DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. US12445623B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of claims 1-20 in the present application is fully disclosed or would have been obvious from the subject matter of claims 1-12 of the referenced patent. Specifically, the differences between the claims are minor and do not result in a patentably distinct invention, as they merely involve variations in implementation that do not confer any unexpected results or inventive step. Accordingly, a terminal disclaimer is required to overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 14-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Galpin et al. (US20190200044A1), hereinafter referred to as Galpin.
Regarding claims 1-6 , these claims are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a bitstream generated by the feature encoding method which is a product by process claim limitation where the product is the bitstream and the process is the method steps to generate the bitstream. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”. Thus, the scope of the claims is the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes the information and samples manipulated by the steps.
“To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated”. MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. MPEP §2111.05(III). The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing the claimed bitstream in claims 1-6 merely serves as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. Therefor the bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claims scope is just a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Galpin which recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a bitstream (See Galpin, ¶¶[0143], [0145] and [0150]-[0152]).
Regarding claim 7, Galpin discloses a method of video decoding performed at a computing system having memory and one or more processors (See ¶¶[0143], [0145] and [0150]-[0152])., the method comprising:
receiving a video bitstream comprising encoded video data and one or more syntax elements indicating delta values for a dynamic clipping range for a picture of the encoded video data See ¶¶[0084], [0087], [0088], [0095] and [0096] disclosing that picture level syntax carries
quantized clipping bound differences and that at the decoder the differences are decoded from the bitstream);, wherein the delta values indicate deviations from a 10-bit range of sample values (See ¶¶[0068] and [0087]-[0092] disclosing that the encoded differences are
deviations from lower and upper fixed predictors, 64 and 940 is expressly identified as a 10-bit limited range predictor pair.)
deriving, based on the one or more syntax elements, the dynamic clipping range for the picture of the encoded video data, wherein the dynamic clipping range modifies the 10-bit range of sample values (See ¶¶[0092], [0095] and [0096] disclosing that the decoder dequantizes bound differences and combines them with predictors to obtain final clipping bounds for the picture); and
performing one or more clipping operations on the encoded video data using the dynamic clipping range (See [0082] and [0096] disclosing that after bound reconstruction, the video data is clipped using the decoded clipping bounds).
Regarding claim 8, Galpin discloses all the limitations of claim 7, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Galpin discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the dynamic clipping range modifies the 10-bit range of sample values from 64 to 940 (See ¶¶[0092] disclosing reconstructing lower and upper clipping bounds from predictors plus and minus decoded deltas).
Regarding claim 14, Galpin discloses all the limitations of claim 7, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Galpin discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the dynamic clipping range modifies the 10-bit range of sample values from 64 to 940 ((See ¶¶[0068] and [0087]-[0092] disclosing that the encoded differences are deviations from lower and upper fixed predictors, 64 and 940 is expressly identified as a 10-bit limited range predictor pair and that the decoded differences modify those base bounds)
Regarding claims 15, 16 and 20, these claims are rejected based on the same art and evidentiary limitations applied to the method of video decoding of claims 7, 8 and 14, since they claim analogous subject matter in the form of a method of video encoding for performing the same or equivalent functionality.
The Examiner notes that it is well-known in the art that video compression involves a complementary pair of systems: an encoder and a decoder. The encoder converts the source data into a compressed form, occupying a reduced number of bits prior to transmission or storage, while the decoder converts the compressed form back into a representation of the original video data by performing a reciprocal process to that of the encoder, decoding the encoded video data from the bitstream.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galpin, in view of Zhao et al. (US20230139083A1), hereinafter referred to as Zhao
Regarding claim 13, Galpin discloses all the limitations of claim 7, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Galpin does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 7, wherein different clipping ranges are used for clipping operations on different color components
However, Zhao from the same or similar endeavor of image processing discloses the method of claim 7, wherein different clipping ranges are used for clipping operations on different color components (See ¶¶[0258] disclosing different clipping ranges to the luma component and the chroma component, respectively) It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Galpin to add the teachings of Zhao as above, in order to improve video/image coding, efficiently applying ACT in the coding process and effectively constructing a clipping range for residuals used in the process of applying ACT (Zhao, [0006]-[0008]).
