Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (CN 118 867 016) in view of Liu et al. (US 2025/0081630)
Sun discloses a back-contact solar cell (see fig. 3), comprising:
a silicon substrate (10);
a first doped silicon layer (20) and a second doped silicon layer (30) that are provided on a back side of the silicon substrate (10), the first doped silicon layer (20) and the second doped silicon layer (30) having opposite doping types and being separated by an isolation region (see para [n0038], [n0047]-[n0048] and [0054]); and
a conductive block (50) provided on the back side (12) of the silicon substrate (10), partially located on the first doped silicon layer (20) and partially located in the isolation region (trench 123 plus, shown in mark-up of fig. 3 below) (shown in fig. 3, see para [n0048] and [0054]);
the conductive block (50, contact structure) comprising a third doped silicon layer (50) having a same doping type as the second doped silicon layer (30) and the silicon substrate (10) (see para [n0047] and [n0064]-[n0065]);
wherein the first doped silicon layer (20) and the third doped silicon layer (50) are in electrical contact via an isolation buffer layer (40/60) (shown in fig. 3, see para [n0038], [n0047]-[n0057]).
Sun does not disclose a doping concentration of a doping element in the third doped silicon layer is greater than a doping concentration of a doping element in the silicon substrate.
Liu is analogous art to Sun as Liu is directed to a solar cell and providing contacts over a tunnel oxide (see abstract and para [0003]). Liu discloses dopant concentration in the contact region, i.e., third doped silicon layer which is integral to second dopant layer), is greater than a doping concentration of a doping element in the silicon substrate (see para [0032]).
The court has held it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine prior art elements (i.e., doping concentrations in the contact area and doping concentrations in the substrate) according to known methods (i.e., as disclosed by Liu), wherein the result is predictable. See MPEP § 2143.
Regarding claim 2, modified Sun discloses a back-contact solar cell according to claim 1, wherein along a thickness direction of the silicon substrate, there is a ratio of an orthographic projection area of a portion of the conductive block located on the first doped silicon layer to an orthographic projection area of a portion of the conductive block located in the isolation region (see fig. 3 mark-up above).
Sun does not disclose said ratio is in a range of 0.1 to 10.
The court has held it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to optimize a routing variable as "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 5, modified Sun discloses a back-contact solar cell according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the third doped silicon layer is 30 nm to 200 nm (see para [n0006], [0018], [n0103]), which reads on the recited range of 10 nm to 400 nm.
Regarding claim 6, modified Sun discloses a back-contact solar cell according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein a spacing between the conductive block and the second doped silicon layer is in a range of 10 µm to 300 µm.
Sun does disclose the width of the trench, which correlates with the spacing between the conductive block (50) and the second doped silicon layer (30) (see fig. 3 mark-up above), varies depending on functional need, disclosing the width as a result effective variable (see para [n0057]).
The court has held that absent criticality or unexpected results, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to optimize a result effective variable for the intended use of the device. Differences in said result effective variable will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 7, modified Sun discloses a back-contact solar cell according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein along a thickness direction of the silicon substrate, an orthographic projection area of the conductive block is in a range of 1x 102 µm2 to 1x105 µm2. The conductive block is a contact region and size determines resistivity/conductivity, making the orthographic projection a result effective variable (see Sun para [n0004]-[n0006]).
The court has held that absent criticality or unexpected results, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to optimize a result effective variable for the intended use of the device. Differences in said result effective variable will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 8, modified Sun discloses a back-contact solar cell according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of conductive blocks are provided, and along a thickness direction of the silicon substrate, a sum of orthographic projection areas of the plurality of conductive blocks accounts for 0.01% to 1.8% of an orthographic projection area of the silicon substrate. (see para [n0054])
Regarding claim 9, modified Sun discloses a back-contact solar cell according to claim 1, wherein the thickness of the first doped silicon layer is 50 nm to 300 nm and the thickness of the second doped silicon layer is 30 nm to 200 nm (see para [n0017]-[n0018]), which reads on the recited range wherein the thicknesses are independently in a range of 10 nm to 400 nm.
