DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the communication filed on 9/23/2025.
Claims 1-21 are pending.
Claims 1-21 are rejected.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: “comprise comprising” appears to be a typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 7-8, 14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 14 recite “responsive to detecting the at least one of the set of one or more protection levels” which is a different scope from the originally recited “detect the at least one of the set of one or more protection levels is being met”. Examiner is interpreting the limitation to read “responsive to detecting that the at least one of the set of one or more protection levels is being met”.
Claims 7-8 and 17-18 recites the limitation "the protection level". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 8 and 18 recite that “worker nodes are executing physical computing devices” which contradicts “worker nodes that are executing on a set of one or more physical computing device”.
Claims 8 and 18 recite “devices that partially meet the protection level”, “partially” renders the claims indefinite because the scope of what is included or excluded by “partially” is not clear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 10-13, 15 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (U.S. 20220070225), in view of Belgi (U.S. 20260073028).
Regarding claim 1,
Chen discloses: A method comprising: (Chen [Abstract] teaches method)
receiving (Chen [0010-0035, 0036-0050] teaches receiving an input selecting security policies for a computing environment. The environment may be a host computer, a storage array, a cluster of host computers, a software-defined data center, and a physical data center (cloud))
receiving, from the (Chen [0010-0035, 0036-0050] teaches selecting security policies, corresponding to levels of protection, for computing environments (cloud), selected form a plurality of available protection capabilities)
identifying one or more physical computing devices, from a candidate set of physical computing devices, that currently meet the set of one or more protection levels received from (Chen [0010-0035, 0036-0050, Fig. 4-412, Fig. 5-512] teaches selecting an environment, form a plurality of environments, which satisfy the security requirements for the workload)
responsive to the one or more physical computing devices meeting the set of one or more protection levels, selecting the one or more physical computing devices for executing or storing the portion of the target cloud resource; and (Chen [0010-0035, 0036-0050] teaches in response to determining that an environment meets the security requirements, selecting the environment, form a plurality of environments, which satisfy the security requirements for the workload)
initiating the executing or storing of the portion of the target cloud resource on the one or more physical computing devices; (Chen [0010-0035, 0036-0050] teaches deploying and running the workload in the selected environment)
wherein the method is performed by at least one device comprising a hardware processor. (Chen [Abstract, 0001, 0046-0050] teaches a device with a processor performing the method)
Chen does not explicitly disclose:
natural language input…
submitting the natural language input to an artificial intelligence (AI) model;
receiving, from the Al model
However, in the same field of endeavor Belgi discloses: natural language input; submitting the natural language input to an artificial intelligence (AI) model; receiving, from the Al model (Belgi [Abstract, 0003-0005, 0009-0047, 0080-0090, 0126-0150] teaches submitting language input to an AI model which produces output related to security requirements)
Chen and Belgi are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor security policy analysis and determination.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chen and Belgi before him or her, to modify the method of Chen to include the AI/LLM of Belgi because using AI/LLMs to perform conventional tasks was known before the date of filing.
The motivation for doing so would be [“For example, the fine-tuned LLM may provide one or more, or some, or most, or all, of the following benefits or advantages: (A) Analysis of large volume of data; (B) Automated analysis that is not subject to human fatigue or human attention span; (C) Fast processing time, providing immediate or real-time or near-real-time output; (D) Ability to recognize patterns within data; (E) Capabilities of Natural Language Processing (NLP), as well as analysis of text, numerical data, email messages, corporate documents, and a variety of types of data; (F) Capability to generate action items and actionable insights from large amounts of raw data; (G) Contextual understanding, that can take into account nuances of certain terms in a particular context; (H) Data correlation, as the LLM may correlate among multiple data-items from multiple sources; (I) Trend detection and trend analysis; (J) Scalability, allowing the LLM to rapidly process information from multiple sources about a group of dozens—or even hundreds—of users, and to generate relevant and tailored proposals to modify the Access Permissions of particular individuals within that group; (K) Utilization of a feedback loop that enables the LLM to take into account the human responses to past proposals, in which humans had indicated the level of accuracy/relevance/correctness of such previous proposals, thus enabling continuous learning by the LLM tool in order to improve subsequent proposals; (L) Enabling the Resource Owner to rapidly reach an informed decision, as the human decision-maker receives a concise report with textual recommendations and their reasoning and their supporting evidence; (M) Multi-lingual support, as the LLM can process information in several natural languages; (N) Cost reduction, as employing the LLM to rapidly review and analyze a vast amount of organizational data can save hours of human efforts, thereby saving human time as well as costs of human labor and the risks of decision fatigue.”] (Paragraph 0025 by Belgi)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Chen and Belgi to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Claim 11 recites limitations substantially similar in scope as claim 1 above, therefore, is also rejected under the same rationale set forth above. Additionally claim 11 discloses: One or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more hardware processors, cause performance of operations comprising: (Chen [Abstract, 0001, 0046-0050, Claim 15] teaches non-transitory computer-readable medium including processors)
