DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, Claims 12-18 in the reply filed on 17 February 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that both groups recite receipt of sensor signals. This is not found persuasive because although they receive sensing signals, group II does not require the power supply disposed within the housing as in group III, and group III does not require the specific subset of electrodes to include at least two electrodes of a first, second, and third electrode as in group II, continuing to differentiate the two groups from one another by combination / subcombination. Accordingly, the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claims 1-11 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention/group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
(e) the invention was described in a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention thereof by the applicant for patent, or on an international application by another who has fulfilled the requirements of paragraphs (1), (2), and (4) of section 371(c) of this title before the invention thereof by the applicant for patent.
The changes made to 35 U.S.C. 102(e) by the American Inventors Protection Act of 1999 (AIPA) and the Intellectual Property and High Technology Technical Amendments Act of 2002 do not apply when the reference is a U.S. patent resulting directly or indirectly from an international application filed before November 29, 2000. Therefore, the prior art date of the reference is determined under 35 U.S.C. 102(e) prior to the amendment by the AIPA (pre-AIPA 35 U.S.C. 102(e)).
Claims 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Kirby et al. (US 2010/0100150; hereinafter “Kirby”).
Regarding claim 12, Kirby discloses a system, comprising: a sensor configured to sense at least one physiological parameter associated with a respiratory system of a patient (e.g. ¶¶ 42 – pressure sensor in the neck); an array of electrodes supported by a flexible carrier configured to be wrapped around a hypoglossal nerve of the patient (e.g. ¶¶ 26-27 – cuff electrode array – “the cuff may have one or more monitoring contacts 7 and stimulating contacts 9”); and a controller disposed within a housing (e.g. ¶¶ 38 – where the examiner notes that at least the controller is implanted and in a hermetically enclosed sterile housing) and in communication with the sensor and the array of electrodes (e.g. ¶¶ 28), the controller configured to: receive at least one signal from the sensor and cause at least a subset of electrodes of the array of electrodes to stimulate the hypoglossal nerve of the patient at least partially in response to the at least one signal (e.g. ¶¶ 28-29), wherein the subset of electrodes includes at least two electrodes of a first electrode, a second electrode, and a third electrode of the array of electrodes (e.g. ¶¶ 26 – “the cuff may have one or more monitoring contacts 7 and stimulating contacts 9” – where in this embodiment the subset would be the 2 stimulating electrodes out of the 4 total electrodes – 2 monitoring and 2 stimulating).
Regarding claim 13, Kirby discloses the controller is configured to cause the subset of electrodes to stimulate the hypoglossal nerve of the patient according to a stimulation protocol (e.g. ¶¶ 26 – “the cuff may have one or more monitoring contacts 7 and stimulating contacts 9” – where in this embodiment the subset would be the 2 stimulating electrodes out of the 4 total electrodes – 2 monitoring and 2 stimulating).
Regarding claim 14, Kirby discloses the stimulation protocol includes at least two of a pulse width, a pule amplitude, and a pulse shape (e.g. ¶¶ 9 – “Amplitude and pulse width”).
Regarding claim 15, Kirby discloses the controller is configured to receive a selection of the subset of electrodes from an external device (e.g. ¶¶ 18 – “The controller, the monitoring contact of the cuff, the at least one stimulating contact of the cuff, or any combination thereof may be turned off when the position sensing device determines that the patient is in a position other than the lying down position”).
Regarding claim 16, Kirby discloses the flexible carrier has a length between 0.01 mm and 10 mm (e.g. Fig. 4 – where the examiner notes that the entire length of the hypoglossal nerve in the neck is 20mm and the carrier would clearly be less than 10mm or half the length).
Regarding claim 17, Kirby discloses a battery disposed within the housing, the battery configured to supply power to the controller (e.g. Fig. 1, #19, ¶¶ 38).
Regarding claim 18, Kirby discloses the array of electrodes are electrically coupled to the controller by at least one flexible wire (e.g. ¶¶ 40).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J D'ABREU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796