DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson et al. (US 20170160394 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Johnson teaches a method of operating a head-mountable device, comprising: identifying a current device state of the head-mountable device; selecting, (Figs 5A-5C. Para 75-76. different state such as “proper” worn state, propped up on the wearer's head state, hanging from a shirt collar of the wearer state)
in response to identifying that the current device state is a body-worn state of a plurality of candidate body-worn states, an operating mode corresponding to the body-worn state as a current operating mode; and operating the head-mountable device according to the current operating mode. (Para 86-89, operating on different power which are the current operating mode depending on worn state)
Regarding claim 2, Johnson already teaches the method of claim 1, and Johnson further teaches wherein the plurality of candidate body-worn states comprises a face-mounted state. (Figs 5A-5C. Para 75-76. different state such as “proper” worn state which is the face-mounted state, propped up on the wearer's head state, hanging from a shirt collar of the wearer state)
Regarding claim 3, Johnson already teaches the method of claim 2, and Johnson further teaches wherein the plurality of candidate body-worn states comprises a forehead-mounted state. (Figs 5A-5C. Para 75-76. different state such as “proper” worn state, propped up on the wearer's head state is the forehead-mounted state, hanging from a shirt collar of the wearer state)
Regarding claim 4, Johnson already teaches the method of claim 2, and Johnson further teaches wherein the plurality of candidate body-worn states comprises a torso-mounted state. (Figs 5A-5C. Para 75-76. different state such as “proper” worn state, propped up on the wearer's head state, hanging from a shirt collar of the wearer state is the torso-mounted state)
Regarding claim 5, Johnson already teaches the method of claim 1, and Johnson further teaches wherein identifying the current device state of the head-mountable device comprises determining an orientation of the head-mountable device. (Fig. 3, Fig. 6. Para 71-81. Different orientation of the HMD is determined)
Regarding claim 6, Johnson already teaches the method of claim 1, and Johnson further teaches wherein identifying the current device state of the head-mountable device comprises determining a current device configuration of the head-mountable device. (Figs 5A-5C. Para 75-76. different state such as “proper” worn state, propped up on the wearer's head state, hanging from a shirt collar of the wearer state)
Regarding claim 7, Jonson already teaches the method of claim 1, and Johnson further teaches comprising: determining that the current device state of the head-mountable device has changed from the body-worn state to an additional body-worn state of the plurality of candidate body-worn states;. (Figs 5A-5C. Para 75-76. different state such as “proper” worn state, propped up on the wearer's head state, hanging from a shirt collar of the wearer state is the torso-mounted state, and hanging from a shirt collar of the wearer state is the torso-mounted state is the additional body-worn state of the plurality of candidate body-worn states, and propped up on the wearer's head state, hanging from a shirt collar of the wearer state are the plurality of candidate body-worn states)
changing the current operating mode to a different operating mode corresponding to the additional body-worn state. (Para 86-89, operating on different power which are the current operating mode depending on worn state)
Regarding claim 8, Johnson already teaches the method of claim 1, and Johnson further teaches comprising: determining that the current device state of the head-mountable device has changed from the body-worn state; and changing the current operating mode to a transition operating mode. (Para 87. Less power state when the HMD is on desk).
Regarding claim 9, Johnson already teaches the method of claim 8, and Johnson further teaches wherein changing the current operating mode to the transition operating mode comprises: changing the current operating mode to the transition operating mode in response to determining that a set of transition criteria has been met. (Para 77. The criteria pertaining to classified 60-604)
Regarding claim 10, Johnson already teaches the method of claim 9, and Johnson further teaches wherein the set of transition criteria is selected based on the body-worn state. (Para 79. the set of transition criteria is selected based on the body-worn state of different users)
Regarding claim 11, refer to claim 1 as claim 11 is a production claim version of claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, refer to claim 1 as claim 11 is an apparatus claim version of method claim 1. (Para 35 shows processor and memory)
Regarding claim 13-17, refer to rejections for claims 2-6 respectively.
Regarding claim 18, Johnson already teaches the system of claim 12, and Johnson further teaches wherein: the head-mountable device comprises an eye tracker; and the one or more processors are configured to execute instructions causing the one or more processors to identify the current device state of the head-mountable device using information from the eye tracker. (Para 85)
Regarding claim 19, refer to rejection for claim 7.
Regarding claim 20, refer to rejection for claim 8.
Conclusion
/HANG LIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626