DETAILED ACTION
In the response to this Office action, the Office respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Office in prosecuting this application.
The Office has cited particular figures, elements, paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider each of the cited references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage disclosed by the Office.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/31/2026 and 08/06/2026 is being considered by the Examiner.
Disposition of the Claims
3. The instant application was effectively filed on September 25, 2024, wherein claims 1-24 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim recites “in accordance a determination that the pose is a first pose, generating a first haptic feedback at the electronic pointing device” claim should be amended as follows: in accordance with a determination that the pose is a first pose, generating a first haptic feedback at the electronic pointing device. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-12 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tokubo US PG-PUB 20230041294 A1 (hereinafter Tokubo).
Regarding claim 1, Tokubo teaches A method (Fig. 6) comprising: at an electronic device in communication with one or more displays and one or more input devices (Fig. 2, Para. [0031]; FIG. 2 illustrates the CE device 50 of FIG. 1 implemented as an augmented reality (AR) or virtual reality (VR) HMD worn by a person 200, the second CE device 48 implemented as a computer simulation console such as a computer game console, the AVD 12 implemented as a display device, and the server 52 implemented as a source of computer simulations for presentation on the display 12), wherein the one or more input devices include an electronic pointing device (Fig. 2 and Para. [0032]; an object 204 such as a wand, stick, pen, electronic drumstick, electronic ruler, or other elongated object): while a user of the electronic device is interacting with a three-dimensional environment using the electronic pointing device (Para. [0031] and [0033]), receiving an indication of a pose of a portion of the user directed to the electronic pointing device (Para. [0033]; the hand 202 in a pose for holding a pen 300 (FIG. 3) is differentiated from the hand in a pose for holding an eating utensil 400 (FIG. 4) and from the hand 202 in a pose for holding a wand 500 (FIG. 5).); in response to receiving the indication of the pose of the portion of the user directed to the electronic pointing device: in accordance a determination that the pose is a first pose, generating a first haptic feedback at the electronic pointing device (Para. [0004], [0037]-[0039]; the pose is a first pose, the haptic feedback is first haptic feedback, and the method further includes identifying a second pose of the hand holding an object); and in accordance with a determination that the pose is a second pose, different from the first pose (Para. [0004], [0037]-[0039]; The method may include, based at least in part on the second pose, identifying a second haptic feedback, and implementing the second haptic feedback on the object. The object on which the second haptic feedback is implemented may be the same or a different object on which the first haptic feedback is implemented), generating a second haptic feedback, different from the first haptic feedback, at the electronic pointing device (Para. [0038]; while holding the physical object in a certain way, one or a set of haptic feedbacks can be experienced. For example, when the pose of the hand is in a configuration like holding a pen as shown in FIG. 3, haptic feedback may be generated on the pen/object to mimic the tactile sensation of writing on a surface or erasing (e.g., in lateral directions relative to the real or virtual writing surface itself). Additional resistance may also be applied at the pen tip as coming from a direction of the real or virtual writing surface, possibly along a longitudinal axis of the pen. In contrast, when the pose of the hand is in a fist as shown in FIG. 2, haptic feedback may be generated on the object being held to mimic the tactile sensation of the object in hand).
Regarding claim 2, Tokubo teaches The method of claim 1, Tokubo further teaches wherein the received indication of the pose of the portion of the user includes an indication of a location on the electronic pointing device where the portion of the user is interacting with the electronic pointing device (i.e. Para. [0038], [0044]; hand in a configuration like holding a pen as shown in Fig. 3 or when the pose of the hand is in a fist as shown in FIG. 2, different hand poses may be differentiated from each other based on hand interaction with the object. For example, the hand 202 in a pose for holding a pen 300 (FIG. 3) is differentiated from the hand in a pose for holding an eating utensil 400 (FIG. 4) and from the hand 202 in a pose for holding a wand 500 (FIG. 5). These different poses are held at different locations to initiate different interactions with the object and is interpreted by Examiner to correspond to claimed “indication of a location on the electronic pointing device where the portion of the user is interacting with the electronic pointing device).
