FINAL ACTION
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to papers filed 05/01/2026 in which claims 10-19 were withdrawn; and claim 2 was amended. All the amendments have been thoroughly reviewed and entered.
Claims 1-9 and 20 are under examination.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
The Examiner has re-weighted all the evidence of record. Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed below is hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections and/or objections presently being applied to the instant application.
Maintained Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DeRosa et al (US 2017/0348244 A1).
Regarding claim 1, DeRosa teaches a method of preparing a lipid nanoparticle composition comprising separately generating a nucleic acid solution (mRNA solution) and a lipid solution containing an ionizable lipid, and mixing the mRNA solution and the lipid solution in a reactor, wherein the mRNA solution is mixed at a flow rate ranging from about 150-250 ml/minute and the lipid solution is mixed at a flow rate ranging from about 25-75 ml/minute, thereby providing a suspension of lipid nanoparticles (Abstract; [0003]-[0115], [0117]-[0121]; Figures 1-3 and 5; claims 1-3, 5, 9-12, 14, 23-26, 30, and 32-35). DeRosa teaches the suspension of lipid nanoparticle is purified to filter the lipid nanoparticles from the suspension using a tangential flow filtration system to provide a retentate ([0012], [0027], [0101]-[0106], [0119]-[0121], [0127]; Figures 1-3 and 5; claim 25).
Regarding claim 2, DeRosa teaches retentate is diafiltrated via tangential flow filtration system ([0012], [0027], [0101]-[0106], [0119]-[0121], [0127]; Figures 1-3 and 5).
Regarding claim 3, DeRosa teaches the filtering of the suspension of lipid nanoparticles include concentrating the suspension of lipid nanoparticles to provide concentrated nanoparticles; diafiltrating the concentrated nanoparticles to provide a diafiltrated nanoparticles; and further concentrating the diafiltrated nanoparticles to provide resultant lipid nanoparticles for storage ([0012], [0027], [0101]-[0106], [0119]-[0121], [0127]; Figures 1-3 and 5).
Regarding claim 4, DeRosa teaches the concentrating of the suspension of lipid nanoparticles is performed once via tangential flow filtration system ([0012], [0027], [0101]-[0106], [0119]-[0121], [0127]; Figures 1-3 and 5).
Regarding claim 5, DeRosa teaches the filtering of the suspension of lipid nanoparticles is done continuously ([0092], [0103], [0105], [0127]).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, as discussed above, DeRosa teaches the nucleic acid is a mRNA.
Regarding claim 8, DeRosa teaches the lipid solution contains phospholipid and sterol ([0064]-[0087], [0117]-[0121]; claim 23).
Regarding claim 20, nowhere in the method from DeRosa does it mention an evaporation step, and thus, the method from DeRosa is free of an evaporation step.
As a result, the aforementioned teachings from DeRosa are anticipatory to claims 1-8 and 20 of the instant invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “DeRosa does not describe at least the feature of "filtering the nanoparticle from the reaction mixture via a single-pass tangential flow filtration system" as required by claim 1.” Thus, Applicant alleges that “because DeRosa only describes the use of conventional tangential flow filtration and not using a single-pass tangential flow filtration system, DeRosa cannot anticipate claim 1.” (Remarks, page 7).
In response, the Examiner disagrees. As discussed above in the standing 102 rejection, DeRosa teaches the suspension of lipid nanoparticle is purified to filter the lipid nanoparticles from the suspension using a tangential flow filtration system to provide a retentate ([0012], [0027], [0101]-[0106], [0119]-[0121], [0127]; Figures 1-3 and 5; claim 25). Furthermore, DeRosa teaches the concentrating of the suspension of lipid nanoparticles is performed once via tangential flow filtration system ([0012], [0027], [0101]-[0106], [0119]-[0121], [0127]; Figures 1-3 and 5). Thus, contrary to Applicant’s allegation, the tangential flow filtration system used in DeRosa is indeed a “single-pass,” as the concentrating of the suspension of lipid nanoparticles is performed once via tangential flow filtration system and the tangential flow filtration system is a cross-flow filtration (DeRosa: [0101]; Figures 1-3 and 5).
