DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “video capture module for”, “an event module for”, “a coefficient calculation module for”, and “an inter-pupillary (PD) module for” in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “known-size” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “known-size” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what the known-size reference is and how it is determined.
Applicant is required to correct.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vilcovsky et al. (US 20130229482 A1)
Regarding Claim 2, Vilcovsky et al. teaches a system for automatically performing measurements for fitting eyewear (Paragraph 61), comprising:
a video capture module for receiving digital images of a user's face (Paragraphs 46-48);
an event module for estimating head orientation in the digital images (Paragraph 106);
a coefficient calculation module for identifying a known-size reference in the digital images and deriving from the known-size reference a pixel coefficient enabling conversion of pixel distance in the digital images to physical distance (Paragraphs 106-108);
an inter-pupillary (PD) module for using the pixel coefficient to generate a PD measurement from the digital images of the user's face (Paragraph 145; Paragraphs 152-156; Paragraph 165).
Regarding Claim 3, Vilcovsky et al. teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the known-size reference comprises iris diameter and the pixel coefficient is derived by measuring an iris diameter expressed in number of pixels and taking a ratio of the diameter expressed in number of pixels and an average human iris size expressed in millimeters to thereby correlate object size in the digital image to actual physical size (Paragraph 145; Paragraphs 152-156; Paragraph 165).
Regarding Claim 4, Vilcovsky et al. teaches the system of claim 2, further comprising a glasses module for identifying glasses in the digital images and using the pixel coefficient to generate at least one of lens height and lens width of the physical glasses (Paragraphs 106-110; Paragraph 145; Paragraphs 152-156; Paragraph 165).
Regarding Claim 5, Vilcovsky et al. teaches the system of claim 4, further comprising an SH/OC module for using the pixel coefficient and the lens height to generate at least one of: segment height (SH) measurement and ocular center (OC) height from the digital images of the user's face (Paragraphs 106-110; Paragraph 145; Paragraphs 152-156; Paragraph 165).
Regarding Claim 6, Vilcovsky et al. teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the glasses module identifies one of physical or virtual glasses in the digital images (Paragraphs 106-110; Paragraphs 120-121; Paragraph 145; Paragraphs 152-156; Paragraph 165).
Regarding Claim 7, Vilcovsky et al. teaches the system of claim 2, further comprising a prescription module for identifying lens area of glasses within the digital images and calculating optical power at multiple locations within the lens area and generating a prescription based on the optical power at multiple locations (Paragraphs 106-110; Paragraphs 120-121; Paragraph 145; Paragraphs 152-156; Paragraph 165).
Regarding Claim 8, Vilcovsky et al. teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the PD module defines a line passing through a left iris and right iris in the digital images; defines a nose center point on the line; and measures from the nose center a left pupillary distance and a right pupillary distance (Paragraphs 72-73; Paragraphs 106-110; Paragraphs 120-121; Paragraph 145; Paragraphs 152-156; Paragraph 165).
Regarding Claim 9, Vilcovsky et al. teaches the system of claim 2, further comprising a virtual try-on (VTO) module for superimposing an eyeglasses image over the user's face; overlaying a graphical image indicating at least one of an ocular center height (OC) and segment height (SH) on the user's face; and providing a user interface for controlling the graphical image (Paragraphs 72-73; Paragraphs 106-110; Paragraphs 120-121; Paragraph 145; Paragraphs 152-156; Paragraph 165).
Regarding Claim 10, Vilcovsky et al. teaches the system of claim 2, further comprising a registration module for providing an offset of the user's face orientation with respect ideal orientation (Paragraphs 72-73; Paragraphs 106-110; Paragraphs 120-121; Paragraph 145; Paragraphs 152-156; Paragraph 165).
Regarding Claim 11, Vilcovsky et al. teaches the system of claim 10, wherein the registration module projects on a display screen a graphical target that indicates proper a position of the user's face for improved measurement accuracy (Paragraphs 72-73; Paragraphs 106-110; Paragraphs 120-121; Paragraph 145; Paragraphs 152-156; Paragraph 165).
Regarding Claim 12, Vilcovsky et al. teaches the system of claim 2, further comprising: a display screen for displaying the digital images (Paragraph 12); a memory for storing a plurality of virtual articles (Paragraph 12; Paragraph 59); a virtual try-on (VTO) module for fetching a virtual article from the memory and scaling the virtual article using the pixel coefficient to display the virtual article on the display screen (Paragraphs 72-73; Paragraphs 106-110; Paragraphs 120-121; Paragraph 145; Paragraphs 152-156; Paragraph 165).
Regarding Claim 13, Vilcovsky et al. teaches the system of claim 12, wherein the virtual article comprises an eye glasses frame, and wherein the VTO module further comprises an augmentation module for applying virtual lens characteristics to an interior part of the eye glasses frame (Paragraphs 72-74; Paragraphs 106-110; Paragraphs 120-121; Paragraph 145; Paragraphs 152-156; Paragraph 165).
Regarding Claim 14, Vilcovsky et al. teaches the system of claim 13, wherein the lens characteristics comprise one or more of lens thickness, UV coating, tint color, and tint opacity (Paragraphs 72-74; Paragraphs 106-110; Paragraphs 120-121; Paragraph 145; Paragraphs 152-156; Paragraph 165).
Regarding Claim 15, Vilcovsky et al. teaches the system of claim 12, wherein the virtual article comprises an alpha channel of eyeglasses and an RGB channel of the eyeglasses (Paragraphs 72-74; Paragraphs 106-110; Paragraphs 120-121; Paragraph 145; Paragraphs 152-156; Paragraph 165).
Regarding Claim 16, Vilcovsky et al. teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the event module further comprises accuracy thresholds assigned to vertical gaze and horizontal gaze errors obtained from the head orientation to determine whether a digital image is acceptable for the PD measurement (Paragraphs 72-74; Paragraphs 106-110; Paragraphs 120-121; Paragraph 139; Paragraph 145; Paragraphs 152-156; Paragraph 165).
Regarding Claim 17, Vilcovsky et al. teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the known-size reference comprises iris diameter and the pixel coefficient is derived by measuring a right eye iris diameter expressed in number of pixels and a left eye iris diameter expressed in number of pixels, and comparing the difference between the right eye iris diameter and the left eye iris diameter to a threshold; wherein when the difference is below the threshold, taking a ratio of an average of the right eye iris diameter and left eye iris diameter and the human iris size expressed in millimeters to thereby correlate object size in the digital image to actual physical size (Paragraphs 72-74; Paragraphs 106-110; Paragraphs 120-121; Paragraph 130; Paragraph 145; Paragraphs 152-156; Paragraph 165).
Regarding Claim 18, Vilcovsky et al. teaches the system of claim 2, further comprising: an adjusting module for overlaying landmarks on the digital images of the user's face and generating an adjustment interface enabling a user to fine tune locations of the landmarks (Paragraphs 72-74; Paragraphs 106-111; Paragraphs 120-121; Paragraph 130; Paragraph 145; Paragraphs 152-156; Paragraph 165).
Conclusion
/FARHAN MAHMUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483