Regarding claim 3, Tokubo teaches The method of claim 1, Tokubo further teaches wherein the received indication of the pose of the portion of the user includes an indication of an orientation of the portion of the user with respect to the electronic pointing device (Para. [0036]-[0037] and Fig. 2-5; various hand poses held in different orientations).
Regarding claim 4, Tokubo teaches The method of claim 1, Tokubo further teaches wherein the received indication of the pose of the portion of the user includes an indication of a force being applied to the electronic pointing device by the portion of the user (Fig.’s 2-5 and Para. [0034]-[0039]; hand poses and particular hand contact points along the object 204 may also be determined using various other sensors in addition to or in lieu of a camera, in any appropriate combination. For example, pressure sensors and capacitive or resistive touch sensors located at various points along the exterior of the object's housing may be used to determine hand pose/contact points).
Regarding claim 9, Tokubo teaches An electronic pointing device (Fig. 2-5), the electronic pointing device comprising: one or more sensors, wherein the one or more sensors are configured to detect touch inputs applied to the electronic pointing device (Para. [0034]; However, further note that hand poses and particular hand contact points along the object 204 may also be determined using various other sensors in addition to or in lieu of a camera, in any appropriate combination. For example, pressure sensors and capacitive or resistive touch sensors located at various points along the exterior of the object's housing may be used to determine hand pose/contact points); a haptic feedback engine (Para. [0006]; haptic generator), wherein the haptic feedback engine is configured to generate a haptic feedback at the electronic pointing device (Para. [0006], [0038] and FIG. 3, haptic feedback may be generated on the pen/object to mimic the tactile sensation of writing on a surface or erasing (e.g., in lateral directions relative to the real or virtual writing surface itself). Additional resistance may also be applied at the pen tip as coming from a direction of the real or virtual writing surface, possibly along a longitudinal axis of the pen. In contrast, when the pose of the hand is in a fist as shown in FIG. 2, haptic feedback may be generated on the object being held to mimic the tactile sensation of the object in hand); and one or more processors (Para. [0007], [0033], at least one processor); a memory (Para. [0007]; at least one computer storage); and one or more programs (Para. [0007], instructions executable by at least one processor), wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors (Claim 13, 14, Para. [0007], [0033]; at least one computer storage that is not a transitory signal and that comprises instructions executable by at least one processor and the instructions are executable), the one or more programs including instructions for: while the electronic pointing device is in communication with an electronic device presenting a three-dimensional environment including virtual content ((Fig. 2, Para. [0031]; FIG. 2 illustrates the CE device 50 of FIG. 1 implemented as an augmented reality (AR) or virtual reality (VR) HMD worn by a person 200, the second CE device 48 implemented as a computer simulation console such as a computer game console, the AVD 12 implemented as a display device, and the server 52 implemented as a source of computer simulations for presentation on the display 12)): receiving an indication to generate a haptic feedback at the haptic feedback engine in accordance with an interaction with the three-dimensional environment using the electronic pointing device (Para. [0004]-[0007], [0031]-[0039]; i.e. based at least in part on the second pose, identifying a second haptic feedback, and implementing the second haptic feedback on the object. wherein the detected pose is an indication to implementing haptic feedback); receiving an indication of a pose of a portion of a user of the electronic pointing device directed to the electronic pointing device (Para. [0033]; the hand 202 in a pose for holding a pen 300 (FIG. 3) is differentiated from the hand in a pose for holding an eating utensil 400 (FIG. 4) and from the hand 202 in a pose for holding a wand 500 (FIG. 5).); and in response to receiving the indication to generate the haptic feedback and the indication of the pose of the portion of the user directed to the electronic pointing device: in accordance a determination that the pose is a first pose, generating a first haptic feedback at the electronic pointing device (Para. [0004], [0037]-[0039]; the pose is a first pose, the haptic feedback is first haptic feedback, and the method further includes identifying a second pose of the hand holding an object); and in accordance with a determination that the pose is a second pose, different from the first pose, generating a second haptic feedback, different from the first haptic feedback, at the electronic pointing device (Para. [0038]; while holding the physical object in a certain way, one or a set of haptic feedbacks can be experienced. For example, when the pose of the hand is in a configuration like holding a pen as shown in FIG. 3, haptic feedback may be generated on the pen/object to mimic the tactile sensation of writing on a surface or erasing (e.g., in lateral directions relative to the real or virtual writing surface itself). Additional resistance may also be applied at the pen tip as coming from a direction of the real or virtual writing surface, possibly along a longitudinal axis of the pen. In contrast, when the pose of the hand is in a fist as shown in FIG. 2, haptic feedback may be generated on the object being held to mimic the tactile sensation of the object in hand).