Claim 21 recites limitations substantially similar in scope as claim 1 above, therefore, is also rejected under the same rationale set forth above. Additionally claim 21 discloses: A system comprising: one or more hardware processors; one or more non-transitory computer-readable media; and program instructions stored on the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media that, when executed by the one or more hardware processors, cause the system to: (Chen [Abstract, 0001, 0046-0050, Claim 15] teaches non-transitory computer-readable medium and system including processors)
Regarding claims 2 and 12,
Chen in view of Belgi discloses all the limitations of claim 1,
Chen additionally discloses: The method of Claim 1, wherein the set of one or more protection levels are selected from the plurality of available protection capabilities at least by determining that the set of one or more protection levels can implement protection requirements defined by the (Chen [Abstract, 0001, 0010-0035, 0046-0050] teaches selecting the environment, form a plurality of environments, which satisfy the security requirements for the workload by determining that the environment can perform the required requirement(s))
Chen does not explicitly disclose: natural language
However, in the same field of endeavor Belgi discloses: natural language (Belgi [Abstract, 0003-0005, 0009-0047, 0080-0090, 0126-0150] teaches submitting language input to an AI model which produces output related to security requirements)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify with Belgi for similar reasons as cited in claim 1.
Regarding claims 3 and 13,
Chen in view of Belgi discloses all the limitations of claim 1,
Chen additionally discloses: The method of Claim 1, wherein receiving the set of one or more protection levels from the (Chen [Abstract, 0001, 0010-0035, 0046-0050] teaches that security policies are determined by input and include different levels of protections corresponding to the security requirements of the workload, which can be determined by the function)
Chen does not explicitly disclose: natural language; AI model
However, in the same field of endeavor Belgi discloses: natural language; AI model (Belgi [Abstract, 0003-0005, 0009-0047, 0080-0090, 0126-0150] teaches submitting language input to an AI model which produces output related to security requirements)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify with Belgi for similar reasons as cited in claim 1.
Regarding claims 5 and 15,
Chen in view of Belgi discloses all the limitations of claim 1,
Chen additionally discloses: The method of Claim 1, wherein selecting the one or more physical computing devices comprises selecting a worker node, implemented by the one or more physical computing devices, from a plurality of worker nodes respectively implemented by a plurality of physical computing devices. (Chen [Abstract, 0001, 0010-0035, 0046-0050] teaches selecting a host physical computer environment form a plurality of physical host computing environments)
Regarding claims 10 and 20,
Chen in view of Belgi discloses all the limitations of claim 1,
Chen additionally discloses: The method of Claim 1, further comprising: selecting a subgroup of two or more nodes from a candidate set of nodes for executing or storing the portion of the target cloud resource. (Chen [0010-0035, 0036-0050] teaches the environment, which is selected, may be a host computer, a storage array, a cluster of host computers, a software-defined data center, and a physical data center, for executing the workload)
Claims 4, 6-7, 9 and 14, 16-17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (U.S. 20220070225), in view of Belgi (U.S. 20260073028), in further view of Cencini (U.S. 20170264493).
Regarding claims 4 and 14,
Chen in view of Belgi discloses all the limitations of claim 1,
Chen additionally discloses: The method of Claim 1, wherein:
the (Chen [Abstract, 0001, 0010-0035, 0046-0050] teaches temporal characteristics which correspond to the level of protection needed for the workload when running or stored in the computing environment including time based restrictions)
the method further comprises: (Chen [Abstract] teaches method)
wherein initiating the executing or storing of the portion of the target cloud resource on the one or more physical computing devices is responsive to detecting the at least one of the set of one or more protection levels. (Chen [Abstract, 0001, 0010-0035, 0046-0050] teaches deploying the workload to the host(s) is performed in response to determining security requirements have been, or can be, met, such as time of day, location, retention standards, ect.))
Chen does not explicitly disclose: natural language
However, in the same field of endeavor Belgi discloses: natural language (Belgi [Abstract, 0003-0005, 0009-0047, 0080-0090, 0126-0150] teaches submitting language input to an AI model which produces output related to security requirements)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify with Belgi for similar reasons as cited in claim 1.
