CTNF 19/337,499 CTNF 85911 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim status Claims 1-20 are pending; claims 1, 19 and 20 are independent. Priority Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Double Patenting 08-33 AIA The nonstatutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg , 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman , 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi , 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum , 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel , 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington , 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP § 2146 et seq. for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The filing of a terminal disclaimer by itself is not a complete reply to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection. A complete reply requires that the terminal disclaimer be accompanied by a reply requesting reconsideration of the prior Office action. Even where the NSDP rejection is provisional the reply must be complete. See MPEP § 804, subsection I.B.1. For a reply to a non-final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.111(a). For a reply to final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.113(c). A request for reconsideration while not provided for in 37 CFR 1.113(c) may be filed after final for consideration. See MPEP §§ 706.07(e) and 714.13. The USPTO Internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The actual filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA/25, or PTO/AIA/26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer. 08-34 AIA Claim s 1, 5, 19 and 20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 5, 2, (1+3) (1+4) of U.S. Patent No. US 12,429,945 , respectively . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because : Instant application US Patent application no. US 12,429,945 Claim 1 , A computer-implemented method comprising: displaying, on an electronic device, an adjustment screen that allows a user to adjust a distance of a lens of the electronic device, wherein the adjustment screen includes a lens image associated with a position of the lens in the electronic device and an eye image associated with a position of an eye of the user; and changing, by the electronic device, a position of the lens image in the adjustment screen to an updated position of the lens image in response to the user adjusting the position of the lens in the electronic device. An adjustment screen display method executed by a computer, comprising: generating an adjustment screen for allowing a user who is wearing a head-mounted display to adjust an inter-lens distance for the head-mounted display; and causing the head-mounted display to display the adjustment screen, wherein, in the adjustment screen, a lens image indicating a lens in the head-mounted display is disposed, and a pupil image that indicates a pupil of the user in reference to an eye tracking result is also disposed; wherein, in a case where the user has performed an operation for changing a position of the lens, changing a position of the lens image in the adjustment screen. 5. The computer-implemented method of claim 2, further comprising determining, by the electronic device, that the deviation satisfies a predetermined threshold, wherein displaying the adjustment screen includes displaying the adjustment screen including a suggestion to address the deviation. 2. The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, in a case where a magnitude of deviation between a position of the lens in the head-mounted display and a position of a pupil of the user is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold, the adjustment screen generation unit sets content suggesting the deviation to the adjustment screen. 19 . An information processing apparatus comprising: an adjustment screen generation unit that generates an adjustment screen for allowing a user who is wearing a head-mounted display to adjust an inter-lens distance for the head-mounted display; and a display control unit that causes the head-mounted display to display the adjustment screen, wherein: the adjustment screen generation unit disposes, in the adjustment screen, a lens image indicating a lens in the head-mounted display and also disposes, in the adjustment screen, a pupil image that indicates a pupil of the user in reference to an eye tracking result; and the adjustment screen generation unit also disposes, in the adjustment screen, at least one of: a first example that indicates correct positions for the lens image and the pupil image; or a second example that indicates incorrect positions for the lens image and the pupil image. Claim 1 . An information processing apparatus comprising: an adjustment screen generation unit that generates an adjustment screen for allowing a user who is wearing a head-mounted display to adjust an inter-lens distance for the head-mounted display; and a display control unit that causes the head-mounted display to display the adjustment screen, wherein the adjustment screen generation unit disposes, in the adjustment screen, a lens image indicating a lens in the head-mounted display and also disposes, in the adjustment screen, a pupil image that indicates a pupil of the user in reference to an eye tracking result; wherein, in a case where the user has performed an operation for changing a position of the lens, the adjustment screen generation unit changes a position of the lens image in the adjustment screen. 3. The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the adjustment screen generation unit also disposes, in the adjustment screen, at least one of an example that indicates correct positions for the lens image and the pupil image and an example that indicates incorrect positions for the lens image and the pupil image. 