Regarding claim 10, Tokubo teaches The electronic pointing device of claim 9, Tokubo further teaches wherein the received indication of the pose of the portion of the user includes an indication of a location on the electronic pointing device where the portion of the user is interacting with the electronic pointing device (i.e. Para. [0038], [0044]; hand in a configuration like holding a pen as shown in Fig. 3 or when the pose of the hand is in a fist as shown in FIG. 2, different hand poses may be differentiated from each other based on hand interaction with the object. For example, the hand 202 in a pose for holding a pen 300 (FIG. 3) is differentiated from the hand in a pose for holding an eating utensil 400 (FIG. 4) and from the hand 202 in a pose for holding a wand 500 (FIG. 5). These different poses are held at different locations to initiate different interactions with the object and is interpreted by Examiner to correspond to claimed “indication of a location on the electronic pointing device where the portion of the user is interacting with the electronic pointing device).
Regarding claim 11, Tokubo teaches The electronic pointing device of claim 9, Tokubo further teaches wherein the received indication of the pose of the portion of the user includes an indication of an orientation of the portion of the user with respect to the electronic pointing device (Para. [0036]-[0037] and Fig. 2-5; various hand poses held in different orientations).
Regarding claim 12, Tokubo teaches The electronic pointing device of claim 9, Tokubo further teaches wherein the received indication of the pose of the portion of the user includes an indication of a force being applied to the electronic pointing device by the portion of the user (Fig.’s 2-5 and Para. [0034]-[0039]; hand poses and particular hand contact points along the object 204 may also be determined using various other sensors in addition to or in lieu of a camera, in any appropriate combination. For example, pressure sensors and capacitive or resistive touch sensors located at various points along the exterior of the object's housing may be used to determine hand pose/contact points).
