DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inoue et al. (JP2000-307144A listed on IDS filed 9/24/2025, see English machine translation provided for mapping).
Regarding claim 1, Inoue discloses a solar cell module in Figures 3 and 13 comprising:
M x N number of solar cell submodules arranged in a two dimensional manner of M rows and N columns (Figure 3, see rows and columns),
wherein each of the M x N number of solar cell submodules comprises:
a plurality of thin-film solar battery cells that are divided in a first direction and extend in a second direction intersecting the first direction on one base material (roof, Figure 15 and [79]), and are integrated by connecting in series ([68]-[69] and [42]-[43], strings are connected in series), and
an extraction electrode at an end portion in the first direction and extending in the second direction (electrode connecting the plurality of strings in parallel, [68]-[69] and [42]-[43]),
wherein among the M x N number of solar cell submodules, in a group of solar cell submodules in an n-th column, n is an integer from 1 to N, the solar cell submodules of a first row to an M-th row are connected in parallel ([43] and [68]), and a size of the solar cell submodule in the M-th row in the second direction is smaller than a size of the solar cell submodule in each row other than the M-th row in the second direction (B submodule on end in each row is smaller than the A submodules, Figures 3 and 13 and [67]-[68]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al. (JP2000-307144A listed on IDS filed 9/24/2025, see English machine translation provided for mapping), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Jeong et al. (WO 2021/201342 A1, see equivalent US 2023/0144536 for mapping).
Regarding claim 2, Inoue discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Inoue does not disclose that among the M x N number of solar cell submodules, in the group of solar cell submodules in the n-th column, the solar cell submodule in the M-th row overlaps with an adjacent solar cell submodule.
Jeong discloses a solar cell module in Figures 5-6 comprising overlapping solar cells ([73]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Inoue such that among the M x N number of solar cell submodules, in the group of solar cell submodules in the n-th column, the solar cell submodule in the M-th row overlaps with an adjacent solar cell submodule, as taught by Jeong, in order to increase the packing density of the cells and increase the power output capacity of the device ([4] and [32]-[35]).
Regarding claim 3, Inoue discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Inoue does not disclose a light shield that extends in the first direction and covers a light-receiving-surface side at an end portion in the second direction of the solar cell submodule in the M-th row, among the M x N number of solar cell submodules, in the group of solar cell submodules in the n-th column.
Jeong discloses a solar cell module in Figure 12 comprising a light shield (front surface cover 2) that extends in a first direction and covers a light-receiving-surface side at an end portion in a second direction of the solar cell module ([100]-[103]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add a light shield to the device of Inoue that extends in the first direction and covers a light-receiving-surface side at an end portion in the second direction of the solar cell submodule in the M-th row, among the M x N number of solar cell submodules, in the group of solar cell submodules in the n-th column, as taught by Jeong, in order to protect the solar cell module from damage due to ultraviolet light and increase the lifetime of the module (Jeong, [103]).
Conclusion
/LINDSEY A BUCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728