20 . An information processing apparatus comprising: an adjustment screen generation unit that generates an adjustment screen for allowing a user who is wearing a head-mounted display to adjust an inter-lens distance for the head-mounted display; and a display control unit that causes the head-mounted display to display the adjustment screen, wherein: the adjustment screen generation unit disposes, in the adjustment screen, a lens image indicating a lens in the head-mounted display and also disposes, in the adjustment screen, a pupil image that indicates a pupil of the user in reference to an eye tracking result; and in a case where a state in which a position of the pupil of the user with respect to a position of the lens in the head-mounted display is within an appropriate range has continued for a predetermined amount of time or more, the adjustment screen generation unit sets content suggesting that the inter-lens distance for the head-mounted display is appropriate to the adjustment screen. Claim 1 . An information processing apparatus comprising: an adjustment screen generation unit that generates an adjustment screen for allowing a user who is wearing a head-mounted display to adjust an inter-lens distance for the head-mounted display; and a display control unit that causes the head-mounted display to display the adjustment screen, wherein the adjustment screen generation unit disposes, in the adjustment screen, a lens image indicating a lens in the head-mounted display and also disposes, in the adjustment screen, a pupil image that indicates a pupil of the user in reference to an eye tracking result; wherein, in a case where the user has performed an operation for changing a position of the lens, the adjustment screen generation unit changes a position of the lens image in the adjustment screen. 4 . The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, in a case where a state in which a position of the pupil of the user with respect to a position of the lens in the head-mounted display is within an appropriate range has continued for a predetermined amount of time or more, the adjustment screen generation unit sets content suggesting that the inter-lens distance for the head-mounted display is appropriate to the adjustment screen . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-6, 10-12 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Dai (US 2020/0355928) . Regarding claim 1 , Dai teaches a computer-implemented method (fig. 2) comprising: displaying, on an electronic device, an adjustment screen that allows a user to adjust a distance of a lens of the electronic device, wherein the adjustment screen includes a lens image associated with a position of the lens in the electronic device and an eye image associated with a position of an eye of the user (fig. 2, steps 101 and 102 and Paras 055-0056, wherein determining position information of a center point of a human eye pupil according to a human eye image. In fig. 3 and Para 0057, is a schematic diagram of a human eye image taken by a direct shooting way. In fig. 4, is a schematic diagram of a human eye image taken by an infrared reflector. In fig. 2, step102 and Para 0060 performing position information matching between the position information of the center point of the human eye pupil and position information of a lens optical axis of a VR device . It should be noted that the distance and the deviation in the embodiment of the present application are both expressed in pixels (Para 0062); and changing, by the electronic device, a position of the lens image in the adjustment screen to an updated position of the lens image in response to the user adjusting the position of the lens in the electronic device (fig. 2, step 103 and Para 0063, when a matching result is inconsistent, adjusting a lens pitch of the VR device , such that the position information of the lens optical axis of the VR device matches the position information of the center point of the human eye pupil, see figs 5-8 and Paras 0067-0085, the relationship between the lens axis pitch and the interpupillary distance. In fig. 9 and para 0092, is a schematic structural diagram of adjusting a lens axis pitch . Regarding claim 2 , Dai teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising determining, by the electronic device, a deviation of the lens and the eye, wherein displaying the adjustment screen includes displaying the adjustment screen including deviation information (Paras 0061-0062, wherein a first devia tion is determined according to the position information of the center point of the left eye pupil and position information of a left lens optical axis of the VR device; a second devia tion is determined according to the position information of the center point of the right eye pupil and position information of a right lens optical axis of the VR device). Regarding claim 3 , Dai teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein changing the position of the lens image is based at least in part on the deviation information (figs 5- 9 and Paras 0093). Regarding claim 4 , Dai teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the deviation information includes at least one of an angular misalignment or distance misalignment (Paras 0061-0062, wherein a devia tion of the distance is a difference between the quantity of the pixel point). Regarding claim 5 , Dai teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2, further comprising determining, by the electronic device, that the deviation satisfies a predetermined threshold, wherein displaying the adjustment screen includes displaying the adjustment screen including a suggestion to address the deviation (figs 5-9 and Para 0093). Regarding claim 6 , Dai teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 5, wherein changing the position of the lens image is based at least in part on the suggestion (figs 5-9 and Para 0093). Regarding claim 10 , Dai teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein changing the position of the lens image includes aligning the lens image with the eye image based at least in part on the deviation information (figs 5-9 and Para 0093, wherein according to the difference between the diff values calculated in the relationship between the lens axial pitch and the interpupillary distance shown in FIG. 5 to FIG. 8, different motor driving methods are performed ). Regarding claim 11 , Dai teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 10, aligning the lens image with the eye image includes aligning a first center of the lens image with a second center of the eye image (figs 5-9 and Para 0091, wherein the lens pitch of the VR device is adjusted such that the position information of the lens optical axis of the VR device matches the position information of the center point of the human eye