As a result, for at least the reason discussed above, claims 1-8 and 20 remain rejected as being anticipated by teachings from DeRosa in the standing 102 rejection as set forth in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeRosa et al (US 2017/0348244 A1), and further in view of Bowman et al (US 2017/0196809 A1).
The methods of claims 1-8 and 20 are discussed above, said discussion being incorporated herein in its entirety.
Regarding claim 9, DeRosa teaches the lipid solution contains ionizing lipid (a cationic lipid), a phospholipid, a sterol, and pegylated lipid (a stabilizing agent), wherein the relative molar ratio of such lipids to each other can be adjusted accordingly to provide the desired lipid nanoparticles ([0064]-[0087], [0117]-[0121]; claim 23).
While DeRosa does not expressly the particular mol% ranges for the ionizing lipid, phospholipid, sterol (cholesterol), and stabilizer of claim 9, it would have been obvious to routine optimize the molar % ionizing lipid, phospholipid, sterol, and stabilizer in the lipid solution of DeRosa to the molar % as recited in claim 9 in view of the guidance from Bowman.
Bowman teaches a method for encapsulating a nucleic acid (i.e., mRNA and siRNA) in a lipid nanoparticle in which the lipid solution contains 40-55 mol% of a cationic lipid, 40-55 mol% of a sterol (cholesterol), 5-15 mol% of a phospholipid, and 1-10 mol% of a pegylated lipid (a stabilizing agent) (Abstract; [0009]-[0024]], [0062]-[0318], and [0363]-[0373]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to routinely optimize the mol% of ionizing lipid (a cationic lipid), a phospholipid, a sterol, and pegylated lipid (a stabilizing agent) in the lipid solution of DeRosa to the mol% amounts as claimed in claim 9, and produce the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because as discussed above, Bowman provided the guidance for optimizing the lipid solution to contain cationic lipid 40-55 mol% of a cationic lipid, 40-55 mol% of a sterol (cholesterol), 5-15 mol% of a phospholipid, and 1-10 mol% of a pegylated lipid (a stabilizing agent), which are mol% ranges that falls within or substantially overlaps the claimed mol% ranges for the ionizing lipid, phospholipid, sterol (cholesterol), and stabilizer of claim 9. Thus, it is noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F2d 775. 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Absent some demonstration of unexpected results showing criticality from the claimed parameters, the optimization of mol% for the ionizing lipid, phospholipid, sterol (cholesterol), and stabilizer in the second composition would have been obvious before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention. See MPEP §2144.05 (I)-(II).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “[a]s discussed above, DeRosa does not describe at least the feature of "filtering the nanoparticle from the reaction mixture via a single-pass tangential flow filtration system" as required by claim 1.” Thus, Applicant alleges “Bowman, either alone or together, does not cure the deficiencies of DeRosa.” (Remarks, pages 8-9).
In response, the Examiner disagrees. As discussed above, DeRosa teaches the suspension of lipid nanoparticle is purified to filter the lipid nanoparticles from the suspension using a tangential flow filtration system to provide a retentate ([0012], [0027], [0101]-[0106], [0119]-[0121], [0127]; Figures 1-3 and 5; claim 25). Furthermore, DeRosa teaches the concentrating of the suspension of lipid nanoparticles is performed once via tangential flow filtration system ([0012], [0027], [0101]-[0106], [0119]-[0121], [0127]; Figures 1-3 and 5). Thus, contrary to Applicant’s allegation, the tangential flow filtration system used in DeRosa is indeed a “single-pass,” as the concentrating of the suspension of lipid nanoparticles is performed once via tangential flow filtration system and the tangential flow filtration system is a cross-flow filtration (DeRosa: [0101]; Figures 1-3 and 5).
As a result, for at least the reason discussed above, claim 9 remains rejected as being obvious and unpatentable over the combined teachings of DeRosa and Bowman in the standing 103 rejection as set forth in this office action.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOAN T PHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613