Regarding claim 17, Tokubo teaches A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device (Claim 13, Para. [0007]; at least one computer storage that is not a transitory signal and that comprises instructions executable by at least one processor), cause the electronic device to perform a method comprising: at an electronic device in communication with one or more displays and one or more input devices (Fig. 2, Para. [0031]; FIG. 2 illustrates the CE device 50 of FIG. 1 implemented as an augmented reality (AR) or virtual reality (VR) HMD worn by a person 200, the second CE device 48 implemented as a computer simulation console such as a computer game console, the AVD 12 implemented as a display device, and the server 52 implemented as a source of computer simulations for presentation on the display 12), wherein the one or more input devices include an electronic pointing device (Fig. 2 and Para. [0032]; an object 204 such as a wand, stick, pen, electronic drumstick, electronic ruler, or other elongated object): while a user of the electronic device is interacting with a three-dimensional environment using the electronic pointing device (Para. [0031] and [0033]), receiving an indication of a pose of a portion of the user directed to the electronic pointing device (Para. [0033]; the hand 202 in a pose for holding a pen 300 (FIG. 3) is differentiated from the hand in a pose for holding an eating utensil 400 (FIG. 4) and from the hand 202 in a pose for holding a wand 500 (FIG. 5).); in response to receiving the indication of the pose of the portion of the user directed to the electronic pointing device: in accordance a determination that the pose is a first pose, generating a first haptic feedback at the electronic pointing device (Para. [0004], [0037]-[0039]; the pose is a first pose, the haptic feedback is first haptic feedback, and the method further includes identifying a second pose of the hand holding an object); and in accordance with a determination that the pose is a second pose, different from the first pose, generating a second haptic feedback, different from the first haptic feedback, at the electronic pointing device (Para. [0038]; while holding the physical object in a certain way, one or a set of haptic feedbacks can be experienced. For example, when the pose of the hand is in a configuration like holding a pen as shown in FIG. 3, haptic feedback may be generated on the pen/object to mimic the tactile sensation of writing on a surface or erasing (e.g., in lateral directions relative to the real or virtual writing surface itself). Additional resistance may also be applied at the pen tip as coming from a direction of the real or virtual writing surface, possibly along a longitudinal axis of the pen. In contrast, when the pose of the hand is in a fist as shown in FIG. 2, haptic feedback may be generated on the object being held to mimic the tactile sensation of the object in hand).
Regarding claim 18, Tokubo teaches The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 17, Tokubo further teaches wherein the received indication of the pose of the portion of the user includes an indication of a location on the electronic pointing device where the portion of the user is interacting with the electronic pointing device (i.e. Para. [0038], [0044]; hand in a configuration like holding a pen as shown in Fig. 3 or when the pose of the hand is in a fist as shown in FIG. 2, different hand poses may be differentiated from each other based on hand interaction with the object. For example, the hand 202 in a pose for holding a pen 300 (FIG. 3) is differentiated from the hand in a pose for holding an eating utensil 400 (FIG. 4) and from the hand 202 in a pose for holding a wand 500 (FIG. 5). These different poses are held at different locations to initiate different interactions with the object and is interpreted by Examiner to correspond to claimed “indication of a location on the electronic pointing device where the portion of the user is interacting with the electronic pointing device”).
Regarding claim 19, Tokubo teaches The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 17, Tokubo further teaches wherein the received indication of the pose of the portion of the user includes an indication of an orientation of the portion of the user with respect to the electronic pointing device (Para. [0036]-[0037] and Fig. 2-5; various hand poses held in different orientations).
Regarding claim 20, Tokubo teaches The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 17, Tokubo further teaches wherein the received indication of the pose of the portion of the user includes an indication of a force being applied to the electronic pointing device by the portion of the user (Fig.’s 2-5 and Para. [0034]-[0039]; hand poses and particular hand contact points along the object 204 may also be determined using various other sensors in addition to or in lieu of a camera, in any appropriate combination. For example, pressure sensors and capacitive or resistive touch sensors located at various points along the exterior of the object's housing may be used to determine hand pose/contact points).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 5, 13 and 21 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tokubo US PG-PUB 20230041294 A1 (hereinafter Tokubo) in view of Lindmeier et al. US PG-PUB 20240103636 A1 (hereinafter Lindmeier).
Regarding claim 5, Tokubo teaches The method of claim 1, Tokubo further teaches wherein the received indication of the pose of the portion of the user includes an indication of a pose of a hand of the user that is holding the electronic pointing device (See Fig. 2-5),
Tokubo fails to further disclose and an indication of a pose of a second hand of the user that is not holding the electronic pointing device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lindmeier teaches an indication of a pose of a second hand of the user that is not holding the electronic pointing device (Fig. 7a, 7a1, 7b and 7c).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tokubo with the teachings as taught by Lindmeier in order to allows an intuitive manipulation of virtual content.