pupil). Regarding claim 12 , Dai teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising detecting, by the electronic device, an adjustment of an adjustment component of the electronic device, wherein changing the position of the lens image is based at least in part on the adjustment (Para 0094). Regarding claim 14 , Dai teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising detecting, by the electronic device, lens position information associated with a position of a first lens of the electronic device and a position of a second lens of the electronic device, wherein displaying the adjustment screen includes displaying the adjustment screen to include the lens position information (fig. 5 and Paras 0067-0070, wherein the horizontal positions of the optical axis of the left and right lenses are: a1 and a 2 , respectively). Regarding claim 15 , Dai teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 14, wherein: the lens image includes a first lens image associated with the first lens and a second lens image associated with the second lens; and displaying the lens position information includes displaying a distance indicator between the first lens image and the second lens image (fig. 5 and Paras 0067-0070, wherein the horizontal positions of the optical axis of the left and right lenses are: a1 and a 2 , respectively. In Para 0062, it should be noted that the distance and the deviation i are both expressed in pixels a horizontal distance between the two pixels is represented by a quantity of pixel point). Regarding claim 16 , Dai teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising determining, by the electronic device, based at least in part on image capture data, eye position information of a first eye of the user and a second eye of the user, wherein the displaying the adjustment screen includes displaying the adjustment screen to include the eye position information (fig. 5 and Paras 0067-0070, wherein the horizontal positions of the pupil centers of the left and right eyes are p1 and p 2 respectively. In Para 0062, it should be noted that the distance and the deviation i are both expressed in pixels a horizontal distance between the two pixels is represented by a quantity of pixel point). Regarding claim 17 , Dai teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of the electronic device, cause the electronic device to perform operations comprising the computer-implemented method of claim 1 (Paras 0112-0118). Regarding claim 18 , Dai teaches a system (fig. 10) comprising: a memory (fig. 10, a memory) comprising computer-executable instructions; and a processor configured to access the memory and execute the computer-executable instructions to perform operations comprising the computer-implemented method of claim 1 (Paras 0104-0110). Regarding claim 19 , Dai teaches an information processing apparatus (figs 3 and 4) comprising: an adjustment screen generation unit (figs 3 and 4, a display screen) that generates an adjustment screen for allowing a user who is wearing a head-mounted display to adjust an inter-lens distance for the head-mounted display (fig. 2, steps 101 and 102 and Paras 055-0056, wherein determining position information of a center point of a human eye pupil according to a human eye image. In fig. 3 and Para 0057, is a schematic diagram of a human eye image taken by a direct shooting way. In fig. 4, is a schematic diagram of a human eye image taken by an infrared reflector. It should be noted that the distance and the deviation in the embodiment of the present application are both expressed in pixels (Para 0062); and a display control unit that causes the head-mounted display to display the adjustment screen (fig. 10, a processor and Para 0095), wherein: the adjustment screen generation unit disposes, in the adjustment screen, a lens image indicating a lens in the head-mounted display and also disposes, in the adjustment screen, a pupil image that indicates a pupil of the user in reference to an eye tracking result (fig. 2, step102 and Para 0060 performing position information matching between the position information of the center point of the human eye pupil and position information of a lens optical axis of a VR device, see figs 5-8) . It should be noted that the distance and the deviation in the embodiment of the present application are both expressed in pixels (Para 0062); and the adjustment screen generation unit also disposes, in the adjustment screen, at least one of: a first example that indicates correct positions for the lens image and the pupil image; or a second example that indicates incorrect positions for the lens image and the pupil image (fig. 2,step, 103 and Paras 0063-0065, wherein when a matching result is inconsistent, adjusting a lens pitch of the VR device, such that the position information of the lens optical axis of the VR device matches the position information of the center point of the human eye pupil. See fig. 5 and Paras 0067-070). Regarding claim 20 , Dai teaches an information processing apparatus (figs 3 and 4) comprising: an adjustment screen generation unit (figs 3 and 4, a display screen) that generates an adjustment screen for allowing a user who is wearing a head-mounted display to adjust an inter-lens distance for the head-mounted display(fig. 2, steps 101 and 102 and Paras 055-0056, wherein determining position information of a center point of a human eye pupil according to a human eye image. In fig. 3 and Para 0057, is a schematic diagram of a human eye image taken by a direct shooting way. In fig. 4, is a schematic diagram of a human eye image taken by an infrared reflector It should be noted that the distance and the deviation in the embodiment of the present application are both expressed in pixels (Para 0062); and a display control unit that causes the head-mounted display to display the adjustment screen (fig. 10, a processor and Para 0095), wherein: the adjustment screen generation unit disposes, in the adjustment screen, a lens image indicating a lens in the head-mounted display and also disposes, in the adjustment screen, a pupil image that indicates a pupil of the user in reference to an eye tracking result (fig. 2, step102 and Para 0060 performing position information matching between the position information of the center point of the human eye pupil and position