Priority
The priority date for this application 11/07/2024.
Status of Claims
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson (US 2019/0049251).
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson in view of Oesterling (US 2006/0173587).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The claims of this application are not being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101. The independent claim recites the limitation, “instruct a target vehicle to execute a plurality of types of actions in an order that is predetermined”. This limitation is being interpreted as representative of the system of the instant application exercising active control over the vehicle in question rather than a mere request, i.e. the instruction sent by the system represents a control signal that causes the actions to be performed by the vehicle. This interpretation is supported by Paragraph [0015] of the instant application where, for example, the reception of instructions directly cause the travel of a vehicle, and Paragraph [0023] where the in vehicle system executes a designated action directly in response to the instructions being received. Under this interpretation this limitation represents an additional element that integrates the abstract idea represented within the claim into a practical application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson (US 2019/0049251).
As per Claim 1:
Anderson discloses the following limitations:
“A management system that manages a vehicle in an area that is predetermined, the management system comprising one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: instruct a target vehicle to execute a plurality of types of actions in an order that is predetermined”
Anderson Paragraph [0013] discloses instructing vehicles to emit a unique light pattern.
“recognize an action executed by the vehicle in the area that is predetermined by using a sensor installed in the area that is predetermined”
Anderson Paragraph [0013] discloses recognizing the unique light patterns emitted by vehicles in a given area.
“and identify the vehicle that has executed any one of the types of actions within a determination period after the instruction to the target vehicle, as the target vehicle.”
Anderson Paragraph [0013] discloses identifying vehicles based on the unique light pattern.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson in view of Oesterling (US 2006/0173587). These references are analogous as they are both related to control of vehicle actions.
With regards to Claim 2, Anderson discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1 but does not disclose the following limitation the Oesterling teaches:
“the types of actions include a first action and a second action different from the first action; and the one or more processors are configured to instruct the target vehicle to execute the second action after the first action.”
Oesterling Paragraph [0080] teaches both sounding a horn and flashing lights in a parking lot to identify a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system disclosed by Anderson with the plurality of actions taught by Oesterling. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to increase the effectiveness of the invention by providing redundancy for the application.
With regards to Claim 3, Anderson in view of Oesterling teaches all of the limitations of Claim 2 and further teaches the following limitations:
“wherein a first time needed to execute the first action is shorter than a second time needed to execute the second action.”
Oesterling Paragraph [0080] teaches sounding a horn and flashing lights, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that the length of activation of these multiple actions are arbitrary.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system disclosed by Anderson with the plurality of actions taught by Oesterling. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to increase the effectiveness of the invention by providing redundancy for the application.
With regards to Claim 4, Anderson in view of Oesterling teaches all of the limitations of Claim 2 and further teaches the following limitations:
“wherein a first power consumption needed to execute the first action is lower than a second power consumption needed to execute the second action.”
Oesterling Paragraph [0080] teaches sound horns and flashing lights, power consumption of these two actions are arbitrarily determined by the intensity and duration of the actions and one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that any arbitrary value can be selected.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system disclosed by Anderson with the plurality of actions taught by Oesterling. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to increase the effectiveness of the invention by providing redundancy for the application.
With regards to Claim 5, Anderson in view of Oesterling teaches all of the limitations of Claim 2 and further teaches the following limitations:
“wherein a change in vehicle size caused by the execution of the first action is smaller than a change in vehicle size caused by the execution of the second action.”
Oesterling Paragraph [0018] teaches opening the trunk of a vehicle thereby changing the apparent size of the vehicle when viewed from a certain perspective that is arbitrary in nature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system disclosed by Anderson with the plurality of actions taught by Oesterling. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to increase the effectiveness of the invention by providing redundancy for the application.
Related References
Hammes (US 2008/0158015)
Related to identification of a vehicle.
Kim (US 2009/0082962)
Related to locating vehicle trailers.
Co (US 2016/0082880)
Related to a vehicle locator system.
Thakur (US 2019/0007794)
Related to vehicle access control.
Nordbruch (US 10,532,771)
Related to a method of localizing a motor vehicle.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach examiner by telephone are unsuccessful the examiner’s supervisor, Thomas Worden can be reached on (571) 272-4876. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/GODFREY ALEKSANDER MACIOROWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3658