Regarding claim 13, Tokubo teaches The electronic pointing device of claim 9, Tokubo further teaches wherein the received indication of the pose of the portion of the user includes an indication of a pose of a hand of the user that is holding the electronic pointing device (See Fig. 2-5), Tokubo fails to further disclose and an indication of a pose of a second hand of the user that is not holding the electronic pointing device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lindmeier teaches an indication of a pose of a second hand of the user that is not holding the electronic pointing device (Fig. 7a, 7a1, 7b and 7c).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tokubo with the teachings as taught by Lindmeier in order to allows an intuitive manipulation of virtual content.
Regarding claim 21, Tokubo teaches The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 17, Tokubo further teaches wherein the received indication of the pose of the portion of the user includes an indication of a pose of a hand of the user that is holding the electronic pointing device (See Fig. 2-5), Tokubo fails to further disclose and an indication of a pose of a second hand of the user that is not holding the electronic pointing device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lindmeier teaches an indication of a pose of a second hand of the user that is not holding the electronic pointing device (Fig. 7a, 7a1, 7b and 7c).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tokubo with the teachings as taught by Lindmeier in order to allows an intuitive manipulation of virtual content.
Claims 6, 14 and 22 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Tokubo US PG-PUB 20230041294 A1 (hereinafter Tokubo) in view of Pelissier et al. US PG-PUB 20230081403 A1 (hereinafter Pelissier).
Regarding claim 6, Tokubo teaches The method of claim 1, Tokubo fails to further disclose wherein one or more of the first haptic feedback and the second haptic feedback include a stereo haptic effect generated at the electronic pointing device, and wherein the stereo haptic effect is generated at one or more of a first end and a second end of the electronic pointing device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pelissier wherein one or more of the first haptic feedback and the second haptic feedback include a stereo haptic effect generated at the electronic pointing device (Fig. 1, 3a-3c, 4c, 5; haptic vibrations 68 and amplified sound 72), and wherein the stereo haptic effect is generated at one or more of a first end and a second end of the electronic pointing device (Fig. 1, 3a-3c, 4c, 5; haptic vibrations 68 and amplified sound 72 is generated in first end and/or second end).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tokubo with the teachings as taught by Pelissier in order to enhance the system by producing different effects perceivable by user.
Regarding claim 14, Tokubo teaches The electronic pointing device of claim 9, Tokubo fails to further disclose wherein one or more of the first haptic feedback and the second haptic feedback include a stereo haptic effect generated at the electronic pointing device, and wherein the stereo haptic effect is generated at one or more of a first end and a second end of the electronic pointing device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pelissier wherein one or more of the first haptic feedback and the second haptic feedback include a stereo haptic effect generated at the electronic pointing device (Fig. 1, 3a-3c, 4c, 5; haptic vibrations 68 and amplified sound 72), and wherein the stereo haptic effect is generated at one or more of a first end and a second end of the electronic pointing device (Fig. 1, 3a-3c, 4c, 5; haptic vibrations 68 and amplified sound 72 is generated in first end and/or second end).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tokubo with the teachings as taught by Pelissier in order to enhance the system by producing different effects perceivable by user.
Regarding claim 22, Tokubo teaches The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 17, Tokubo fails to further disclose wherein one or more of the first haptic feedback and the second haptic feedback include a stereo haptic effect generated at the electronic pointing device, and wherein the stereo haptic effect is generated at one or more of a first end and a second end of the electronic pointing device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pelissier wherein one or more of the first haptic feedback and the second haptic feedback include a stereo haptic effect generated at the electronic pointing device (Fig. 1, 3a-3c, 4c, 5; haptic vibrations 68 and amplified sound 72), and wherein the stereo haptic effect is generated at one or more of a first end and a second end of the electronic pointing device (Fig. 1, 3a-3c, 4c, 5; haptic vibrations 68 and amplified sound 72 is generated in first end and/or second end).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tokubo with the teachings as taught by Pelissier in order to enhance the system by producing different effects perceivable by user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8, 15-16, 23 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AMY ONYEKABA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628