information of a lens optical axis of a VR device, see figs 5-8) . It should be noted that the distance and the deviation in the embodiment of the present application are both expressed in pixels (Para 0062); and in a case where a state in which a position of the pupil of the user with respect to a position of the lens in the head-mounted display is within an appropriate range has continued for a predetermined amount of time or more, the adjustment screen generation unit sets content suggesting that the inter-lens distance for the head- mounted display is appropriate to the adjustment screen (fig. 5-8 and Para 0093, wherein according to the difference between the diff values calculated in the relationship between the lens axial pitch and the interpupillary distance shown in FIG. 5 to FIG. 8, different motor driving methods are performed. If diff is 0, no adjustment is made, at this time , the lens axis pitch is exactly equal to the interpupillary distance) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7-9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai (US 2020/0355928), and further in view of Ackerman (US 2014/0375540) . Regarding claim 7 , Dai teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 5, but Dai does not expressly disclose further comprising, in response to changing the position of the lens image based at least in part on the suggestion, displaying, by the electronic device, feedback information indicating whether the lens image is aligned with the eye image. However, Ackerman discloses “in response to changing the position of the lens image based at least in part on the suggestion, displaying, by the electronic device, feedback information indicating whether the lens image is aligned with the eye image”, see fig. 6, step 610, fig. 10 and Para 0052. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of Dai with teaching of Ackerman to provide feed back to user regarding precise adjustments that can be made to optimally center the head mounted display device with respect to the user's eyes due to a determination of a horizontal misalignment along the X axis between the IPD of the user and the center-to-center distance between optical elements, as a known technique to yield a predictable result. Regarding claim 8 , Dai in view of Ackerman teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 7, wherein the feedback information is displayed around a perimeter of the lens image (fig. 7-9 and Paras 0048-0051, Ackerman) . Regarding claim 9 , Dai in view of Ackerman teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 7, wherein displaying the feedback information includes changing at least one of a thickness, brightness, or color of the feedback information based at least in part on how far the lens image deviates from the eye image (figs 10-12 and para 0057, Ackerman ). Regarding claim 13 , Dai teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 12, but Dai does not expressly disclose wherein the adjustment component is an adjustment dial that can be rotatably adjusted by the user. However, Ackerman discloses “wherein the adjustment component is an adjustment dial that can be rotatably adjusted by the user”, see fig,. 11 and Paras 0054-0055. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of Dai with teaching of Ackerman to include a visual instructions on how to adjust the head mounted display device. Such instructions could have additionally or alternatively included instructions on how to rotate the head mounted display device to properly align it with the user's eyes, as a known technique to yield a predictable result . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Morifuji (US 2015/0198808), relates to an image display apparatus and a method for displaying an image and specifically relates, for example, to an image display apparatus such as a head-mounted display configured to lead an image displayed on a display element to an eye of an observer by a magnification optical system. Zachrisson (US 2020/0134867), relates to determining the position of a head-mounted device for virtual reality (VR), augmented reality (AR), mixed reality (MR) or other extended reality (XR) on a user. The present disclosure also relates to corresponding systems and storage media. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SAIFELDIN E ELNAFIA whose telephone number is (571)270-5852. The examiner can normally be reached 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, WILLIAM BODDIE can be reached at (571) 272-0666. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /S.E.E/Examiner, Art Unit 2625 6/7/2026 /WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/337,499 Page 2 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/337,499 Page 3 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/337,499 Page 4 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/337,499 Page 5 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/337,499 Page 6 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/337,499 Page 7 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/337,499 Page 8 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/337,499 Page 9 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/337,499 Page 10 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/337,499 Page 11 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/337,499 Page 12 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/337,499 Page 13 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/337,499 Page 14 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/337,499 Page 15 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/337,499 Page 16 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/337,499 Page 17 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/337,499 Page 18 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/337,499 Page 19 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/337,499 Page 20 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/337,499 Page 21 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/337,499 Page 22 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/337,499 Page 23 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/337,499 Page 24 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/337,499 Page 25 Art Unit: 2625 Application/Control Number: 19/337,499 Page 26 Art Unit: 2625