Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 70-72 and 74-76 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grabinger (US 2021/0204719).
Regarding Claim 70, Grabinger discloses a method for controlling a microclimate of a mattress (1604), the method comprising:
receiving a temperature setting (via temperature sensors 1630) ;
activating a fan (1610) to cause air to move through a top layer of the mattress based on the temperature setting (see para. [0432]);
detecting humidity of air (via sensor 1632) that flows from the top layer of the mattress (see para. [0433]);
determining whether the humidity of air is greater than a first threshold value during a first state of sleep (see Fig. 47);
based on determining that the humidity of air exceeds the first threshold value during the first state of sleep, adjusting operation of the fan to lower the humidity of air below the first threshold value (see Fig. 47); and
adjusting operation of the fan to lower the humidity of air below a second threshold value prior to a second state of sleep (see para. [0496]).
Regarding Claim 71, Grabinger discloses wherein activating the fan comprises :controlling a speed of the fan based on the temperature setting (see para. [0492-0496] and Fig. 47).
Regarding Claim 72, Grabinger discloses wherein activating the fan comprises:
operating the fan to draw air from the top layer of the mattress based on the temperature setting; or
operating the fan to blow air toward the top layer of the mattress based on the temperature setting (see para. [0063]).
Regarding Claim 74, Grabinger discloses wherein detecting the humidity of air comprises:
operating the fan to draw air for a predetermined period of time; and
detecting humidity of the air that is drawn for the predetermined period of time (see para. [0377] and [0437]).
Regarding Claim 75, Grabinger discloses wherein adjusting operation of the fan comprises:
decreasing the temperature setting based on the detected humidity of air being greater than the first threshold value (see para. [0274] and [0429])
Regarding Claim 76, Grabinger discloses determining whether the detected humidity of air is smaller than the second threshold value;
wherein adjusting operation of the fan comprises:
increasing the temperature setting based on the detected humidity of air being smaller than the second threshold value (see para. [0274]; relative humidity decreases as temperature increases, i.e. air is heated).
Double Patenting
Claims 36, 38-49, and 89 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,433,421. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious at the time of invention to use the device in patent as in the instant claims as the functional language used to describe the structure in the ‘421 patent is now currently recited as method steps. Further it would not be possible to use the steps claimed without infringing the structure of the ’421 device. It also would not be possible to use the ‘421 device without infringing the instant claims. A comparison of Claim 36 of the instant application to Claim 20 of the processor in the ’421 patent as an example is below:
Claim 36 of instant application
Claim 20 of ‘421 patent
A method for controlling a microclimate of a mattress, the method comprising:
a processor configured to:
receiving a temperature setting;
receive a temperature setting,
activating, based on the temperature setting, an air controller to cause air to move through an air distribution layer of the mattress at a first airflow rate,
activate the fan assembly based on the temperature setting to thereby move air through the air distribution layer at a first airflow rate,
receiving a temperature signal from a temperature sensor, the temperature signal being representative of a temperature of air that flows through the air controller,
receive a temperature signal from the temperature sensor, the temperature signal being representative of a temperature of air that flows through the air controller,
receiving a humidity signal from a humidity sensor, the humidity signal being representative of a humidity of air that flows through the air controller,
receive a humidity signal from the humidity sensor, the humidity signal being representative of a humidity of air that flows through the air controller,
based on the humidity signal, determining an estimated humidity at a top of the mattress;
based on the humidity signal that is representative of the humidity of air that flows through the air controller, determine an estimated humidity at a top of the mattress system;
adjusting the temperature setting based on the temperature signal and the estimated humidity at the top of the mattress; and
adjust the temperature setting based on the temperature signal and the estimated humidity at the top of the mattress system, and
activating, based on the adjusted temperature setting, the air controller to move air through the air distribution layer at a second airflow rate.
activate the fan assembly based on the adjusted temperature setting to thereby move air through the air distribution layer at a second airflow rate.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 36, 38-49, and 89 are allowed pending the filing of a proper Terminal Disclaimer (TD).
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Claims 36 and 89 generally reflect the allowed apparatus claims in parent application 17/964,150, now U.S. Patent No. 12,433,421. Claim 36 contains the similar allowable subject matter to that of Claim 20 of the patent, and Claim 89 contains similar allowable subject matter to that of Claim 1 of the patent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/ERIC J KURILLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619