Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-14, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (US 20230359273).
Regarding claim 1 Zhang teaches a method (fig.8) comprising: at a device having a processor and one or more sensors ([0005]):
performing a first process to produce an output, the first process (fig. 8, 804) comprising:
detecting events based on a first set of sensor data (fig. 8, 806, [0074] a reflective property of the reflection based on the sensor data);
identifying a subset of the events as human-relevant events corresponding to one or more predetermined classes depicted in the first set of sensor data ([0074] an amount of the reflection is indicative of a level of alignment, i.e. a subset of the events); and
collecting information regarding the human-relevant events based on the first set of sensor data ([0074]); and
based on the output of the first process, performing a second process to interpret a user activity, the second process comprising obtaining a second set of sensor data (fig. 8, 808, [0075]) and interpreting the user activity using the second set of sensor data (fig. 8, 810, [0081] to [0083]).
Regarding claim 2 Zhang teaches wherein the second process (fig. 8, 808) is triggered based on detection of a human-relevant event by the first process (fig. 8, 804).
Regarding claim 3 Zhang teaches wherein the human-relevant event comprises an event selected from the group consisting of an audible sound ([106]), an interaction with an object, and user movement (fig. 5A-5C, [0058]).
Regarding claim 4 Zhang teaches wherein the second process fig. 8, 808) uses the output of the first process to interpret the user activity, the output comprises the information regarding the human relevant events (fig. 5A-5C, [0058]).
Regarding claim 5 Zhang teaches wherein said interpreting the user activity comprises classifying current events of the subset of the events (fig. 5A-5C, [0058]).
Regarding claim 8 Zhang in view of Lacey teach wherein the second set of sensor data comprises data selected from the group consisting of vision sensor data ([0039]), frame rate data ([0003]), and video resolution data ([0102]).
Regarding claim 9 Zhang in view of Lacey teach wherein said interpreting the user activity using the second set of sensor data comprises using large language model (LLM) processing ([0149]).
Regarding claim 10 Zhang teaches an electronic device (fig. 2A) comprising:
one or more sensors ([0005]); a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium; and one or more processors coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprises program instructions that, when executed on the one or more processors ([0019] [0067]), cause the electronic device to perform operations comprising:
performing a first process to produce an output, the first process (fig. 8, 804) comprising:
detecting events based on a first set of sensor data (fig. 8, 806, [0074] a reflective property of the reflection based on the sensor data);
identifying a subset of the events as human-relevant events corresponding to one or more predetermined classes depicted in the first set of sensor data ([0074] an amount of the reflection is indicative of a level of alignment, i.e. a subset of the events); and
collecting information regarding the human-relevant events based on the first set of sensor data ([0074]); and
based on the output of the first process, performing a second process to interpret a user activity, the second process comprising obtaining a second set of sensor data (fig. 8, 808, [0075]) and interpreting the user activity using the second set of sensor data (fig. 8, 810, [0081] to [0083]).
Regarding claim 11 the limitations are significantly similar to the limitations of claim 2 so rejected same way.
Regarding claim 12 the limitations are significantly similar to the limitations of claim 3 so rejected same way.
Regarding claim 13 the limitations are significantly similar to the limitations of claim 4 so rejected same way.
Regarding claim 14 the limitations are significantly similar to the limitations of claim 5 so rejected same way.
Regarding claim 17 the limitations are significantly similar to the limitations of claim 8 so rejected same way.
Regarding claim 18 the limitations are significantly similar to the limitations of claim 9 so rejected same way.
Regarding claim 19 Zhang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing program instructions executable via one or more processors to perform operations (claim 19) comprising:
performing a first process to produce an output, the first process (fig. 8, 804) comprising:
detecting events based on a first set of sensor data (fig. 8, 806, [0074] a reflective property of the reflection based on the sensor data);
identifying a subset of the events as human-relevant events corresponding to one or more predetermined classes depicted in the first set of sensor data ([0074] an amount of the reflection is indicative of a level of alignment, i.e. a subset of the events); and
collecting information regarding the human-relevant events based on the first set of sensor data ([0074]); and
based on the output of the first process, performing a second process to interpret a user activity, the second process comprising obtaining a second set of sensor data (fig. 8, 808, [0075]) and interpreting the user activity using the second set of sensor data (fig. 8, 810, [0081] to [0083]).
Regarding claim 20 the limitations are significantly similar to the limitations of claim 2 so rejected same way.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20230359273) in view of Lacey (US 20190362557).
Regarding claim 6 Zhang is silent on wherein said interpreting the user activity comprises interpreting a verbal utterance in combination with a user gaze, gesture, body movement, body language, or facial expression.
However, Lacey teaches wherein said interpreting the user activity comprises interpreting a verbal utterance in combination with a user gaze, gesture, body movement, body language, or facial expression ([0340] FIG. 32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine Zhang in light of Lacey teaching so that it may include wherein said interpreting the user activity comprises interpreting a verbal utterance in combination with a user gaze, gesture, body movement, body language, or facial expression.
The motivation is to a wearable systems and methods can use multiple inputs (e.g., gesture, head pose, eye gaze, voice, totem, and/or environmental factors (e.g., location)) to determine a command that should be executed and objects in the three-dimensional (3D) environment that should be operated on in a way that facilitates a comfortable, natural-feeling, rich presentation of virtual image elements amongst other virtual or real-world imagery elements.
Regarding claim 7 Zhang in view of Lacey teach wherein the first set of sensor data comprises data selected from the group consisting of hand position data, gaze data, audio data, and IMU data (Lacey: [0086]).
Regarding claim 15 the limitations are significantly similar to the limitations of claim 6 so rejected same way.
Regarding claim 16 the limitations are significantly similar to the limitations of claim 7 so rejected same way.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-US 20210064146
/TOWFIQ ELAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625