Chen in view of Belgi does not explicitly disclose: monitoring environmental conditions associated with the one or more physical computing devices to detect the at least one of the set of one or more protection levels is being met for the one or more physical computing devices,
However, in the same field of endeavor Cencini discloses: monitoring environmental conditions associated with the one or more physical computing devices to detect the at least one of the set of one or more protection levels is being met for the one or more physical computing devices (Cencini [0112-0113, 0127-0128, 0197-0208] monitor things like resources being used by the rack computing unit (e.g. processor usage or memory usage), or environmental conditions, like temperature, vibrations, airflow, particulates, humidity, electromagnetic radiation, and the like and ensuring those conditions are within acceptable parameters to protect computing devices and workloads)
Chen in view of Belgi and Cencini are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, workload distribution.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chen in view of Belgi and Cencini before him or her, to modify the method of Chen in view of Belgi to include the monitoring environmental conditions and physical devices protections of Cencini because it allow for physical conditions to be considered when distributing tasks and to maintain correct temperature of the computing resources)
The motivation for doing so would be [“provide distributed scheduling and resource management that considers not only traditional IT resources, but also considers and can control the physical, environmental, spatial, mechanical, and topological constraints in order to deliver services in an efficient and reliable manner.”, “the rack controller may execute routines that control, engage, and disengage various thermal control units, such as fans or adjustable airflow restrictors, that maintain the temperature of the rack computing units”] (Paragraph 0025, 0095 by Cencini)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Chen in view of Belgi and Cencini to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claims 6 and 16,
Chen in view of Belgi discloses all the limitations of claim 5,
Chen additionally discloses: The method of Claim 5, wherein selecting the worker node comprises (Chen [Abstract, 0001, 0010-0035, 0046-0050] teaches selecting a host physical computer environment form a plurality of physical host computing environments)
Chen in view of Belgi does not explicitly disclose: configuring a Kubernetes cluster to
However, in the same field of endeavor Cencini discloses: configuring a Kubernetes cluster to (Cencini [0135- 0148, 0196-0204] teaches configuring management tools and performing orchestration and workload distribution using tools such as Kubernetes)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify with Cencini for similar reasons as cited in claim 4.
Regarding claims 7 and 17,
Chen in view of Belgi discloses all the limitations of claim 5,
Chen additionally discloses: The method of Claim 5, further comprising: terminating the execution or storage of the portion of the cloud resource by the worker node in response to determining that the protection level has not been met (Chen [Abstract, 0001, 0010-0035, 0046-0050] teaches changing the workload or environment in response to determining that the environment is no longer suitable for the workload)
Chen in view of Belgi does not explicitly disclose: for a threshold period of time
However, in the same field of endeavor Cencini discloses: for a threshold period of time. (Cencini [0128, 0166-0170, 0193] teaches time thresholds determining whether a given rack controller has failed or in some cases, processing may include combining readings from multiple sensors or combining readings from a given sensor over time, for instance, selecting a largest or smallest value, calculating statistics on the sensor output like standard deviation or mean, and comparing sensor readings (such as these statistics) to various thresholds, for instance, to determine whether to respond with an alarm or emit an alarm even in the absence of a recent API request when a reading is above or below a threshold)
Chen in view of Belgi and Cencini are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, workload distribution.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chen in view of Belgi and Cencini before him or her, to modify the method of Chen in view of Belgi to include the time periods of Cencini because it will allow for a notification determination to be made when a threshold is exceeded for a period of time.
The motivation for doing so would be [“For example, some embodiments may convert one or more of these values into units of temperature (like degrees Celsius or Fahrenheit), into units of humidity, into units of vibration (e.g. RPMs), into Boolean values indicating whether doors are open or closed locked or unlocked, and the like. In some cases, processing may include combining readings from multiple sensors or combining readings from a given sensor over time, for instance, selecting a largest or smallest value, calculating statistics on the sensor output like standard deviation or mean, and comparing sensor readings (such as these statistics) to various thresholds, for instance, to determine whether to respond with an alarm or emit an alarm even in the absence of a recent API request when a reading is above or below a threshold.”] (Paragraph 0128 by Cencini)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Chen in view of Belgi and Cencini to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claims 9 and 19,
Chen in view of Belgi discloses all the limitations of claim 1,
Chen additionally discloses: The method of Claim 1, wherein: (Chen [Abstract] teaches method)
selecting the one or more physical computing devices based on the set of one or more protection levels received from the (Chen [0010-0035, 0036-0050] teaches in response to determining that an environment meets the security requirements, selecting the environment, form a plurality of environments, which satisfy the security requirements for the workload)
submitting the one or more protection levels and system configuration parameters to a selection component; and (Chen [0010-0035, 0036-0050] teaches in response to determining that an environment meets the security requirements, selecting the environment, form a plurality of environments, which satisfy the security requirements for the workload. The requirements are transmitted to the function for determining which environment to host the workload in)
receiving from the selection component a selection of (a) the one or more physical computing devices and/or (b) a compute resource for executing the portion of the target cloud resource, the compute resource being executed on the one or more physical computing devices. (Chen [0010-0035, 0036-0050] teaches a user specifying required levels of encryption, isolation, memory-protection, over-the-wire-encryption, time-of-day-use, geofencing, data-retention standards, etc.; the function received the security requirements and returns a selection of at least one physical computing environment for performing the work)
Chen does not explicitly disclose: AI model
However, in the same field of endeavor Belgi discloses: AI model (Belgi [Abstract, 0003-0005, 0009-0047, 0080-0090, 0126-0150] teaches submitting language input to an AI model which produces output related to security requirements)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify with Belgi for similar reasons as cited in claim 1.