Regarding claim 11, modified Sun discloses a back-contact solar cell according to claim 1, further comprising a first tunneling layer (81) located between the first doped silicon layer (20) and the silicon substrate (10) (see Sun fig. 3, para [n0070]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Sun discloses a back-contact solar cell according to claim 11, further comprising a second tunneling layer (83) located between the second doped silicon layer (30) and the silicon substrate (10) (see Sun fig. 3, para [n0070]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Sun discloses a back-contact solar cell according to claim 12, wherein the conductive block further comprises a third tunneling layer (82) provided in the isolation region and located between the silicon substrate and the third doped silicon layer (50/51) (see Sun fig. 3, para [n0070]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Sun discloses a back-contact solar cell according to claim 1, wherein the isolation buffer layer (40/60) is provided on a side of the first doped silicon layer (20) away from the silicon substrate (10) and is located between the third doped silicon layer (50/51) and the first doped silicon layer (20) (shown in Sun fig. 3, see para [n0038], [n0047] and [n0081]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Sun discloses a back-contact photovoltaic module, comprising the back-contact solar cell according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above and Sun para [n0001], [n0003], [n0047]-[n0057], [n0136]-[n0137]).
Claims 3 and 10, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. and Liu et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hu et al. (US 2024/0355941).
Regarding claim 3, modified Sun discloses a back-contact solar cell according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the doping concentration of the doping element in the third doped silicon layer is in a range of 1x 1019/cm3 to 1x 1021/cm3.
Hu is analogous art to modified Sun as Hu is directed to solar cells (see abstract and para [0003]). Hu discloses the concentration of p-type and n-type polysilicon contact areas to be 7 x 1019/cm3 and 1 x 1020/cm3, respectively, (see Hu et al. para [0112]), which are specific examples within the recited range of 1x 1019/cm3 to 1x 1021/cm3, therefore anticipates the range.
The court has held it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine prior art elements (i.e., doping concentrations in the contact area) according to known methods (i.e., as disclosed by Hu), wherein the result is predictable. See MPEP § 2143.
Regarding claim 10, modified Sun discloses a back-contact solar cell according to claim 1, wherein a ratio of a doping concentration of a doping element in the first doped silicon layer to a doping concentration of a doping element in the second doped silicon layer is in a range of 6% to 70% (see Hu para [0112], i.e., 7 x 1019/10 x 1020 = 0.7, i.e., 70% anticipating the range).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2025/0143005) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wu et al. (US 2025/0143005).
Regarding claim 4, modified Sun discloses back-contact solar cell according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the doping concentration of the doping element in the silicon substrate is in a range of 1x1013/cm3 to 1x 1016/cm3.
Wu is analogous art to Sun as Wu discloses a solar cell with a polysilicon contact area over a tunnel oxide (see para [0031]). Wu discloses the doping element in the silicon substrate is in a range of 1 x 1014 to 1 x 1016, which overlaps the recited range.
The court has held where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Alternately, the court has held that absent criticality or unexpected results, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to optimize a result effective variable for the intended use of the device. Differences in said result effective variable will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also MPEP § 2144.05.
Claim 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. and Liu et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lenes (US 2018/0277701).
Regarding claim 15, modified Sun discloses a back-contact solar cell according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the isolation buffer layer is made of silicon oxide doped with at least one of boron and phosphorus.
Lenes is analogous art to Sun as Lenes discloses a solar cell with a polysilicon contact area over a tunnel oxide (see para [0020], [0058]). Lenes discloses a thermally grown tunnel layer (i.e., silicon oxide) (see Lenes para [0099]). Lenes discloses the thermally grown silicon oxide is doped (see para [0084]).
The Courts have held that it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to select a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Conclusion
JAYNE L. MERSHON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1721
/JAYNE L MERSHON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721