DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Upon further search and review, the claims have been rejected after the review of the IDS and the discovery of new art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Timmons et al. (10,277,506) in view of Tomici et al. (11,146,956).
Timmons teaches a method and system (abstract) in the art of extending network service (background, summary and claims) via a number of intermediate nodes (col. 4, lines 15-50) with a set of neutral hops (col. 5, lines 40-60) and path selection (col. 8, lines 30-60).
While Timmons does briefly mention tunneling (col. 1, lines 45-65), it does not expressly disclose the combination of tunnel connections and access points. Tomici teaches a method and system (abstract) in the relevant art (background, summary and claims) of a number of secure tunnel segments (col. 4, lines 15-35) connecting access points(col. 4, lines 35-60) to the endpoints (col. 6, lines 10-40). The paths are then selected (col. 7, line 65 – col. 8, line 25) based on some rating (interpreted generically as any of a variety of metrics, scoring or measurements)(col. 24, lines 35-60). At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have added Tomici in order to provide improvements to increase network range (col. 1, lines 15-30).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Timmons and Tomici as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of McLamply et al. (9,729,439).
Timmons and Tomici do not expressly disclose the use of this memory. McLampy teaches a method and system (abstract) in the relevant art (background, summary and claims) that includes this limitation (col. 1, line 60 – col. 3, line 5). At the time of filing, one of ordinary skill in the art would have added McLampy in order to provide improvements to tunneling protocols (col. 1, lines 35-55).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MELVIN H POLLACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445