DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims filed 7/24/2026 were received and have been entered. Claims 1-9 and 12-13 have been amended. Claims 3-4 and 10-11 have been canceled. Claims 14-17 have been added. Therefore, claims 1-2, 5-9 and 12-17 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 5-9 and 12-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-9, and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeganathan et al. US 2016/0337496 in view of Lukane et al. US 2016/0246390.
As to claim 1, Jeganathan teaches a position detecting apparatus (a tablet/companion device 104, ¶6-¶7, Figs 1-4) comprising: a first wireless communication device (Bluetooth, ¶23); a second wireless communication device (sensors includes capacitors, ¶8); and
wherein the processor (324), in operation, establishes a pairing with the stylus via the first wireless communication device based on the configuration information received from the stylus. (See Abstract and ¶ 31 for automatic Bluetooth pairing between the stylus 102 and the table/companion device 104).
Jeganathan fails to teach controlling the capacitive coupling to transmit an uplink signal to a stylus via capacitive coupling between the stylus and the position detecting device, and to receive from the stylus in response to the uplink signal, configuration information via the capacitive coupling between the stylus and the position detecting apparatus.
Lukane teaches transmitting upstream from the processing system to the active pen, via capacitive coupling. This data is transmitted from the active pen to the processing system in one or more downstream packets. These attributes are specified within fields of the downstream packets. The processing system determines the attributes of the active pens based on the received downstream packets, via capacitive coupling. See at least Lukane ¶25, ¶38, and Figs 1-7.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), to implement the transmitting upstream from the processing system to the active pen via capacitive coupling, the data is transmitted from the active pen to the processing system via capacitive coupling, as Lukane teaches, to modify Jeganathan. The motivation for doing so would improve usability along with beneficial to communicate the current state to both devices regardless of where the selection was made. See Lukane ¶38.
As to claim 8, Jeganathan teaches a stylus (stylus 102, see ¶7, Figs 1-4), a first wireless communication device (Bluetooth, ¶23), a second wireless communication device (sensors includes capacitors, ¶8);
a processor (a processor 324) that, in operation, establishes a pairing with the position detecting apparatus (104) via the first wireless communication device based on the configuration information communicated with the position detecting apparatus. (See Abstract and ¶ 31 for automatic Bluetooth pairing between the stylus 102 and the table/companion device 104).
Jeganathan fails to teach controlling the second wireless communication device to receive an uplink signal from a position detecting apparatus via capacitive coupling between the stylus and the position detecting apparatus, and to transmit to the position detecting apparatus in response to the uplink signal, configuration information via the capacitive coupling between the stylus and the position detecting apparatus.
Lukane teaches transmitting upstream from the processing system to the active pen, via capacitive coupling. This data is transmitted from the active pen to the processing system in one or more downstream packets. These attributes are specified within fields of the downstream packets. The processing system determines the attributes of the active pens based on the received downstream packets, via capacitive coupling. See at least Lukane ¶25, ¶38, Figs 1-7.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), to implement the transmitting upstream from the processing system to the active pen via capacitive coupling, the data is transmitted from the active pen to the processing system via capacitive coupling, as Lukane teaches, to modify Jeganathan. The motivation for doing so would improve usability along with beneficial to communicate the current state to both devices regardless of where the selection was made. See Lukane ¶38.
As to claims 2, 9, Lukane teaches the first wireless communication device, in operation, communicates based on capacitive coupling between the stylus and a sensor electrode of the position detecting apparatus. (See Lukane ¶25-¶51).
As to claims 5, 12, Jeganathan teaches wherein a communication range of the first wireless communication device is longer than a communication range of the second wireless communication device. (See ¶ 31 for the Bluetooth range is longer than the proximity sensor range).
As to claims 6, 13, Lukane teaches wherein the processor, in operation, establishes the pairing with the stylus via the first wireless communication device based on an identifier communicated via the capacitive coupling between the stylus and the position detecting apparatus. (See Lukane ¶25-¶51).
As to claim 7, Lukane teaches wherein, after the pairing is established, based on whether reception information received via the second wireless communication device includes information related to the identifier, the processor determines whether the reception information is from the stylus. (See Lukane ¶25-¶51).
As to claim 14, Lukane teaches the stylus according to claim 8, wherein the configuration information indicates a pairing request. (Lukane ¶ 39-¶43).
As to claim 15, Lukane teaches the stylus according to claim 8, wherein the configuration information includes proximity information (Lukane ¶16).
As to claim 16, Lukane teaches the position detecting apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the configuration information indicates a pairing request. (Lukane ¶ 39-¶43).
As to claim 17, Lukane teaches the position detecting apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the configuration information includes proximity information. (Lukane ¶16).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Kevin M Nguyen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628
Email: kevin.nguyen2@uspto.gov