module 440 may be used to receive and apply user configurations to the operation of the backup application 412. Finally, the user interface module 442 may be used to generate one or more user interfaces that present information to and receive input from the user of the computing device 402. For example, the user interface module 442 may generate one or more user interfaces to be used to manually initiate a backup of a content, specify an ongoing backup of particular types of content, or view the progress of pending backups.”; paragraph 0109, The user may specify backup based on various criteria such as a certain size limit (threshold); also paragraph 0107 ]; and
backing up the first compressed package from the first application user space to a second application user space corresponding to a second application [note: Figure 4; paragraph 0109 ].
Although Tan et al. teach the invention substantially as cited, they do not teach packaging a file; however, Stickle teach packaging a file in association with backup [note: Abstract, “Remote file archiving is provided using package files.”; figure 1 (130) storage for package files; column 2 line 44 through column 3 line 52, “a package file refers to a file that stores a collection or group of files (e.g., data objects) in a package file format. The collection or group of files stored in a package file can be individual files, other types of package files, and/or other types of data objects. For example, a package file can store a plurality of individual files. A package file can also be referred to as an archive file. The files in a package file can be encrypted and/or compressed. For example, consider a single package file that comprises a plurality of individual files. The plurality of individual files can be compressed (e.g., compressed separately and/or compressed together). The plurality of individual files can also be encrypted (e.g., encrypted separately and/or encrypted together). For example, one or more of the individual files can be separately encrypted, compressed, and stored as part of the package file. A package file uses a format (a package file format) to store its collection of files. For example, a package file can be in the zip archive format, the RAR archive format, the zip archive format, or a different archive format. For example, a package file in the zip archive format stores its individual files as contiguous ranges of bytes within the zip package file. The zip package file comprises a central header that specifies information about each individual file in the zip package file, including file name, compressed and uncompressed file sizes, location of the file in the zip package file, and other information. A package file can be stored as a single physical file (e.g., a single file stored on a hard disk or a distributed or virtual file). Alternatively, a package file can be split into two or more physical files (e.g., split between two files on a single hard drive or split between a first file on a first hard drive and a second file on a second hard drive). For example, a large package file may be split between two or more physical files stored on different storage devices, or a large package file may span multiple storage devices.”; column 9 line 55 through column 10 line 17 cloud computing environment and package file]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the effective filing date to have combined the cited references since they are both directed toward optimized backup of data .Stickle further depicts how data may be grouped for efficient transmission.
Claim 3: The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: generating a first brief file, the first brief file recording information about the file [note: Tan et al., paragraph 0098, manifest file (brief file) performs tracking and recording; paragraph 0100, number of actions are recorded; performs deletion of files].
Claim 4: The method according to claim 1, wherein the file comprises one or both of a file whose hash value changes in the first application user space, or a file newly added in the first application user space [note: Tan et al., paragraph 0043, hash code].
Claim 5: The method according to claim 3, wherein the information about the file comprises a file name and the file size of the file [note:Tan et al., figure 10, “name” and “file” screen; paragraph 0100 ].
Claim 6: The method according to claim 3, wherein the method further comprises: generating a second brief file based on the first brief file, the second brief file recording information about the file recorded in the first brief file [note: Tan et al., paragraph 0100 recorded ].
Claim 7: The method according to claim 6, wherein the packaging and the compressing the file to obtain the first compressed package comprises: packaging and compressing, based on the second brief file, the file recorded in the second brief file in the first application user space to obtain the first compressed package [note:Tan et al., paragraph 0098 ].
Claim 8: The method according to claim 1, wherein after the backing up the first compressed package from the first application user space to the second application user space, the method further comprises: deleting the first compressed package from the first application user space [note: Tan et al. paragraphs 0089, 0090-091, and paragraph 0100, deletion operation].
Claim 9: The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: sending the first compressed package in the second application user space to a cloud server [note: figure 4 (410) cloud storage ].
Claim 10: The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: deleting the first compressed package from the second application user space [note: paragraph 0100 ].
Claim 11: The method according to claim 9, wherein the sending the first compressed package in the second application user space to the cloud server further comprises: displaying a first interface of the second application, the first interface comprising prompt information used to prompt that data is being synchronized to the cloud server [note: paragraph 0025, system checks for new content, “device may be kept synchronized”; paragraph 0106, prompt ].
Claim 12: The method according to claim 1, wherein the packaging and the compressing the file to obtain the first compressed package and the backing up the first compressed package from the first application user space to the second application user space are performed by a kernel process [note: figure 4 and figure 11 ].
Claim 13: The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: displaying a second interface of the second application, wherein the second interface comprises a start backup control; and in response to an operation performed on the start backup control, performing the packaging and the compressing the file to obtain the first compressed package [note: paragraph 0040 starts at operation 302 ].
Claim 14: The method according to claim 1, wherein the packaging and the compressing the file to obtain the first compressed package further comprises: displaying a third interface of the second application, wherein the third interface comprising one or both of prompt information used to prompt that data is being prepared, or prompt information used to prompt a user not to use the first application [note: paragraph 0055, user interface module can generate multiple interfaces; paragraph 0106 “may prompt user” ].
Claim 15: The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: sequentially backing up, to the second application user space, files in the first application user space whose sizes are greater than or equal to the first threshold [note: paragraph 0055 and 0109, size threshold are described ].
The limitations of claims 16-20 parallel claims 1-4; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0077219 A1 in view of Stickle US Patent 9,201,883 B1 and Dornemann et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0138342 A1.
Although Tan et al. and Stickle teach the invention substantially as cited above, they do not explicitly use the term scanning as recited within dependent claims 2 and 17; however, Dornemann et al. teaches the feature as follows:
Claim 2: The method according to claim 1, wherein before the packaging and the compressing the file, the method further comprises: scanning the file in the first application user space [note: paragraph 0201, index may be configured to scan data and/or associated metadata ]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the effective filing date to have combined the cited references because a scan operation is a well-known technique for locating data.
The limitations of claim 17 parallels claim 2; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Note attached form PTO-892.
/GRETA L ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2163