Regarding claim 19, this claim is rejected based on the same art and evidentiary limitations applied to the method of video decoding of claim 13, since it claims analogous subject matter in the form of a method of video encoding for performing the same or equivalent functionality.
The Examiner notes that it is well-known in the art that video compression involves a complementary pair of systems: an encoder and a decoder. The encoder converts the source data into a compressed form, occupying a reduced number of bits prior to transmission or storage, while the decoder converts the compressed form back into a representation of the original video data by performing a reciprocal process to that of the encoder, decoding the encoded video data from the bitstream.
Claim 11, 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galpin, in view of Kim et al. (US20210160507A1), hereinafter referred to as Kim.
Regarding claim 11, Galpin discloses all the limitations of claim 7, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Galpin does not explicitly disclose The method of claim 7, further comprising:
determining one or more base clipping ranges based on at least one of the video bitstream and parameters of a compression process used to encode the encoded video data, comprising:
when the one or more syntax elements comprises a single offset parameter for an inclusive base clipping range of the one or more base clipping ranges, wherein the inclusive base clipping range is associated with the picture of the video bitstream, setting the dynamic clipping range based on the single offset parameter and the inclusive base clipping range; and
when the one or more syntax elements comprises a plurality of offset values for respective blocks:
when the respective blocks of the video bitstream are associated with the inclusive base clipping range of the one or more base clipping ranges, setting respective clipping ranges for the respective blocks based on the plurality of offset values and the inclusive base clipping range; and
when the respective blocks of the video bitstream are associated with respective base clipping ranges of the one or more base clipping ranges, setting respective clipping ranges for the respective blocks based on the plurality of offset values and the respective base clipping range..
However, Kim from the same or similar endeavor of image processing discloses The method of claim 7, further comprising:
determining one or more base clipping ranges based on at least one of the video bitstream and parameters of a compression process used to encode the encoded video data (See ¶¶[0046] and [0053]-[0055]), comprising:
when the one or more syntax elements comprises a single offset parameter for an inclusive base clipping range of the one or more base clipping ranges, wherein the inclusive base clipping range is associated with the picture of the video bitstream, setting the dynamic clipping range based on the single offset parameter and the inclusive base clipping range (See ¶ [0053] and Table 4); and
when the one or more syntax elements comprises a plurality of offset values for respective blocks:
when the respective blocks of the video bitstream are associated with the inclusive base clipping range of the one or more base clipping ranges, setting respective clipping ranges for the respective blocks based on the plurality of offset values and the inclusive base clipping range See ¶¶[0051] and [0055]); and
when the respective blocks of the video bitstream are associated with respective base clipping ranges of the one or more base clipping ranges, setting respective clipping ranges for the respective blocks based on the plurality of offset values and the respective base clipping range (See ¶¶ [0054] and [0055]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Galpin to add the teachings of Kim as above, in order to identify missing rules for mixing certain SEI payload types in the same SEI NAL unit, which complicates sub-bitstream extraction and conformance handling. (Kim, [0046] and [0047]).
Regarding claim 12, Galpin and Kim disclose all the limitations of claim 7, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Galpin does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 7, further comprising overwriting the dynamic clipping range at a specified lower level.
However, Kim from the same or similar endeavor of image processing discloses the method of claim 7, further comprising overwriting the dynamic clipping range at a specified lower level (See ¶¶[0051]-[0055]).
The motivation for combining Galpin and Kim has been discussed in connection with claim 11, above.
Regarding claim 18, this claim is rejected based on the same art and evidentiary limitations applied to the method of video decoding of claim 12, since it claims analogous subject matter in the form of a method of video encoding for performing the same or equivalent functionality.
The Examiner notes that it is well-known in the art that video compression involves a complementary pair of systems: an encoder and a decoder. The encoder converts the source data into a compressed form, occupying a reduced number of bits prior to transmission or storage, while the decoder converts the compressed form back into a representation of the original video data by performing a reciprocal process to that of the encoder, decoding the encoded video data from the bitstream.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for additional references.
/FABIO S LIMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486