Chen in view of Belgi does not explicitly disclose: the set of one or more protection levels comprise a score and/or weight corresponding to each of a plurality of protection dimensions; and
However, in the same field of endeavor Cencini discloses: the set of one or more protection levels comprise a score and/or weight corresponding to each of a plurality of protection dimensions; and (Cencini [0036, 0171, 0206-0210 0231-8. (or claim 8)] teaches using weighted scores, scored, or weights to determine policies for resource allocation)
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (U.S. 20220070225), in view of Belgi (U.S. 20260073028), in further view of Saxena (U.S. 20220121470).
Regarding claims 8 and 18,
Chen in view of Belgi discloses all the limitations of claim 5,
Chen additionally discloses: The method of Claim 5, wherein selecting the one or more physical computing devices comprises: (Chen [Abstract, 0001, 0010-0035, 0046-0050] teaches selecting a host physical computer environment form a plurality of physical host computing environments)
Chen in view of Belgi does not explicitly disclose: responsive to determining that an insufficient number of worker nodes are executing candidate physical computing devices that meet the protection level, selecting a set of worker nodes that are executing on a set of one or more physical computing devices that partially meet the protection level until a minimum number of worker nodes are selected for executing or storing the portion of the target cloud resource.
However, in the same field of endeavor Saxena discloses: responsive to determining that an insufficient number of worker nodes are executing candidate physical computing devices that meet the protection level, selecting a set of worker nodes that are executing on a set of one or more physical computing devices that partially meet the protection level until a minimum number of worker nodes are selected for executing or storing the portion of the target cloud resource. (Saxena [0020-0024, 0061-0075] teaches deploying workload(s) to processing environments (nodes) which are able to meet the security requirements according to an ordered set of preferred execution environment)
Chen in view of Belgi and Saxena are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of resource allocation and Kubernetes.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chen in view of Belgi and Saxena before him or her, to modify the method of Chen in view of Belgi to include the optimized node level resource allocation of Saxena because it intelligently collocates microservices (e.g., in the same Kubernetes Cluster®))
The motivation for doing so would be [“One potential advantage of differentiating container deployment by security technique is that each security technique has its own security and performance strengths and tradeoffs, and therefore, container deployment can be optimized for different security preferences/requirements”] (Paragraph 0067 by Saxena)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Chen in view of Belgi and Saxena to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Crabtree 2025-04-19 (U.S. 20250259085) teaches a system and method for implementing a convergent intelligence fabric (CIF) for distributed artificial intelligence operations. The CIF architecture integrates tensor-theoretic foundations, probabilistic cache management, precision-aware memory operations, quantum-resistant security, and neural-based optimization within a unified framework. The system orchestrates asynchronous, multi-hop data flow among computational resources while maintaining data security through per-block encryption and identity-based access control. Key components include a universal multi-model KV cache subsystem, agent-parallel disaggregation pipelines, reinforcement learning-based orchestration, and neuromorphic memory integration. Advanced implementations incorporate graphon-enhanced memory for sparse graph sequences, multi-modal cognitive persistent memory, and quantum-resistant asynchronous multi-domain trust protocols. The system enables efficient cross-agent collaboration, sophisticated knowledge sharing, and secure cross-domain operations while optimizing computational resources and maintaining strict privacy guarantees across distributed AI deployments.
Feng 2024-11-27 (U.S. 20250094203) teaches methods and apparatuses for creating a container, and a storage medium, and relates to the field of computer communication technologies. One example method is performed by a first node in a container cluster, and includes obtaining a first creation request that indicates to create a secure container. A first virtual machine is created based on the first creation request, and the secure container is run in the first virtual machine, where a physical resource of a memory of the first virtual machine is a first physical storage space in a first storage node.
THOMAS A. CARNES
Examiner
Art Unit 2436
/THOMAS A CARNES/Examiner, Art Unit 2436